QUOTE(Hocan @ Feb 21 2009, 09:50 PM)
what is the different between full wide and nt full wide??
gt wat advantages? which lens can capture a full wide photo?
Wide's advantage is you can see wide, not wide - cannot see wide lor.
Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere
Feb 21 2009, 09:52 PM
1,862 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Feb 21 2009, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(Hocan @ Feb 21 2009, 09:58 PM) Hmm? I don't really get what you're trying to ask here, please, can you rephrase?QUOTE(Oyaji @ Feb 21 2009, 10:39 PM) Around RM2900, as kucing mentioned - I'm not really sure of the price myself. |
Feb 21 2009, 11:08 PM
Feb 22 2009, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(tdzheng @ Feb 22 2009, 12:51 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera If you ask me I'd recommend a 40D and the remainder can be used to buy a lens/flash. It'll give you an advantage over those who went for the HD video. IMHO we don't need it.Budget : RM4000 include kitlens Your Location : KL Preferable brand : Canon, Nikon, Pentax Type of photography u want to do : Landscape/Portrait/buildings Any specific models in mind? : 40D, K200D, K20D, D80 Any specific features u want? : Weatherproof, B/W, beautiful pic lah QUOTE(tdzheng @ Feb 22 2009, 01:23 AM) Second that - BOTH ARE EXPENSIVE QUOTE(ah_keh @ Feb 22 2009, 03:43 AM) ive used the template Hmm. I think you should settle for the 870IS then. Type of camera/lens/accesories : PNS Camera Budget: RM1k+ Your Location: Selangor Preferable brand : Canon or anything better Type of photography u want to do : People, Mostly in Clubs or events Any specific models in mind? : currently using CANON 860IS Any specific features u want? : Need something with wide screen |
Feb 22 2009, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(joyyy @ Feb 22 2009, 01:05 PM) The 2 types of sensors have their respective advantages. But I'm only gonna talk about cropped sensors. Adding on, if you want to get a wide-angle shot, on a 1.6x sensor (not full frame) the image is cropped so you get less view from the sides compared to using a full frame camera. If you want to shoot cramped spots, the 'nt full frame' will be harder to accomplish while the full frame will be much easier to accomplish.Cropped frame, aka. "nt full frame" have a crop factor, most commonly 1.6x. Which means that pictures taken with a 50mm lens on a 1.6x sensor will be the same(in size) as a picture taken with a 80mm lens on a full frame sensor. Now why can this be seen as an advantage? This means that we the consumers can use lenses with "shorter" focal lengths to take pictures that are equivalent to pictures taken with a "longer" lens on a full frame camera. Now it's a known fact that longer lenses are significantly more expensive than shorter lenses. To put things into perspective, one can use a 1.6x cropped sensor paired with a 100-400mm lens at 400mm to take pictures equivalent to 640mm(400*1.6) on a full frame sensor. Now the 100-400mm lens costs about USD1500. Or, one could use a full frame sensor paired with a 600mm lens, which costs about USD7600. What I'm saying is that cropped sensors provide a cheaper alternative to photographers. I hope you get what we mean. |
Feb 22 2009, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(DavidAw @ Feb 22 2009, 05:54 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera I'd recommend the Canon 1000D/Nikon D60 (both <RM2k), but if you don't want to get the best of the category, go for the Sony a200, RM1.4k for a single lens kit.Budget : RM2300 Your Location : KL Preferable brand : value for money Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait Any specific models in mind? : canon 350, sony alpha 300 with 2 lens Any specific features u want? : - |
Feb 22 2009, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(jasonlim1 @ Feb 22 2009, 08:44 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR I'd recommend the Canon 1000D, sell off kitlens & buy the 18-200mm. It might be a bit on the expensive side, but it'll serve you best during your travels. (you get to take scenery with 18, candids with 200)Budget: 2.2k Your Location: Ipoh Preferable brand : canon or nikon Type of photography u want to do : candid, travel, scenery Any specific models in mind? : 1000d, 450d or d60? or any other recommendations? Any specific features u want? : is there any specific features i should look for as a newbie? Anyway, find out what you want to shoot most. If you shoot your kids in action (if you have any) or wife, candid is your choice - you'll need a fast and long lens. If you want to get up close with critters, macro is for you - you can use practically any lens with a Raynox or Hoya +1234 filters to get closer. If you want to shoot action, like drifts, car races, etc, sports photography is for you - it'll be extremely expensive though because usually this aspect of photography uses fast FPS cameras, namely the 40/50D (6.5fps) or the 1DsMkIII (10fps). |
