Household Mattress, which brand to go for?

Jason
post Oct 7 2015, 09:21 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(silentsunami @ Oct 6 2015, 12:00 PM)
This Englander Boston mattress good? what this mean by the below description? I went to a shop and they told me it's full latex mattress but i check on internet and found out this below

* High density Reinforced latex padding
* Reinforced foam base
Its already in your own description, the base is foam, so its just latex padding on top with foam on bottom.
I'm eyeing the Englander New Cambridge mattress, same reinforced latex padding on top but with inner spring system. Basically it is same as the Boston except its inner spring. Oh and its cheaper too, RM999 for queen size!

This will be going for my guest room, so its alright. Can't find anything else @ RM999 with latex on top.

iamsobloodysick You have anything to recommend at that price? Oh and do you sell Englander? Can buy from you as well.

I've had bad experience with foam in the past (Brand:Aerofoam), after 7 years or so it starts to disintegrate.

This post has been edited by Jason: Oct 7 2015, 09:21 PM
Jason
post Oct 19 2015, 02:41 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(yee0810 @ Oct 17 2015, 01:12 PM)
Anyone tried the RM3k,  Hesseng pocket sprung mattress with 85% natural latex and 15% synthetic from IKEA? It's the most expensive in the range. Any reviews would be appreciated
search on the net about Ikea mattresses. They don't get very positive and raving reviews.

if you're looking for a sprung mattress with latex topper, try
Englander New Cambridge mattress, same reinforced latex padding on top but with inner spring system. Basically it is same as the Boston except its inner spring. Oh and its cheaper too, RM999 for queen size!

Then let me know tongue.gif rclxms.gif Its not pocket spring tho. Think pocket spring will cost more.
Jason
post Nov 19 2015, 10:57 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(vextor @ Nov 17 2015, 11:27 PM)
Looking for Queen size mattress with budget RM900 - RM1100. Cheras area.
My current survey:

Fibre type:
Goodnite (Fibre 100): RM1060 from Lazada.
Goodnite  (Fibrenite): RM940 from Lazada.
Fibrelux:RM1200 ++, walked in Cheras furniture named Yaw Lee Furniture.

Now struggling between Fibre or Vono Spring.

Any recommendation or good furniture at Cheras/ Connaught area?  tongue.gif
http://bedandmattress.com.my/product_info....roducts_id=1272

For your budget I'd like at that as well. Looks like good value for money. Its a firm mattress.

QUOTE(Percival II @ Nov 18 2015, 10:02 PM)
i prefer sealy tempur brand
I don't like Sealy Tempur, that sinking feeling. I prefer Savoir Beds. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(vextor @ Nov 18 2015, 11:36 PM)
Just visited 2 furniture shop today. Have been told by SA that Coir mattress (Fibre) is not recommended. Due to lower useful life and might allergy to skin.
Is that true?

Then I found that Natura or Honeymattress is quite affordable. Quote RM1499 for Grand Silver, Honeymattress. Including mattress cover and 2 Natura Pillow.
Any Sifu can recommend or PM me?

My budget: RM1200, Queen Size.  cry.gif
Coir is just coconut husk, I've slept on coir mattress on occasion (parent's guest room), I have sensitive skin, but no issue for me. But regarding the useful life..its true. Doesn't last very long.

For RM1200 budget.. you can buy real mainstream brands like Vono and Englander. You should have a look.
Jason
post Nov 20 2015, 03:33 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(vextor @ Nov 20 2015, 03:05 PM)
Thanks for your recommendation. I will visit furniture shop this weekend. Vono seem like just fine to me, within my budget. And I quite confusing between Divan, headboard and bedframe.
I just need a bedbase.

PS: I spend more time on choosing my bed than my car. LOL!!
Well I *do not* think you spend 8 hours a day with your car right? hahaha. Find the mattress YOU like. Recommendations are just a suggestion, at the end of the day you will need to feel comfortable with it.

My own personal choice is firmer, and I'll put a topper on it. There's no *wrong* mattress, but there are cheap and nasty ones.
Jason
post Jan 18 2016, 05:43 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(zhun91 @ Jan 6 2016, 09:52 AM)
Hi, if money is not a problem which brand of mattress can i consider for a twin size
Undisputed market leaders are the 3S, Simmons, Serta, Sealy.
I personally don't like Sealy due to the way their coil spring works, and I like pocketed inner spring mattresses.

Tempur, if you like the sinking feeling, I don't. They are a subsidiary of Sealy.

