The Watches Thread V1
miaopurr
Mar 28 2010, 01:09 AM
Hi, newbie here. i love diver watches and my dream watch is Omega Seamaster Planet Ocean. BUT, i just can't afford it. I own a Citizen Promaster NY0040-17L  i'd like to add a few more automatic diver watches, particularly from Seiko, Citizen and Orient. Anybody knows where I can find some good wide selections of these watches in KL and Selangor? I've only found some Seiko Kinetic divers, but I'm looking for the automatic ones instead.
miaopurr
Mar 28 2010, 01:24 AM
i have small wrists so i prefer to try them on my wrist before buying. also, it's always nicer to hold the actual watches in your hand, right? i'm familiar with seiyajapan, but have never bought anything from them. is it safe buying online?
This post has been edited by miaopurr: Mar 28 2010, 01:28 AM
miaopurr
Mar 28 2010, 01:39 AM
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Mar 27 2010, 10:34 PM) p/s: not many ppl looting on Omega watches? I see more Tag fans here terence, i've dreamed of owning a seamaster since high school. now, i still can't afford it  seamaster professional retails at RM10.5k, planet ocean retails at RM11.9k. if only i can withdraw my EPF to fund my watch purchase Added on March 28, 2010, 1:41 amQUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 28 2010, 01:35 AM) al;ot of ppl bought from them its safe any chance of being stopped by our customs, tax related matters? do we have to collect from them and pay some taxes? or is it tax-free? This post has been edited by miaopurr: Mar 28 2010, 01:41 AM
miaopurr
Mar 28 2010, 08:25 AM
thanks patryn! very helpful links. but would you happen to know any shops in KL/Selangor that carry good selections of Seiko Prospex or Marinemaster, Citizen Promaster, and Orient Professional Diver? i've got mine from my hometown, but very few choices.
miaopurr
Mar 28 2010, 09:03 AM
OH!! you live in the US! no wonder lah... some prospex models cost thousands of dollars, and some are only hundreds of dollars. depends i guess. i've checked out the links about customs you gave earlier. seems like the risks are IF the customs decide to squeeze some money out of you, and hijackers. and also how the goods are handled during shipment.
about MkII and Guinard. are there authorized service centers in malaysia? i've always wondered about brands that are available overseas but not here. if we buy them online and have them shipped here, once there's a problem, where do we take them to? i've been looking at Marathon SAR watches.
miaopurr
Mar 28 2010, 10:32 AM
customs... sigh... i once bought an AGV helmet from ebay. the item was marked as GIFT, so should be no tax whatsoever. when it arrived in KLIA and checked by the customs, the withheld the package on the ground that the helmet had no SIRIM approval, although it had all international safety compliance. eventually, the customs officer said he could release the package but i would have to pay the tax. huh? what tax? it was a gift. finally, had to pay 10% of the value.
miaopurr
Mar 28 2010, 11:15 PM
i used to love chronographs. then lost interest and switched my preference towards diver's watch. i agree that that LE is very nice, but not my cup of tea. been looking at MKII and Marathon. the Marathon SAR reeks of manly testosterone
This post has been edited by miaopurr: Mar 28 2010, 11:16 PM
miaopurr
Mar 29 2010, 12:02 AM
check this out! the Marathon CSAR is huge! on the top is a Rolex GMT Master
miaopurr
Mar 29 2010, 12:21 AM
SORRY. i wanted to say JSAR. that's a JSAR in the picture. CSAR is the same size as JSAR. http://www.broadarrow.net/sale.htmC stands for Chrono i guess. J for Jumbo
miaopurr
Mar 29 2010, 12:30 AM
eh, silly me! must be too tired to think straight. just got back from house hunting. anyway, JSAR n CSAR are of the same size. no, not considering the CSAR definitely.
miaopurr
Mar 29 2010, 12:43 AM
no, not JSAR. JSAR is quartz. furthermore it's huge! my wrist is only 6". thinking of GSAR or MSAR. anyway, how reliable are MKII or Marathon? read some negative reviews on Marathons
miaopurr
Mar 29 2010, 01:01 AM
i went to watatime n a few others today and last week. just looking around. they said that price of a few brands is going up about 12% starting april 1. not sure applicable to ball as well
This post has been edited by miaopurr: Mar 29 2010, 01:03 AM
miaopurr
Mar 31 2010, 07:27 PM
a question about movements. if a watch comes with a standard unmodified ETA-2824 (for example), can we go to any shop here in malaysia to service or repair our watch? what if it comes with a modified and decorated movement? for example, Doxa SUB1000T. What is a decorated movement anyway? Can I go to any shop for a repair or to service it?
miaopurr
Mar 31 2010, 09:06 PM
miaopurr
Mar 31 2010, 10:31 PM
i'm trying my best not to dip my hands in my house-deposit fund
this forum really got me tempted haha
This post has been edited by miaopurr: Mar 31 2010, 10:32 PM
miaopurr
Mar 31 2010, 11:29 PM
malu la... i have only a citizen cheapcheap
miaopurr
Apr 3 2010, 06:55 PM
what do you guys think of limited production watches? furthermore those that are only sold online and no AD in malaysia? specifically, doxa. huh? worth buying?
miaopurr
Apr 3 2010, 07:23 PM
planning to get the marathon, but just can't stop thinking of the doxa. the 800Ti really makes my nose spewing blood. but the price is the same as omega SMP.
miaopurr
Apr 3 2010, 07:45 PM
what are the problems we might face in future if we buy watches like doxa? i mean, limited production, altho the movement is the common ETA, no local AD, etc?
miaopurr
Apr 4 2010, 07:29 PM
thanks patryn for the links. really love the comparison between various divers.