19 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

will pharmacist gain dispensing right in Malaysia?, what you think?

hypermax
post Dec 18 2008, 11:16 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 18 2008, 11:14 PM)
Your previous post:
Director-General of Health Tan Sri Dr Ismail Merican said the ministry was not able to implement this system earlier due to logistics problems, especially the shortage of pharmacists and pharmacies in the country.

I am truly shocked. So tell me, is KV the entire country? I am so shocked our Malaysian doctor can make such a mistake or was it deliberate attempt at misinformation? The more reason we need pharmacist to check what they prescribe.
Quote me my post pls. I dun remember posting such.

My previous post:
Well, Dr. Ismail Merican (i hope you know who he is) said at the moment there's not enough pharmacists in KV, therefore the trial is postponed, not scrapped like what you have mentioned.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Dec 18 2008, 11:17 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 18 2008, 11:16 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 18 2008, 11:09 PM)
Because there's no one else who can diagnose other than doctors? I thought we have gone through that many times. Stop going around in circle.
You as a pharmacy student, do you know how to diagnose CCF or pneumonia?
Diagnostic criteria for asthma and COPD?

Doctors know pharmacology, but pharmacists dun know Internal Medicine. No one else knows besides doctors.
You keep putting 'shortage' as an excuse. And I have answered that for safety reason, shortage is not an valid excuse. Why do you keep going in circle?

Added on December 18, 2008, 11:18 pmMy mistake. It was posted by jchong. Article from NST 29/3/08

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Dec 18 2008, 11:18 PM
hypermax
post Dec 18 2008, 11:19 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 18 2008, 11:16 PM)
You keep putting 'shortage' as an excuse. And I have answered that for safety reason, shortage is not an valid excuse. Why do you keep going in circle?
har??
Because shortage is a very valid reason.
Walao, you go around in circle, now you said i go around in circle pulak.

The 2 main reasons for pharmacists not to have dispensing right:
1. Extreme shortage
2. Incompatibility with our health care system

So when there's not enough pharmacists to dispense, you think it'll be safe for the patients?
youngkies
post Dec 18 2008, 11:19 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Dec 18 2008, 03:40 PM)
One advantage that I can see is that documentation of medication is necessary when you separate the duties. I visited a doctor in a private clinic in KL yesterday, and you could say it's my first visit to a doctor here as an adult, as I studied abroad before this. The dialogue between the doc and I went:

Doc: "Ok, I'll be giving you some ointment and some antibiotics."
WK: "What's in the ointment and antibiotics?"
Doc: *thinks for awhile and mumbles some mumbo-jumbo*

At this point I didn't write down what he mumbled, thinking that when I get the medication it will be labeled. My fault there, I know. Instead, all I got was a tub labeled "For face" and a loose bag labeled "Antibiotics". I appreciate that it can be cheaper dispensing medicine this way, but it leaves me an uninformed consumer. I don't know who manufactured the drug, when it expires, what it contains (from which I can wikipedia or webmd it up or something), and most importantly - whether I'm getting the right thing.
oh yes, this is a matter that have not seen by the general public or doctors that has never go out from malaysia, how well the medicine is presented to the patient in country like UK, US and Aus. in fact, in uk, there are strict requirements of how the medicines should be packed/labeled etc.

not only that in malaysia, the medicines handed out didn't contain the essential information of the drug, nor a helpful instruction on how to take the medicines, often i see that the medicines were packed into random packet. (e.g. my grandpa recently visited the doctor for his diabetic medication, when i was asked to see the med, i was surprised to see 6 blister packs of gliclazide were packed into a plastic pack which is made for some other drug, for some foot treatment if i recall right).

i believe when the system ask the doctor side to have all stricter requirement in dispensing, even the simple thing such as in packaging and labeling of items dispensed, i have no doubt they will answer with 'that will add more work load etc". so why not take this opportunity to let the pharmacist do their best at work, dispense as prescribed, counting tablets, printing labels, and meanwhile double check the medication is right, for the right patient.

This post has been edited by youngkies: Dec 18 2008, 11:21 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 18 2008, 11:21 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 18 2008, 11:19 PM)
har??
Because shortage is a very valid reason.
Walao, you go around in circle, now you said i go around in circle pulak.

The 2 main reasons for pharmacists not to have dispensing right:
1. Extreme shortage
2. Incompatibility with our health care system

So when there's not enough pharmacists to dispense, you think it'll be safe for the patients?
Why shortage is a valid reason to give doctor sole diagnosis right?

