6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

** HTC Touch HD LYN's Official Thread **

maesus
post Jan 6 2009, 02:32 AM

305 posts

Microsoft define difference between Pocket PC and SmartPhone is Pocket PC has Touch Screen, SmartPhone doesn't have Touch Screen. Hence, Microsoft develop Windows Mobile "standard" for SmartPhone and Windows Mobile Professional for Pocket PC, mainly is to add the Touch Screen driver for the User Interface tongue.gif

And thus since then, the whole industry use Microsoft definition to categorize /differentiate between Pocket PC and SmartPhone. The keyword is User Interface.

You can take it as:
Pocket PC = PDA with phone function
SmartPhone = Phone with PDA function

One bad thing I found about HD / iPhone or any 100% touchscreen device is , it's darn difficult to SMS while driving tongue.gif LOL

maesus
post Jan 6 2009, 01:27 PM

305 posts

the wMP plugin only works on few RMVB files, not all. If you had those TVB TV series in RMVB format, most of them are not watchable via this plug-ins.... it only worked for me on a few files...

applicable to both HD and TD.. basically, applicable for many WM6 devices tongue.gif
maesus
post Jan 6 2009, 10:19 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(RME-RAnger @ Jan 6 2009, 01:45 PM)
u means not all rmvb file can work in wmp? really dun understand y can play some rmvb file but some cannot, is same file type right?  rclxub.gif
correct, not all rmvb file can work. Not all rmvb files are the same - video frame size, video bitrate, audio bitrate, video codec, audio codec, specific RealMedia settings, etc, and this particular plug-in it seems only a subset of those rmvb parameters are supported.
maesus
post Jan 10 2009, 09:21 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jan 10 2009, 07:31 PM)
since this phone got stylus, that mean its using pressure touch screen unlike iphone use sensor right?
i think only iphone using sensor touch screen right?
correct me if im wrong.. smile.gif
There are all sensors. yes, HD's using resistive touchscreen compared to iphone's capacitive touchscreen. Many have debated on these touchscreen technologies, although HD's touchscreen is no match with iPhone's, it's still the best of all HTC touchscreen phones/PDAs. HTC has done tremendous improvements on the finger friendly experiences on HD's resistive touchscreen so you'll be less depending on stylus.

I tried to look for software/registry tweak that's able to enhance/increase the sensitivity of the touchscreen, but still haven't found any.
maesus
post Jan 10 2009, 10:05 PM

305 posts

the problem with the slider fix is there is an overlapping text "Call Hi... "(Call History) appeared on the Phone Dialer dialog. This overlapping text prevent the video call switch button to be tap-able.
maesus
post Jan 19 2009, 03:35 PM

305 posts

waque, try S2U2, throttlelock, touchlockpro , pick one yourself smile.gif
maesus
post Jan 26 2009, 12:50 AM

305 posts

The version I found on the HTC website is not RUU_BlackStone_hTC_Asia_WWE_StarHub_1.18.723.2_Rad io_52.49a.25.26_1.09.25.14_Ship.

I get _HTC Touch HD_RUU_BlackStone_hTC_Asia_WWE_1.18.707.3_Radio_52.49a.25.26_1.09.25.14_Ship.exe instead. hmm... ??
maesus
post Jan 30 2009, 04:35 AM

305 posts

hi... just wondering, after you flash with latest ROM, do you lose ALL your previous settings , all your previously installed apps? ie is it analogous to format and clean install a new OS? or it's more of a "upgrade OS"?

thanks.
maesus
post Jan 31 2009, 12:50 AM

305 posts

crashed my HD until it could not boot to WM6. Had to Hard Reset and lost all my data/settings sad.gif
The hard reset reinstalled some default apps like Office Mobile, and surprisingly Garmin Mobile XT. Hmm... I wonder where does this Garmin installation file stored? Is it in the ROM too?

Update: GMXT is stored in Storage Card and it triggers auto-install itself. Interesting...

I think my question should be, how do I know what is really stored in the ROM and what (software) is inside the ROM update file RUU_BlackStone_hTC_Asia_WWE_1.18.707.3_Radio_52.49a.25.26_1.09.25.14_Ship.exe

This post has been edited by maesus: Jan 31 2009, 01:57 AM
maesus
post Feb 1 2009, 12:30 AM

305 posts

kylinlee, sure I know what ROM is. smile.gif Just I wonder what software was bundled in the ROM update file. I just flashed to 1.18.707.3 and found the software bundled was quite basic and didn't really miss out anything.
maesus
post Feb 3 2009, 11:48 PM

305 posts

3 ~ 4 seconds and 200~400meter lag, hmm... let say 400meter in 4 seconds, that is ... 400m / 4s = 360km/h LOL!!!you're SPEEDING! LOL

yup, noticed the lag, but unsure if it's Garmin fault or GPS fault... dun have Mapking or other GPS software to test out.
maesus
post Feb 8 2009, 02:05 AM

305 posts

Guys,

What software you install on your HD that you run them regularly?

Here's my list:
1. TouchLockPro
2. Resco File Explorer
3. TouchPal (keyboard)
4. G-Alarm
5. G-Light
6. Gyrator 2
7. AE Button Plus
8. QuickMenu
9. SMS-Chat
10. Resco Contact Manager (beta)
11. TaskMgr

I'm still looking for true Outlook replacement for Calendar. ThumbCal doesn't really meet my "taste".

How about yours?
maesus
post Feb 18 2009, 08:45 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(kylinlee @ Feb 18 2009, 02:15 PM)
Dutty's ROM already included all current HotFix from HTC.