Feb 23 2009, 06:05 AM
QUOTE(jasonlim1 @ Feb 23 2009, 12:02 AM) my cousin is offering to sell his 300d to me coz he wants to change to 40d and is giving kit lens and filter. he's offering me rm800 If you're on a tiiiiiight budget then go for it - but bear in mind the 300D is obsolete.should i take his offer or should i go for 1000d? If you can go for the 1000D - it has an IS kitlens compared to non IS of the 300d. Others I'll try to reply you all later today. Going to school. |
Feb 23 2009, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(chris11 @ Feb 23 2009, 12:06 AM) hi all sifu here, i want to know, i wan to buy 2nd hand 450d , RM3500 package include : I'd rather you get a 40D used kit set, which is at least RM500-RM1k cheaper depending on condition or a new set, recently saw prices like RM3050 and RM3220 (from forumers).450d body + 18-55 kit lens 2gb,8gb memory card 50mm 1.8 tamron 28-200 2 camera bag ( maybe one is canon FREE GIFT ) tripod remote control 2 UV filter 1 macro filter RM3500 for this, shuttercourt is around 5k, worth not ? The 40D is FAR better than the 450D, but if you're really keen on an entry-level DSLR to start off with then go for the 1000D. Cheap affordable and won't fail to please you. QUOTE(weng86 @ Feb 23 2009, 01:05 AM) would 450d be better then 1000d? Both are equal in terms of specs but there is a letdown on the D60 - it has no inbuilt AF motor so you have to MF for some lenses.i decide will go with canon...since everyone i ask say canon would be a better choice.. if d60 vs 1000d which is better? or even 450d vs a350 Added on February 23, 2009, 1:11 amoh ya d40 is it still out there? where can i get it? The 450D is kinda in the middle of Canon's intermediate range and entry-level range, so it isn't recommended to get it. (in my opinion) For the a350 you'll knock into walls if you want to upgrade to L-quality lenses, while upgrading in Canon will give you a headache as there are too many lenses to choose from. Over 60 QUOTE(Hann2u @ Feb 23 2009, 02:37 AM) hey guys, If you're aiming onto the intermediate range the D90/40D would be good. If you don't need the HD video recording then go for the 40D, but if you do, go for the D90.i was thinking of buying a 50d canon with a 18-200mm lens but then do you guys think it is worth it to spend 5k++ on this camera+lens? as in is it worth the money? because i heard 50d isin't selling too well as compared to nikon and there will b a 60d/7d(replacement of 50d) coming out end of 2009 so what you guys think? should i buy 50d or d90? or start small with a 450d |
Feb 23 2009, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(Hann2u @ Feb 23 2009, 05:34 PM) i think i will go for a d90 then There are quite a few - Digital Mall, Lowyat Plaza, Pertama Complex, Pudu Plaza,.... too many to name.thanks for the advise + i also did some research and it also states that d90 would be the best choice for my type of level then do you know where is the best place with the best price around PJ area that offers most freebies Try going to YL/DigitalsMania (both at same complex, Pudu Plaza) and ask them to quote you a price. Survey around for a week or two and grab the cheapest deal. By the way, you should note that major DSLR manufacturers have increased their prices due to the recent inflation of the Japanese Yen, so you have to be quick to grab the last cheap deal before the prices increase (or before the manufacturer actually increases it) |
