31 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Perfumes for Guys V1

jonny4
post Oct 6 2009, 04:00 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(staggerler @ Oct 6 2009, 01:29 PM)
wht perfume thats gurls adore?

based on ur guy's gf review..
Younger women tend to prefer aquatic/fresh smelling colognes. Older women tend to prefer orientals on men. But this is just a general observation. Remember that cologne preference differs fr person to person. Sometimes it's best to go with a cologne that is not so exotic but there is a risk of u smelling like her ex bf. On the other hand wearing a unique/exotic smelling cologne may prove difficult as it's not everyone's cup of tea.

This are some of the colognes that get the most compliments fr women in general
- YSL Rive Gauche Pour Homme
- Bulgari Aqua
- Dior Homme Sport
- Dior Fahrenheit.

jonny4
post Oct 6 2009, 07:08 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(b4dR0b0+_2.7 @ Oct 6 2009, 04:54 PM)
can anyone suggest me good sweet scent type perfume other then paco rabbane black xs and burberry brit 4 men...?
YSL L'Homme
Emporio Armani Diamonds for Men
Armani Code
Lanvin Arpege Pour Homme
Bulgari Black
Bogart Pour Homme

jonny4
post Oct 6 2009, 07:45 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(staggerler @ Oct 6 2009, 07:10 PM)
i need more recc. for perfumes that's girls like to smell on their bf's..
Then best u ask in the girls forum rather than here.
jonny4
post Oct 7 2009, 07:06 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Imdarren @ Oct 7 2009, 06:50 PM)
HUGO Element anyone?  smile.gif
A waste of money. Element is yet another attempt by Hugo Boss to make some money with such an unimaginative fragrance. If u like aquatics like Element there are better options like Bulgari Aqua, Givenchy Blue Label and Sean John Unforgivable.
jonny4
post Oct 7 2009, 10:52 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(staggerler @ Oct 7 2009, 08:35 PM)
hw about davidoff coolwater
Cool Water is a nice fragrance but it's too common even though it was released almost 20 yrs ago. Most guys will eventually own a bottle of Cool Water some point in their lives. I actually wear Cool Water often but more as an everyday fragrance rather than for special occasions. Cool Water is like the father of aquatic colognes. It was Cool Water that started the whole fresh aquatic craze that is still strong among men. No harm in owning it but just remember that it's very common and there are a lot of Cool Water clones in the form of cheap cologne, after shave and air fresheners.

Added on October 7, 2009, 11:03 pm
QUOTE(chuakz @ Oct 7 2009, 10:00 PM)
jonny4...seems like u're an expert on men's perfumes....so....care to recommend some perfumes for me? for normal everyday perfumes to use on special occasions....hmm best if its a less common fragrance since alot of fragrances everybody is using...
From my experience if u want to stand out from the crowd with a fragrance go with the older colognes. Stuff like Aqua di Gio and Cool Water are just too common. Try orientals like Gucci Envy for Men, Must de Cartier Essence and Cartier Pasha. U will definitely stand out wearing one of those. However be warned that in our weather orientals can sometimes be too overpowering and might be uncomfortable for u. Aromatic fougere colognes like YSL Rive Gauche Pour Homme and Paco Rabanne Pour Homme are versatile enough for both hot and cold weather but these colognes tend to be more mature smelling...meaning that some ppl will perceive them to be "uncle" smelling...but on the other hand some girls find these mature colognes irresistible.

The pick of the bunch for me would be Gucci Envy for Men and YSL Rive Gauche Pour Homme. Both ok for everyday use but unique enough to stand out. The rest are alright too but it all depends on your nose.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Oct 7 2009, 11:03 PM
jonny4
post Oct 8 2009, 11:16 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(public holiday @ Oct 8 2009, 10:42 PM)
is davidoff silver shadow attitude nice?
Its nothing groundbreaking but it's very decent and i dont think many guys wear it. I personally like Altitude very much. But it's not really strong so not everyone will be able to smell it. Well i do like powerful frags though. Altitude is a woody aquatic that's a bit on the sweet side but very well blended together.
jonny4
post Oct 12 2009, 03:15 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Oct 12 2009, 10:21 AM)
although for aquatics, i think Bulgari Aqua Homme Marine still smells more water-ish
Bulgari Aqua and Aqua Marine are examples of aquatic fragrances done right.
jonny4
post Oct 13 2009, 01:13 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Oct 13 2009, 01:02 PM)
Ck Eternity for Men ok? Its kinda old right?
If u like it go ahead and wear it with confidence. Some of my favourite perfumes were released even before my parents were born. Like Chanel Pour Monsieur (1955) and Christian Dior Eau Sauvage (1966). Those two stood the test of time and is still being produced to this day. What year a perfume was released doesn't matter.

