Need Advice abt Resignation Letter ?, Part II (yes there is part 2)

TSwillow
post Nov 26 2008, 01:33 PM, updated 18y ago

50 posts

it's a bit long here so pls be patient with me,

this job i'm in now is an office job (my 1st office job)

the story goes like this i've worked in this company for 3 yrs almost 6 months & let's just said my manager & i do not see eye 2 eye (which is no secret in the whole office).

the 1st yr, she said she's not satisfy with my jobs performance so no bonus & said will extend my probation (joined in june) & etc. (ok, i thought maybe i'm a bit slow so i kept quiet)

2nd yr said i got improvement but said not what she wants but said can see my effort but said can only give 1 month.
(now, i thought ok, i got improvement but i didn't said much)
but she said these during the "talks" Quote: "how old are you now hah? don't u think at this age u should've some achievement in your life? What do u like to do? don't u think if this isn't what u want u should look for other things?"

this year, she said my jobs performance is not good & i'm too slow for her, did not make enough call (for her collection), she's done my position before & said it's an easy & nothing much to do kind of works (which happen to be 20++ years ago) & claim that even the part timer (a form 3 student) can do a better job than me & even that my colleagues who are working with me cannot tahan me anymore & she said if u were me would u wants to kept me & kept asking me to give her an answer whether i give her the "LETTER" / she will give it to me, Quote : "we're all chinese here & i don't like to give Termination Letter & if u give me then it wouldn't look bad for your record then."

now, the thing is i get along fine with other colleagues & since she claim that they cannot tahan me, i've ask around & so far no such complain (yet)......

these "talks" always happen in the year end (others claim she's under a lot of stress so she'll tend to be irritable very easily) but will make me depress (yes i even cried when alone)
so my question is whether i should just give the LETTER to her / ask her to do it (because 1 of my colleague advice me to not give the letter reason being they wouldn't give me any compensation)
is this true??

sorry for such long wind post, appreciate advice pls....

This post has been edited by willow: Nov 27 2008, 08:51 PM
vey99
post Nov 26 2008, 01:47 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

From what you say, it looks like the manager has enough grounds to give you a dismissal, and has offered you to graciously tender your resignation.

If your company has a HR, do approach them and request consultation on this, what are the policies regarding termination and all.

If your company does not have a HR, I think your options are very limited. If the place was so bad for your career, you should just move on.

In terms of compensation, what are you looking for?
TSwillow
post Nov 26 2008, 01:50 PM

50 posts

it's just it's year end now, is it 2 much if i request to stay until jan like that & my 13th month ?? (cos i dun have good feeling abt my bonus anyway)

This post has been edited by willow: Nov 26 2008, 01:51 PM
jonglik
post Nov 26 2008, 01:54 PM

LYN Platinum Member
1,299 posts

for me, i guess she just wan u to resign... no matter how good is ur performance or wat u did for the company...

dont give her any letter.. unless the letter is ask her to increase ur salary or pay more for ur bonus...

i'm not sure about the compensation... i guess if any company wanna terminate any of their staff, they have to pay the compensation, unless a prior notice is given.. mayb different company different "laws"
SUSflamer
post Nov 26 2008, 02:19 PM

615 posts

If your black and white records show that you hit all your KPI and you are well contributing to the team, you do not have to be afraid. Your direct manager cannot simply sack u else u can go to the higher manager to justify why you should be allowed to stay. Numbers and achievements counts a lot and if u bring money to the company personal feelings should not stand in the way.

But if it is the other way round, I think you should start looking for a new job. The amount of signs that she is giving u is too much. You deserve better.
shadow111
post Nov 26 2008, 02:22 PM

3,140 posts

seem that things doesn't look very bright for TS.. All this while, her manager has been saying that TS performance is not good and TS didn't say anything meaning that she agree with what she said.
from what i can see, her manager do have the upper hand if she wan to give TS the termination letter with the reason that TS didn't performed,etc.

