Has anyone done ICL implant in eye before?
HandsomeLai
Jun 4 2012, 01:12 PM
i've been thinking of this ICL or phakic IOL before, my eyes myopia is too powerful around >11.0 diopter for each eye(1100 power LOL watch too much dragon ballz). It is very disappointing when i know that i'm not elligible for LASIK.
My thick lenses im wearing is very inconvenient in doing my daily work... you won't enjoy jogging when you busy pushing ur spec up everytime u sweat.... even when i looking down from a high place i developed a kind of height phobia that i scare my lenses drop to the ground....
So ive been thinking to try the ICL for many years...
Anyone know who is the best doc for ICL surgery?? i hope they dont tell me im not elligible for ICL too....
-steer-
Jun 8 2012, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(HandsomeLai @ Jun 4 2012, 01:12 PM) i've been thinking of this ICL or phakic IOL before, my eyes myopia is too powerful around >11.0 diopter for each eye(1100 power LOL watch too much dragon ballz). It is very disappointing when i know that i'm not elligible for LASIK. My thick lenses im wearing is very inconvenient in doing my daily work... you won't enjoy jogging when you busy pushing ur spec up everytime u sweat.... even when i looking down from a high place i developed a kind of height phobia that i scare my lenses drop to the ground.... So ive been thinking to try the ICL for many years... Anyone know who is the best doc for ICL surgery?? i hope they dont tell me im not elligible for ICL too.... Ur myopia is the same as mine.. I did my eye examination at Optimax TTDI and they told me that I'm only eligible for ICL. It'll cost 15k for both eyes. Very expensive, but it can be paid in installments. I totally understand ur inconvenience.
yennymky
May 30 2015, 07:45 PM
hi everyone , r any friend do ICL surgery ?
taiyinjun
Nov 14 2015, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(yennymky @ May 30 2015, 07:45 PM) hi everyone , r any friend do ICL surgery ? I did ICL about 4 years plus ago with vista. I have the same prob as thin cornea and high astigmatism so cannot go for lasik. No prob after 4 years and vision still great
rotijon25
Mar 9 2016, 05:31 PM

QUOTE(taiyinjun @ Nov 14 2015, 12:15 PM) I did ICL about 4 years plus ago with vista. I have the same prob as thin cornea and high astigmatism so cannot go for lasik. No prob after 4 years and vision still great how much was yours ah?
Killerjeff88
Mar 10 2016, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(taiyinjun @ Nov 14 2015, 11:15 AM) I did ICL about 4 years plus ago with vista. I have the same prob as thin cornea and high astigmatism so cannot go for lasik. No prob after 4 years and vision still great Hi mind sharing the experience from how u came to deciding to do ICL until the current u after surgery? I visited a eye specialist and was advised to do ICL as well. Would like to hear more stories before deciding.
taiyinjun
Mar 12 2016, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(Killerjeff88 @ Mar 10 2016, 03:36 PM) Hi mind sharing the experience from how u came to deciding to do ICL until the current u after surgery? I visited a eye specialist and was advised to do ICL as well. Would like to hear more stories before deciding. ICL is a safer but more expensive procedure in comparison with laser as the lense is removable in case there is a need too. The overall procedure tool about 10 mins for one eye and there is no pain at all. The recovery of vision is also fast, as I am able to see clearly after just a couple of hours. I am not sure about laser but for ICL the contrast in seeing thing is much sharper and it improve my night vision. I have very high astigmatism so driving at night used to give me problem. The only side effect I observe so far is occasional dryness in the eye when I stared at pc for too long. The rest is OK. Done steamboat, bbq, swim and anything with the ICL and no issue at all
taiyinjun
Mar 12 2016, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(taiyinjun @ Mar 12 2016, 12:47 PM) ICL is a safer but more expensive procedure in comparison with laser as the lense is removable in case there is a need too. The overall procedure tool about 10 mins for one eye and there is no pain at all. The recovery of vision is also fast, as I am able to see clearly after just a couple of hours. I am not sure about laser but for ICL the contrast in seeing thing is much sharper and it improve my night vision. I have very high astigmatism so driving at night used to give me problem. The only side effect I observe so far is occasional dryness in the eye when I stared at pc for too long. The rest is OK. Done steamboat, bbq, swim and anything with the ICL and no issue at all And if I remember correctly, there is criteria to do laser which involve the shape of you cornea and thickness of it. Of course the power of correction need to be taken into account too. For mine, my cornea has sharp tip so not suitable for it as it increase chances of complication. That'd why I go for ICL and thus far no regret.
