CIMB Management Trainee
TSAmanda85
Nov 20 2008, 09:07 PM, updated 17y ago
I've just receive a call from CIMB Investment today, just after 2 days i emailed my resume. I'm asked to attend to interview on monday.
Do anyone have any experience undergoing this programme?
How long do i need to wait for them to confirm me for the job? Because I feels bad declining other job offer that come during the waiting period. in fact on monday, i have another interview in the afternoon.
How's their pay? and what kind of test or interview do they hv? izit tought? coz i'm from science background. I don't mind long working hours, but really hate doing sales. what's their job like?
This post has been edited by Amanda85: Nov 20 2008, 09:07 PM
SUSf4tE
Nov 20 2008, 09:25 PM
ciimb management progrmme? they offer u do?? or 1st interview only?? might have to go through series of interview..and i tot ppl say cimb cutting down ppl y got hire u somemore?hehe
TSAmanda85
Nov 20 2008, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(f4tE @ Nov 20 2008, 09:25 PM) ciimb management progrmme? they offer u do?? or 1st interview only?? might have to go through series of interview..and i tot ppl say cimb cutting down ppl y got hire u somemore?hehe yeah, 1st interview. cutting down ppl? so u don't think they plan to hire? so y they call? then i better don't decline other offers yet.
SUSf4tE
Nov 20 2008, 09:45 PM
dun listen to me only la..i mean i heard ppl say..better u check out yourself cuz i also not sure about that..but if got better offer come then take lo..cuz 1st interview only u not sure wil get or not the job
Added on November 20, 2008, 9:47 pmdun listen to me only la..i mean i heard ppl say..better u check out yourself cuz i also not sure about that..but if got better offer come then take lo..cuz 1st interview only u not sure wil get or not the job
This post has been edited by f4tE: Nov 20 2008, 09:47 PM
Winning11
Nov 20 2008, 09:48 PM

no ah. no cutting ppl off. those buggers only cut down air-con during lunch hour!
siaolang
Nov 20 2008, 09:55 PM

If it's the complete banker programme, that's quite selective. got 4 rounds of interview. so declining other offers might not be a good idea.
TSAmanda85
Nov 20 2008, 09:59 PM
so if i accept other offer and start work already, then CIMB call and ask me go for another interview. then how?
i really dunno how to handle this kind of situation.
Winning11
Nov 20 2008, 10:00 PM

QUOTE(HanYH @ Nov 20 2008, 09:49 PM) Definitely don't reject any other concrete offer over 1st interview  agreed. i will not decline interviews, especially for a bank.
HanYH
Nov 20 2008, 10:00 PM

May I know what was your major in school? I'm just trying to find out what type of people the banks are accepting, thank you!
TSAmanda85
Nov 20 2008, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(HanYH @ Nov 20 2008, 10:00 PM) May I know what was your major in school? I'm just trying to find out what type of people the banks are accepting, thank you! i'm majoring in medical bioscience. actually surprise that they call me. but i'm worried about the assessment since i totally got zero knowledge in business and finance
Winning11
Nov 20 2008, 10:09 PM

QUOTE(HanYH @ Nov 20 2008, 10:00 PM) May I know what was your major in school? I'm just trying to find out what type of people the banks are accepting, thank you! they will accept any major. multimed, psychology, IT ,engineer, u name it! it's the attitude that matters!
TSAmanda85
Nov 20 2008, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(Winning11 @ Nov 20 2008, 10:09 PM) they will accept any major. multimed, psychology, IT ,engineer, u name it! it's the attitude that matters! are u CIMB employee? can shed some light here on their MT programme? and how long does the assessment take?
SUSf4tE
Nov 20 2008, 10:18 PM
u got job offer still can go for interview ma..juz dun let your employer know about it..many many ppl do that including me..hehe
HanYH
Nov 20 2008, 10:18 PM

another stupid question from me:
Is this like a training in Investment Banking industry?
TSAmanda85
Nov 20 2008, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(f4tE @ Nov 20 2008, 10:18 PM) u got job offer still can go for interview ma..juz dun let your employer know about it..many many ppl do that including me..hehe but since i'm a new employee, i can't just take MC or leave and dissapear for 1 day for the interview, right? so frustrating. the other job interview is double A company.
SUSPhilHellmuth
Nov 20 2008, 10:44 PM
Don't turn down any offers until u sign a agreement letter to work for a specific company
As we all knows, economy is bad now. looking for a good job is a very very tough task.
Good luck amanda
sebaver
Nov 20 2008, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(HanYH @ Nov 20 2008, 10:18 PM) another stupid question from me: Is this like a training in Investment Banking industry? I got few friends doing their MT programme. Yeah you could sort of say its a training thing. You'll be rotated within the CIMB Group, but not necessarily just doing IB work. They may rotate you to do other things within the CIMB Group like credit cards, loan processing, internal audit, etc... Depends on your luck and each division's staffing requirements i guess.
Gravity
Nov 20 2008, 11:07 PM
hi amanda, how did u apply for this programme? i've not seen any advertisement about the MT programme ok, i saw your reply in another thread, thx for the info... i guess i will try my luck as well This post has been edited by Gravity: Nov 20 2008, 11:08 PM
HanYH
Nov 21 2008, 12:51 AM

QUOTE(Gravity @ Nov 20 2008, 10:07 AM) hi amanda, how did u apply for this programme? i've not seen any advertisement about the MT programme ok, i saw your reply in another thread, thx for the info... i guess i will try my luck as well  Umm, so how did Amanda apply? I can't find the other thread. THANKS!