47 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

CIMB Management Trainee

vince_hzh
post Dec 17 2010, 12:02 AM

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Dec 15 2010, 10:15 PM)
mental preparation is key! first interview, just research the company well, and answer the interviewee's question. 2nd, just answer the question. it's tough, but u'll be fine if ur lvl of intelligence is errrmmm, above average. 3rd, just bull crap it out for the presentation. they seem impressed with me, so i guess it ain't that hard. fourth, that lady with a nice hairstyle. very stuck up. but just be friendly and tell ur story to her, she'll buy it. not like she can read ur mind. walaa! u got it!

take note though that if u didn't perform during that 2 mths training, and that there's no vacancy in the department u wanted, and u're not as good as ur peers, dun be sad yo. u shud expect a lot of disappointment if u dun work hard enough right?
Ok thanks alot..will keep that in mind
fallen_neoangel
post Dec 17 2010, 12:50 PM

I sent my resume and cover letter to CIMB about a week ago but I haven't heard from them yet. So I guess there is no chances anymore? sad.gif
DoomCognition
post Dec 17 2010, 01:49 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(fallen_neoangel @ Dec 17 2010, 12:50 PM)
I sent my resume and cover letter to CIMB about a week ago but I haven't heard from them yet. So I guess there is no chances anymore?  sad.gif
Ai ya, be patient lar. Mine took like 1 month (I think 5-6 weeks) before they decided to call me for an interview.
fallen_neoangel
post Dec 17 2010, 03:33 PM

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Dec 17 2010, 01:49 PM)
Ai ya, be patient lar. Mine took like 1 month (I think 5-6 weeks) before they decided to call me for an interview.
Really? That long? Thanks for giving me a glimmer of hope.. smile.gif
DoomCognition
post Dec 17 2010, 04:22 PM

737 posts

When will they call you for interview depends on how many applicantions they get. If there are backlogs, then it only makes sense that they will only consider you application later. It also depends on how did you apply. Did you pass your CV to the person in the career fair, through some agencies, through mail, or online. If it is some other HR person, they might take their own sweet time before passing things around, or the interviewer might consider some sources of CV first.

Also, if you're not the cream de la cream and/or do not have a glowing CV, they might KIV you. This means that if some of their primary choices are not performing/did not turn up for interviews, only then will they consider you.

What I'm saying it, too many factors to consider. Just enjoy your life and wait for their reply. If they haven't get back to you in 3 months (may be 2 if you're impatient), then you can give them a call.
Makakeke
post Dec 17 2010, 05:33 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(vince_hzh @ Dec 15 2010, 06:53 PM)
anyone or gloom mind giving me an insight to all the levels of interview before being hired as an MT? will be attending my first next week,hopefully it goes well
if you're called for the first interview, you're pretty much set all the way to the third. Just read up on the company, tonnes of info on the website itself and trust me, they will be very beneficial should you be chosen for the programme. I'm guesssing your 4 interview stages will be done within the next 2 weeks as the next batch will be coming in Jan '11.
Chester
post Dec 17 2010, 05:59 PM

2,380 posts

Always be positive in your reply to any question in interview thumbup.gif
GloryKnight
post Dec 17 2010, 07:19 PM

1,770 posts

hi there,

If I were to apply for this post through e-mail, should the mail be directed i.e;

To:
Director of Group Corporate Resources.

Dear Sir/Madam,

And so on...

Thanks!! icon_question.gif
DoomCognition
post Dec 17 2010, 07:50 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Dec 17 2010, 07:19 PM)
hi there,

If I were to apply for this post through e-mail, should the mail be directed i.e;

To:
Director of Group Corporate Resources.

Dear Sir/Madam,

And so on...

Thanks!! icon_question.gif
Well, it says so on the website. That should be fine imo.
munchu87
post Dec 18 2010, 10:25 PM

161 posts

I went for the first stage of interview yesterday morning.

I had to write an essay given 5 topics to choose. I believe these essays are to test your writing skills as well as your general knowledge. I chose a topic on Climate Change.

Then there was a lady who did not introduce herself and never smiled, ask me more questions during the interview.

Questions like ,

1) Whose your favorite public figure ?
2) If you are to expand CIMB, where and why ?
3) What is Islamic Banking ?
4) Who is the CEO of CIMB ?
5) What extracurricular activities in uni did you do ?
6) Tell me about yourself.

