QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Feb 28 2009, 10:22 PM)
It works only when you set the video to overlay mixer. That is, if you use MPC-HC.AMD/ATI Radeon HD 4000 Series Discussion V5, The Journey Countinues..
AMD/ATI Radeon HD 4000 Series Discussion V5, The Journey Countinues..
Mar 1 2009, 11:20 PM
1,705 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Mar 6 2009, 09:32 PM
http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=c...=12439&Itemid=1
Guys, RV790 is an entirely different chip. Something tells me that this is kind of like a preview to R800. |
Mar 6 2009, 09:56 PM
Doesn't matter, I'll buy my rig tomorrow despite the coming price drop. Haiz 2 months of 1920x1200 gameplay(and CAD
This post has been edited by blindbox: Mar 6 2009, 09:57 PM |
Mar 7 2009, 04:49 PM
Mar 12 2009, 04:03 PM
http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=c...=12532&Itemid=1
Fudzilla is pretty serious that RV790 is a new chip. |
Mar 13 2009, 09:13 PM
Then update your driver obviously.... tell us your OS as well. Vista 64bit is a bit problematic for ATi(it could be xfire only though, never did tests after all).
http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_catalyst.aspx |
Mar 18 2009, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(Jcsy @ Mar 18 2009, 11:42 AM) sapphire? Nope, their cooler performance actually makes less noise than PALIT's. It's not the fan number that matters there, it's the technology. They were using VaporX tech, pretty cool(cool as in sejuk, no pun intended).lol famous brand but not that great in performances and temp margins price is a premium too at times Btw, PALIT uses a non-reference design, which does not use the Volterra voltage regulator, which allows voltage softmods. No voltage softmods for PALIT users. http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon...lit,2096-4.html Noisiest cooler ever. The 1 GB version is different though, so can't comment on that. Still no voltage softmod for 1 GB. If it was me, I'd rather buy AMD's stock cooler(but you can't find it anymore in Malaysia, sigh). Their cooling performance sucks because the fan speed is waaay too low, just cuz AMD wanted a quiet card(plus, all heat deposited outside the casing too). It's not like AMD cared though, their cards run 90C no problem. http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/dis...870-1024_4.html Looks like it's good. This post has been edited by blindbox: Mar 18 2009, 02:01 PM |
Mar 18 2009, 02:02 PM
@Lacus: Depends on the GPU core... Different technology lor.
Mar 18 2009, 08:13 PM
QUOTE(pikacu @ Mar 18 2009, 03:39 PM) ATi Catalyst 9.3 performance Vista vs Windows 7 ! I'd never recommend hexus.net for a good review site. Check their launch date 4850(and maybe 4870) benchmarks. However, if we only look at relative performance, then I should say, things are good Hexus.net : http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=17630 Extremetech : http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,2845,2343324,00.asp My opinion : it seems user can ditch from vista quicker now |
Mar 20 2009, 06:31 PM
http://www.driverheaven.net/reviews.php?re...id=737&pageid=2
2 GB Sapphire 4870 Vapor-X Looks niiicee!! |
Mar 25 2009, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Mar 24 2009, 05:44 PM) but what baffles me is that, if it is based on the same core and same manufacturing process as the 4870, wouldnt the heat dumped out be awfully hot at those speeds? Reports have said that it is a tweaked RV770. There's probably a small architecture change(to allow better clock-for-clock and higher performance-to-clock ratio). Of course, it's unofficial reports.Btw, what would be the fastest factory overclocked 4850 around? |
Mar 25 2009, 04:17 PM
Mar 31 2009, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(Ryeeson @ Mar 31 2009, 11:58 AM) Guys, Try vsync? Last time I checked this is a known problem. The only way to fix this is to give them the catalyst crew feedback thingy I guess (or maybe through tweeter?).I experience Screen Tearing while playing The Last Remnant. Anyone of you experience this before? probably in other games? coz i don't think its the card problem since nVidia card also have the same problem. However the game run less tear when i lower the shadows setting. I tried the Overdrive Utility C9.3 but most of the time, the game stop responding. Phenom II X4 4870 DK. |
Apr 2 2009, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(blindbox @ Apr 2 2009, 01:10 PM) NDA lifted as of 12 am GMT -8. HardOCP that I posted also included GTX275 btw.Late 1 hour, I got classes just now lol. Bad day, got bad results here are the reviews! http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon-hd-4890-review-test/ http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon-hd-4890,2262.html http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/article.html...W50aHVzaWFzdA== Too bad anandtech hasn't have their reviews out yet. And for comparisons with GTX275.... http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforc...x-275,2266.html http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforce-gtx-275-review-test/1 This post has been edited by blindbox: Apr 2 2009, 01:44 PM |
Apr 2 2009, 08:59 PM
It is a worthy upgrade. Too bad it didn't work for you. ATI drivers are a little too sensitive to OSes. I heard it's the worst on Vista x64. Their drivers might be better on April/May (they decided to drop x1900xt support to quarterly releases, which means 9.3 9.6 9.9 9.12 only).