Feb 25 2009, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(chris11 @ Feb 24 2009, 01:56 AM) thanks u reply, Should be able to bargain the price till it touchea RM3k or lower depending on our ability. i just a new on DSLR, i think 40d is exp for me, i dun think i can use well 40d T.T ( im stupid) tht seller is lower the price, rm3200 let go, 2nd hand 450d need rm2100 right ? owner tell me he just take one time at bali travel, shuttercourt 5k plus.. izzit worth ? 450D lies in between entry-level and intermediate so I won't recommend it but if you want then go for it. Get a cheap used one - i can bet you will upgrade after you get your 450D. QUOTE(baoz @ Feb 25 2009, 02:34 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : PnS camera... I'd recommend a brand like Canon or Panasonic. Sony is a hopeless quality performer in the PnS category. If you want good pics go for the two brands named above. Budget: RM1200 Your Location: Subang/PJ Preferable brand : Canon & Sony Type of photography u want to do : Scenery, potrait, events... Any specific models in mind? : (refer below) Any specific features u want? : preferably battery lithium ion type, and not AA. 1. Canon Ixus 85IS 2. Canon Ixus 870IS 3. Canon Ixus 90IS 4. Sony DSC-W150 5. Sony DSC-W110 6. Canon Powershot A1000IS I don't have high expectations. I just want a camera that can take decent photos with a reasonable price. BTW, I wanna ask what to look for in a camera to get clearer pictures. Is it the optical zoom? QUOTE(dare_black @ Feb 25 2009, 03:54 PM) hmm.server roll back...i guess i hav to post my question again.sorry for those who did answer my question but i din read it.. If you're looking for a superzoom then get the FZ28. Cheaper and more value for money. here is my question.i am going to buy LX3 yesterday but my friend ask me to check out G10 first. so i need the pro here to tell me what is the pros and cons between LX3 and G10. from what i know is G10 has better zoom than LX3 and its faster to configure the shutter speed and aperture compare to LX3 which need to configure through menu. and of cause the price of G10 is rm1850 with 4gb+case only but LX3 is rm1630 which is black with 8gb sdhc + case + screen protector. i need your help to tell me which shuold i go for.... thank you The LX3 was made for general shooting in mind. Though it lacks zoom capabilities compared to other choices, its image quality kicks the others into the dust. |
Feb 25 2009, 08:09 PM
Mar 1 2009, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(alfvin @ Mar 1 2009, 03:53 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : Prosumer I'd recommend the Panasonic Lumix LX3 as it has f/2 compared to other prosumers with f/2.8. The 1 stop difference will definitely help you a lot in night photography - and I forgot to mention, the LX3's noise control is SUPERB. Literally, it's a perfect all-rounder camera. The IXUS 980 isn't that bad compared to it, but the LX3 is quite ahead of the 980 in terms of specs and performance.Budget : Preferably less than RM1500 Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon Type of photography u want to do : Travel, Night Scenery Any specific models in mind? : Canon Ixus 980 IS Any specific features u want? : Looking for a camera similar to Canon Ixus 980 that is less expensive, I do not need 14.7MP. Probably 10MP would be sufficient. My main concern is night photography. What about Ixus 960? Let me know what are the good cameras available based on my needs and what is the current market price. Thanks. If you're looking for zoom or anything else, do let me know - I can recommend you others. |
Mar 2 2009, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(woodflaming @ Mar 1 2009, 10:15 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR I'd recommend you go for a 40D body and a 70-200 f4L (IS is rm3.x k, while non IS is rm2.x k)Budget: +/-5k Your Location: Ipoh Preferable brand : canon,nikon,pentax... Type of photography u want to do : portrait, wild life, travel... Any specific models in mind? : D90, E3, EOS? Any specific features u want? : image stabilizer, live view... Both are high quality lenses so you won't regret getting it. I'm not sure whether the 40D has liveview or not though. QUOTE(angelgemini @ Mar 2 2009, 08:33 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : Point N Shoot or Dslr If you want a camera for holiday use only then go for the Panasonic Lumix LX-3. It's the best bet for you. If you want to experiment and play around with more stuff (at the expense of cleaning lens, drybox,etc) then go for the DSLR. Budget: around 2k Your Location: Preferable brand : any brand Type of photography u want to do : Potrait, scenery, vacation photos (plan to get a camera for my euro trip.) Any specific models in mind? : fuji f200exr, d60,eos 1000, sony a200 Any specific features u want? : no i still dunno i need a dslr or not? i know nothing in camera. but willing to learn. was a waste if i just get a dslr and seldom