Westin's Heavenly Bed is made by Simmons, Hilton Serenity Bed is made by Serta, Four Seasons Hotels uses Simmons as well. These are properties they run for ~$500 to $1000 a night, so they choose the best there is, while not being ridiculous -- no gold threads, virgin hair or silly things like that. Just an awesome sleeping experience.

Jason
post Mar 8 2016, 10:44 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ksgill80 @ Mar 7 2016, 01:13 PM)
Did anyone visit the Dunlop warehouse mattress sale at MFO in subang? Saw the add in the papers for 3 weeks already and wandering if its truly worth it? I know the brand is kind of an icon in malaysia
Its a bait and switch. There's no real good deals. Macam yes tapi bukan.
Jason
post Apr 29 2016, 12:08 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(wansyamim @ Feb 3 2016, 07:40 PM)
Bought a queen size Serta Perfect Sleeper Ultimate from @iamsobloodysick on Monday for RM5,800. He arranged the delivery to Kuantan as well and already receive the mattress today.

So far i'm quite pleased with the mattress. So comfy yet firm enough for my back. I suffered quite serious back pain from using my previous Goodnite mattress.

Hopefully this will be a good purchase for years to come. Thanks Joseph for your advise.
I think you need to get a different bed frame. Is that using those tulang ikan? Better you get a flat divan base to support the mattress properly, else you will destroy your beautiful mattress very fast.

Anybody know what's the cheapest 100% latex mattress in the market? And how much? Need to buy one very soon, after finish renovate need to furnish.
Jason
post Apr 23 2017, 11:36 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Apr 18 2017, 02:48 PM)
Hi all,

I'm planning to replace my old latex pillows.

Any suggestions what are the good pillows to consider?

I did some research online and found many negative feedback on Tempur memory foam pillows.

Should I stick to Latex pillows?
Just checked Simmons pillows and they cost about RM900+ each!
I think I'm okay with budget around RM200 to 250 +-....no need those RM900 and above types

I got Simmons pillows & MyLatex pillows... I prefer the Latex ones.
Jason
post Dec 6 2022, 06:46 PM

6,354 posts

1. Features and brands doesn’t really matter. Lying down on the mattress and listening to what your body tells you is important.
2. Asking about mattress online is pointless if you’ve never tried any. If I say mattress A is a 8 in firmness, it may only be a 5 to you. But if you tried a mattress in the showroom and you say too hard or too soft, the experienced sales person will know which model to recommend you to try.
3. Brands don’t matter… that much. Generally big manufacturers should be fine.
4. Cheap mattress are cheap, doesn’t last - Neckpro gave me great first impression, but after a year it doesn’t feel that great nor hold up that well - relative to my Simmons which is now close to 9 years old and holding strong.

Here’s a review about our fellow Mattressdepot

1. He’s very experienced and knowledgeable about mattress product ranges.
2. He’s straightforward, give you facts, not trying to upsell you or BS you to buy a certain brand or model with higher margin. He recommends you based on your preference.
3. I told him my budget was 5k, he wasn’t trying to recommend me around 5k to use up my budget, but genuinely recommended me a few mattresses based on my requirements and within the budget.
4. Did I mention he doesn’t bullshit and doesn’t try to upsell you? Ask him questions and he will answer you honestly. He don’t give you cock story.

I ended up buying King Koil hospitality suites well below my budget. Happy with my purchase, better than my old Simmons. I went to the showroom to try Slumberland Warwick but it was discontinued, tried Vitalize model, and other models. Truth be told, King Koil is not desirable brand for me, but lying down on hospitality suite, my body told me this is the one.
Jason
post Dec 20 2022, 01:55 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(imation1314 @ Dec 17 2022, 12:38 AM)
Anyone owned full latex mattress ? Currently looking at napure mattress ? Can share some experience about full latex mattress after long term use ? Like heat, comfortable level compare to hybrid/spring mattress. smile.gif
Very heavy if the entire thing is latex, changing sheets will be a PITA. My friend has one, that’s his only complaint.
Jason
post Jan 12 2023, 04:22 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(mnsalam @ Feb 14 2020, 03:05 PM)
No need expensive one laa
Around May last year I bought 1 mattress from shopee
Neckpro Peony..queen size..RM689..bonnell spring..12inch..quite comfy..feel luxurious..no regret at all
Early this year try to buy another one..already new price RM1628..WOOAAAAHHHHHHHH

Moral of the story..there are times in life u just go gamble on things and hope for the best..

innocent.gif  innocent.gif  innocent.gif
3 years plus now. How’s your Neckpro mattress? Still as good as before or now feel lembik?

