the more i read, the more i tend to lean towards those small brands like halios, helson, doxa, deep blue.... looks like the the movements used are mostly miyota 8215 vs eta 2824. hmm....
The Watches Thread V1
Apr 5 2010, 12:46 AM
587 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
the more i read, the more i tend to lean towards those small brands like halios, helson, doxa, deep blue.... looks like the the movements used are mostly miyota 8215 vs eta 2824. hmm....
Apr 5 2010, 07:09 PM
patryn, i guess u r right. it's just like owning another citizen. wise choice would be to save up more money and get a proper swiss watch, right?
Apr 6 2010, 11:33 AM
i didn't say japanese watches can't be proper ones. i own a timex, a casio, a seiko and a citizen. i would like to add a swiss to my collection. i was looking at helios and helson, which use miyota, a citizen's movement. so indirectly, it's like owning another citizen. since i already own three japanese watches, i'd like to own a swiss watch with eta movement.
sure i'd like to own a grand seiko or a spring drive, maybe in future This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 6 2010, 11:37 AM |
Apr 6 2010, 12:04 PM
no prob jason. i have now enough money to get an american watch with swiss movement, but i think i'll save more money till i have enough to give me more options be it german or swiss.
independent watchmaker eh? a friend advised me otherwise. find a brand that has an AD here; easier when it comes to warranty issue and spare parts. do u have experience getting a watch u bought online and not available here in malaysia serviced or repaired here? by the way, anybody knows where to get a maratac strap here in KL/selangor? ODM, too fancy for my taste. correction: halios uses seiko's 6R15, not citizen's miyota This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 6 2010, 01:05 PM |
Apr 6 2010, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 6 2010, 04:15 PM) having local ADs and service centre is a plus, but that also depends on the quality and level of service. keep in mind just because they have a service centre here doesn't mean it will warrant good service. its just more convenient, but may not render the service you expect. i've read of horrible service experience by Tag Heuer. the Stowa for example, uses a common ETA2824 workhouse, and any knowledgeable watch repairmen would be able to service it. ok, understand. just as advised by patryn. the movement will not be a problem as it's a common engine. what about the parts like the glass/saphire, bezel, face, hands, etc? need to order online ourselves and have the watch fixed by our local repairmen?Added on April 6, 2010, 7:06 pm QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 6 2010, 06:38 PM) your friend bought from these independent online place? have experience with them? he's bought a watch online before, can't remember where from. but so far no problem, since his is a quartz. only thing is, when the time comes to change his tritium tubesETA parts are plenty, not easy to break. if it broke within a week or so its QC issue, after that is your mishandling and will not be cover by warranty. sure AD here is easier.. U just pay 2X-3X more to get the same work done. like Jason said the service is not necessary good. This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 6 2010, 07:06 PM |
Apr 7 2010, 07:11 AM
i find that forumers/watch-enthusiasts really covet for these brands; stowa, sinn, mkII. why's that? are they really good? on par with the big names, like omega? do they heavily modify the movements?
Apr 7 2010, 09:04 PM
magrette
![]() |
Apr 7 2010, 10:02 PM
oris divers date is about RM4.2k, or is it RM4120 retail? currently on discount of 20% i think
Apr 7 2010, 10:31 PM
where is After Hours located? can't find it in yellow pages
i'd go with Sinn. only because of the looks. i don't consider technical aspects. my preference is a tool watch or a military or a diver. i don't like the ball logo on the second hand but the tritium sure looks yummy. final vote, Sinn BTW, not sure about the technical side of the Sinn. read somewhere that the U2 (with the GMT) has argon gas in it. IF, this Sinn has similar feature (i'm assuming this since both have a GMT hand), then i think it will be a problem to service it, right? This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 7 2010, 10:38 PM |
Apr 7 2010, 11:11 PM
superocean heritage looks nice! the new wave looks great too. but the lume dots are quite small, wouldnt u agree?
Apr 8 2010, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 8 2010, 11:27 AM) correct me if i am wrong, but resistant to low pressure at high flight altitudes..isn't it the same as pressure resistance to 20 bar? bar isn't a resistance to water depth but pressure.. the pressure at high altitudes and deep sea diving is the same force basically, both conditions have to do with pressure, which is the basic thing here. technically, the design of a pressured equipment and a pressurized equipment, are different. an equipment that can withstand 2bar pressurized condition might not withstand 2bar pressured condition. different calculation/design.BUT, in vacuum condition, a watch will only have 1bar of pressure in its case, so i don't think it's strong enough to destroy the watch. disclaimer: i might be talking nonsense since i've only experience in designing pressure equipments on land (about at sea level) with vacuum in them. never designed equipments for use high in the sky. This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 8 2010, 07:38 PM |
Apr 8 2010, 09:42 PM
wah... omega is really worth the price tag eh?
Apr 9 2010, 12:45 AM
the tempus definitely is in my list
Apr 9 2010, 08:17 PM
QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 9 2010, 01:57 AM) then you better be fast. Tempus is a Singapore only piece limited to 250 pieces sold by The Hour Glass. not sure if its carried in Malaysia. wah! only in singapore? released in 2007, 250 units.... now 2010. hmmmThis post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 9 2010, 08:19 PM |
Apr 9 2010, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Apr 9 2010, 10:34 PM) saw the U1 tempus at the GARDEN...Hour Glass... thanks for the heads up!This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 9 2010, 11:40 PM |
Apr 10 2010, 01:20 PM
terence, can be ur bro? i have an 8 year old seiko dunno what model already
HW Racer, i just got back from The Gardens' Hour Glass. they don't have the tempus. the only U1s they have is the regular and the SDR. tried it on, but kinda big. not used to big watches. 44mm diameter on 6" wrist. the SDR price is more expensive than buying online. difference about rm1.5k hmm....... just one thing i need to ask you guys. if i buy online from let's say sinnwatches.com, when i want to make a warranty claim, can i send the watch to hour glass malaysia or do i have to send it back to sinnwatches.com? i don't really understand the meaning of 'international warranty'. hour glass say that sinn is their house brand. what does that mean? This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 10 2010, 03:53 PM |
Apr 10 2010, 03:19 PM
Apr 10 2010, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(nando @ Apr 10 2010, 04:54 PM) so you decided? original or SDR? i still cant decide...although there is currently no stock for SDR online aiyah i dunno lah! seriously dunno. if i were to choose, i'd choose SDR. but, the watch is kinda big for my wrist, and you are right, no online stock. buying from HG means spending rm1.5k extra! hmm.... thinking... thinking....wristshot citizen promaster diameter w/o crown: 42mm lug-to-lug: 46mm ![]() wristshot tissot veloci-t ![]() would a 44/46mm diameter with 50mm lug-to-lug watch look suitable on my wrist? This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 11 2010, 01:21 AM |
Apr 11 2010, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 11 2010, 06:55 PM) don't say like that lah... yes, the tissot is too big for me. 50mm lug-to-lug, 46mm diameter. the other watch in the photo, is a seiko velatura. even bigger than the tissot! U200 eh? with argon filled case, nevermind lah. seiko chrono i dunno what model already, 37mm diameter (actually 36.5mm), 43mm lug-to-lug, on a 6" wrist ![]() This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 11 2010, 11:36 PM |
Apr 11 2010, 11:52 PM
true, watches used to be smaller. the only big ones were the g-shocks.
now back to planning n dreaming which ones to buy... hahaha... the only one i can think of right now is the omega PO. and that, is a long way to go before i can afford one went to pavilion today, saw some doxas. but none of those doxas are available on doxa's website. hmm??? normal dress watches. no divers This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 11 2010, 11:57 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0203sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:33 PM |