9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Watches Thread V1

nando
post Dec 26 2009, 12:45 PM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

anyone here has user experience/knowledge on the Zeppelin or Junkers series? Some designs are pretty amazing...pricing too of course...
nando
post Dec 26 2009, 01:01 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Dec 26 2009, 12:45 PM)
can be found here
http://www.thewatchery.com/TAG_Heuer/watch...=CAF2113.BA0809

I don't think the compass works... I think U may have to find North on your own...
let see if bearbrick explains

Added on December 26, 2009, 12:56 pm
they make decent watches..
http://www.pointtec.de/zeppelin/overview/
alot more Zeppelin come equip with swiss movements, although u do find some in Russian.
Junkers not really the case... IIRC some are Chinese/japanese

prices... pay less u could be getting glass or harden mineral crystal.. pay more U get sapphire crystal

U got to know whats inside.
appreciate the reply mate...

you been to the Red Army outlet in KL? wondering how much discount from the retail pricing?

This post has been edited by nando: Dec 26 2009, 01:10 PM
nando
post Dec 29 2009, 08:32 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(xander @ Dec 28 2009, 11:55 AM)
bro where u get it from?

mind sharing how many dis % u got?
yeah....share share photos...i asked a shop in Penang...about 20-25% depending on model
nando
post Dec 30 2009, 03:18 PM

1,650 posts

cool Hw-Racer..30% good deal....photos next

firstly, must pay respect to patryn....so patiently and expertly answer all questions

at present, eyeing either Stowa Flieger series (read in earlier post someone ordered and waiting for arrival from Germany). will PM him to post here if it arrived...

another option is the Tourby Big Pilot series...(slightly more expensive)..

what is holding me back is if there turned out to be a problem and repair/services is needed....I know the Germans are quite effective but we'll never know....I am so used to dropping my Seiko/Tissot to my favourite AD and let them handle it...

so...rather undecided.....in end, maybe play `safe' and for military/pilot styled Oris/Fortis models...sigh...

BTW, the Collectorstime.com setup..they have a shop in KL right? if we walk in and see those online items, can further negotiate the price down?

This post has been edited by nando: Dec 30 2009, 03:20 PM
nando
post Dec 30 2009, 11:30 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Dec 30 2009, 10:22 PM)
which ones are soprod tune?
http://www.tourbywatches.com/shop/page/5?shop_param=

stowa watch, movements are regulated and tuned by Jorg and his small group of watch makers.

what makes Soprod tuned better? I read there are sopord upgrades, what exactly no idea.. from their site.. I think swan neck???
yeah...if i were to go for German, still considering between Stowa and Tourby...

BTW, can anyone help answer my other queries?
nando
post Dec 31 2009, 02:24 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Dec 31 2009, 09:17 AM)
those stuff are cheaper online.
branded ones and silent can cost up to us$800 easily after discount.

Added on December 31, 2009, 9:25 am
eta movement can go any private watchmaker to get it done. just get ppl to recommend u.

collectorstime, don't think they have shop. not sure if they are willing to negotiate the price further maybe can suggest U are paying cash. watch from them do carry AD stamp unlike other gray market dealers. u can email them to find out. I am interest in a zenith but I still debating if I should get thru them (rbber version) or a steel version thru grey market in usa.
Thanks, basically you're saying there shouldnt be any problems in servicing/repairing a Stowa locally by a good local watchmaker (of course, if its within warranty, sending it back to Germany is a good option)..

i see, you're interested in the something in collectorstime too....well, hope you get a good deal from them!
nando
post Jan 3 2010, 12:11 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Jan 2 2010, 02:01 PM)
Icic. Tq.
were you the one who ordered the Stowa Flieger? has it arrived?
nando
post Jan 3 2010, 09:21 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(silverstan @ Oct 12 2009, 04:43 PM)
Stowa Flieger Original  tongue.gif

*Pic borrowed from internet*
oh...it was silverstan...that's why i got confused with silverwave wonder ...
nando
post Jan 4 2010, 07:51 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jan 3 2010, 11:37 PM)
8hrs? how do u know u got it fully wound?

anyway most likely is 7S26
http://www.seikowatches.com/support/ib/pdf..._7S26_35_36.pdf

review of a 7S26
http://www.thepurists.com/watch/features/8ohms/7s26/

Added on January 4, 2010, 11:49 am

oops.. I forget about Choisi (see below link), and swiss army.
http://www.ocean7watchco.com/cs1/index.php...&category_id=17

BTW: in 2007 swiss voted to tighten the regulation on what it takes to be branded swiss made. today is at least 50% made in swiss, new regulation would be 80%. thank go it will not happen anytime soon.. it took 20yrs for Switzerland to arrive at this current rules. According to what I learnt, fastest it would take 8yrs for this to go into effect. when that happen.. U would see prices go up much higher.
hmmm...interesting development....., which of the value for money brands (the tissots, oris, hamilton, etc) will fulfil the 80% criteria then?

nando
post Jan 14 2010, 08:49 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(khopl @ Jan 14 2010, 06:23 PM)
Anyone here owns a Ball watch? I recently purchased a Engineer Master II - Aviator. My question is :

The date on my watch has black numerals on white background however when I check on Ball's website, the same model has red numerals on black background! Can anyone shed a light on this? I checked with the supplier and according to them, all newer models (or batches) comes with black on white. I did manage to register my watch online successfully therefore I guess its autheticity is not an issue...but I am still puzzled as to why there are different variants on the color of the date numerals???!

