96 posts

>>>'And nothing beats the pride of saying you've done F6 when ppl ask you.'

this phrase is sweet... hahaha
lovelyduckling
post Nov 27 2008, 09:51 PM

96 posts

Try apply for matriculation first(but its not easy to get selected unless u are Bumi or Malays)
Its harder to score a place for courses like medicine,pharmacy when u are a STPM graduate because u need to have VERY high pointer.Even if u score 4.0 that still doesnt gurantee anything as history shows that even excellent scorers couldn't get these popular courses in the past few years.
My friends who are in USM now said that those who study to be doctors,dentists(Chinese ones)are mostly NOT STPM students but from Matriculation.

This post has been edited by lovelyduckling: Nov 27 2008, 09:52 PM
joesniper
post Nov 27 2008, 09:59 PM

328 posts

F6 similar pre U but the study cost is very low ... it will maturated u when u do further study not like the matric kids ...
shinhou
post Nov 27 2008, 11:08 PM

122 posts

read my analysis of form 6 science stream here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/858464#

The best thing about form 6 is you can learn to adapt to difficulties sooner. University life will be easier. Like the famous chinese saying "bitter first sweet later".

If you are lazy, go for form 6. Peer pressure and long syllabus will passively make you rajin, unless you are immune to those. Just treat your form 6 life as your self-boost training.

If your result is good, you can apply to most of the prestigious uni, like cambridge.
The Silent Killer
post Nov 28 2008, 02:16 AM

657 posts

just wan to ask about school rules in form 6..i heard u hav to cut damn short hair for most of the skools like secondary skool...
im waiting for years just to get pass those stupid hair cutting rules in secondary skool....so wan me to get back into these shits is a big no no....
just wan to ask is it true?

This post has been edited by The Silent Killer: Nov 28 2008, 02:19 AM
shinhou
post Nov 28 2008, 02:29 AM

122 posts

Yes. Follow the rule please if you want to go form 6. Most of the Form 6 school have strict rules, imo.
The Silent Killer
post Nov 28 2008, 02:33 AM

657 posts

how bout A levels then? also i heard schooling hours for A levels is less than form 6 rite? i dun mind paying to go A levels, because i wan to work part time...
form 6 schooling hours are to restricting on my schedule...
lovelyduckling
post Nov 28 2008, 08:04 AM

96 posts

Despite what I said in my previous post on this thread,I am proud for being a form 6 student!!!It was tough,and the most important thing is that u have to have very strong self-disipline to get through that one and a half year.
I failed to perform well but here I am,in a local uni learning something I enjoy and I think the hard work and failures in the past paid off.I am stronger compared to students from matriculation too.

This post has been edited by lovelyduckling: Nov 28 2008, 08:05 AM
Dr@gon
post Nov 28 2008, 10:56 AM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(The Silent Killer @ Nov 28 2008, 02:16 AM)
just wan to ask about school rules in form 6..i heard u hav to cut damn short hair for most of the skools like secondary skool...
im waiting for years just to get pass those stupid hair cutting rules in secondary skool....so wan me to get back into these shits is a big no no....
just wan to ask is it true?
I think it depends, in the school where I done my form 6, teachers see us as "adult", they don't mind us bring handphone to school as long as you don't overdo it (e.g. use the phone during the class. sweat.gif ), and of course we must know what we doing. nod.gif
sacrethief
post Nov 28 2008, 01:43 PM

47 posts

form 6 to me is just like an entry pass to go into local universities but then again the chances of going into universities with your prefer course are rather slim. thanks to our government.
so if you want to go form 6 make sure you will be among the top among whole Malaysia form 6 students.
if not it is just a waste of time might as well spend your 2 years to get a diploma, at least when you come out to working environment diploma is a step higher than form 6.
that's my 2 cents.
jerk
post Nov 28 2008, 08:17 PM

1,039 posts

but diploma normally had a hard time if you want to top up to a degree.. end up waste more time in the end..

well.. in my sch, teachers normally close one eyes on f6 'adults' haha.. of course there is a limit to it
z1lch
post Nov 28 2008, 09:22 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(Tangiers @ Nov 26 2008, 08:31 PM)
If you aim for something higher such as going overseas, applying for scholarships, entering critical courses, then going into F6 is quite risky.
why say so?

DJFoo000
post Nov 28 2008, 11:20 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

lol IMO you can easily work part time if yer doin F6. You end skool at 1.30 or 2PM MAX, everyday. Unless you're talkin about staying back for other stuff. You can easily work a 6 or 7 hour shift there. Of coz when studying is concerned I dun think you'll be interested in getting a part time job.

Speaking of rules, rules are there for a reason. Why bother to play with hairstyles when you're supposed to be focusing on studying? Rules on mobile phones differ from skool to skool. I guess as long as the basic rules are followed (hair, attire, timing) you won't get into trouble coz the skool will shut an eye on wut yer doin. Afterall you're an adult, technically speaking.

My 2 cents. If you're going to study practically the same thing in both F6 and A Levels, why pay more to study the same thing? You're still going to put in the same amount of effort. You are even given the opportunity to further your studies for FREE locally, with the chance to further in foreign or private universities of your choice if you choose to decline the IPTA course. All those paid by your and your parent's taxes (you pay taxes when you buy stuff, 5% gov tax?). Why pay more lah?

