6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

All Things About BLU-RAY | V9

aiman04
post Nov 30 2008, 12:27 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Really ar? Then there could be a glitch to the system, they should never impose the VAT for us. Just wait for their reply then.

Note to everyone, if the item is "Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.co.uk" but the VAT is not discounted at checkout, do not place the order.

Also, VAT will be lowered from 17.5% to 15% on December 1st. How do this affect us? None. The only difference is the price with VAT will be a bit cheaper, but when we checkout we'll get the same discounted price as before. Our price is always the same without VAT. biggrin.gif

Added on November 30, 2008, 12:29 pm
QUOTE(hezda @ Nov 30 2008, 12:26 PM)
Example like Superbad, which is dispatched by Amazon UK... even at final confirmation screen it still shows 14.98... very frustrated now, I wanted to buy Band of Brothers but because of the VAT bug I decided to hold on first.
It does seem like a bug. This could be happening to all titles. Everyone should refrain from ordering from Amazon UK now until this issue is rectified.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Nov 30 2008, 09:25 PM
aiman04
post Nov 30 2008, 09:26 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(hezda @ Nov 30 2008, 07:18 PM)
Somehow it works again... now my BoB shows e29.77...  thumbup.gif
I made a serious mistake in my post earlier. Corrected in red. doh.gif
aiman04
post Dec 1 2008, 08:00 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(ferricide @ Dec 1 2008, 07:02 AM)
Mad Money  - $16.99 from $23.99
Shine a Light - $16.99 from $25.99
The Spiderwick Chronicles - $16.99 from $26.99
The Godfather - The Coppola Restoration Giftset (The Godfather / The Godfather Part II / The Godfather Part III) - $41.99 from $61.99

Good time to get Godfather trilogy now
No more budget for BDs, got another project now. Very attractive price for Godfather trilogy. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Dec 1 2008, 08:01 AM
aiman04
post Dec 1 2008, 10:16 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Dec 1 2008, 10:02 AM)
thanks for the detailed reply.

so home address is always the better address to use. but how would you get this permit thing. say i order blu's and they stop me and i dont have the permit. can i then apply? or is it too late already?
They will call you, and you have to write a letter to them.
aiman04
post Dec 1 2008, 01:59 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(toratora @ Dec 1 2008, 11:18 AM)
anyone remember

if amazon decided to split our shipment with no additional cost to us, will we see it in the last page b4 we place our order

or only after we place our order will the split shipment be shown?
In my case, I can see they're splitting the shipment before I place the order. Though sometimes, they will split after you place order depending of the availability.
aiman04
post Dec 1 2008, 09:45 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(kkChan @ Dec 1 2008, 07:23 PM)
From Amazoo:
Anyone has experience in refusing the shipment before??
Do we have to pay the the postal carrier for the return, Amazoo asks us to us their carrier, so we cannot ask our beloved postman to send back right??
How do we know if Amazoo has received the refused goods? They will not refund us if they did not receive, right??
Why dont they just compensate us the price difference, stupid Amazoo!!!  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Calm down bro, you've been calling stupid Amazon almost 10 times already. Everything have rules, we have to respect that. Be thankful, without Amazon I don't know how we could've continue our hobby, not with Speedy for sure. The fact that you can return and refund is already a rare thing in Malaysia, consumer rights almost never exists.

Amazon's customer service is the best I've ever experienced.
aiman04
post Dec 2 2008, 07:33 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Dec 1 2008, 11:30 PM)
my friends in the us, do you think they sell region free blu rays that are playable on our asian ps3s

Regions: A B C

We're in the same region with US. More info can be found in the first post of this thread.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Dec 2 2008, 07:34 AM
aiman04
post Dec 2 2008, 08:21 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(hezda @ Dec 2 2008, 08:08 AM)
I still buy the RM12 DVD once in a while... not every movies worth buying BR for...
I suggest you download the BD rips, can still get 1080p or at least 720p, with Dolby Digital 5.1 640kbps audio. Can save some money and still get to watch in HD. biggrin.gif whistling.gif
aiman04
post Dec 2 2008, 09:05 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(bose00 @ Dec 2 2008, 08:52 AM)
bro aiman, if asian ps3 can play BDs imported from UK ?
UK is region B, you must check the titles to make sure it's region free, otherwise it will only play on EU PS3/BD players. Mosts Warner titles are region free, but almost all titles from Fox are not. So it depends. For UK titles, check the region of the discs here:

http://bluray.liesinc.net/index.php?region=b

http://www.allaboutbluray.co.uk/index.php?page=bluray

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Dec 2 2008, 08:57 AM)
any good link to download those BD rips?
I don't think we're allowed to post them here bro. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Dec 2 2008, 09:05 AM
aiman04
post Dec 2 2008, 11:01 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Dec 2 2008, 09:35 AM)
okay...