Dutty is the king of cooked rom chef, you've no worry to use his ROM;
He is famous in XDA, his got tonnes of hardcore fans who following him, they only choose the device he bot bcos his ROM.

Trust me, you will never go back to official ROM when u try his ROM! He make ur device F-L-Y~
I haven't tried to flash yet. But would like to know - Does it skinned-off 3G /Video Call? Or still have Video-Call switch at the Dialer screen?

PS: wow! Dutty's download server has exceeded bandwidth LOL

This post has been edited by maesus: Feb 18 2009, 11:23 PM
maesus
post Feb 19 2009, 11:37 AM

305 posts

QUOTE(daneva @ Feb 19 2009, 10:47 AM)
Thanks kylinlee, I read in somewhere that once you sucessful HSPL your HD, there is a very rare
chances you will brick your HTC HD when you flash your ROM later, is it true?

I really want to HSPL my HTC HD and then flash Dutty ROM.

Learn a lot from all the sifu here, thanks again.
I am going for USPL approach.
maesus
post Feb 19 2009, 10:13 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(daneva @ Feb 19 2009, 11:43 AM)
Hi Maesus,

What is USPL? Is it very different from HSPL?
USPL info: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=462347
HSPL info: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=431217

3. What is USPL?

USPL is Unsigned... Unbricker... Universal... Ultimate... SPL, you name it!
USPL is for running different SPL versions and installing cooked/unsigned ROMs on your device without flashing patched SPL.
USPL is for unbricking your device if OS doesn't load, you don't have HardSPL installed and there's no stock ROM you can find for your device.
USPL is for debugging and testing if you are up to your own SPL patching.

I'm not a regular ROM flasher, USPL will just do enough for me. wink.gif

maesus
post Feb 20 2009, 01:20 AM

305 posts

QUOTE(daneva @ Feb 19 2009, 11:02 PM)
Hi evilpuppy/kylinlee,

Noted and thanks again.

Cheers,

Daneva

Added on February 19, 2009, 11:05 pm
Oh okay, I have learn another new stuff from this forum, what a great feeling
to have u guys helping each other.
I pulled my words back. The more I play with Flashing ROM, the more I like it. LOL drool.gif now I am sticking with HSPL cool2.gif
maesus
post Feb 20 2009, 10:06 PM

305 posts

Dutty 1.8 ROM is taking much higher RAM, about 60% after some average usage. Some of the previous TF3D skinning/hack cannot work with the new landscape-able TF3D included in this latest ROM.

kylinlee, care to share what you discovered and fixed on the 'hang' issue?
maesus
post Feb 23 2009, 11:59 AM

305 posts

QUOTE(daneva @ Feb 23 2009, 09:39 AM)
Just tested it out and I do not encounter any problem on the above. The problem I have is
when u click on the call history and delete one of the caller, sometime it delete and sometime
not deleted.

I managed to solve (I guess) the turquoise color on the right hand side by going to "Start" --> "Setting" --->
"Today" and choose window default. And repeat the above again and choose back "HTC Black".
When I go to white background (eg. ActiveSync), no more light turquoise color at right hand side (a bit funny huh).

One more thing, when u flash another rom, do u need to hard reset as I remember u said only need
hard reset for 1st time flash Rom? If no need to hard reset, is my data all intact ? (yesterday I went
to PDA Expert at Mid Valley to reinstall Mapking, Garmin and WKTASK as all data is gone when
I flash Dutty Rom V1.8. I request the guy to copy Garmin and Mapking to my memory card)

Added on February 23, 2009, 9:42 am

Hi waque,

One thing I like Dutty ROM V1.8 is the Calendar. So is davideuck rom has the same
working calendar?

Can you give me the link to down load davideuck rom?

Cheers,

Daneva
I don' thave the white background issue like you have. But here's my Dutty 1.8 ROM problem:
1. the "X/ OK" button always disappear after every soft-reset. Need to reconfigure again via Settings -> System -> Task Manager -> Button.
2. Occasionally hang / freeze (but recoverable after maybe 2 ~ 3 minutes). Still can't see a way to always reproduce the hang, so not sure what is causing it.

There's new Radio : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=485393
Davideuck V5 ROM : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=468178
Davideuck WM6.5 !! V3 ROM : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=475285

Haven't tried any of those ROM yet. But tried the new Radio, so far so good.
maesus
post Feb 23 2009, 04:38 PM

305 posts

found one suspicious problem with the new Radio - the Garmin Mobile XT's GPS signal bar doesn't really show the signal strength, although GPS functions properly. :S However, improvement - WiFi is BETTER!!
maesus
post Feb 25 2009, 09:28 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(spaceman @ Feb 25 2009, 05:42 PM)
Yeah that's right, this problem isn't that critical but hmmp! still not perfect.... hmm.gif
Today I tested the GPS while driving. There are places the GPS dropped satellite signals, which did not occur with 1.10 or 1.09 radio. sad.gif Another downside of 1.12 sad.gif Well, I will reflash back to 1.10 and see if the same reoccured. Maybe it's due to weather, thick cloud?? hmm.gif

Another few problems found -- HTC Album. Use camera to take a snap photo, it takes a very long time to save... but... it didn't save at all, searched through the whole memory and storage card, no new photo found! sad.gif The other problem is, album orientation - a landscape photo appear as full-size portrait in portrait orientation, but appear as envelope size (with black bar at left and right) in landscape mode. And vice versa for portrait photo!

Anyone know the fix(es)?

This post has been edited by maesus: Feb 25 2009, 10:39 PM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:12 PM