The Watches Thread V1

miaopurr
post Apr 16 2010, 08:08 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Apr 16 2010, 08:07 PM)
if budget limited ...then we can be Harrison Ford lo...Hamilton ambassador...hehehe...wonder what Jason Bourne wears?
TAG

or, even very limited budget, we can be Ethan Hunt. he wore a casio

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 16 2010, 08:15 PM
miaopurr
post Apr 16 2010, 08:47 PM

587 posts

hmmm.... this thread is becoming more exciting!
miaopurr
post Apr 16 2010, 11:32 PM

587 posts

terence, can u check out the price if it has increased? prior to 1 april, SMP was rm10.5k, PO was 11.7k
miaopurr
post Apr 16 2010, 11:43 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Apr 16 2010, 11:39 PM)
i was told that Omega increases on 15th of April smile.gif
by how much i wonder.... and i wonder if the price increase comes with a sweet kiss from cortina babes

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 16 2010, 11:44 PM
miaopurr
post Apr 17 2010, 10:04 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 17 2010, 06:31 PM)
- not used to ETA 2824, but with SW200 its irritating that when i adjust the date the hour starts from the morning. should I adjust the hour 1st to nite 7pm and adjust the date to the next day, it sucks that the 7pm I just set is 7am.
it's the same with my miyota. if i wanna set to today's date, i start from a day before, and wind the clock to current time and until the date changes.

btw love the lume shot

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 17 2010, 10:06 PM
miaopurr
post Apr 17 2010, 11:19 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Apr 17 2010, 11:10 PM)
Yeap patryn33 the lume quite similar than Ball. But i thing i dont really understand, their display units of Ball watches their lume is very bright and thick green
i read somewhere that the display units glow with such brightness because they are under UV lights

Added on April 17, 2010, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(ngfamily @ Apr 17 2010, 10:44 PM)
Heyz guyz who r expert in watches. Im planning to buy either tissot or seiko watch. Well, im planning to go to singapore in this june. So, do the price (after convert) and model of watch in s'pore better than m'sia? anyway, seiko or tissot? im 22 years guyz. Thanks anyway. -)
i'm not an expert, but if u want a good value for money watch, seiko

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 17 2010, 11:42 PM
miaopurr
post Apr 18 2010, 08:33 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 18 2010, 07:44 PM)
I think U and miaopurr are confuse with Tritium gas. They are self powered and do not need UV light unlike your Tag or most watches.
why they get get lume pics? the glow is constant and its easier to get great pics.
unlike superluminova the lume decay with time fast.
true, tritium tubes are self-powered. but what contributes the really bright luminous effect of the display units is, IMO, the bezels. ball (the ones with bezel) use luminova on their bezels. under UV light, the bezels shine really bright, giving out that very nice lume effect.

btw, went to klcc today. since i was there, i checked out the latest price of omega PO. an omega PO with bracelet is now rm12.75k. old price was rm11.7k. despite the plunging euro n usd, local price still goes up. local ADs are the real cut-throats.

i went to cortina but there were no hot chicks! terence, u sure it was the cortina? but emotus sure have one really cute leng lui... wub.gif got her card too.... again wub.gif tried on a fortis marinemaster, the cute babe commented it was too big for my wrist. cute babe really knew her stuff tongue.gif

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 18 2010, 09:01 PM
miaopurr
post Apr 18 2010, 09:03 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 18 2010, 08:45 PM)
so are u calling the hot babe to get her out on a date??  brows.gif
only if she can give me 50% discount
miaopurr
post Apr 18 2010, 09:14 PM

587 posts

i think, if the watch is still under warranty, send it to local JLC outlet. if the warranty has expired, i think sifus here can recommend some reliable watchmakers. my boss sent his tag to a well-known service centre for a service, but a week later the watch went kaput
miaopurr
post Apr 18 2010, 09:20 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 18 2010, 09:08 PM)
wow! like that she don't have any commission..
I think U have to pay without discount to get her on a date.... haha... or hint that... go date then U'll buy without discount from her.  tongue.gif
hehehe that sounds like a plan! anyway, there were a few rado originals. real retro beauty

Added on April 18, 2010, 9:21 pm
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 18 2010, 09:16 PM)
warranty will not cover this.. U'll be paying FULL as if watch is out of waranty
oh yeah, forgot that straps n crystals are not covered under warranty

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 18 2010, 09:21 PM
miaopurr
post Apr 18 2010, 11:53 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 18 2010, 11:45 PM)
service should always go through AD.. i feel.. you go to outside watch makers..they might take out your original movement and put a china replica in and you wouldn't know if it doesn't have a display case.
has this ever happened?
miaopurr
post Apr 19 2010, 10:51 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Apr 19 2010, 08:45 PM)
Hello watch lovers,

I've had a Swatch Windfall (part of the dial peeling off now), a Seiko Chronograph (stolen), and some Casio digital ones for exercising.  Been wearing a cheap watch given at my company's annual dinner door-gift for years now.  Now I'm considering getting a half-decent watch.  Thinking of getting this Tissot PR50 T34.1.488.32 for less than RM700.  Any opinion on it?

