CIMB Management Trainee

gloomberg
post Oct 5 2010, 06:49 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(home.aziz @ Oct 5 2010, 06:15 PM)
No... I wouldn't call it challenging per se, more like it wasn't what was expected at all, for me at least. I suppose at the very least it's a good experience.
All of u will make it to the final interview with literally no problems at all. Since they will take in 60 candidates every year, I don't see a problem getting in with ease. Well, enjoy the rest of the interviewing process!
civic10
post Oct 5 2010, 07:06 PM

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Oct 5 2010, 06:49 PM)
All of u will make it to the final interview with literally no problems at all. Since they will take in 60 candidates every year, I don't see a problem getting in with ease. Well, enjoy the rest of the interviewing process!
Hopefully will make it to the final interview. smile.gif
Fingers crossed.

I'm still waiting for the 3rd stage of the assessment which is the presentation. Still haven't got any news from Ms Azimah yet.
nabelon
post Oct 5 2010, 10:12 PM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

About a year ago, I failed at the second stage( during the assessment by deloitte). Can I reapply, do they accept multiple attempts ?
civic10
post Oct 5 2010, 11:05 PM

QUOTE(nabelon @ Oct 5 2010, 10:12 PM)
About a year ago, I failed at the second stage( during the assessment by deloitte). Can I reapply, do they accept multiple attempts ?
Did they call u or just send an email saying that u failed the 2nd assessment?
tesla34
post Oct 6 2010, 08:03 PM

539 posts

I went for 1st round last tuesday, been 8 days since, give up?
nabelon
post Oct 6 2010, 10:20 PM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

QUOTE(civic10 @ Oct 5 2010, 11:05 PM)
Did they call u or just send an email saying that u failed the 2nd assessment?
they sent me a letter and email me at the same time if im not mistaken.
civic10
post Oct 7 2010, 05:05 AM

QUOTE(nabelon @ Oct 6 2010, 10:20 PM)
they sent me a letter and email me at the same time if im not mistaken.
Thanks for the info.

I still haven't got any news from them yet after the 2nd assessment.

Maybe they are quite busy right now I guess. (Trying to be optimistic smile.gif )
gloomberg
post Oct 7 2010, 08:07 AM

510 posts

aiyoyo... don't put too much hope into it guys. It's not a big deal if you're working there anyway, at least when u work at their commercial banks. Might as well search for other investment banks that offer better perks and future prospects. For example, Maybank, Ambank(but the programme doesn't actually focus u towards IB), Affin, RHB (most of the time not IB), OSK (good luck with that), etc. Don't wait for them, or u'll regret because usually for such huge organization, it would take a longer time to get something done.
tesla34
post Oct 7 2010, 09:30 AM

539 posts

if they take so long and my other job offers come in I would not be taking it up also. seriously what are the cimb ppl thinking? smart people would have gotten roped into other companies. I don't think talents can go jobless for like 2 months.

by the way the recruitment drive in London have offered trainee positions straight by just a casual face to face talk. it starts to freak me about looking at how arbitrary their standards are
nokia2003
post Oct 7 2010, 09:38 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(tesla34 @ Oct 7 2010, 09:30 AM)
if they take so long and my other job offers come in I would not be taking it up also. seriously what are the cimb ppl thinking? smart people would have gotten roped into other companies. I don't think talents can go jobless for like 2 months.

by the way the recruitment drive in London have offered trainee positions straight by just a casual face to face talk. it starts to freak me about looking at how arbitrary their standards are
I have quite a few friends working in CIMB, and I don't deny that they generally take some time due to large volume of applications coming in.

everyone is trying to get into CIMB; made worse by ivy league universities, Oxbridge (along that dotted lines) graduates
gloomberg
post Oct 7 2010, 09:49 AM

510 posts

Woot, didn't know about that tesla34, u mean that they directly hire in UK? Kinda bias it seems. And actually, they have a lot of talents already, so there's no rush to actually hire even more "talents". Image all talented people in one organization, what would the level of competition be? It must be like hell working under such circumstances. So, the key here is balance. My theory only, doesn't apply for huge consulting firms like McKinsey,Bain&Co,etc. CIMB is somehow like a premier institution now, so either u wait, and buzz off. Woosh!
ArSe-SeNG
post Oct 7 2010, 01:26 PM

101 posts

I think all of us should bear in mind that this is a forum where people come in for more information. So please be mindful when you speak of your own opinions.

As for the slow reply, please bear in mind that there are many applicants trying to get into CIMB and there is only that few people in HR. What I can advice is, if you get tired of waiting, please give them a call. One can only remember so much stuffs.