Trends are seasonal but class is permanent.
jonny4
post Oct 16 2009, 04:05 PM

1,974 posts

I'm no sifu man haha..just got more interest in fragrances compared to the average guy.

I personally think couples perfumes are a marketing gimmick smile.gif
But Burberry Brit for Men and Brit (edt) go well together although both don't smell alike. For couples that want to smell alike i think ck one should be alright. Can't think of anything else atm LOL

jonny4
post Oct 16 2009, 07:36 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Johannbeckham @ Oct 16 2009, 04:46 PM)
I wish I read this thread before I bougt Element... We'll I'm thinking of buying another Perfume. Is there a Perfume that last longer when you apply it to your skin? Because I'm an Athletic kinda guy and when I sweat, Perfume's smell easily deteriorates. Hope Johhy4 could give me some advice.
No worries if you bought Element. My opinion is not important instead if u like Element wear it with confidence. Element certainly won't offend anyone.

Actually there are many colognes that last long on skin but seeing that u bought Element i'm guessing u prefer fresh aquatic smelling colognes. In general these type of colognes don't last long because they are meant to be worn in summer/hot weather. So if u can get 6 hours longevity count yourself lucky biggrin.gif

fresh aquatics that last on me are Bulgari Aqua, Versace Pour Homme, Chanel Platinum Egoiste and Chanel Allure Homme Sport. Some say that skin chemistry causes longevity to differ from individual to individual but i can assure those colognes above will last at least 6 hours no matter your skin type.

On the other hand, if u really want something that lasts and lasts try YSL Kouros, YSL Opium Pour Homme edt/edp, YSL M7, YSL Rive Gauche Pour Homme, Chanel Antaeus, Dior Fahrenheit, JPG Le Male, JPG Fleur du Male, etc. As u can see YSL colognes lasts a very long time smile.gif
But these colognes are not the type that will appeal to everyone unlike the fresh aquatics i suggested earlier. So make sure u test them a few times on skin 1st before purchasing.

Generally heavier long lasting colognes are not really suitable for hot humid weather as they tend to get cloying and choking when u start to sweat. But most of us are in air conditioned environments most of the day so I see no problem whatsoever. But u might have to tahan a while when u step out 4 lunch at the nearby mamak LOL.
jonny4
post Oct 16 2009, 09:01 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(ColouRs_:) @ Oct 16 2009, 08:03 PM)
Hi jonny,

Haha not sifu den i'll call you as my master. tongue.gif

Questions for you, does All YSL perfumes last for a long time? Normally i've got customers asking me what perfumes can last for a long time. I've no idea how to answer them the question, because I dont own all the perfumes. Only own a few type so I can only give my very own opinion base on those.
Can I know which type of perfumes tend to last longer? Thanks mate biggrin.gif
pm sent.
jonny4
post Oct 19 2009, 04:03 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Johannbeckham @ Oct 19 2009, 11:29 AM)
Thanks Jonny4... So what's best long lasting perfumes for hot humid weather (Hot Malaysian/Philippine Weather)? Do u know any shop where I can get this perfumes? I'm working here in Plaza Sentral Building near KL Sentral. I heard this is one shop nearby at Souka Mall. I will try to sniff some of the perfumes you've mentioned here.
Bulgari Aqua, Chanel Platinum Egoiste, YSL Kouros and Chanel Allure Homme Sport.