My preference:
- dial not too complex, good clean design, chrono or not doesn't matter
- I'm not a movement person (would prefer automatic but no decent ones at my budget)
- prefer round shape
- prefer metal as I will be wearing it daily and don't know how to take care of leather
- brand doesn't matter as long as the design and build is good
- max size for dial 40mm
- for work and casual

Any recommendations?

rm700 budget huh? have u checked out Seiko 5 or citizen? i think there are some orient watches too within ur budget.
http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/Archive/2010-04AStd57831229.htm

http://www.lelong.com.my/merchant/default....01&sortBy=Price

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 19 2010, 11:51 PM
miaopurr
post Apr 23 2010, 06:58 AM

587 posts

the hour glass offer 0% installment for maybank credit card holders up to 12 months
miaopurr
post Apr 23 2010, 08:35 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(beguiler @ Apr 23 2010, 07:19 PM)
i believe almost all watches gallery do 0% installment
just call up the bank and ask
normally after you made the payment , call them up to arrange the payment into 0% installment for 12 months..

subjected to certain bank too..
not with maybank. with maybank cards, the installment request will be made by the shop, not the buyer. it has to be made when the transaction takes place.

unlike citibank, you can request for the purchase to be converted to an installment plan, but not sure whether it's a 0% plan.

Added on April 23, 2010, 8:36 pm
QUOTE(Dannyl @ Apr 23 2010, 02:44 PM)
Wanna ask something... the oscillation of the movements determines the smoothness of the second hand sweep, correct?  I just bought a watch with Miyota 8210 movement at 21,600 bph, which is jerky.  Just being curious - what movements have silky smooth sweep?  My first experience with clocks/watches (when I was a few years old) was with a family wall clock.  The clock had perfectly smooth second hand sweep...

http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=189869
seiko spring drive! silky smooth

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 23 2010, 08:36 PM
miaopurr
post Apr 23 2010, 11:11 PM

587 posts

aiseh... only own a maybank card

0% huh? how long?
miaopurr
post Apr 24 2010, 10:28 PM

587 posts

here's roughly what a Sinn U1 would look like on my wrist.

taken from http://forums.watchuseek.com/showpost.php?...15&postcount=35 and that's a U1 on a 6.5" wrist. mine's 6" only

miaopurr
post Apr 25 2010, 12:54 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 25 2010, 04:58 AM)
just go in and try in on and get a feel.
can see u are still indecisive its Sinn, Omega or Doxa..
already tried the real thing. it was too big for my wrist. didn't snap a photo though
miaopurr
post Apr 25 2010, 08:54 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 25 2010, 08:33 PM)
guess it out your list
yeap. i've got a few names on my list. it'll be my goal, one at a time. if all goes well, i'll get one very soon. smile.gif

i think, for a 6" wrist, the perfect size is 42mm diameter, 47mm lug-to-lug, 13mm thick. but this is my opinion.

Added on April 25, 2010, 9:09 pm
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Apr 25 2010, 08:53 PM)
ck77, this looks great!
http://www.watchtalkforums.info/forums/con...ineer-ohio.html

i wonder how much is it biggrin.gif
terence, can't open the link

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 25 2010, 09:09 PM
miaopurr
post Apr 25 2010, 09:43 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Waachaaa @ Apr 25 2010, 09:31 PM)
Guys, need some opinion here

I need a Class and Professional watch here

The PRC200 yellow needle and the Automatic 1 is RM1K difference
The Automatic seems much more class n professional look
However its quite huge for my hand.

my opinion, if you don't like oversize watches, then don't.

i was looking for a dive watch and i found Sinn U1. superior watch, excellent quality. but it was too big for my wrist. with oversize watches, it's either love it or hate it IMO.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 25 2010, 09:45 PM
miaopurr
post Apr 25 2010, 10:22 PM

587 posts

wait, what do u mean class n professional? a dress watch suitable to wear to office n functions? or something that looks like a tool watch? or something that looks looks serious like military type? do you want a clean dial or a busy dial like chrono?

how about certina?

somehow, the only watch i could think of that is classy n professional at the same time is Omega SMP. or Omega PO. or Rolex Submariner

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Apr 25 2010, 10:52 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0456sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:45 PM