speedy sells Iron-man 159.00.

we take price frm amazon as reference. 25.99USD (let say this is distributors cost, since the retail price is 39.99)

plus DHL shipping let say USD 8 per title.

plus Customs duty 30% + 10% (importing in legal way) = 13.60

Total = 47.59USD x 3.65 = 173.70MYR
the cost above doesn't include, import permit license, customs declaration for imported commercial fees and stuffs... and i think for commercial retails is justified. now we so used to buying direct, avoid customs and all, thats y we can get better price.

blame currency exchange, and tax..
I don't believe they use the same method as we are bro. They must have ordered directly from distributors, not from Amazon or any other online retailers. All business is like that, not getting their stock from another retailer, but instead get from the distributor itself with distributor's price. And of course, they don't order just 2 or 3 at one time like us. Even with all those tax, fees and whatnot, I believe they're still making money at that "justified" retail price here.

For the them, there are always super elites that never bother about money, they just go to the shop, pick what they like and pay without even looking at the price tag. So just let them do their business. While we, in the other end, is free to get our stuffs from anywhere we want. That's the best privilege as a consumer. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Dec 2 2008, 12:06 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Dec 2 2008, 11:45 AM)
Yup, agreed. This is because our inflation rate are quite high compared to US. doh.gif
Wasn't it supposed to be the other way around? I think the overpricing will cause unbalanced economic condition and thus making the inflation higher. But don't take my word about this, I don't know anything about economy. laugh.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Dec 2 2008, 11:48 AM)
if you want cheaper things, move out from malaysia and stay somewhere else where the prices are reasonable.  thumbup.gif
We love our country ma, born and grown, and everyone has their share in helping to build the country. Is it wrong for us to ask for a better place to live? biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Dec 2 2008, 12:25 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Dec 2 2008, 12:08 PM)
I think every country has their pros and cons..no country is perfect.
Yes, nothing is perfect, but that doesn't mean we can't improve. Everyone must always try to make things better. We can't just sit and do nothing if we see some space to make improvement.

No country is perfect, and no one is perfect, including the leaders. The leaders need to be reminded some times. It's a colloborative work. In the end, the purpose to have a better country is for the rakyat (which includes the leaders themselves).
aiman04
post Dec 2 2008, 12:58 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Dec 2 2008, 12:28 PM)
thumbup.gif so my 'psychology' worked. these are exactly the points i'm trying to say if ppl are complaining about the price of certain things in our country.

that's why i made that statement. my follow up would be: you may think it's cheaper for an item by conversion, but once you stay at the country itself, the cost of living is probably parallel to ours, give or take a few things la.

you compare a loaf of bread in country A for example, maybe by conversion it's RM 1 (example la)..so we think it's cheap la right? but if we stay at country A, the cost of the bread is A$3.50, and our salary in country A is about A$2500. So living there, it's parallel to our salary of RM 2500, and cost of bread is RM 3.50.

correct me if i'm wrong though..i suck at economics.  laugh.gif

Now let's talk about BDs. thumbup.gif
aiman04
post Dec 2 2008, 02:49 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(edvpc @ Dec 2 2008, 02:21 PM)
if they make it for PSP for sure i use it... tongue.gif
but so far the only digital copy that allow u to download to ur PSP is TDK.any other that i miss? tongue.gif

i more prefer use PSP coz wide and big screen.no offense to ipod/iphone user... icon_rolleyes.gif  laugh.gif  tongue.gif
TDK can transfer to PSP? That's great, now I can have TDK on both my PSP and iPhone. thumbup.gif

Ron, yes, you'll need to have a US account. That's just for authentication, when done iTunes will copy the movie from the disc to your iPhone.

Neoardi, I got my PSP from a lucky draw, so I'm not kaya lah... tongue.gif
aiman04
post Dec 2 2008, 03:05 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Dec 2 2008, 02:51 PM)
Hi Aiman, but how to get US account without US credit card / billing address? Anyway around this? Thanks.. smile.gif
Ooops, I forgot. Now it's almost impossible to register a US account.