Any help will be much appreciated! smile.gif Anyone....??

Thx!
you can try getting info from this forum http://forums.watchuseek.com/forumdisplay.php?f=239

some of them are quite knowledgeable.

Also, a forummer from MAlaysia also bought this model recently. http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=345884
I've pm him before. nice fella.

How much you got it for if you dont mind me asking?
nando
post Jan 15 2010, 08:50 AM

1,650 posts

anyone here had the chance to hold a Seiko Ananta or even own one? any comments on the workmanship and finish? Especially in comparison with the Premier models?
Pricing is almost 50% higher (for automatic) and double (Spring Drive series) i heard...
nando
post Jan 15 2010, 11:36 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jan 15 2010, 09:48 AM)
according to what i read, its below Grand Seiko in terms of finishing.
i have to say it have to be better than Premier.
Seiko does priced their according, its not like they are ripping ppl off.

no seiko expert, that maybe how seiko rank their collection
http://www.seikowatches.com/products/index.html

seiko premier starts ~us$300 to us$1k
Seiko Ananta starts  us$2k to us$7.1k certainly not double of premier collection
Grand Seiko starts ~us$3k (us$2k for a quartz) to us$30k
you're right..seems that the cheapest Springdrive model is about 4.3kUSD, while the most expensive Premier wont reach USD2k...

This post has been edited by nando: Jan 15 2010, 11:40 AM
nando
post Jan 15 2010, 02:21 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(khopl @ Jan 15 2010, 01:53 PM)
Hi nando,

Thanks for your help! I got my aviator for RM3.9K...what do you guys think? Reasonable?
no problem. let me know the outcome. yours is the 46mm Aviator right? Bracelet?
nando
post Jan 15 2010, 03:09 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(khopl @ Jan 15 2010, 02:50 PM)
I checked with another forum called Watch Talk Forums and one member mentioned that apparently Ball made those changes on the Aviator based on customers' feedback. Many customers preferred the date numerals on the Aviator to be black numerals on white background as they are easier on the eyes. I'm not too sure...but that is also what the supplier (Ball Malaysia) said when I asked them. Anyway, I've just posted the same question on watchuseek as you have recomended.

Mine is a 46mm with stainless steel bracelet...forRM3.9k.
yeah, pricing sounds okay for the 46mm stainless steel model...this looks like a 30% discount off the retail price... smile.gif
nando
post Jan 18 2010, 02:43 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(khopl @ Jan 18 2010, 10:30 AM)
47mm? Is it a Ball too?
My 46mm feels funny at first cos my old watch is less than 40mm i think!

Added on January 18, 2010, 12:02 pmHey, anyone here familiar with the watch brand called Steinhart? Is it reliable...a good watch? Does anyone know where to get one in Malaysia?? Or better still in Penang??
i think he got a Panerai hommage....ck, dont forget to post pictures and write review when it land on your doorstep...

Steinhart quite okay i read..although i dont think its easy to find here......you interested in Bell and Ross homage is it?
nando
post Jan 18 2010, 04:26 PM

1,650 posts

http://www.passions.com.sg/v2/watch/omega-...nometer-steel-1

anyone can comment if this pricing is good? anyone deals with Passions before? the web state that they do give 3% discount if pay by cash. Can the price advertised on the web be negotiated?

nando
post Jan 19 2010, 04:00 PM

1,650 posts

As nice as it looks, do consider the weight of these watches. I've heard of people who put them back on sale after discovering that its too heavy for them to wear daily @ long hours...

This post has been edited by nando: Jan 19 2010, 04:01 PM
nando
post Jan 19 2010, 10:27 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jan 19 2010, 09:38 PM)
isn't always the problem with big watches? esp those big diver watch.
the above watch is 4.2oz or 112gm.
Graham watches are all above 120gm
some bell and ross weight > 150gm. eg Bell & Ross Space 2 weight 170gm.
what i meant was sometimes people see photos and the time piece looks macho/big...and by time they buy and start wearing it, they cant get used to it...
it also take some adjustment wearing big diameters if you're not used to it.. biggrin.gif

BTW, you're not based in Malaysia mate?

This post has been edited by nando: Jan 19 2010, 10:34 PM
nando
post Jan 21 2010, 11:06 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jan 21 2010, 10:56 AM)
haha.. no time to take nice pic... here are pics taken in a hurry
nice collection ,,.notice you have the Big Crown (3?) day date....how is it? in terms of accuracy and durability..
nando
post Jan 23 2010, 07:05 PM

1,650 posts

if not mistaken, a homage is when a manufacturer follow a very famous design or something like that....i think ck 77's is a homage to 2 Panerai models...

got homage to Bell Ross square dial, Rolex's submariners...etc..

fake or replica will still label it as Rolex, Panerai, etc..but homages dont...

http://forums.watchuseek.com/forumdisplay.php?f=71 (i learned from here wan....)

all sifu, correct me if i am mistaken

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:45 PM