The interview did not last more than 15 minutes.

The whole recruiting process for an application will be about 1 month.

Seems like the next intensive classroom class is starting in January, and also March.

Fresh graduate starting pay RM3000.

By the way, CIMB has a virtual career fair. Where I applied for the management trainee position , submitting my CV over the platform.

I guess that is the fastest and most reliable way to get an interview. As I got called for interview very much next morning I sent in my applications.

Hope this helps.

DoomCognition
post Dec 19 2010, 12:31 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(munchu87 @ Dec 18 2010, 10:25 PM)
I went for the first stage of interview yesterday morning.

I had to write an essay given 5 topics to choose. I believe these essays are to test your writing skills as well as your general knowledge. I chose a topic on Climate Change.

Then there was a lady who did not introduce herself and never smiled, ask me more questions during the interview.

Questions like ,

1) Whose your favorite public figure ?
2) If you are to expand CIMB, where and why ?
3) What is Islamic Banking ?
4) Who is the CEO of CIMB ?
5) What extracurricular activities in uni did you do ?
6) Tell me about yourself.

The interview did not last more than 15 minutes.

The whole recruiting process for an application will be about 1 month.

Seems like the next intensive classroom class is starting in January, and also March.

1 month? No way. It has been stated earlier in this thread that the entire recruiting process (starting from the first interview) would be around 2 months normally, usually a bit longer.
ckwei
post Dec 19 2010, 04:26 PM

Nacho Man(tm)
969 posts

it can be shorter than 2 mths. if u are fr out of town can nego with the hr to accelerate the process. will take less than a mth in that case
Makakeke
post Dec 20 2010, 12:09 AM

310 posts

It can be as fast as two weeks. Especially when the next classroom training is round the corner and if they haven't got enough people.
munchu87
post Dec 27 2010, 10:58 AM

161 posts

Just got rejected with a mail posted to my house sad.gif
I thought I have answered it pretty well with confidence.
I wonder what is their criteria.
Possibly because of me talking a slightly little too loudly outside the office with another applicant.
But theres this really cute receptionist thought. Super cute. LOL.
guess_guess
post Dec 27 2010, 12:56 PM

QUOTE(munchu87 @ Dec 27 2010, 10:58 AM)
Just got rejected with a mail posted to my house sad.gif
I thought I have answered it pretty well with confidence.
I wonder what is their criteria.
Possibly because of me talking a slightly little too loudly outside the office with another applicant.
But theres this really cute receptionist thought. Super cute. LOL.
Hey, i have receive their rejected MAIL to my house the other day as well.. pretty much frustrated.
I thought i answer well in the interview also. but i never give up, send again my CV thru online. LOL tongue.gif
do u think they will call me again? drool.gif
Makakeke
post Dec 29 2010, 02:38 PM

310 posts

New batch starting next week. Anyone in it?
felix860408
post Jan 3 2011, 05:48 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Dec 29 2010, 02:38 PM)
New batch starting next week. Anyone in it?
hey dude,

i am going for interview tmr 9am.
anyone going too?
study the whole thread and WOW! it is so useful.. rclxms.gif
at least i am prepared with something else rather than attending the interview like a blank piece of A4 paper. blush.gif
thanks for all the sharing icon_rolleyes.gif
will update the interview tmr. thumbup.gif
fallen_neoangel
post Jan 7 2011, 11:44 PM

Hey, I went for the first interview stage this morning. Interview questions were quite standard as stated earlier in the thread, e.g. tell me more about yourself, who is CIMB's CEO, what leadership positions you held in school/uni, etc...

To those who applied via the general career email and did not get a response, I suggest you re-apply through their virtual career fair website. Called up CIMB regarding the status of my application and they told me their career email inbox was full and I should resubmit my application on the virtual career fair website. But I was lucky that there were still a spot left on their interview schedule this week when I called and managed to get myself slotted in.. XD
eletan
post Jan 14 2011, 05:00 PM

18 posts

Hi, any updates on previous interviews? I'll be going for the interview on Tuesday,18th. Any general advice? Also, any useful comments for the assessment after the interview?

kazami
post Jan 15 2011, 05:54 PM

2,872 posts

studies their company background and what they do...
5 essay questions.

47 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:07 AM