19 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere

TheWandererX
post Feb 17 2009, 04:31 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Altruis @ Feb 16 2009, 11:54 PM)
Type of camera: prosumer
Budget: <2k

Looking for a slightly more advanced camera to replace my aging Ixus 750. Interested in the more advanced features of DSLRs but not ready to use such bulky units, as I often take pictures while mountain hiking, etc where large, heavy cameras are a big no-no. Currently looking at Panasonic DMC-LX3. Any sifus here have any recommendations?
Yes, go for the LX3, it's best for everything except superzooming.

As I can see you're going hiking and you'll probably see good scenery up there, the LX3 will do you good.

QUOTE(MrRobinson @ Feb 17 2009, 12:16 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera with kit
Budget : around RM2000
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : anything
Any specific models in mind? : CanonEOS 1000D, 450D, Nikon D60 (can anyone give me the approx. price for these models)
Any specific features u want? : -

thanks smile.gif
1000D, <Rm2k, D60, <Rm2k.

Both are equal in terms of specs, pros and cons. You'll have to make the decision yourself as it is very hard for us to answer a subjective question for you.

QUOTE(markiemark @ Feb 17 2009, 12:18 AM)
Thanks WandererX for the suggestion!
An all-rounder is what I'm looking for.  The thing was I was reading some article and it said it was okay to jump a notch. but if i were to spend 3-3.5k, wouldnt that mean i'll be better off getting a 40D? Im not sure of the pricing so pls excuse if im going waay beyond my budget.
hmm,also i find it rather tedious to buy and sell and buy again... can i get what u recommended at one package?
Doubt you can find a new kit. A used kit, yes, but you'll get the 18-55. 18-200 is an expensive lens...
TheWandererX
post Feb 18 2009, 02:49 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Feb 18 2009, 01:17 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR (i think single lens is enough, i am very new at this)

Budget: 1k to 2k?

Your Location:   Subang

Preferable brand :  None really, i dont know the diff >_<, but mr viking did recommend me canon or nikon

Type of photography u want to do :  I like to capture pictures of places i have been and so on. Dont really know how to play with it yet >_<. I like capturing things in macro >_<

Any specific models in mind? :  none

Any specific features u want? :  hopefully something for beginner that can last long
Canon EOS-1000D, Nikon D60. This question has been asked for a lot recently - and I'm sure you'd be able to do your own research as these two models are so alike and competitively priced that you have to choose on your own, not based on specs but your preference.
TheWandererX
post Feb 18 2009, 05:52 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Feb 18 2009, 05:26 PM)

I am newbie in DSLR world. I am thinking to get new DSLR with a budget of RM3000 includes body+lens+etc. Which one is good for such budget? In my mind, there is a few model from Sony, Canon and Nikon. what are the cons and pros of thos manufacturer?

Any feedback is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
What are you going to use it for? If you don't mention so we won't know what to recommend you.
TheWandererX
post Feb 18 2009, 07:07 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Jamess @ Feb 18 2009, 07:03 PM)
Any idea when the D40 is going to be discontinued? When will be its last batch?
IINM it is already discontinued long ago, replaced by the D60.
TheWandererX
post Feb 18 2009, 09:38 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Feb 18 2009, 09:32 PM)
is there any other thing we can do with DSLR? watching movie with HD quality? kekek . tongue.gif .. joking2.. smile.gif .

I am using for event mainly . and people photo .. any idea?
There are a few branches of photography - landscape, macro, candid, etc..

If you're using for event and people photo (I presume candid) you should go for my setup - 1000D, kitlens, 55-250mm IS. You should be able to get that at around RM2.5k-2.7k IINM, but the prices should increase a bit since the inflation of the Yen is affecting us, so expect a bit higher than that.
TheWandererX
post Feb 18 2009, 10:15 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Hocan @ Feb 18 2009, 10:13 PM)
i gt 1 question to ask.. but i every shy.. just dun laugh!

the F/(value) << if the value is higher.. then the quality of the photo is better?
Nope. It practically means that the shutter opens wider to let more light in thus allowing fast shutter speeds to be used. It also produces bokeh (out-of-focus blur) which softens a subject's background.