This post has been edited by Jason: Jan 12 2023, 04:23 AM
Jason
post Apr 28 2024, 01:10 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Sep 19 2023, 04:51 AM)
I've used Dreamland, Dunlopillo, Kingkoil, Vono and after few years they started warping and hurt my back. Then few years back itchy want to try Sonno and Joey so bought both. Tried for 2 months and sent Joey back cuz I felt it is too soft. Been satisfied with Sonno for now.
How is your Sonno holding up?
Jason
post May 2 2024, 05:34 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 30 2024, 08:31 PM)
how much u guys spent on ur king size mattress?
Price is NOT a good indicator of quality, but in most cases anything above RM2k for king size from reputable brands (e.g. LSK, Hilding Anders) should be ok.

RM10k for my Simmons, imported from Korea (lol).
I bought it almost 10 years back... still very good. I do rotate (not flip) the mattress every 2 years or so. because I only sleep one side of the bed because forever alone.

But, I story you a bit. I did not intend to buy the mattress. I went to Homedec, then the Simmons guy so friendly ask me come try their mattress so I went. The mattress I bought was actually the cheapest one there (but I didn't know). I also lie down on their most expensive mattress, price of a Vios that time which I didn't like at all, give me free also I don't want. And I also told him I didn't come here to buy mattress but he was still very friendly and accommodating.

Then I continue whole Homedec and lie down on many mattresses, went back to Simmons lie down some more. And I kena poison, my body tell me this one lah. That's how I end up with it. Until today the mattress still supportive.

Morale of the story.. forget about the brands, forget about the specifications, set a budget and just go and lie down and listen to your own body.

I bought a queen size mattress from Mattressdepot. And I highly recommend visiting him. Because he is not interested to sell you the mattress that gives him the most profit. He will just listen to what you like (soft, hard, medium, firm, plush) and recommend which mattress to lie down on within your budget.

He didn't even bother to use up all my budget lol. Normal sales guy you say RM5k budget they try sell you RM6k mattress. I told him RM5k he pointed all the mattress that meet my requirements within my budget for me to try, I settled for one around RM3k.

I think trying to find a mattress on a forum a bit tough lah, what is considered firm to you, may be soft to me. So for something that you sleep on everyday it is worth it to make a trip and spend time finding what is right for you.

I recommend Joseph cause he truly is a no nonsense straightforward guy. Don't try to sell you with sales jargon or silly claims.
Jason
post May 8 2024, 08:05 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Mattressdepot @ May 7 2024, 09:06 PM)
Hi I donno what kind of feeling u are looking at it.

To easy start with, u can try Getha ASP or Serta Park Royal.

Let’s try something new

What mattress are you sleeping on, and why you choose that mattress (since there will be mattresses with similar feel).
Jason
post May 9 2024, 04:35 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(panafone @ May 9 2024, 01:06 AM)
I’m currently using a King Coil mattress I bought from you in 2020 😂

Something similar or better would be good.

How much is a queen mattress for the two brands you mentioned?

Thanks 🙏
Call Joseph lah. lol how he know which King Koil model you buy. lol. The entire range got soft and plush to firm and hard.

QUOTE(vampire411 @ May 9 2024, 03:32 PM)
Hi guys,

Currently I am sleeping on KingKoil empire comfort queen bed, but my wife pattern abit during sleeping so i am looking for a bigger size, current considering 3 options:

1) Get customized size mattress (7feets), not sure if king koil mattress has customize option.
2) Get another single size make it 8 feets, and customized a bed frame for that.
3) Get others brand mattress that having super king size which has similar firmness as king koil empire comfort.

Anyone have any good recommendation for furniture shop that offer first 2 options, or a good mattress for option 3?
1) buying sheets, moving house, replacing mattress will be a pain..and its going to cost a lot single its a production line of making just 1 mattress
2) just build a platform bed and you can put 2 queen or 1 queen 1 king or 1 queen or 1 single... possibility is endless
3) California king size.. rare as well but I think maybe can find