taiyinjun
Mar 12 2016, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(rotijon25 @ Mar 9 2016, 05:31 PM) The price I pay was rm7000 per eye. With additional rm500 for cornea holes puncture for the pressure stabilisation and cornea insertion. Nowadays I think no need to undergo the cornea puncturing process
taiyinjun
Mar 12 2016, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(HandsomeLai @ Jun 4 2012, 01:12 PM) i've been thinking of this ICL or phakic IOL before, my eyes myopia is too powerful around >11.0 diopter for each eye(1100 power LOL watch too much dragon ballz). It is very disappointing when i know that i'm not elligible for LASIK. My thick lenses im wearing is very inconvenient in doing my daily work... you won't enjoy jogging when you busy pushing ur spec up everytime u sweat.... even when i looking down from a high place i developed a kind of height phobia that i scare my lenses drop to the ground.... So ive been thinking to try the ICL for many years... Anyone know who is the best doc for ICL surgery?? i hope they dont tell me im not elligible for ICL too.... ICL in general has higher eligibility. I also opted to do ICL after I was told I couldn't do laser. You can try vista at the curve. Look for doctor Alan. He is good and thorough
Killerjeff88
Mar 14 2016, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(taiyinjun @ Mar 12 2016, 12:47 PM) ICL is a safer but more expensive procedure in comparison with laser as the lense is removable in case there is a need too. The overall procedure tool about 10 mins for one eye and there is no pain at all. The recovery of vision is also fast, as I am able to see clearly after just a couple of hours. I am not sure about laser but for ICL the contrast in seeing thing is much sharper and it improve my night vision. I have very high astigmatism so driving at night used to give me problem. The only side effect I observe so far is occasional dryness in the eye when I stared at pc for too long. The rest is OK. Done steamboat, bbq, swim and anything with the ICL and no issue at all thanks for the input. I guess the only problem is the price for the procedure.
taiyinjun
Mar 15 2016, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(Killerjeff88 @ Mar 14 2016, 09:20 AM) thanks for the input. I guess the only problem is the price for the procedure.  Yes Jeff. It took me extended time to think about it. But overall, I am satisfied with it and no regret.
Killerjeff88
Mar 15 2016, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(taiyinjun @ Mar 15 2016, 01:40 PM) Yes Jeff. It took me extended time to think about it. But overall, I am satisfied with it and no regret. good to hear. will check with an optometrist again. which one did u go for?
taiyinjun
Mar 16 2016, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(Killerjeff88 @ Mar 15 2016, 04:11 PM) good to hear. will check with an optometrist again. which one did u go for? I chose ICL with vista
Killerjeff88
Mar 17 2016, 08:38 AM
QUOTE(taiyinjun @ Mar 16 2016, 06:45 PM) cool. will check the place out. thanks
jialat
Mar 18 2016, 12:57 AM
QUOTE(Killerjeff88 @ Mar 17 2016, 08:38 AM) cool. will check the place out. thanks  I can get some discount if u want. Private msg me full name and hp number, i will get the manager to call u. Then u can ask for their carnival discount.
kokkhien
Nov 5 2016, 04:15 PM
Hi, everyone I have just done my eye examination in Optimax just now. the result is the same. The Consultant had ask me go for ICL the reason was my corneal was too thin. Could I know more about the ICL? izzit we have to keep monitoring for about 6 months before we do the surgery?
bgs6112
Sep 4 2017, 01:31 PM
Warm greeting...Hi. I m alvin 39 yo. I m new in this lowyat net. Saw and read this post since 2012 until today 4th September 2017.
My current eyes power is Right SPH- 8.75 CYL -2.00 Left SPH -9.50 CYL -1.75 with presbyopia +1.00 So sad... high power. Plus i saw floaters in my eyes too since my chilhood.
I been wearing correct power glasses but wrong power of contact lense since 2001. That time my power about -6.00 and -1.50 astigm oso. The shop prescipt me a toric lense but in the waiting time i wear disposable contact lense with +8.00 without astigm. Recently a lady in optic shop told me with my age my myopia shud be stable. She suspected the incorrect power contact lense worsen my sight from years. She advice me a multifocial glasses help me to stable my power and ask me not to wear too much cons as i having dry left eye and aging factors. She also orders me new toric lenses cons. But now if i wear cons i see clearly than my glasses. I went for a multifocial glasses on June. The lense itself cost me RM1900. Now i learn to cope with my life. Full time glasses part time contact lenses. Suffering.
I been thinking of lasik. But from wat i know my power is too high... i think i only can go for IOL. I feel scared n fear as well. I heard that high myopia eyes have high risk in retinal detachment that will cause blidness... also cataract and glaucoma and so on...
I m hesitating to have IOL implant. But my concern is... 1. Cost. I heard about 15k. Can paid by installment? Ha... as i m not rich.
2. How long the IOL implant can last? Need to change every 2-3 years like glasses?
3. Where shud i go for IOL? In my mind... vista or advance vision in damansara?
I really feel scared, fear and helpless. A lady and a man in optic shops checked my eyes recently... they said my eyes still healthy. They ask me not to worry too much... But the guy told me retinal detachment could happen when it wanted to happen... sad..
sengpu
Mar 14 2018, 11:33 AM
Hihi.. I'll be doing the ICL end of the month in Optimax Johor Bharu.. The bill was paintful but happy that i can throw away my glasses..
jialat
Mar 15 2018, 01:18 AM
QUOTE(sengpu @ Mar 14 2018, 11:33 AM) Hihi.. I'll be doing the ICL end of the month in Optimax Johor Bharu.. The bill was paintful but happy that i can throw away my glasses.. Be prepared for halos and glare.