Aperture (f/*) does not affect the picture quality, though some lenses suffer from CA, PF, distortion at wide apertures.
TheWandererX
post Feb 18 2009, 10:59 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Hocan @ Feb 18 2009, 10:37 PM)
ohh... Aperture is (f/*)...
the ISO 80 /100 and so on... << this how to use?
my compact camera, when i capture something.. the infront of the (f/*) have a number.. wat is that number mean?  biggrin.gif
ISO refers to the sensitivity of the image sensor. It works just like your eyes but in a digital way. In the dark ISO is put to a higher number so that the sensor will be more sensitive to the available light.

For f/*, let's say f/2.8, it is a wide aperture therefore more light enters the lens. Another example is f/11 which is a tiny aperture. This will minimize the amount of light entering the lens.

These, you will learn when you move up to the prosumer or DSLR category where this knowledge is vital to produce stunning images.

I hope I've helped.
TheWandererX
post Feb 19 2009, 06:23 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Feb 18 2009, 11:15 PM)
i used to think about getting sony alpha 200 cause it is a beginner's camera, but mr viking say its not too good. lol... So i changed to nikon or canon
Oh. What he said is true - other than the hard to find Minolta or Carl Zeiss lenses the Sony has only made average lenses which are totally uncomparable with the Canon's L lineup which is FAR more superior than the Alpha lineup.

QUOTE(Hocan @ Feb 18 2009, 11:42 PM)

no no... i mean like the photo above..
8 F3.5

F3.5 is the aperture that light enters into lens..
how about the "8" ?
Should be shutter speed. Usually it is measured in 1/3 stops. In your case the shutter should be 1/8 secs.

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Feb 19 2009, 11:12 AM)
bros,

between canon 450d, 1000 and sony alpha 300, which one is better? thanks ..
The 1000d undoubtedly, it is cheaper than the other two and does very well compared to them.

Also if compared to the Alpha when you wanna upgrade lenses the Canon will give you headache of which one to use while the Alpha will give you headache of no better lens to upgrade to other than the expensive Carl Zeiss or the rare Minolta lenses.
TheWandererX
post Feb 20 2009, 05:56 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(darren84 @ Feb 19 2009, 11:40 PM)
Guys, I'm struggling between canon 40d or nikon d90. 40d is around rm3200 with kit lens (18-55mm) while d90 is around rm4200 with 18-105mm lens. D90 is newer technology and with HD video recording + better lens, I wonder if RM1000 extra is worth it or not?
Damn well worth it. If you don't need the video recording then get the 40D.

QUOTE(chris11 @ Feb 20 2009, 02:56 AM)
hi, all lyn sifu, i m confuse now,
i think to buy 2nd hand canon 1000d or 450d.
but 2nd hand price all is over my budget,
new 1000d rm1860 can get but 2nd rm1650 ,
if i wan to buy 2nd hand 1000d i juz add rm200 can get new,
2nd hand is stil consider exp ,
450d i not sure, 400d is around rm1500...
400d and 1000d , 400d better or 1000d ?
400D is outdated. 450D is spending extra on a body you'll change later on.

In my opinion I'll take the 1000d (new).
TheWandererX
post Feb 20 2009, 07:47 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(wzseow @ Feb 20 2009, 10:02 AM)
bros, i have a friend who is interested in getting a begginer slr, nikon d40, 2nd hand. any idea how much he can get for that 2nd hand camera?
thanks in advance
I don't think you should go for it as it is under-rated and inferior compared to other entry-level DSLRs. If you're really on a budget then go for the Sont a200 or SAVE, SAVE and SAVE and get a D60/1000D, these two will benefit you really much later on when you want to upgrade lenses compared to the Sony.

QUOTE(weng86 @ Feb 20 2009, 03:26 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: RM2200
Your Location:   KL/PJ
Preferable brand :  canon, nikon or sony (which is good?)
Type of photography u want to do :  taking Pictures
Any specific models in mind? :  not sure (D60 or D80, 1000d or d450, a300 or a350
Any specific features u want? : 

i need help i look for dslr for beginner
1000D, or D60. These two will benefit you really much later on when you want to upgrade lenses compared to the Sony (as in first reply).

