19 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere

TheWandererX
post Dec 28 2008, 12:42 PM

1,862 posts

The viewfinder is a window for you to see the real image, while the LCD projected image is processed by the camera to reach the LCD.

I think you won't need the viewfinder unless you're really into detail. Most people will do well with just Live View.
TheWandererX
post Dec 28 2008, 02:09 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Dec 28 2008, 02:01 PM)
I'm really not familiar with compact cameras sad.gif So I cant recommend you any specific models.
But it depends on your budget, there should be a Lumix available for various budgets.
Yeah, Sony does have the "looks", but when it comes to quality images, it lacks behind Panasonic smile.gif
I'd say go to any camera shop and test out their cameras to have a first hand look at them.  icon_idea.gif
I can second that.

Anyway, coolgirl, would you mind to use the template made available on the first page? It'll give us a brief description of what you're looking for in your new camera.
TheWandererX
post Dec 28 2008, 05:12 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(blynn123 @ Dec 28 2008, 02:40 PM)
hi again ,

i just wanna ask .. is there any other dslr besides a200 ?
i heard nikon ain't bad either .

which dslr would u recommend for a begineer like me ?
my budget's 1.4k , i can raise till 2k or even higher as long as the camera can last me for a long period of time , thanks
There are 2 choices which cost RM2k each - the D60 and the 1000D for DSLRs. Both can bring you a LONG way down the road of DSLRs.

QUOTE(BaLs @ Dec 28 2008, 02:41 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : prosumer
Budget : RM1600
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Panasonic and Sony
Type of photography u want to do : travelling.
Any specific models in mind? : Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H50 and PANASONIC LUMIX DMC-FZ2
Any specific features u want? : powerful zoom & video quality
Which one better between both of these models?
camer
Please also recommend any good shop to buy digital camera in Klang Valley.
I think you should settle for the Lumix LX3. It's the best prosumer you can get in the market at the moment. It's RM1.5k (around there) by the way.

Or, you can choose to get a Sony a200, a DSLR, for RM1.4k.

QUOTE(coolgirl_y2k1 @ Dec 28 2008, 02:47 PM)
Sorry did not know there is a template. Here goes.

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  point and shoot, compact

Budget: below RM1500, preferably below RM 1200-1300
Your Location: Australia

Preferable brand :  Canon, Panasonic, Sony (initially)

Type of photography u want to do :  Just everyday family and holiday photos

Any specific models in mind? :  Initially thinking of Canon Ixus 870 and probably Lumix DMC FX-38. Open to recommendations of similar or better performance/specs within the price range

Any specific features u want? :  Around 10 Mp, prefer wide angle lens, nice design

Thanks =)
Oh. Ok, I think I've got an idea. Get the Nikon Coolpix P6000. Recently seen one and got to play with one and I can say - though it's a prosumer camera, it has a good pixel count and a good sensor to go along with it. RM1.5k though, not cheap.

QUOTE(joyyy @ Dec 28 2008, 03:00 PM)
Wanna hop onto the DSLR wagon?  brows.gif  brows.gif
For around RM1500 you could get a nice Sony A200 package. smile.gif
Now I did mention about Sony's underperforming compacts, but for their DSLRs it's a different story altogether. smile.gif
Just a note - the a200 kit set goes for RM1.4k, and the Sony Time holiday promotions kicked it down to RM1.3k. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(harrycath @ Dec 28 2008, 04:03 PM)
Greetings from a noob!

Just thought I'd post a warning to all noobs to stay away from the dealer, Pertama Foto (Address: 1-126, 1st Floor Pertama Complex).

The shop owner (an elderly lady) sold me a Hoya 52mm ND Filter when I was looking for an NC filter. The filter cost me RM43, and I only realized the mistake when I got home (sigh!).

I then went back only to find that she had no NC filters, but was willing to exchange for another item. I settled for a Nikon 2GB SD Card but she insisted I pay her the full retail price of RM98! (I bought my last one for RM50).

I had to fork out another RM55 to make up the difference. Turns out (from an overheard conversation) she was trying to offload this filter returned by another unsatisfied customer.

This unscrupulous dealer obviously preys on noobs who don't know any better.
Next time, pay attention to every single detail. Don't be afraid to ask a little bit more about the product you're buying.

Anyway, just to let you know, go to YL Camera in Pudu Plaza to get your stuff - it's real cheap there. Lots of people I know (and I even met one guy when I went holidaying last 2 weeks) buy from there. Unprecedentedly, it's the cheapest shop around town.
TheWandererX
post Dec 28 2008, 06:43 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(BaLs @ Dec 28 2008, 06:31 PM)

But Lumix LX3 zooming capabilities only 2.5 compare to Cybershot DSC H50 ( 15x ) and LUMIX DMC-FZ28 ( 18x ) .

