10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

SUSDavid83
post Nov 14 2008, 11:33 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Nov 14 2008, 04:11 PM)
I see. Thanks for the info. mate. notworthy.gif

But regards to the Islamic Banking part, is there any limitation to customers or non-Muslims?  I'm applying for the HSBC card and they asked me to take the MPower because it's newer. sweat.gif
What kind of limitation?

I'm holding a Islamic based credit card.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 15 2008, 05:08 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Nov 15 2008, 12:18 AM)
what is the cc that comes with no annual fee for life except petronas card? is there any other?

Added on November 15, 2008, 12:23 am2nd question, let say i have a cc from maybank with credit limit 2k, and i apply for 2nd one, the credit limit is combined or different?
For Maybank CC, it'll be a combined limit. However, for Ikhwan series cards, the limit is not shared with the conventional, meaning to say it has seperate limit.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 15 2008, 06:21 PM

52,874 posts

Anybody could explain to me what is Bay' Al' Inah? It mentions a clause of Sale Price up to RM 11k.

A letter came from Maybank for Ikhwan card.

This post has been edited by David83: Nov 15 2008, 10:20 PM
SUSDavid83
post Nov 15 2008, 10:20 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 15 2008, 10:09 PM)
For AMEX Charge Card it comes in 4 variations namely "Green", "Gold", "Singapore Airlines Krisflyer Gold" and "Platinum". The design of the cards are exactly the same as those you see in their website.

Yes. You'll have to pay RM25/pa to enroll in their membership rewards program. It is completely unrelated to "Maybank Treatpoints". Therefore you CANNOT combine the points you earned thru your AMEX Charge Card and Petronas Visa.
AMEX Charge Card:
http://www.americanexpress.com/malaysia/pe...s/default.shtml

Membership Rewards:
http://www10.americanexpress.com/sif/cda/p...41,20750,00.asp

SUSDavid83
post Nov 17 2008, 09:37 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(panafone @ Nov 17 2008, 09:35 PM)
do i need to have had my cc for 1 year or more before i can do a balance transfer.

I recently had to do a major repair for my car so had to use my mbb cc. can i do a balance transfer so i can slowly pay the amount but with lesser interest?
Balance transfer is usually offered to new applications.

Some banks like PB offer it round the year.

No need to be 1 year old.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 18 2008, 04:33 AM

52,874 posts

100% cash back with EON Bank Credit Card:

URL: http://www.eonbank.com.my/promotions/ccard.../cashback.shtml
SUSDavid83
post Nov 19 2008, 09:42 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(aeronlim @ Nov 19 2008, 09:08 AM)
Want to apply for Ikhwan AMEX Gold Card,

1) Did the 2X Treatpoint for AMEX is temporary?
2) In the form, i see a place that have Akad Declaration, should i sign this if i'm non-muslim?

Headache about the AMEX all the times :\
1. 2x TP forever as adherence to conventonal AMEX
2. You need to sign both - Declaration and Akad Declaration
SUSDavid83
post Nov 19 2008, 08:10 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(DefecteD @ Nov 19 2008, 04:52 PM)
can i apply for CC if i dont have pay slip? i have steady income of more than 2k/month. n i dont hv epf too. but my old job got epf

can apply?
Usually they want payslip and IC.

Under special circumstances, they may request J-form or EPF statement.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 20 2008, 05:22 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Nov 20 2008, 04:58 PM)
You are welcomed. My experience using MBB Amex Credit Card for >2 years:
1) No problem swipe local or overseas at all (Asean & Europe), as long as they accept Amex  icon_rolleyes.gif
2) Sometimes local shops have problem swipe/approval MBB Amex Credit card, but no problem with MBB Visa/Mastercard.  doh.gif 
3) No issue with credit limit, as it is more than enough to use.
4) CL is combined with other MBB Visa/Mastercard. MBB Amex Charge Card CL is separate though.
5) Recognition/status/class/etc - I don't care, as long as can swipe and collect MORE points than normal.
6) Benefits - not much. I seldom use for promotion or airport lounge or etc. I don't like to hang around airport for too long. 1-2 hours for shopping/walk around/wash eyes  rolleyes.gif

Coming back to Ikhwan/basic Amex credit card, I read above posting Ikhwan is rebate % ? Do a simple calculation, nowadays MBB TP 8500 = RM50 voucher, which means need to spend 8500/2 = RM4,250 to get RM50 voucher.

If Ikhwan is 2% rebate, spend RM4,250 x 2% = RM85 !!! More worth it.