Go enjoy your post-SPM days while you still can. LOL.
Mia @.@
post Nov 28 2008, 11:49 PM

i was a f6 student at VI.erm..in my opinion,ada advantages ada disadvantages lor.jz depends on wat u wan =)
taking f6 -- its tough,really de .. work hard hard,results still so so .. unless u r really pandai n really work hard hard til blur la =) but it do save lotz $$ .. nt tat burdening .. bt bear in mind, its quite risky oso .. hw to say? erm.. my frens who were same batch wif me , we worked hard 2geta 4 stpm , but many of dem cant get into local uni .. especially if u r thking to get into science stream as me .. in my class, nt sombong la,only 5 out of 34 ppl can get into local uni (of coz,im 1 of da '5') so wat others who cant get into uni do? dey were forced to get back to private uni / college lor .. sum course even wan dem study from diploma level again ler .. in tis field, dey r wasting $$ n time .. pity dem .. appeal n appeal pun still cant get into local uni .. sad.gif

all da best to u =)
NelsonBoy
post Nov 29 2008, 12:57 AM

l Audio Paradise l
1,120 posts

f6 stpm is one of the hardest test in the world. serious.

the only way to get into public U.

but if u dont get to enter, then it woudl be a waste of time of half a year.
compare to 5years degree programme after completing F5.

if u straight masuk private U, u hv to prepare some $$$.
-cher-
post Nov 29 2008, 04:11 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(jerk @ Nov 24 2008, 09:58 PM)
advantages

can go local Uni
save $$$
recognised else where
provide you with a solid foundation for your degree
sch teac..being spoon fed for the very last time

disadvantages

practically none other than it is quite time consuming
I don't agree with form 6 being spoon fed. We might have teachers to teach us dedicatedly but most of the time we are on our own. Teachers are there to guide us. It's like lecturers in college. If we are able to find our own info so that we can score. Teachers are there to let us understand the syllabus.

Added on November 29, 2008, 4:15 pm
QUOTE(NelsonBoy @ Nov 29 2008, 12:57 AM)
f6 stpm is one of the hardest test in the world. serious.

the only way to get into public U.

but if u dont get to enter, then it woudl be a waste of time of half a year.
compare to 5years degree programme after completing F5.

if u straight masuk private U, u hv to prepare some $$$.
brother, it's no longer the hardest test in the world. I think the standard has dropped. It's not as tough as what people saying. I din get my 4 flat but i believe it's not impossible.. The questions are still tough but then as long as we use our brains and study hard i think its fine...

Added on November 29, 2008, 4:22 pm
QUOTE(Mia @.@ @ Nov 28 2008, 11:49 PM)
i was a f6 student at VI.erm..in my opinion,ada advantages ada disadvantages lor.jz depends on wat u wan =)
taking f6 -- its tough,really de .. work hard hard,results still so so .. unless u r really pandai n really work hard hard til blur la =) but it do save lotz $$ .. nt tat burdening .. bt bear in mind, its quite risky oso .. hw to say? erm.. my frens who were same batch wif me , we worked hard 2geta 4 stpm , but many of dem cant get into local uni .. especially if u r thking to get into science stream as me .. in my class, nt sombong la,only 5 out of 34 ppl can get into local uni (of coz,im 1 of da '5') so wat others who cant get into uni do? dey were forced to get back to private uni / college lor .. sum course even wan dem study from diploma level again ler .. in tis field, dey r wasting $$ n time .. pity dem .. appeal n appeal pun still cant get into local uni ..  sad.gif

all da best to u =)
One tip.. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE think when you fill in the 8 choices when choosing the local uni. It's very important. Choose courses that is on par with your results. with a 3.8 don't even think of putting Dentistry or Pharmacy. You will ended up with some "pertanian" course.
Examples :
UM medic - 4.0
Unimas medic - 3.9 if u are lucky but mostly bumis from matrix
Pharmacy in 2007/2008 intake... with a 3.92 can't enter but got Biomedic instead.

I suggest you all go check with your seniors or cousellors before applying coz this is your future.
I'm doing Biohealth Science now in University of Malaya. My course requirement is only 3.0 but lowest CGPA (STPM) - 3.5 and only 14 chinese in my course (total 32) so, if you are below 3.5, you'll be kicked to another course again!...

That's why your first 4 choices are important... THINK properly...

p/s : if you get some lousy course, i suggest you go in first.... get a place then switch course... it's how uni works. I have friends from sc faculty switching to LAW!! imagine.... that's cool huh? (provided you did well in your first yr)

This post has been edited by khoohuiwern: Nov 29 2008, 04:22 PM
DragonMebius
post Nov 29 2008, 05:38 PM

ZGMF-X20A
1,282 posts

F6 is a tough road...
All subjects are not easy to master,have to put a LOT of effort in it.
If you are not hardworking enough,it's better you take another path instead of F6.
Nekochan
post Nov 29 2008, 10:38 PM

324 posts

I read somewhere saying Form 6 is the 3rd hardest test in the world so enough said. If you got good result in Form 6 you can go to oversea to further your study. It is much cheaper than doing foundation or A-Level. If you still haven't decided which course you are going to take, go for form 6. It will help you think a bit. You get more experience there and you are more mature than the students who undergo other pre-u education. You can adapt to things faster later as well. If you didn't get public uni, you can still go elsewhere later.

This post has been edited by Nekochan: Nov 29 2008, 10:39 PM
-cher-
post Nov 29 2008, 10:40 PM

60 posts

I agree with Nekochan... Go get a good think about form 6. But if you go in without heart... Better stay away from it. Go through it with full determination. Anything is possible.
Life is about decision.

Remember the Road not Taken?
Batusai
post Nov 30 2008, 12:55 AM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

well.. to me form 6 is da last choice... jus go an apply anything.. any colloge.. government ones.. get a scholaship.. try lar...

if ur rich den jus go private...

if ur not tat rich.. den f6 lo... but f6 is really really tough.. n u have to get great results...

15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:27 PM