QUOTE(kayent @ Feb 20 2009, 03:44 PM)
hi. i was wondering how much is the current retail price for 1000D? a few shops were selling at rm1999. some had bundles like tripod, bag, etc. so, is it a good price/bargain? or can it go cheaper?

im considering to get 1000D or d60 to start off with.
Try to bargain. It'll do you good. I got mine at RM1850 but then I opted to add on a few more extras with RM150. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Feb 20 2009, 07:26 PM)
guys,

i am in the middle between alpha 300 or 350 either single lens or twin lens .. please give me some input .. i am thinking to get it tomorrow .. thanks ..
If you're really into Alphas, get the single lens kit. Later on, get Minolta/Carl Zeiss lenses. They rock, undoubtedly, but Alpha lenses just don't cut it. Small aperture, average focusing... shakehead.gif it's a no-no for me.
TheWandererX
post Feb 20 2009, 08:25 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Feb 20 2009, 07:54 PM)
i go to single lens, how much those minolta/carl zeiss lenses would cost me?
Not sure, kucing is an Alpha user, so he might help. Also, try asking in the Alpha thread. Should be able to find answers there.

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Feb 20 2009, 07:57 PM)
Nikon D60/1000d/Sony Alphas are within ur range

I would recommend going for Canon 40D(midrange SLR), Rm2.9k with kitlens these days. A bargain. Trust me, with lense choices, just skip the entry levels rite away, the amount differences over the entry level will pay itself back .
40D. My dream cry.gif saving up for body now, lol..

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Feb 20 2009, 08:26 PM
TheWandererX
post Feb 20 2009, 08:59 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Feb 20 2009, 08:33 PM)
haha nicely quoted, single lense = around rm1450 (alpha 200). Neah, traded my a200 after 2months,don get me wrong, it's a gd camera , no complains, however u would soon find the limitations on all entry levels DSLR, that's why i'm opting to get the 40D reallll soon, coz the price is jus too good to resist.

Magnesium alloy, weather sealing, better build quality, individual button controls (ISO,WB etc), top lcd, etc...for only rm2.9k  thumbup.gif
I thought it was around RM1400. unsure.gif

Anyway, 40D most probably you'll end up with a used set, and I kinda dislike used sets. I'd save up more for later, and jump straight to 5DMkII unsure.gif if I can get such moolah. If not I'd go for the 50D first.
TheWandererX
post Feb 20 2009, 09:29 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Feb 20 2009, 09:19 PM)
nola 40d . 2.9k is new set la..from shops.
shocking.gif really? I thought it stopped production already.
TheWandererX
post Feb 20 2009, 10:50 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(wzseow @ Feb 20 2009, 10:45 PM)
thanks for the quick reply!
Problem is I have to stick with nikon because I recently purchased a 50mm f1.8, so if I jump ship to Canon, the nikon lense will be a waste  cry.gif
Is D90 a better camera than a Canon 40d?
Both are on par, in terms of photo quality, ISO shots, etc... but the main advantage over the 40D is that it has video mode. That's all the differences, I think.

Why did you buy a lens when you don't have a body to mount it on yet? Just wondering...
TheWandererX
post Feb 20 2009, 10:57 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(hermit23 @ Feb 20 2009, 10:50 PM)
Im aiming for the Panasonic LX3 brows.gif just wondering are there any other cams better than this on its price range? Im still new to photography so im hoping to be able to use this cam as a stepping stone initially.
It's undoubtedly the best you can get, for now. icon_idea.gif a very good choice as a stepping stone, though there are other models that you might want to consider. Let me know if you do want to see the others, but IMO I'd go for the LX3.

QUOTE(wzseow @ Feb 20 2009, 10:53 PM)
I have a Nikon D40  smile.gif
So planning to upgrade after using for 2 years.

So if i raise my budget to RM4k, it is possible to get a D90 with kit lense rite?
Oh. What happened to the D40's kit lens, or did you sell it off, ... or did it not come with one? doh.gif I don't know much about the D40 so apologies if my question sounded dumb.

Well, yes. It's possible to bargain the price down though. Counts on your bargaining skill. nod.gif
TheWandererX
post Feb 21 2009, 09:21 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(wzseow @ Feb 20 2009, 11:02 PM)
I still have the D40 kit lense. Planning to pass it down to my sister to let her learn around with DSLR  tongue.gif
I'll give YL photograhy a call tomorrow and see what he can offer me.

