kotmj
post Feb 26 2010, 06:15 PM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

It does. Narrower. More tapered.

Added on February 26, 2010, 6:22 pmuser posted image

I'm not sure if the back looks good.

Added on February 26, 2010, 6:26 pmMy thighs fit ngam ngam when sitting down. If I squat in the gym anymore, it won't fit in a few months.

This post has been edited by kotmj: Feb 26 2010, 06:26 PM
bloke1
post Feb 26 2010, 07:59 PM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

Bell-bottom from the back laugh.gif
raul88
post Feb 27 2010, 12:19 AM

░░Madridista ░░
2,279 posts

how to take care of suit/jacket?
it doesnt look washable to me
does it?
U+FFFD
post Feb 27 2010, 10:13 AM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Feb 27 2010, 12:19 AM)
how to take care of suit/jacket?
it doesnt look washable to me
does it?
Give it a good brush (preferably with a horsehair brush) after wearing, air it well on a coat hanger and maybe a good steam of ease away some creases.

Washable? With perchloroethylene - definitely. With water - only a tiny few (the special machine-washable ones from places like M&S).
bloke1
post Feb 27 2010, 10:42 AM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

It's definitely machine washable if the jacket is made of polyester biggrin.gif
bloke1
post Feb 27 2010, 10:55 AM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Feb 27 2010, 10:47 AM)
Have fun popping bubbles on the fused poly crap. laugh.gif  Puchi puchi.
That's not right. Top notch fusing doesn't bubble! tongue.gif Otherwise all of our fused shirts will turn to junk after several washes, right?

This post has been edited by bloke1: Feb 27 2010, 10:58 AM
U+FFFD
post Feb 27 2010, 03:37 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(bloke1 @ Feb 27 2010, 10:55 AM)
That's not right. Top notch fusing doesn't bubble!  tongue.gif  Otherwise all of our fused shirts will turn to junk after several washes, right?
Tsk tsk. Sometimes exaggeration is needed to advocate something. I thought we've always agreed to disagree that glue and suits form a happy marriage? innocent.gif
kotmj
post Feb 27 2010, 04:19 PM

3,802 posts

My Padini collared shirts bubble after two washings.
bloke1
post Feb 27 2010, 04:22 PM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

Ek. Mine is still holding up nicely. Must be my hand washing techniques. Suppose to be seeing MBT today but damn, where is my silk thread?

This post has been edited by bloke1: Feb 27 2010, 04:23 PM
kotmj
post Feb 27 2010, 04:27 PM

3,802 posts

You can go to him without the thread. You need need give him thread and buttons on the last fitting. For now, all he needs is the cloth.
malutapimau
post Mar 1 2010, 10:20 AM

751 posts

the tapered ALT pant looks very good-----did you give specific instructions of the cut / style you want kotmj?
bloke1
post Mar 1 2010, 04:14 PM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Feb 27 2010, 04:27 PM)
You can go to him without the thread. You need need give him thread and buttons on the last fitting. For now, all he needs is the cloth.
I'll just wait some more. In the meantime, I must put my sartorial studies aside and concentrate on my work.
kotmj
post Mar 1 2010, 06:37 PM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(malutapimau @ Mar 1 2010, 10:20 AM)
the tapered ALT pant looks very good-----did you give specific instructions of the cut / style you want kotmj?
I gave lots of directions. Maybe 5-10X more than the typical customer.

The things I specified: Length, rise, waist size, no. of pleats, direction of pleats, type of fly, width of waistband, side adjusters, positioning of side adjusters, type of buckle on side adjusters, cuffs, width of cuffs, no. of pockets, angle of pocket slant, lining/no lining, type of waistband closure, height of fork, circumference around the thighs, circumference around the cuffs, type of hem reinforcement.

Added on March 1, 2010, 11:55 pm
QUOTE(bloke1 @ Mar 1 2010, 04:14 PM)
I'll just wait some more. In the meantime, I must put my sartorial studies aside and concentrate on my work.
I'm waiting for you to make yours before I make mine!

This post has been edited by kotmj: Mar 1 2010, 11:55 PM
malutapimau
post Mar 2 2010, 10:38 AM

751 posts

you gave 101 instructions to ALT and he did all of them? wow,
kotmj
post Mar 2 2010, 01:33 PM

3,802 posts

he also gave me a discount from his usual price.
malutapimau
post Mar 2 2010, 02:20 PM

751 posts

i think you remind him of him when he was young----

what do you think of coolmax mesh as linings for pants / jackets?

This post has been edited by malutapimau: Mar 2 2010, 02:24 PM
kotmj
post Mar 2 2010, 06:24 PM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(malutapimau @ Mar 2 2010, 02:20 PM)
i think you remind him of him when he was young----

what do you think of coolmax mesh as linings for pants / jackets?
Never thought of it. If it's thin, why not? But then, I have no problems with his standard lining in this pair of pants. They're very cool to wear. I think it has to do with the high twist property of the wool yarn.

Added on March 2, 2010, 6:32 pmThe buckles arrived today.

They are big. About 30% bigger than the shiny modern buckles used in ALT's latest pair of pants for me.

I was hoping for a construction quality that would make the Empire proud, but it is in fact made of stamped sheet metal. I was hoping for cast metal, but on second thought, that would be unrealistic. Yet, it would have been much cooler if they were. The modern buckles ALT use, which are the same one finds in the Richard James Weldon catalogue, are of a noticeably higher quality. The quality of these are not offensive in any way, but I was expecting more.

I suspect they're made of bronze, not brass. If so, the tin could have come from Malaya.

The size, the material, and the decades-old patina give them considerable presence. If I use them in a pair of pants, nobody will fail to notice them.

This post has been edited by kotmj: Mar 2 2010, 06:32 PM
bloke1
post Mar 2 2010, 07:23 PM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

Oh ze thread arrived as well. I'll probably meet MBT tomorrow or the day after tomorrow.
kotmj
post Mar 2 2010, 07:48 PM

3,802 posts

QUOTE(bloke1 @ Mar 2 2010, 07:23 PM)
Oh ze thread arrived as well. I'll probably meet MBT tomorrow or the day after tomorrow.
Gud!

BTW someone bought this here

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...e=STRK:MEWNX:IT

and intends to bring it to ALT. Not me! Someone from the forum.
silencer
post Mar 2 2010, 08:47 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Mar 2 2010, 07:48 PM)
Gud!

BTW someone bought this here

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...e=STRK:MEWNX:IT

and intends to bring it to ALT. Not me! Someone from the forum.
Opppsss...and that would be ME...really appreciate for kotmj advise for the suit "THING". Still browsing through for full wool Navy colored for the business trips to oversea. Thanks to this thread, as I used to purchase off-the-rack suits from Calvin Klein, Hugo Bose and Valentino. Just realise that there is nothin can beatthe sillhoutte of the MTM suit, and plan to commisiion 2 pairs of suit from ALT. Thank again to all the sifus here especially kotmj.

By the way, I bought these horn buttons too >>> http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie...e=STRK:MEWNX:IT

This post has been edited by silencer: Mar 2 2010, 08:54 PM

123 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:00 AM