Does DSLR camera required any extra care/maintenance?  sweat.gif

I'm beginner and looking own my first camera  icon_question.gif
Ohh. You're looking for zoom. Then get the FZ28. I can't comment on the previous experiences with Sony point-and-shoot cameras. Read up there, I can see joyyy also discourages it.

DSLRs need a BIT of extra care & maintainence.

Let's say you get a 1000D. You'll need to be careful with the lens and the body, no dropping it, slight drops are ok but
don't let it happen.

You have to clean the lens often so that dust doesn't accumulate.

When you change lenses, you HAVE to be careful NOT to let any dust in.

Lenses may have back focus/front focus problems. You'll have to send for calibration regularly. Same goes for the body. Has to go for checkups.

I can't think of more. =/
TheWandererX
post Dec 28 2008, 09:57 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(coolgirl_y2k1 @ Dec 28 2008, 07:30 PM)
Sorry that still doesn't sway me from my decision to get a compact camera..DSLR are high maintenance and bulky to bring along, not to mention expensive as well.  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(sevenwatch @ Dec 28 2008, 09:54 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  compact
Budget: RM2000
Your Location:  KL
Preferable brand :  anything
Type of photography u want to do : travel. indoor. dinner. party
Any specific models in mind? :  no idea
Any specific features u want? : dont want touch screen.

thanks in advance
You sure have a big budget here.

Here, I'll give a few suggestions. Nikon Coolpix P6000 (I'm seriously impressed by this one, I didn't expect Nikon to come up with this) or the Panasonic Lumix LX3. The P6000 is RM1.5-1.6k while the LX3 is around RM1.6k-1.7k... not sure about the prices, that's a rough estimate, might be lower/higher. Both are prosumers, which are a notch up from the normal PnS.

You should read a few reviews to compare pros and cons, and then make your choice.

Happy reading. wink.gif
TheWandererX
post Dec 28 2008, 11:15 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Fjive @ Dec 28 2008, 11:06 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact
Budget : RM1100 - 1300
Preferable brand : Canon or Lumix
Type of photography u want to do : Outdoor, holiday trips, party
Any specific models in mind? : Canon 870IS or Lumix FX38
Any specific features u want? : No idea, just need a slightly better compact digicam. I like the idea of Wide angle though..
The FX38 will do slightly better than the IXUS. Seen both, tried before, I'm happier with the FX38, if you're not going for looks.
TheWandererX
post Dec 29 2008, 12:07 AM

1,862 posts

If you don't like it, it's fine - your choice and my choice would surely be different.

I tried out the P6000 while I was on vacation - an uncle brought it along... I got to play with it, have a look at the PQ, and I can say it produces very good pictures even with its tiny sensor with a 14.x megapixel count (sorry, forgot how many, and I don't want to Google it to look smart or anything).

It isn't a bad camera - in fact this is one Nikon tiny camera I've gotten to like.
TheWandererX
post Dec 29 2008, 09:01 AM

1,862 posts

Yes, I can assure you. In my opinion it's the best tiny camera Nikon has made.

http://www.digitalcamerareview.com/default.asp?newsID=3751

Here, there're more reviews of this sort, just Google for 'nikon coolpix p6000 review'.

I'm not pushing it into you - I'm just showing you what it can do. Please don't regard this post as a biased post.
TheWandererX
post Dec 29 2008, 10:14 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(yehui @ Dec 29 2008, 09:48 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM5000-6000 include kitlens
Preferable brand : Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, Portrait, animal, funphoto
Any specific models in mind? : 50D
Any specific features u want? : -

Hello guys and gals, all sifu and gurus, I'm currently looking for a DSLR. I had a F80 years ago. Got it in photoselangor. Stopped for a few years. Now I wanna get one so that I can start photography again. I've surf here and a few other forum. Hope to get some pointers and advice. I'm looking at Eos 50D, not sure if it will suite me. I changed from Nikon and wanted to switch to canon because my brother is using eos. So we can share lenses and he can borrow my camera for his own use as second camera.

Thanks in advance.
Would be best if you got a 50D with 18-200 kit set. A bit more over your budget (I think) but it's well worth it.
TheWandererX
post Dec 29 2008, 03:51 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Dec 29 2008, 03:09 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :Normal Digital Camera
Budget:RM1500 and below
Your Location: Sandakan, Sabah
Preferable brand :Sony
Type of photography u want to do : travel pictures, events, candid
Any specific models in mind? : No. Confused
Any specific features u want? :Erm... HD if possible.
Panasonic Lumix LX3 or the FZ28.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/panasonicdmclx3/
http://www.trustedreviews.com/digital-came...mix-DMC-FZ28/p1

There are more - just Google it.
TheWandererX
post Dec 29 2008, 09:37 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Dec 29 2008, 03:55 PM)
Thanks for the recommandation.