It might be a corrupt download perhaps? Try a download accelerator, as they don't have a bug of finishing files before it is actually done. DownThemAll is a not bad free download accelerator. EDIT: Good that it works for you This post has been edited by blindbox: Apr 2 2009, 09:00 PM |
Apr 4 2009, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(HIM @ Apr 4 2009, 02:11 AM) Just changed my 4850 thermal paste from stock paste to tuniq-tx2. EXACTLY. That's what they're supposed to do. Hey, you don't want your ram chips to run at the same temps as your GPU core, do you?Well now my temp is better. Idle about 64C with 55%fan No more exceeding 100C after gaming, maintaining around 93-94C. I know it is still hot but at least it cooled down my gc for 10C !!!! Well when i open the heatsink i found out that the RAM is covered by one spongy-spongy layer. I dunno why it is there so i dun dare to take it out? Anyone know what is the spongy thing for? IMO, it will just reduce the heat conduction. One more thing, when i open the gpu, i found out that the stock thermal paste was so much until it leak out from the slot. Is it the mistake by sapphire technician? Shouldn't thermal paste be only like one thin layer? QUOTE(tech3910 @ Apr 4 2009, 02:11 AM) still bit too hot. Depends on the type of thermal paste. If you use AS5, then that applies. If you use Tuniq TX-2(it's better than AS5 anyway), that doesn't apply.i think ventilation is not dat good. may b u shud pump up the fan speed. thermal pates shud b thin layer only, if it leak to the side, dats no good. coz it can cause electric leakage as well. Let's just assume those stock thermal paste aren't conductive Oh, AFAIK. good ventilation casings run 4850 stock cooler on 85C~90C. This post has been edited by blindbox: Apr 4 2009, 09:55 AM |
Apr 4 2009, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Apr 4 2009, 05:58 PM) Biostar TA790GX huh?I believe you need to put a paddle card on the 2nd PCI-E x16 slot to make the master slot PCI-E to work at x16. Read the motherboard manual. I think TA790GX requires you to use the bottom PCI-E x16 slot and a paddle card top for it work x16, though I'm not that sure. Added on April 4, 2009, 9:14 pm QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Apr 4 2009, 05:58 PM) Biostar TA790GX huh?I believe you need to put a paddle card on the 2nd PCI-E x16 slot to make the master slot PCI-E to work at x16. Read the motherboard manual. I think TA790GX requires you to use the bottom PCI-E x16 slot and a paddle card top for it work x16, though I'm not that sure. This post has been edited by blindbox: Apr 4 2009, 09:14 PM |
Apr 6 2009, 10:41 AM
Anandtech and firing squad says otherwise owikh84.
In other words stop saying these stuff. They are on par.... Can't blame you though, you're answering someone's question. This post has been edited by blindbox: Apr 6 2009, 10:43 AM |
Apr 7 2009, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(nazseha @ Apr 6 2009, 10:30 PM) HAHA...the anandtech is surely biased...even the comparison 4870 1GB and GTX260+, 4870 pawn GTX260+... If highest playable graphic settings are what you're looking for, then this should be for you.wat really funny about anandtech review is the FarCry2 review...which use low AA tat give advantage to 4890 because 4890 sucks at AA.... How about bit-tech.net : http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/graphics/...orce-gtx-275/18 Guru3d.com : http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforce-gtx-275-review-test/10 and also from Expressview.com tat owikh84 posted before... http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/article.html...GVudGh1c2lhc3Q= They're on par~~ how many times is this supposed to be said? About the 4870, it depends on the game you play. http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/article.html...GVudGh1c2lhc3Q= There is a reason why we read more than one reviews you know... Fan speed under Overdrive. |
Apr 8 2009, 05:33 PM
| Change to: | 0.0409sec