When I registered, there was an option to "Add Credit Card Later", so I didn't have to put any credit card info. The residential address, I just googled for an address of a hotel in US.

My friend tried the same few weeks later, but ther credit card option was no longer there, he has to put a credit card info and billing address. We can't find any workaround at that time, so he gave up.

Sorry bro. Maybe someone else found out a way around? notworthy.gif
aiman04
post Dec 2 2008, 03:12 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Dec 2 2008, 03:02 PM)
No lah, i just teasing edvpc tongue.gif
I also hv a PSP, the fat one actually... unsure.gif
But iPhone is indeed for org kaya thumbup.gif
QUOTE(edvpc @ Dec 2 2008, 03:06 PM)
huhuhu betul2... tongue.gif
i also own the fat one.the slim one i got for free at official PSP lauching... biggrin.gif
Eh, my iPhone is the 2G one, very cheap when I bought it. So not kaya la, some Nokia/SE phones are much more expensive. blush.gif

aiman04
post Dec 3 2008, 07:10 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Dec 2 2008, 09:59 PM)
by the way...Pioneer just announced the 16 layers 400GB Blu Ray disc.......hmmm.....how soon our BD would be obsolete eh?

this should be available to the mass by 2010...not too far in the future.
Obsolete? No bro, all BDs are compatible with any BD player, no matter how many layers it has. The fact is it's still a Blu-ray Disc.

This will actually strengthen BD format industry.

QUOTE(alexwlh @ Dec 3 2008, 01:32 AM)
My BDR Movie Reach

BDR is Black color
What is BDR? Where did you get that?

And those discs look cheap. I've got may black discs that costs a a few sen, nothing new. Try to put it in the PC's DVD-ROM, if it can read look at the properties.
aiman04
post Dec 4 2008, 06:57 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(corez @ Dec 4 2008, 05:02 AM)
If that BDr selling around RM 20-30  srill worth risking your PS3 lens. laugh.gif

My reasoning

100 BD = RM 10k
100 BDR = RM 3k
Savings 7k, haha can even change PS3 more than 5 times edy tongue.gif

/cabutz
Correct correct correct correct, but I wouldn't this for over RM30 each. I doubt it can be below that price (as of now) because a blank BD already cost more than that. So if the price is over RM50, might just get a used ones from our gang here. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Dec 4 2008, 07:40 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

The fact that the BDR is only a single-layered 25GB disc only means that the audio/video has been re-encoded to lower bitrate. The original BDs (Cars & 300) are double-layered 50GB discs.

If the re-encoded the audio, it will no longer be lossless no matter what HD format they put.
aiman04
post Dec 4 2008, 09:16 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Dec 4 2008, 08:45 AM)
Aiman,

Not necessarily right. They could always remove the extras and the additional languages and only keep one lossless audio. Some of the movies do not exceed 25G with 1 audio. I believe it is possible especially on the titles that only use up 30G of the space only and the rest are used for extras..

Anyway, something needs to give if pirates want to cramp everything into one BD25. Same thing as the pirates do for the DVDs as well. The compress a dual layer D9 into a single layer and the man on the street does not complain. The main problem is the man on the street and particularly Malaysians. We do not demand better, eg watching bad DVD D9 copies by supporting piracy and not caring about quality. Its down to the mentality. If only the movie studios could come up with a better pricing strategy for Asian countries and say we get Amazon like prices for ori DVD and BD in Malaysia, I believe more and more people will buy ori. As long as the current pricing structure remains, hope for ori BD and DVD in Malaysia is really looking gloomy...We would still need to import..
Not all titles bro. Live Free or Die Hard is 38GB total. One Dolby Digital 5.1 448kbps track is less than 400MB, at 640kbps maybe less than 600MB. It's pretty good bet that's the video and one lossless track alone could be way over 25GB as the original disc has no other extras except for the D-Box which I don't think will take up so much space.

And that Live Free or Die Hard is using DTS-HD MA, imagine for those titles with umcompressed PCM tracks.

I know about the DVD scenario in Malaysia, that's why there is almost impossible to find a real DVD9 nowadays. And I've done my own re-encoding to single-layered DVDs myself, I knwo how it works.

I'm all for cheaper original BDs, who would complain? But I will not support pirated discs, especially if they're 25GB discs priced as almost the same of an original 50GB discs. I know I'm always looking for hgih qualities regardless of the mentality of the general public.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Dec 4 2008, 09:21 AM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:52 PM