4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

AMD/ATI Radeon HD 4000 Series Discussion V5, The Journey Countinues..

celciuz
post Jan 31 2009, 09:40 PM

14,037 posts

I use CoreAVC and even my E8400 can decode 1080 movies easily. (100% software based). The GPU acceleration is only supported on certain type of encoding unfortunately. Some of my h.264 can't be used but some can.
celciuz
post Jan 31 2009, 11:37 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(kaiser_falco @ Jan 31 2009, 10:59 PM)
play around with your avc codec then you can play...btw is sometin wrong with google??
I tried totally disabling AVC and FFDshow, the video that can't run either don't load at all.. or runs but voices are out of sync and bad image quality >(.
celciuz
post Feb 1 2009, 11:02 PM

14,037 posts

My games started closing all of a suddenly when using 9.1 (I remember it didn't happen with 8.12) But I reformatted my computer when installing 9.1 though.. Driver issue? The game just closes itself out of no where without any errors.
celciuz
post Feb 1 2009, 11:40 PM

14,037 posts

Damn dry.gif How come 8.12 doesn't detect my graphics card?

I uninstalled, restarted into safemode, used driver sweeper to clean the remainings, rebooted into windows to install the 8.12 hotfix. Then reboot again as instructed by the installer and driver was not found >(.
celciuz
post Feb 3 2009, 01:15 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Feb 2 2009, 10:33 PM)
What OS? For example, games using dx9 for me close completely if I don't update directx to the latest version. So try updating your directx(after installing vista sp1), which should be found at microsoft's website easily, or found by using windows update.

Try this http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/info.as...fdxwebsetup.exe
I'm using the latest DirectX, updated using the websetup. I reverted back to 8.12. No more sudden closure biggrin.gif. L4D and Cabal happens a lot. Didn't happen with EVE Online though.

Guess I'm gonna be skipping 9.1 sweat.gif
celciuz
post Feb 4 2009, 11:30 PM

14,037 posts

Reference card? But 10c increase from idle to load is damn good leh. Even better than my 4850GS lol. Mine from idle to load got about 15-20c differences. U sure it is running at 75C load?
celciuz
post Feb 4 2009, 11:35 PM

14,037 posts

Cause he said his is idling at 65C... sounds like a reference to me. My friend's sapphire jumps to about 90C at load lol.
celciuz
post Feb 5 2009, 09:56 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(light bulb @ Feb 4 2009, 11:44 PM)
Yup it's a reference card. But i take it when playing games and then alt+tab go check, see 75c tongue.gif
Tell you what, use GPU-Z, do a logging for your temperature. I think you can see what's the max temperature really are. If you were to alt-tab, it won't be "accurate" any longer. The temp is probably much higher than 75C imo.

QUOTE(Tsj261 @ Feb 4 2009, 11:46 PM)
Guys,

I'm lazy to open a thread so I'll be asking from here.
I want to know which ATI Radeon HD 4000 series brand has the less noise or better in their cooling fans.

HIS/GAINWARD/SAPPHIRE ?

I did make some research but looks like all the same. So I would like to hear from those who are owner of 4000 series. Hope to hear from you all .
Gainward/Palit might fit into your requirements here. I own a 4850GS and it is pretty much silent for my ears biggrin.gif. While maintaining at max temperature of 60C while gaming.
celciuz
post Feb 5 2009, 10:59 AM

14,037 posts

Bump up the fan speed to a level that you won't notice the noise. Like mine I'm running at 50%, idles at about 40C and about 35C with aircond.
celciuz
post Feb 5 2009, 11:52 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(rosihan @ Feb 5 2009, 11:22 AM)
how
noob laa bang sad.gif
Control fan speed? If you're using the newer CCC, can just look into your Overdrive part.
celciuz
post Feb 10 2009, 10:59 PM

14,037 posts

There is one seller in the garage sale section selling this 4830 with big fan. I'm sure there are more though..
celciuz
post Feb 11 2009, 08:39 AM

14,037 posts

Yeah, L4D doesn't really utilize a lot of GPU power. I think maybe 4650 would be sufficient? But 4670 for the price/performance is pretty good IMO.
celciuz
post Feb 20 2009, 12:40 AM

14,037 posts

The outlook is nice, fully black!

How's the temperature on the XFX 4850? idle and load figures, kinda interested.. Wonder how will the HSF perform hmm.
celciuz
post Feb 20 2009, 06:37 PM

14,037 posts

What's to be expected from 9.2? More performance gain? I was unable to use 9.1 since it is giving me trouble >(.
celciuz
post Feb 20 2009, 08:27 PM

14,037 posts

RA3 checking for updates as it starts up I reckon.
celciuz
post Feb 21 2009, 09:43 AM

14,037 posts

ATi WDM I think is for the sound through HDMI.
celciuz
post Mar 11 2009, 09:22 PM

14,037 posts

Sian >( 9.1 and 9.2 doesn't seem to work well with opengl games. My game stutters badly with 9.1 and 9.2, have to use 8.12 hotfix sad.gif. Hopefully 9.3 solves this..
celciuz
post Mar 16 2009, 10:41 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Mar 16 2009, 10:07 PM)
yeah.

here is the bbqsauce
Isn't this basically a slower clocked 4870 @@... But the factor would be the price.. I doubt it'll be cheap though..maybe slightly cheaper than the 4870 perhaps.
celciuz
post Mar 17 2009, 09:14 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(radio_8888 @ Mar 17 2009, 05:50 PM)
err.. is this normal temp for my GC when its overload? no oc n just bought yesterday..

92C, what 4670 is this? IIRC the 4670 should not have such temps.. passive cooled?
celciuz
post Mar 29 2009, 01:52 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Mar 29 2009, 01:51 PM)
Will it dmg my gc if i set the fan speed to 100% or 80%??Eg. shorter life term.
My 4850GS fan speed always at default also sounds like it is gonna give way soon >(. 50% already making noise, at 100% the noise is very very irritating already lols.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0431sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:50 AM