Just get 2 queen mattresses.. put on platform..done. if she not enough get a king for her, a queen for yourself. why wanna susah2 custom

later make already not ngam.. wah headache. you stick to standard sizes got plenty of choices.
Jason
post Jun 20 2024, 01:56 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(yang2910 @ Jun 5 2024, 11:32 PM)
Hi sifus, Looking for a king size mattress. Budget around <12k as long as its suitable.
Myself is a back sleeper and my wife is a side sleeper. And both of us are around 50-60kg only. But one problem with our current  mattress is that there is a body impression at our butt and lower back area after 3 years of using, which make that area less supportive and sometimes tend to have lower back soreness which lead to our hunt for a better mattress.
We heard mixed reviews on latex that it also tends to sink overtime and we are not sure whether to go for zone pocketed spring system like serta,simmons, sealy or latex like napure or getha. We are open for advices.
Prefer something comfy yet supportive. Have the hugging feel when first lie on then after that will have the support on your back also. So not too soft, and not too hard.
Some mattress for that we feel quite near to our feel are like
Kingcoil President suite, empire comfort, Napure Amber,
Serta masterpiece (Harvey norman model).
Getha Compass gold 100 (Worried about the longevity of full latex bed. Nice when trying in show room)
Serta ibalance, perfect sleeper supreme suite (nearly bought one of this but hold back due to the price, would like to survey more options)

Hopefully these provide a context for any potential recommendation.
Thank you
What is your current mattress that has indentation? Failed support after only 3 years is very poor quality.

My genuine recommendation, visit mattress depot in Kajang. Tell him your budget, and both you and your wife tell him what you are looking for, what feel, what sensation.

He will point out mattresses for you to try based on your requirements, not pricing. He genuinely tries to help you find the mattress that fits you, not the one with the highest profit margin to him.

When you are ready to spend so much money, take the time to find what is best for your body.

I give him high praise because he truly helps you to find what you want, and no BS from him.

Also, genuine pure latex won’t lose support so easily, definitely last longer than foam. And full latex mattress is a pain in the butt to change sheets cause it’s so heavy.
Jason
post Jun 24 2024, 10:49 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Jun 24 2024, 10:32 PM)
hi, wondering if anyone try Nitori bed?
compare to reputable brands out there. is it good?

am looking for:-
- king size bed.
- budget <RM6k (with bedframe).
That kind of budget I will lie down on Sealy, Serta, Simmons, Slumberland, maybe King Koil and Dunlopillow

Others I won't bother already.
Jason
post Jun 26 2024, 10:23 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Jun 24 2024, 10:57 PM)
thanks for recommendation!
will jot down and try it out.

am coming from RM100+ tilam. so any bed would be nice. but it's time to give my back some good rest.
I went from RM3xx coir tilam to Simmons fully imported. Didn't buy it because of the brand. In fact, didn't plan on buying any mattress at all. Was at a huge home fair when it was very early and just lay down on it. And I went lay down on a lot of mattresses in the fair, and circle back to buy the Simmons. Didn't buy it for the brand, but because of how it felt when I lay down on it. Plus it was the cheapest model in the lineup.

One key difference between the brands I listed (that I've experience myself) and affordable online e-commerce brands like Neckpro, Dr.Alstone (which I own) is the longevity and mattress support. I was blown away when I first lay down on brand new Neckpro mattress, asking myself wow, 10x cheaper yet still so supportive. Fast forward 2 years it has lost all support -- the mattress doesn't appear sunk. No indentation but the spring coils have lost its resistance and doesn't offer any support, and when you lie down on it, its lumpy in certain spots and you sink randomly.
Jason
post Jun 30 2024, 11:43 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(teacherharvard @ Jun 29 2024, 06:32 PM)
oops, I just bought NECKPRO. waiting for arrival.

between neckpro Vs Dr Alstone, which one better?
neckpro much more expensive than.Dr Alstone le.
Both gives good initial impression of lying on it when it’s new. For the money paid… can’t complain.

If you bought a queen size my advice would be to sleep on different sides of the mattress and rotate it frequently.

I had tenant who lie down on Neckpro and Alstone… to them they feel both are better than those super cheap foam ones. You get what you pay for… no more no less.
Jason
post Jul 3 2024, 02:29 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(hottemper @ Jun 30 2024, 11:55 PM)
been sleeping on NeckPro Rouleaux for 3 years+
and feel like upgrading to a better range, budget is within 1-2k queen size
tried joey, sonno, doesnt like the foam feel, prefer spring type, not too firm not too soft feel

any recommendations?
Vono would have something in that range with spring. Vono probably last longer than online brands. Manufactured by Hilding Anders Malaysia… a big group. Same family as Slumberland. But Vono has its own technology and history.

Many e-commerce “brands” are just that, a brand. They don’t make their own products. Deduct out their profit margin and there ain’t much budget left to make the actual product.

Edit: how’s your Neckpro after 3 years? Still feel as good as you remember on day 1?

This post has been edited by Jason: Jul 3 2024, 02:30 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1076sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:28 PM