use? what the different of a200 and eos 1000? Both are equally good but the DSLR needs more care, attention and thinking as you won't get stunning images with pressing the shutter - you'll have to have creativity in a picture you wanna shoot. QUOTE(david9 @ Mar 2 2009, 10:58 AM) NIKON S610 vs COOLPIX P6000 Rather post here - it's easier and others will benefit from this too. which wan better ? currently i'm using nikon s610 . Features : potrait , landscape , nite shot pls pm me The P6000 is obviously better - and it's a prosumer camera meaning you have lots of settings to play with too. In its class the Panasonic Lumix LX3 wins over it but if you like Nikon more then go for it. QUOTE(david9 @ Mar 2 2009, 12:43 PM) go for nikon s610 add extra rm80 to rm 880 !! its a good digital camera . I'm using it now Added on March 2, 2009, 1:46 pmType of camera/lens/accesories : dslr / digital camera Budget: RM 1500 Your Location: seremban /malacca/Selangor Preferable brand : Nikon Type of photography u want to do : potrait , landscape , nite shot Any specific models in mind? : Nikon coolpix p Any specific features u want? : macro , clear at near object ( at the back blur ) pls pm me |
Mar 3 2009, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(DecaPix @ Mar 3 2009, 09:43 AM) Canon 450D is considered entry level but i think i'll be better than the Olympus. Adding on, 40D with 18-55mm IS kitlens is priced at RM3.2k. There is another kit, the 17-85 - but the 17-85 is much more expensive.Depends on your budget and what you want your DLSR to do actually. Olympus advantage is the smaller size Added on March 3, 2009, 9:45 am Wow..your budget very big range. Suggest you to get a D90 or the 40D if you can still find it. 40D is about 3.2k with the IS kit lens. D90 is abit more. Go play with both or loan from your fren and see which one suits you |
Mar 4 2009, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(zim_civil @ Mar 4 2009, 08:03 AM) Type of camera/lens/accessories : DSLR camera Hmm, I don't think you'll be able to cover landscape (wide-angle) and portrait (telephoto) together unless you opt for the 18-200.Budget : RM5000 + kitlens + speedlight Your Location: KL Preferable brand : Canon Type of photography u want to do : Landscape(plz suggest type of lens) & Portrait (plz suggest type of lens) Any specific models in mind? : need suggestion Any specific features u want? : need suggestion i need suggestion for buying new dslr camera.. ...im new with dslr any suggestion? Oh well, the best bet would be: 40D body (used/new) EF-S 18-200mm (RM2k+-) Canon Speedlite 580EX II (RM1.5k+-) All should add up to about RM5.5k.. if I'm not wrong. Good luck hunting. Another option would be the EF-S 10-22mm (RM2k+-) and EF-S 55-250mm (RM700-1k+-). Will be a bit expensive, but for wide-angle, every 1mm counts. |
Mar 4 2009, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Mar 4 2009, 09:48 PM) Type of camera/lens/accessories : DSLR I think you can opt for the above choice too. Budget : RM5000 Your Location: KK Preferable brand : Canon and Nikon Type of photography u want to do : Landscape & Portrait Any specific models in mind? : d90 Any specific features u want? : better control of noise...good AF speed... for my dad... I don't think the D90's HD video recording will serve well, but if you need it, then go for the D90, but if you're mainly gonna focus on landscape and portrait, then I'd recommend the 40D setup as I've recommended previously. EDIT: Can't your dad use your Alpha? This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Mar 4 2009, 10:26 PM |
Mar 5 2009, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Mar 4 2009, 10:32 PM) back to topic... 40D...hmm i will check it out. Mind telling why 40D but not d90? btw 40d abit over budget..3400 for body only...better invest the money saved into Lens....and btw it is year 2007 model. quite old imo...rdy to be substituted. 