All the colognes i listed are available at any of the counters in department stores around town. They are fairly common and u won't have trouble finding them. May i suggest Parkson@Pavilion for one of the largest range of colognes i know of. almost any brand available in Malaysia can be tested there.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Oct 19 2009, 04:05 PM
jonny4
post Oct 19 2009, 06:04 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(missvalerie @ Oct 19 2009, 05:26 PM)
How to make sure the perfume that i wanted to buy is original? There's no tester in the perfume shop which is located in Tesco =x, and the prices are slightly cheaper than the other places, such as Parkson, Jusco and so on. Thanks.
Very hard to determine as the fakes nowadays are very well made. If its cheaper by RM20-30 then I feel it's still better to go to department store counter. But if it's RM100 or more cheaper I won't mind taking the risk. U could try this shop called Just Parfum. They have a few outlets actually and generally their prices are RM30-RM40 cheaper than department store counters. But their stock is a little older. I've bought quite a number of bottles from them and all are original.

The place has no testers at all or only for the perfumes u interested in ? Coz if no testers at all, sounds suspicious.

Added on October 19, 2009, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(Johannbeckham @ Oct 19 2009, 04:14 PM)
Thanks jonny4! Will try to go to Pavilion this week before going to meet my gf this coming Sat in Singapore. Well, the real test whether this perfume is nice or not will be tested this weekend (depends on the outcome when my gf smells me of  brows.giflaugh.gif
Oh ya...Parkson@KLCC and Isetan@KLCC are good places to go test perfume too. I prefer Parkson@Pavilion though as it's a bit more spacious there.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Oct 19 2009, 06:06 PM
jonny4
post Oct 19 2009, 10:58 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(public holiday @ Oct 19 2009, 08:29 PM)
gals' perfumes are more expensive than guys...wakakak
Well yeah most of the time because female frags come in EDP and EDT concentration while most guy perfumes come only in EDT concentrations. Basically EDP has a high oil content making it last longer n have better sillage compared to EDTs.
jonny4
post Oct 20 2009, 01:25 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(deja-vu @ Oct 20 2009, 04:08 AM)
Any opinion on dkny red delicious for men? I find the liquor/rum smell to be appealing.
Smells good but not long lasting. Worth the money if u can get it cheap.
jonny4
post Oct 20 2009, 04:37 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Johannbeckham @ Oct 20 2009, 03:45 PM)
guys I've find out about this perfume "Terre d'Hermès by Hermès" in this site http://www.basenotes.net/awards/2009/mbest.html

This perfume is voted as the "Best Men's Fragrance for Day Wear"

Has any tried this one? Any comments from you guys? Do u know any shop where this is already available?
Terre d'Hermes (TdH) IMO is one of the best designer releases so far in the past few years. It's really different from the run of the mill citrus/fresh/aquatic fr the likes of CK, Gucci and Hugo Boss. It starts of with a very strong grapefruit note but u can smell earthy stone like notes and woods in the background. The middle part of the fragrance shows its woodsy side (cedar) and then it finishes off with an earthy gun powder like basenotes. Throughout the whole progression the grapefruit note is noticeable. But u really got to try this on your skin and don't let the 1st 15 mins scare you away. And like joey said, TdH is complex so we need to give the cologne some time to show its true beauty. TdH lasts on me for about 10 hours and is very noticeable for the 1st 2-3 hours. I do detect a slight hint of soapiness in TdH especially in the middle notes.

I've worn it on numerous occasions but TdH works best in the day (in an air conditioned environment). It may have been voted "Best Men's Fragrance for Day Wear" but i feel that applies for light summers (20C to 25C) not our 32C weather. It can be quite cloying when worn in the heat of the afternoon.

It's widely available at Hermes counters (Parkson@Pavilion, Isetan@Gardens and Parkson@KLCC) and Hermes boutiques (KLCC & Pavilion). 50ml retails for roughly RM256, 100ml retails for roughly RM300-325.