To make things complicated a bit  tongue.gif  , my MBB Petronas is 5x TP, which is 8500/5 = RM1,700 to get RM50 voucher.
If Ikhwan rebate 2% @RM1,700 = RM34 only. Means more worthwhile to use MBB Petronas CC at Petronas station, rather than MBB Amex.  sweat.gif

BTW, your signature is Hong Leong Bank CC application ?  rclxub.gif  tongue.gif
Ikhwan got 2% rebate? Rebate on what? I didn't hear such thing also even though I have Ikhwan AMEX with me.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 20 2008, 05:57 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Nov 20 2008, 05:39 PM)
What's the rebate/rewards with Ikhwan ? Just plain 2x TP ?
To my knowledge, it's just 2x TP.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 20 2008, 08:08 PM

52,874 posts

Get a chance to win this BMW X6 with every RM100 spend in a single receipt on your American Express Card. Plus, you continue to get 2x points for every Ringgit spent.

To apply for an American Express card, call 03-2295 8877 and get up to 50 instant entries to win this BMW X6 upon approval.

Promotion period is from 1 November 2008 till 30 April 2009. Offer is not applicable for Corporate card.

URL: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions
SUSDavid83
post Nov 20 2008, 11:12 PM

52,874 posts

MBB cardholder, I would like to ask where is TP hotspot? Any example or list?

Thank you.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 22 2008, 02:46 PM

52,874 posts

Just received my 1st month Ikhwan AMEX statement. It's seperated from my other two MBB CC statements. This one is under Maybank Islamic.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 23 2008, 12:41 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kindaichi @ Nov 23 2008, 12:24 AM)
I'm only holding my HSBC Credit Card for 11 mths.... is there anyone had managed to do the card to card application and successfully received the card with an existing card that is less than 12mths...

i know all the banks required 12 mths old card for that...dun quote me for that....

but i'm only asking if there is special case that anyone managed to do it even without 12 mths....
You may need to submit more supporting documents. I usually will attach along payslip. biggrin.gif
SUSDavid83
post Nov 25 2008, 08:25 PM

52,874 posts

A lot of ways to prove your income:

1. Payslip
2. EA or J form
3. EPF statement
4. Insurance premium payment slip (some forumer shared).
SUSDavid83
post Nov 25 2008, 08:37 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Nov 25 2008, 08:34 PM)
Thanks for the prompt response. if a customer whom do not posses a savings account as opposed to those whom have a savings account in the same bank. will there be any difference in treatment? or its just same?
Technically speaking, no difference at all!
SUSDavid83
post Nov 25 2008, 08:54 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Nov 25 2008, 08:50 PM)
Again, my weird experience. My salary is banked into HSBC every month. I applied HSBC CC, submit all docs, salary slip, proof, etc. But I got rejected.  doh.gif 

Then I not happy already. One fine day, HSBC tele-marketer called me, and asked me fill up one single form. No docs. I fill up, faxed in, and they send me the CC.  doh.gif  All happened within 12 months period.

Same company, same salary, same home.  rclxub.gif
HSBC has a lousy management. This could be their non-integrated system like Maybank has whereby one button (maybe several clicks), all your financial products with Maybank could be retrieved on the screen.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 25 2008, 10:41 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 25 2008, 10:38 PM)
You have got to be kidding me right ? HSBC is like one of the most efficient banks in Malaysia, along with Public Bank.
Seriously, my friend and I do not agree that HSBC is really efficient as everybody portrays.

They have only one classical credit card and they manage it like a total mess.

Some packages are tied with no annual fee for first 3 years but still got charged for it and couldn't get refund.

Seriously, some of my friends already cancelled them.

This post has been edited by David83: Nov 25 2008, 10:41 PM
SUSDavid83
post Nov 25 2008, 10:52 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Nov 25 2008, 10:50 PM)
for people like me n you, sure will thinks HSBC is just another crap card, not much benefits but as you getting to higher income brackets, you will thinks HSBC the opposite as u thinks now.

perhaps, HSBC is not targeting fresh grad and young market but towards more mature and security wanted market.
I'm not talking the benefits or privileges. No doubt that HSBC customer service is great; much better than most of the local banks. I also have to agree that the benefits or privileges that HSBC offers are not meant for an average joe or jane.

I'm talking about its efficiency.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 28 2008, 07:12 PM

52,874 posts

I got the thing that I redeemed from Maybank TP.

Surprisingly the turn around time is pretty fast; roughly in 1.5 weeks after faxing the redemption form.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0428sec    1.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:46 PM