And why is Malaysian patient's health requirement different from UK's? Are we less valuable or what? Please enlighten us.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Dec 18 2008, 11:22 PM
wKkaY
post Dec 18 2008, 11:22 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

http://www.pharmacy.gov.my/html/annual_report2004_main.htm

Look at: Table 4: Distribution of Pharmacists according to States

Although it's old-ish (2004) data, it's surely better than making guesses out of our ass smile.gif
hypermax
post Dec 18 2008, 11:24 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Dec 18 2008, 11:19 PM)
oh yes, this is a matter that have not seen by the general public or doctors that has never go out from malaysia, how well the medicine is presented to the patient in country like UK, US and Aus. in fact, in uk, there are strict requirements of how the medicines should be packed/labeled etc.

not only that in malaysia, the medicines handed out didn't contain the essential information of the drug, nor a helpful instruction on how to take the medicines, often i see that the medicines were packed into random packet. (e.g. my grandpa recently visited the doctor for his diabetic medication, when i was asked to see the med, i was surprised to see 6 blister packs of gliclazide were packed into a plastic pack which is made for some other drug, for some foot treatment if i recall right).

i believe when the system ask the doctor side to have all stricter requirement in dispensing, even the simple thing such as in packaging and labeling of items dispensed, i have no doubt they will answer with 'that will add more work load etc". so why not take this opportunity to let the pharmacist do their best at work, dispense as prescribed, counting tablets, printing labels, and meanwhile double check the medication is right, for the right patient.
Because many are not ready to pay extra for pharmacists. Therefore, as i have mentioned before, public education is a must before even thinking of trial.

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 18 2008, 11:21 PM)
Why shortage is a valid reason?

And why is Malaysian patient's health requirement different from UK's? Are we less valuable or what? Please enlighten us.
Why is shortage not a reason. When not enough people to do the job, how to do it properly?
Again, who else can diagnose besides doctor? Stop going around in circle lar, or you have OCD?
We are not less valuable, just that our gov is not smart enough to implement a free for all health care system like in UK (both gov and private hospitals)

This post has been edited by hypermax: Dec 18 2008, 11:29 PM
CyberSetan
post Dec 18 2008, 11:27 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 18 2008, 11:21 PM)
Why shortage is a valid reason to give doctor sole diagnosis right?

Pharmacists do medical diagnosis is it? isn't that the doctor's job to provide medical diagnosis and write a prescription for the patient?.
hypermax
post Dec 18 2008, 11:27 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Dec 18 2008, 11:22 PM)
http://www.pharmacy.gov.my/html/annual_report2004_main.htm

Look at: Table 4: Distribution of Pharmacists according to States

Although it's old-ish (2004) data, it's surely better than making guesses out of our ass smile.gif
No point putting sure figures here. Mr. Opti only wants figures for Klang Valley.
youngkies
post Dec 18 2008, 11:28 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 18 2008, 11:09 PM)
Brother, read the posts properly before posting larr. We discuss it many times de.
UK's health system is entirely different from ours. It's not apple to apple comparison.

Added on December 18, 2008, 11:10 pm
Because there's no one else who can diagnose other than doctors? I thought we have gone through that many times. Stop going around in circle.
You as a pharmacy student, do you know how to diagnose CCF or pneumonia?
Diagnostic criteria for asthma and COPD?

Doctors know pharmacology, but pharmacists dun know Internal Medicine. No one else knows besides doctors.

well, once more, know what is dispensing and prescribing. pharmacist doesnt have to know how to diagnose, but have to know what the medication is for, and its right dose. so that when he/she got a prescription, he/she would know that medicines is for the right patient, and at the right dose, and doesnt interact with any medication that the patient is having, and make sure the patient is aware of the side-effect that the patient would be best to know.

the pharmacist doesnt have to diagnose the patient if he/she got pneumonia or cancer.

that is the difference of diagnosis follow by prescribing and dispensing what is prescribed.

if the doctor made a wrong input on the dose on the prescription, i really doubt the spm leaver will notice it, but just to dispense it and hand to the patient, unless the dose is ridiculously uncommon or high. but what if for drug with narrow therapeutic index, a little difference in the dose will do the harm.

SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 18 2008, 11:28 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 18 2008, 11:24 PM)
Why is shortage not a reason. When not enough people to do the job, how to do it properly?
There are not enough doctor. So doctor not doing the job properly. So why should we give them the diagnosis right?

hypermax
post Dec 18 2008, 11:30 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Dec 18 2008, 11:28 PM)
well, once more, know what is dispensing and prescribing. pharmacist doesnt have to know how to diagnose, but have to know what the medication is for, and its right dose. so that when he/she got a prescription, he/she would know that medicines is for the right patient, and at the right dose, and doesnt interact with any medication that the patient is having, and make sure the patient is aware of the side-effect that the patient would be best to know.

the pharmacist doesnt have to diagnose the patient if he/she got pneumonia or cancer.

that is the difference of diagnosis follow by prescribing and dispensing what is prescribed.

if the doctor made a wrong input on the dose on the prescription, i really doubt the spm leaver will notice it, but just to dispense it and hand to the patient, unless the dose is ridiculously uncommon or high. but what if for drug with narrow therapeutic index, a little difference in the dose will do the harm.
Dear moderator, pls read properly before posting. I was replying specifically to Mr.Opti's post, asking "Why doctors have sole diagnosis right even though there's a shortage of doctors in Msia?"