The comparison between what is good between commercial banking and investment banking, is like comparing apples and oranges. Each will have its pros and cons. Some people might want to join the TCB programme for its wide banking exposure, and might eventually become more interested in commercial banking. One man's meat is another man's poison. Personally, I hate it when people say IB is better than CB. Both will need to complement each other. Then only you will create a synergy.

Tesla: Be more confident in yourself and your own abilities. If you're good and you believe you're good, I don't think whatever standards are need not be applicable to you. Remember, it's YOU that matters most! And if you're really anxious over this, just give Azimah a call.

Nabelon: The TCB Programme is only applicable for applicants with one year working experience or less. If you have yet to exceed that one year, then by all means give it a shot. You will never know until you tried right?

Cheers guys!
gloomberg
post Oct 7 2010, 02:03 PM

510 posts

I wouldn't know about that, but most of the people joined the TCB programme with the intention of joining the IB. It's a matter of perception on whether the difference between IB an CB is like comparing an apple to an orange. I think for some it may be close to a high quality wine (IB) and not so high quality wine (CB). We, as employees wouldn't really care what synergy it creates, of course both must exist, but what matters most is where we will be, get it? Of course, most people perceive IB in a better way because why... higher pay on average? I wouldn't say there's no bright future in CB, of course there is, you can be successful anywhere if u are willing to work for it. However, don't be agitated if people perceive it that way. And yes, I still think it's better to get into an IB. Tell me why is it not then? =,=
tesla34
post Oct 8 2010, 11:50 PM

539 posts

http://goo.gl/a9Ha

osaka123
post Nov 22 2010, 10:42 PM

hey folks!

i got a call from CIMB within 24hrs after having my cv and stuffs sent to the general app email. shakehead.gif just wondering does cimb call up every applicant for an interview?? hmm.. how long would the 1st interview be? smile.gif
gloomberg
post Nov 22 2010, 10:43 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(osaka123 @ Nov 22 2010, 10:42 PM)
hey folks!

i got a call from CIMB within 24hrs after having my cv and stuffs sent to the general app email.  shakehead.gif  just wondering does cimb call up every applicant for an interview?? hmm.. how long would the 1st interview be?  smile.gif
very swift. make sure u're fully prepared. but anyway, u shud prepare for a lot of disappointment as well. have faith!
osaka123
post Nov 22 2010, 10:59 PM

QUOTE(gloomberg @ Nov 22 2010, 10:43 PM)
very swift. make sure u're fully prepared. but anyway, u shud prepare for a lot of disappointment as well. have faith!
hahahhaha! i'm just gonna give it a try, and yeah, should probably have faith in that. well i have been through some sort of "judgment day" where the hungry big shots (group HR head, deputy CFO, etc) of a multinational energy company threw millions of questions that eventually shut me down sad.gif reckon i'm fine with any of these....

anyway, back to my question. you have any idea why it's so fast? cz i have browsed through the threads and it appeared some ppl took ages to get the 1st call!
gloomberg
post Nov 22 2010, 11:47 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(osaka123 @ Nov 22 2010, 10:59 PM)
hahahhaha! i'm just gonna give it a try, and yeah, should probably have faith in that. well i have been through some sort of "judgment day" where the hungry big shots (group HR head, deputy CFO, etc) of a multinational energy company threw millions of questions that eventually shut me down sad.gif reckon i'm fine with any of these....

anyway, back to my question. you have any idea why it's so fast? cz i have browsed through the threads and it appeared some ppl took ages to get the 1st call!
just get through it la... not that hard anyway... unless u slacked a lot during college. Interviews exist to save time, so act as good as u can be. Sound like a pro, and u'll pass through with ease. At least that's what I did, and to other mgmt trainee positions as well.

What energy company? YTL Power? Tanjong? MMC?
vince_hzh
post Dec 15 2010, 06:53 PM

anyone or gloom mind giving me an insight to all the levels of interview before being hired as an MT? will be attending my first next week,hopefully it goes well
gloomberg
post Dec 15 2010, 10:15 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(vince_hzh @ Dec 15 2010, 06:53 PM)
anyone or gloom mind giving me an insight to all the levels of interview before being hired as an MT? will be attending my first next week,hopefully it goes well
mental preparation is key! first interview, just research the company well, and answer the interviewee's question. 2nd, just answer the question. it's tough, but u'll be fine if ur lvl of intelligence is errrmmm, above average. 3rd, just bull crap it out for the presentation. they seem impressed with me, so i guess it ain't that hard. fourth, that lady with a nice hairstyle. very stuck up. but just be friendly and tell ur story to her, she'll buy it. not like she can read ur mind. walaa! u got it!

take note though that if u didn't perform during that 2 mths training, and that there's no vacancy in the department u wanted, and u're not as good as ur peers, dun be sad yo. u shud expect a lot of disappointment if u dun work hard enough right?

47 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.85    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:12 PM