Added on October 20, 2009, 4:46 pm
QUOTE(Johannbeckham @ Oct 20 2009, 02:01 PM)
after smellin alot of perfume this mornin, finally I settled myself to Gucci Envy. What do u think of this perfume  jonny4?
I have Envy and it's a very wearable oriental fragrance. It's one of the few orientals that can be worn safely in our weather during the day. I would say Envy is safe to wear to the office (only if u don't spray too much, nothing more than 5 or 6 sprays). It's quite affordable too and I think I bought mine from Just Parfum for RM160. Nah i don't think it's too strong...if u let it settle Envy actually becomes quite subtle and is extremely pleasing to the nose. But this is my view though and u might have a diff experience altogether biggrin.gif

Dude...Envy is quite scarce nowadays as the don't seem to be interested in stocking it up. I think they maybe slowly phasing out Envy as I notices that at the Gucci counters, Envy is always sitting at some obscure corner. So if u like Envy better get it before it becomes history. However in other countries Envy is widely available.

Added on October 20, 2009, 4:56 pm
QUOTE(deja-vu @ Oct 20 2009, 03:44 PM)
100 ml for around rm140-150, does that sound okay?
Echoing what Joey said, all depends on the cologne itself. Hermes has a cologne called Eau D'Orange Verte that costs RM220 for 100ml. It smells bloody good but lasts for an hour. I have a perfume called Bogart Pour Homme that cost me RM120 for 50ml. This perfume is so strong that it can last 24 hours or more on skin and maybe a few days on clothes. If it smells good n it's not fake RM140-RM150 for 100ml sounds good.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Oct 20 2009, 04:56 PM
jonny4
post Oct 20 2009, 05:39 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Johannbeckham @ Oct 20 2009, 05:15 PM)
Thanks jonny4! You know what, I think your right when you say that Cucci Envy is not too strong. I bought it during lunch break today and put it on around 2PM. At first I thought the perfume would give me some sinusitis attack coz it's a bit strong to my newb nose. But after awhile wearing it here in the office (obviously in an airconditioned room), it really smells good. Not strong at all. Your right when you say that you just have to let it settle, to realize its full potential. I love it now seriously (I thought at first that I made a wrong decision about buying it). Well, I don't know what will happen when I wear it outside this air-conditioned room, I'll know it later when I go out and meet some friends. Then I can also test how long this fragrance last.

So now I have two perfume to date in two weeks which is Hugo Element (having this Aquatic/Bit Woody Smell)and Cucci Envy (Havin this Oriental Smell). I'm thinking of having another this weekend.

By the way, I want to ask you guys if buying perfume in LCCT/Changi Airport Duty Free shop is really a place where I can get good cheaper prize? Cause I'm goin to Singapore this Saturday and was planning to pass by any duty free shop in both of this airports to sniff/try or even buy perfume (which airport do u think is better to buy perfume from). So far, base on what I've read on your post, I'm thinking of buying either one (or both, depends whether I really like it or not) of these:
1. Terre d'Hermes
2. Channel Platinum Egoiste

Let me know your thoughts on this guys.
I would prefer wearing Platinum Egoiste on a hot day and TdH on a cooler day. Platimum is very refreshing compared to TdH. But i find TdH to be more unique smelling. But take nothing away from Platinum as it's a very long lasting fragrance and a high quality one at that. It's just too bad that it shares the same name with Egoiste. Both are very different.
jonny4
post Oct 20 2009, 05:57 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(heavenx @ Oct 20 2009, 05:27 PM)
hye!..im wondering what perfumes that suitable for day use and long lasting..btw im college student..
hope you guys can help me..thanks smile.gif
Vercae Pour Homme, Bulgari Aqua and Kenzo Power.

Hope that helps biggrin.gif
jonny4
post Oct 20 2009, 08:18 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(frostworld @ Oct 20 2009, 07:33 PM)
for longer lasting, dont buy cologne, fast fading.
If u mean Eau de Cologne then yeah EDC fades fast. But if u mean regular cologne, which is actually Eau de Toilette then it leaves us guys with very few options to choose from. Very few fragrances for men are released in Eau de Parfum concentrations. EDPs cost a bomb too.

There are many edts that last an insane amount of time. YSL Kouros, JPG Le Male and Guerlain Vetiver are just a few of many edts that lasts more than 12 hours on my skin.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Oct 20 2009, 08:27 PM
jonny4
post Oct 20 2009, 09:16 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Oct 20 2009, 09:12 PM)
you forgot M7. It can even survive a bath!
LOL Oh yeah the mighty M7 !

31 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0462sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:59 AM