Added on December 18, 2008, 11:31 pm
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 18 2008, 11:28 PM)
There are not enough doctor. So doctor not doing the job properly. So why should we give them the diagnosis right?
Then who else can diagnose? rclxub.gif
Round and round we go.
Well, i seriously think you are spamming here.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Dec 18 2008, 11:33 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 18 2008, 11:34 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 18 2008, 10:27 PM)
I told you before, the reason i think pharmacists in KV are insufficient based on the fact that there are only 4000+ pharmacists in the whole country, both private and gov.
2004. 3506 pharmacist
2006. 4292 pharmacist
An increase of 786 over 2 yrs. So 2008 probably just over 5000 now, not just 4000+

youngkies
post Dec 18 2008, 11:35 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 18 2008, 11:30 PM)
Dear moderator, pls read properly before posting. I was replying specifically to Mr.Opti's post, asking "Why doctors have sole diagnosis right even though there's a shortage of doctors in Msia?"

Added on December 18, 2008, 11:31 pm
Round and round we go.
oh yes dear doctor. my mistake again. tongue.gif

what opti was trying to say is, if doctor can do their job well, diagnose and prescribe despite the profession is at such a shortage, why not pharmacist given their right to do their job well either. fair not? though ratio of pharmacist:patient is even smaller.
CyberSetan
post Dec 18 2008, 11:36 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 18 2008, 11:28 PM)
LoL... who else then have the right to medically diagnose a patient? vets perhaps? heheh...

You a pharmacy student, you should know better who's job is it to diagnose and give prescription and who's job is it to give the medication? (here, I am in agreement that the sole right to provide medication is given to the pharmacist, but I disagree regarding the diagnosis part)
hypermax
post Dec 18 2008, 11:36 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 18 2008, 11:34 PM)
2004. 3506 pharmacist
2006. 4292 pharmacist
An increase of 786 over 2 yrs. So 2008 probably just over 5000 now, not just 4000+
And do you know how rapid is the increase in population of KV? Besides people being born in KV, there are many others from rural areas flooding in seeking for jobs.
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 18 2008, 11:37 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 18 2008, 11:30 PM)
Round and round we go.
Well, i seriously think you are spamming here.
Serious shortage of doctor. But must still give doctor diagnosis right because they are the best person to do it.

Therefore, same logic dictate:
Serious shortage of pharmacist. But must still give pharmacist dispensing right because they are the best person to do it.

Conclusion: Do not bring up shortage as an excuse not to do the right thing.

hypermax
post Dec 18 2008, 11:38 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Dec 18 2008, 11:35 PM)
oh yes dear doctor. my mistake again.  tongue.gif

what opti was trying to say is, if doctor can do their job well, diagnose and prescribe despite the profession is at such a shortage, why not pharmacist given their right to do their job well either. fair not? though ratio of pharmacist:patient is even smaller.
Well, because doctors are the only ones capable of diagnosing and prescribing?

Added on December 18, 2008, 11:40 pm
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 18 2008, 11:37 PM)
Serious shortage of doctor. But must still give doctor diagnosis right because they are the best person to do it.

Therefore, same logic dictate:
Serious shortage of pharmacist. But must still give pharmacist dispensing right because they are the best person to do it.

Conclusion: Do not bring up shortage as an excuse not to do the right thing.
again doh.gif
Nurses, medical assistants, and doctors all can dispense. Although not best, but capable.

Besides doctors, there's no one capable of diagnosing and prescribing.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Dec 18 2008, 11:40 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 18 2008, 11:41 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 18 2008, 11:38 PM)
Well, because doctors are the only ones capable of diagnosing and prescribing?
Do private doctor typically do the dispensing themselves or leave it to the SPM leaver?

Added on December 18, 2008, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 18 2008, 11:38 PM)
Nurses, medical assistants, and doctors all can dispense. Although not best, but capable.

Besides doctors, there's no one capable of diagnosing and prescribing.
So you think we Malaysian do not deserve to have the "best" to dispense our medicine? Why? Are our life cheaper than UK's or what?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Dec 18 2008, 11:42 PM
vanPersieXX
post Dec 18 2008, 11:47 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 18 2008, 11:04 PM)
At least in UK, there are much more pharmacists than in Msia. So what if they are not locals? They are working there no?
Read the previous posts if you wanna debate.
There's extreme shortage in Msia.
Whether or not docs will give it back when the number is sufficient, i dunnoe. But i for one agree to give them the dispensing right when the time comes.
well true uk has more pharmacists than us but wat is the population there?the ratio of pharmacist vs population in malaysia has dropped from 1:10000 to 1:6k+ from 2000 to 2006 ..uk overcome their shortage hiring pharmacists from other countries y we cant? first of all, y there r shortage of pharmacists in malaysia? thats becos- wat is the responsibility of pharmacist? r they having wat they should have?no.....tat y foreign pharmacists are not attracted and people not interested in becoming pharmacist, it's not a surprise if there's shortage. Forever in shortage of pharmacists is not a good thing and to overcome this shortage we need to do something, not sit there and wait for it to happen..it not to say that current system are bad juz that we need to improve the system

19 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.1450sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:55 AM