40D RM3400 body only? I recall seeing members buying a 40D kit @ RM3050 & 3200 respectively and that's just recently. Canon price hike doesn't affect camera bodies either - just the lenses. Yes, it is an old model - but if you wanna save RM2k from buying the 40D instead of the 50D, it is definitely going to make ur money worth. My comments are just comments - you'll have to do your own researching and molest both, then only you should make up your mind. My two cents. QUOTE(lokgotz @ Mar 5 2009, 02:32 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : Professional PnS I have personally experienced using a P6000/LX-3 and I can say the P6000 is kinda user-friendly (I just feel that its easier to control, as in the settings) but image quality-wise I'd go for the LX3. Budget: I have the models in mind, see below Your Location: KL Preferable brand : Canon, Panasonic, Nikon Type of photography u want to do : N/A Any specific models in mind? : Canon G10, Panasonic LUMIX LX3, Nikon Coolpix P6000 Any specific features u want? : Long story, see below. I am a DSLR user currently using a Nikon D90. I need a smaller camera to carry around and I'm looking at the Nikon Coolpix P6000 as I can use my SB-900 with it. My dilemma now is that I've read a few reviews on the P6000 and most of the reviewers said that the P6000 is not as good as the G10 and the LX3. If I get something other than the P6000, I won't be able to utilize my SB900 fully (sync only, correct me if wrong). I know a lot of people are using the G10 and the LX3 in the forums but I'm not sure if any of you have experience with all three models. I can get my hands on the LX3 and the G10 to test but I won't be able to get the P6000 via my sources. Please don't ask me to test it myself at the camera shop as I need feedback from actual users and I think the camera shop will mind if I test the cameras there for a few hours and end up buying only one. So I'm asking the good people here, do you guys have any personal experience with ALL THREE cameras? Is the P6000 as bad as what they said in the reviews? I don't think I'd go for the G10, it's overpriced and doesn't do any better than the LX3 or the P6000. (in my opinion) If you ask me, since you're already a Nikon user, why not get the P6000? The image quality difference isn't much, but if you pixel peep, yes, there'll be a difference that is easily spotted. If you want to try out something new, and don't do flash photography that much, then go for the LX-3. I hope I've managed to clear your doubts. QUOTE(keiri @ Mar 5 2009, 02:44 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : Digicam, DSLR What about shutter count? It counts how many times have you clicked the shutter (taken a photo). May I know, what do you want to know? Budget: 2K Your Location: kL Preferable brand : canon, nikon Type of photography u want to do : event,landscape Any specific models in mind? : NIKON D60, Canon Digital IXUS 980 IS Any specific features u want? : what about shutter count? Anyway, I'd recommend the Canon 1000D alongside the Nikon D60. http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canoneos1000d/ http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond60/ Here, you should be able to make up your own mind based on this. |
Mar 5 2009, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(juyut @ Mar 5 2009, 08:46 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera You could consider the Canon 1000D too.Budget : RM2000 include kitlens Your Location : KL Preferable brand : Sony or Nikon Type of photography u want to do : Event,candid,telephoto Any specific models in mind? : a200 or d60 Any specific features u want? : extra lense n gud quality pics.. which one is better?...sony a200 twin lense kit or d60 kit?...which one have better picture quality?..need sum advice here..thanx Anyway, the a200 is a value for money DSLR at RM1.4k, but then when you want to upgrade lenses, it'll lose out to the D60/1000D as Canon/Nikon has a wider range of lenses. Read a few reviews, play with both, and choose which one you fancy most. |
Mar 6 2009, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(teddbundy @ Mar 6 2009, 09:57 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « thanks for replying @DecaPix what does body image stabilizer means ? does it means blur reduction, something like that ? if it is, it would help me i think (my hand shake a lot during taking photos, luckily not Alzheimer or disorder lol) About the lens, my friend told me that too. sony's lens is more expensive apart from that they have narrow selection on lens. what about AF point between A200 and 1000D ? @offtopic, lots of people call me tedd bunny also lol 1000D more lens choice, easy-to-use menus, LV, IS lenses, L range... If you're REALLY tight on a budget or you're a Sony fan then go for the a200 lah. If you ask me though - it can't compete with the D60 and 1000D. Other members' views may differ. QUOTE(teddbundy @ Mar 6 2009, 04:33 PM) |
| Change to: | 0.0659sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:01 PM |