This post has been edited by shadow111: Nov 26 2008, 02:22 PM
DAP
post Nov 26 2008, 02:31 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(willow @ Nov 26 2008, 01:33 PM)
it's a bit long here so pls be patient with me,

this job i'm in now is an office job (my 1st office job)

the story goes like this i've worked in this company for 3 yrs almost 6 months & let's just said my manager & i do not see eye 2 eye (which is no secret in the whole office).

the 1st yr, she said she's not satisfy with my jobs performance so no bonus & said will extend my probation (joined in june) & etc. (ok, i thought maybe i'm a bit slow so i kept quiet)

2nd yr said i got improvement but said not what she wants but said can see my effort but said can only give 1 month.
(now, i thought ok, i got improvement but i didn't said much)
but she said these during the "talks" Quote: "how old are you now hah? don't u think at this age u should've some achievement in your life? What do u like to do? don't u think if this isn't what u want u should look for other things?"

this year, she said my jobs performance is not good & i'm too slow for her, did not make enough call (for her collection), she's done my position before & said it's an easy & nothing much to do kind of works (which happen to be 20++ years ago) & claim that even the part timer (a form 3 student) can do a better job than me & even that my colleagues who are working with me cannot tahan me anymore & she said if u were me would u wants to kept me & kept asking me to give her an answer whether i give her the "LETTER" / she will give it to me, Quote : "we're all chinese here & i don't like to give Termination Letter & if u give me then it wouldn't look bad for your record then."

now, the thing is i get along fine with other colleagues & since she claim that they cannot tahan me, i've ask around & so far no such complain (yet)......

these "talks" always happen in the year end (others claim she's under a lot of stress so she'll tend to be irritable very easily) but will make me depress (yes i even cried when alone)
so my question is whether i should just give the LETTER to her / ask her to do it (because 1 of my colleague advice me to not give the letter reason being they wouldn't give me any compensation)
is this true??

sorry for such long wind post, appreciate advice pls....
I understand the situation that you going thru now , its something like pain in the ASS!!

We call this kind of people as SADIST - they obtains pleasure from inflicting pain from others. They really enjoy doing this and they feel satisfied. I don't know why, I personally have experience this in my life but I handle this in HARD WAY !!

Remember this ...
YOU work for the company and not for HER/HIM
YOU DON'T care what she/he want, bottom line, YOU complete all the job on time, no delay, If you cannot complete, send a mail to the person in charge and notify her/him on the delay and advice new completion date.
DON'T MAKE MISTAKE - like hit the person, using vulgar words, up to you but make sure don't let others hear .... just go near her/him whisper and this is more effective ....
Carry a small recorder which you can record the conversation for EVIDENCE ..... don't let anyone know that you have this recorder ... test your recorder at home many many time ....check the sound quality ...
Are you from Penang ? Do you have contact with CAP ?
This is humanrights@suhakam.org.my - Send a mail to SUHAKAM copy your Boss / HR and CC to your self. Tell them what are you going thru now ...

In the mail to SUHAKAM .... tell them that

- you don't have a peace full sleep
- your boss is intentionally inflicting emotional stress on you and this made your life living in hell.
- the situation right now looks like your boss harassing indirectly on you and manipulating your mind which force me to quit.
- tell them that you have no voice, no power and you are working under fear and intimidation.
- tell SUHAKAM that you need help due to your job related stress.
- LASTLY - TELL SUHAKAM - This are multiple things impacting YOUR SELF WHICH YOUR MIND THINK OF SUICIDE ....
- If you want to send to SUHAKAM copy your Boss / HR and CC to your self , send this at 3 am .... to show that your life living in hell than go to any Gov. Hospital and get MC on that day ....tell to the Hospital Assistance the pain you go thru at work ... ask him to give a MC and reason is HIGH PRESSURE.

GOOD LUCK thumbup.gif

gundamsd
post Nov 26 2008, 02:45 PM

59 posts

usually for this situation, its clearly that she is plotting something against you, if you have another job offer then its best to take but dont leave without reporting these to ur higher management...

if u dunt have a new job at the moment, then best is dunt resign, it's clearly she dunt like u hence is trying 2 forceu 2 give resignaiton letter. Bear in mind, that to terminate an employee is not an easy tasks and the process is very tedious and may lead to industrial court...if u plan 2 bring up the case to the industrial court....if she really dunt like u then she would have not confirm or terminate u in the first year before u got confirmed by the company ? am i correct...

my best advise is, stay on while look for a new job at the same time. Try 2 play a little politics by explaining ur grievances to ur higher management, although its kinda risky but its the best u can do...at least u re trying to fight like a man rather than being bullied by her...

if u are close with ur colleagues, then try to gang up ur colleagues and make that bond stronger, its very amazing that how good colleagues will stand up against a cruel boss...