But i am not looking for those black camera's.

what I AM looking for is those family-type of camera.

Thanks anyway.
Then I really don't have any idea, because the others around these price ranges are mostly for style and don't process that great images compared to these 'black cameras' you call them.

QUOTE(pay3d @ Dec 29 2008, 04:19 PM)
anyone please advise me...i got headache thinking about this... sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Type of camera/lens/accesories : prosumer
Budget : below 1.5k
Your Location : shah alam
Preferable brand : panasonic,fujifilm
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, potraits, people
Any specific models in mind? : lumix fz28, fujifilm s8100fd
Any specific features u want? : wide angle, excellent pic, IS
I'd recommend the FZ28, since you have it in mind. Panasonic cameras do very well in this range.

Oh, and if you want to be different, get the SP-575UZ (if I'm not wrong). Quite a decent prosumer too.

Good luck making your decision. smile.gif
TheWandererX
post Dec 30 2008, 12:06 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(sevenwatch @ Dec 29 2008, 11:40 PM)
today.. i went to Fotokem to see , feel and touch the P6000.. woo i like it.. give me at RM1680.. is it a good price? or i can get better price somewhere else?

*free nikon bag and 4GB card.
Ouch. Rm1680. Expensive.

You can get better price somewhere else - just scout around for deals, look in your local camera shop or make a trip down to YL Camera in Pudu Plaza, they sell the cheapest DSLR gear around, don't know if they sell cheap prosumers too..

QUOTE(popocambest @ Dec 29 2008, 11:47 PM)
Budget : RM500-Rm700
Your Location : Kuala Terengganu
Preferable brand : Canon or Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, potraits, people
Any specific features u want? : excellent picture during night or dull day

Here's my list
Sony Cybershot DSC-W110
Canon Powershot A470

any other suggestion for beginner?  rclxub.gif
DSC-w110, if you ask me. Read some reviews about both of them first though, you may like the A470 more.

QUOTE(Ituzu @ Dec 29 2008, 11:51 PM)
SAMSUNG L200

can u guys professional comment on this camera ?

worthy buy ?

quality ?

and so on

Um, would you mind using the template on the first page? Gives us an idea of what you're looking for in a camera.
TheWandererX
post Dec 30 2008, 09:21 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(sevenwatch @ Dec 30 2008, 12:38 AM)
@TheWandererX

where is PUDU PLAZA?
It's in Kuala Lumpur.. if you're not from there then that would prove to be a big obstacle.

http://www.streetdirectory.net.my/malaysia...vel_site_45100/

http://my.pagenation.com/kul/Plaza%20Pudu_...7132_3.1374.map
QUOTE(sunmenghao @ Dec 30 2008, 04:38 AM)
Q:

How about the warranty for DSLR cameras? Example Canon 1000D. Follow the shop or have fixed warranty? unsure.gif
1 year Canon Malaysia warranty. You can 'extend' it by not filling in your warranty card though. brows.gif

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Dec 30 2008, 07:31 AM)
it depends on whether it is a gray set or not~
Gray sets are very rarely sold in Malaysia, if there are any.

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Dec 30 2008, 09:05 AM)
Hehe.. But according to my post, my budget is under RM1500!

Thanks anyway. blush.gif
Then the FZ28 is for your budget. wink.gif

QUOTE(willkhor @ Dec 30 2008, 09:07 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: Below Rm2,000
Your Location:   Penang
Preferable brand :  Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Potrait, landscape
Any specific models in mind? :  NO
Any specific features u want? :  NO
Canon EOS-1000D, Nikon D60.

1000D Rm2k, D60 Rm2k.

Time for you to read, read and read about these cameras here.
TheWandererX
post Dec 30 2008, 10:21 AM

1,862 posts

Oh, you're living in UK? doh.gif unfortunately I can't help you then... prices in UK are different from prices in Malaysia...
TheWandererX
post Dec 30 2008, 10:51 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(sevenwatch @ Dec 30 2008, 10:32 AM)
@TheWandererX

im from KL. thanks for ur help.

now still comparing between p6000 or Lx-3.. he2
Oh. My previous post was intended for fabian. XD If you don't mind me asking, which part of KL are you in? I may have some shop recommendations for you.
TheWandererX
post Dec 30 2008, 11:17 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(sevenwatch @ Dec 30 2008, 11:01 AM)
from damansara perdana. not kl actually. selangor smile.gif
Oh... you should know where Pudu Plaza is if you work in KL...