What about Nikon D80? With my budget should i get that or D90?
Old model, and as kucing has already mentioned, you'd be better off with a 40D than a D80.

You should go down yourself to YL and ask for price. Last time I smsed and called I got ridiculous prices.

QUOTE(hermit23 @ Feb 20 2009, 11:02 PM)
@TheWandererX

Thats wat i thought, best choice so far that i read and consider best for newbies like me . . . anyway, i think ill just it at the end of the month brows.gif Thanks for encouragement. laugh.gif
Ok, hope you enjoy your camera-to-come whistling.gif

QUOTE(chOOOk @ Feb 21 2009, 12:56 AM)
Wanna buy a DSLR
Budget RM2k and below
Mainly taking potraits/Scenery/Macro

Recommendations?
I'm afraid your budget won't be enough.

Anyway it is best to settle for a 1000D or a D60 and then slowly upgrade.

QUOTE(Byrop @ Feb 21 2009, 01:01 AM)
bro, any recommendation for a rm 300-600 camera? mainly use to self-take or take photo with fren
TheWandererX
post Feb 21 2009, 12:11 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Byrop @ Feb 21 2009, 01:01 AM)
bro, any recommendation for a rm 300-600 camera? mainly use to self-take or take photo with fren
I heard someone mentioning the Canon A1000IS. unsure.gif I dunno.

QUOTE(chOOOk @ Feb 21 2009, 09:39 AM)
how about D40 or D40x compared to 1000D or D60?

Which one suitable for entry level DSLR user?

again budget around 2k

mainly for macro/potrait/scenery
1000D/D60 is superior over the D40/D40x, they're outdated.

If you really want macro/portrait/scenery, you'll need a macro lens or a macro adapter, portrait needs long range and good bokeh, scenery wide-angle.

To cover these aspects, you have to have a 18-55 (wide angle, included with 1000D/D60), 55-250 (for Canon, cheapest tele lens with good bokeh) or 70-200 (for both N and C, but expensive) and macro you'll probably need closeup filters, which aren't cheap, or a macro ring, like the Raynox DCR250, around RM250++.

Overall you should need about RM3k if you settle with the 55-250 and DCR250.

QUOTE(| e 3 h y 0 r | @ Feb 21 2009, 10:46 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  PNS Camera
Budget: RM1k+
Your Location:   Selangor
Preferable brand :  Canon or anything better
Type of photography u want to do :  People, Mostly in Clubs or events
Any specific models in mind? :  currently using CANON 860IS
Any specific features u want? : Need something with wide screen
Your 860 should be enough, why do you want to upgrade?

Anyway, I'd recommend the IXUS 85 IS and the successor of the 860, IINM it's 890IS.

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Feb 21 2009, 12:12 PM
TheWandererX
post Feb 21 2009, 01:46 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(wzseow @ Feb 21 2009, 01:24 PM)
Now I'im pretty confused whether to go for 40D or a D90  hmm.gif
Get the D90 if you can afford it, because it has video mode ohmy.gif such a big deal to some people but if you have lower budget/don't need video mode and want to save the extra money then go for the 40D.
TheWandererX
post Feb 21 2009, 06:18 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Byrop @ Feb 21 2009, 05:53 PM)
in ur opinion, which is the best?

PANASONIC LUMIX DMC-FS3
Canon POWERSHOT A1000 IS
Nikon S210
Canon POWERSHOT E1
Canon Digital IXUS 80 IS
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0801/08012914panasonicfs3.asp

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/specs/Cano...non_a1000is.asp

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0801/08012902nikons210.asp

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0808/08082602...0is_a2000is.asp

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0801/08012402canonixus80.asp

Read please. =)

If I were you I'd go for the FS3/IXUS 80 IS, but you might have a different opinion, so enjoy your reading materials. icon_rolleyes.gif
TheWandererX
post Feb 21 2009, 08:05 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(| e 3 h y 0 r | @ Feb 21 2009, 07:37 PM)
I think the camera died on me, so you reckon 890IS??? it does have all the things i want?
Correction: There's only 870IS and 990IS. Found out after going to the Wikipedia article.

What's your budget anyway? Can you use the template? We'll know which one you should go for if we have the details.

19 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:28 PM