Sigh..nowadays its pity that women who are in power are abusing the "weaker" men ...
seantang
post Nov 26 2008, 02:47 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

With regards to your 13th mth salary, the company should give it to you pro-rata, even if you leave before a full year. That's because the 13th mth salary comes about from the fact that there are 52 weeks in a year, but only 48 weeks in 12 months. So, each full year, you actually work 13 mths comprising 4 wks each (as opposed to calendar months).

On the other hand, if your employment contract (I assume you're paid more than the threshold of the Employment Act) doesn't stipulate that a 13th mth salary is payable under contract, then you or may not get it, depending on company policy towards resignees.

So, ask your HR first if they will pro-rata.

With regards to your boss, she's trying to tell you that you're not what the company is looking for and you should quit, rather than force her to sack you. My advice... don't fight it. Your boss obviously doesn't want you around anymore and will be against you from now on. Why make yourself suffer under a boss who wants to get rid of you?
gundamsd
post Nov 26 2008, 02:50 PM

59 posts

on the other hand, would that be possibel to share the name of the company your working for and perhaps ur cruel manager name, at least we all can beware of this company/person in the future ?
yewwing
post Nov 26 2008, 03:35 PM

392 posts

Sad to know that you have a manager like that, think properly first before you decide somethings. definitely there is no compensation if you give the resignation letter. If that is not the career place you want, advise you to look for a better one
Cheers

This post has been edited by yewwing: Nov 26 2008, 03:36 PM
yen1022
post Nov 26 2008, 08:32 PM

City of Angels
607 posts

quite curious how come ur manager did tat to u? did u did sth which she dun like it? obviously she really dun like u n forcing u to resign instead of terminate u. if i were u n since the boss doesnt like me, i rather quit the job. even if u stay do u think u wont c her everyday? somehow v unable to judge how well is ur performance. i'll say rarely a manager will purposely force u to tender resignation unless u really unable to meet the kpi. so the best start looking for a new job now.
jackal1950
post Nov 26 2008, 09:40 PM

572 posts

if i were you, i will not give the letter. obviously she has a hidden agenda behind. who knows she wants her relative to replace you since it is hard to find a new job in the market currently.
PrinceHamsap
post Nov 26 2008, 10:30 PM

Legendary
1,637 posts

dont resign
she can give u termination letter and paid u the salary + termination salary

if u are not in any management level or committing any fraud
it wont affect your record, u still can bullshit in the resume for next job
TSwillow
post Nov 26 2008, 10:32 PM

50 posts

well, thanks for the advices & encouragement here (i've been down & emotional lately, easily tears up when i thought abt the words she said).

i've asked another colleague (secretary) & she was shock 2 regarding the events as mentioned but she is also not very verse in the company termination of service policy also (as not sure whether i'll get compensation of 3 months & etc).
her advice is if my manager is to "sack" me, i shouldn't worry abt the record not nice since i'm not going 2 join this company back & if i were to join another company they usually won't call back my old company since i'm not in Management level staff.

is this true?

my company is the kind that did not appreciate their worker, if u wants to leave then be my guest kind of thing.

regarding my manager & i relationship (if any at all) she's the type if she don't like u then nothing much can change her mind (known throughout the company & no, i'm not being prejudice here).

i felt stupid for putting up with her for 3 Years (why the h*ll did i do that???)

she make me felt very imcompetent & stupid & it doesn't help that i'm the type who'll avoid direct confrontation kind of person (i know stupid attitude) & yes, i'll even kept quiet but will kept all my complain to myself & talk to friends afterward (yes i know useless also)

This post has been edited by willow: Nov 27 2008, 09:50 PM
erica13
post Nov 26 2008, 10:48 PM

28 posts

i wouldn't resign if i were you...she can say lots good points to make you resign, but the point is, does she really care about your future? she said it will look better for your future companies, but this kind of manager who always "bully" you will suddenly concern about your future job? i don't think so. i think she just wants to make things easy for herself. it's very clear that she doesn't like you at all. whether it's because of your KPI or maybe some other reasons, nobody knows. But if your performance really that bad...do you think she will delay the termination letter? normally employer can just terminate the employee if she really cannot work at all. in another word, useless. even if the employee is not competent, most company always give more trainings or extend the probation period...