Not many shops around your place (and my place too whistling.gif) sells gear for a cheap, reasonable price... I think it's easier if you found a way to go to Pudu Plaza. It's situated at Jalan Landak.
TheWandererX
post Dec 30 2008, 11:41 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(rockstar teddy @ Dec 30 2008, 03:09 PM)
quite lots grey units selling s ori..careful!!!
Not many. If you find the right shp.s

QUOTE(sunmenghao @ Dec 30 2008, 03:51 PM)
grey units mean 'cetak rompak'? unsure.gif

how to check it is grey or ori one? hmm.gif
The warranty card. If they don't give you one or give an overseas one, don't get it.

QUOTE(rockstar teddy @ Dec 30 2008, 06:30 PM)
grey units are like handphones AP sets
usually warranty provided by shop..
and the warranty card not state canon msia/nikon msia..etc
Nope. Grey units' warranty if from the country of origin. Shop will act as middleman, if you need them to be.

QUOTE(teddbundy @ Dec 30 2008, 08:05 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : dslr
Budget: < 1600
Your Location: pahang/johor/kl 
Preferable brand : sony 
Type of photography u want to do : landscape, portrait, travelling, vacation
Any specific models in mind? : sony a200 
Any specific features u want?  :

im new to dslr camera, in fact i never even had a compact camera at all. but now interested in dslr. for compact i liked the cybershot t700. can anyone state their pros and cons ?  icon_question.gif i mean between the t700 and a200  biggrin.gif
The a200 would be best for your budget - oh, and if you want, you can opt for prosumer cameras which are stepping stones into the DSLR world (they can act as your second camera too once you get your DSLR).

Two choices are the Panasonic Lumix FZ28 and the Lumix LX3. Both are very good performers in the prosumer category.
TheWandererX
post Dec 31 2008, 09:19 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(iz1011 @ Dec 31 2008, 12:43 AM)
can anyone list down the lastest price for sony alpha 300 twin lens kit and canon 450d?

i wan to consider which camera to get for my first DSLR!!

thanks..
a300 twin lens kit should be around RM2.5k+-.. and 450D is RM2.6k+- for kit. Correct me if I'm wrong - prices have been fluctuating recently.

QUOTE(teddbundy @ Dec 31 2008, 01:37 AM)
thanks !

but my friend said getting a nikon D60 or Canon 1000d would be better. he also said that sony is still new in DSLR business so it would be better for me to get a used D60 or D40. what do you think ? whats the price of a200 ?
Yea, the D60/1000D would be best for beginners with the budget to start out with. The a200 is priced very aggresively, RM1.4k for kit set and RM2k for twin kit, but I don't think you should get it either. I recommend you to increase your budget and get the D60/1000D.

QUOTE(sunmenghao @ Dec 31 2008, 04:17 AM)
Canon now have promotion brows.gif

Canon 1000D = RM1850 only brows.gif
Really? Where?
TheWandererX
post Dec 31 2008, 12:28 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(iz1011 @ Dec 31 2008, 10:41 AM)
but i saw inside brocher and it only sony alpha 300 is only 2499 wor..but..if get go sungai wang or lowyat dunno will get cheaper den that or not le hor??
Surely cheaper de. Sorry yea, the prices fluctuate a lot so I can't go out everyday just to update.

QUOTE(RME-RAnger @ Dec 31 2008, 11:37 AM)
guys, im plan to buy a basic camera in next month, budget around RM800 - RM1000, any recommendation?  icon_question.gif
QUOTE(robindebean @ Dec 31 2008, 12:00 PM)
i am looking for a zoom lenses...any recommendation?
Can you both use the template? It's easier to know and recommend what you need for your requirements.
TheWandererX
post Dec 31 2008, 07:15 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(robindebean @ Dec 31 2008, 05:01 PM)
looking for a zoom lens ..any recommendation?

Type of lens: DSLR camera
Budget : 2000-3000
Your Location : Malaka
Preferable brand : Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and macro
Any specific features u want? :zoom zoom zoom as close as possible when i am far away
Now you want a camera or a lens? If camera, it's fairly impossible to get a decent zoom lens and a body with your budget.

If lens though, I recommend you to get the 70-200mm f/4L IS USM. By far, it's the cheapest L lens.. and the PQ is very good too eventhough it's f/4.

QUOTE(BaLs @ Dec 31 2008, 06:17 PM)
I been checking price for Panasonic Lumix FZ28 today in sg wang and low yat. Priced range RM 1200 - 1400.
I want know what things to check when to buy the camera , any trick by seller?
How to check all accessories are original??  rclxub.gif
Sellers usually won't trick you - you can bring them to court if they do so, if I'm not wrong.

Good sellers will let you play around with the camera, see what you can do with it, check every tiny detail, etc. Better sellers will even give you some freebies.

Don't worry la, this isn't like the handphone industry where things are easily duplicated. Cameras are delicate, precision equipments - there's no easy way and cheap way to make one.

19 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0510sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:05 AM