yes like other forumer mentioned, sacking an employee is a tedious job. it may includes lawyer, which means it'll cost them. and if since you've worked for this company for 3 years, i think you should have contributed something to the company, right? it's hard for them to escape from paying compensation if she really sack u...

but if you're not happy in this company, just move on lah. resign only when you get a new job.
DarReNz
post Nov 26 2008, 11:08 PM

7,496 posts

just stay till u get your bonus and also starting hunting for a new job ..... most important is your happiness ....
MPIK
post Nov 26 2008, 11:54 PM

1,838 posts

I felt sympathy for TS which has such a fukker boss like this.

Last time, I have a similar fukker boss like TS. This kind of boss is that if the first sight he/she don't like you, no matter how good, how hardworking or how efficient you performed, you will not get appreciated.

Last time when I am an auditor, I am with this fukker so called "manager" almost all the time. For instance, whenever we were in outstation, he did not even stare or talk a single word with me even I give him a morning smile. So, from that day, we were always in sour face when we met and talk only about work related things. With other colleagues, they all get along well with the exception of another collegue. I felt myself really cannot tahan this kind of human being. Walou goddamn!!... but this lucky fukker manager got a damn pretty wife, I wonder how his wife can tahan him.

My so called fukker always report to work late but the fukkiest thing he did is that he asked me not to be late as sometimes I am late to work too.. Walou, where got tis kind of manager where he late all the time but ask someone to be be late even though I only late for about 4-5 days in a month compare to him about 15 days.

Then 1 day, he give all kind of nonsense saying my performance was below satisfaction level etc etc... and eventually ask me to tender a resignation letter or he will ask HR to give a termination letter. I have indeed no other choice but to give a termination letter as I am still under probation and he indeed have the right not to extend my probation but to terminate me.

However, I must say that I am now a more happier person since then and wanted to thank God that I have found myself a more satisfied, happier and more secured job and of course with an additional salary of about 40% from my previous salary.

Remember TS: If you could not perform in company A, it does not mean that you cant perform in company B. Every company is different. Hope you will find a better job.

This post has been edited by MPIK: Nov 26 2008, 11:54 PM
goldfries
post Nov 27 2008, 11:26 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

please don't be using vulgar words here. you can choose not to.
TSwillow
post Nov 27 2008, 09:39 PM

50 posts

Dear all, as u all know today is the "D" day.

well, after all the hoohaa i told her i've decided not to give the "LETTER" & (i'll not bored u with the details) she gave me a warning letter instead something along the line of my "poor performance & attendance time" & said i'm now under "observation" which she wants me to sign before leaving her room.

now, i've inquired a bit regarding my situation from the Labour Dept. who advise NOT to give IT & what do u think abt this now???

pls advise again, thanks

This post has been edited by willow: Nov 27 2008, 09:40 PM
SUSwork4game
post Nov 27 2008, 11:29 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(willow @ Nov 27 2008, 09:39 PM)
Dear all, as u all know today is the "D" day.

well, after all the hoohaa i told her i've decided not to give the "LETTER" & (i'll not bored u with the details) she gave me a warning letter instead something along the line of my "poor performance & attendance time" & said i'm now under "observation" which she wants me to sign before leaving her room.

now, i've inquired a bit regarding my situation from the Labour Dept. who advise NOT to give IT & what do u think abt this now???

pls advise again, thanks
you are not less intelligent to work in the company for 3 years plus. in fact is a credit for you. To eliminate you is possible and many rooms for your manager to do that.

You are very lucky that your manager has no HR basic ground and i have to regard her as incompetent, else you are already no longer exist in that company. If she is smart, refer back to your letter of appointment....there is a term where you can be executed without just cause and excuse unless a magic word is not stated there.

Somehow i dont feel anything to your incident but i felt something is not right with your boss. She could have ended this relationship very fast but she chosen not to. Again, i maybe wrong....judging from what you written here...she definitely have no HR background though.

Luckily for you, there is no thread like....i have a problematic staff and i cant get rid of her/him. Then i would have suggest something strong to eliminate the issue with no brainer. nod.gif

0.0246sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:23 PM