7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

hye
post Jan 11 2009, 12:49 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jan 11 2009, 12:12 PM)
Yes it is good if bro cHipoLatas can confirm this, as it not written anywhere, just that I received SMS from HSBC about this & the CS told me that it is true.
You guys are luckier coz I've never received any SMS about this. I think yesterday was the first time I heard about it.
hye
post Jan 11 2009, 01:09 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Jan 11 2009, 01:00 PM)
read somewhere in this thread better to use credit card with low credit limit with online transaction. or is it better to use credit card with good CS for online transaction regardless of the credit limit? the safe way is of course debit card but you cannot hutang for at least 20 days like credit card
It is banks with good CS for me which will get my support. (All the time!) Of course you can go for the first approach but you limit your ability to buy items.
hye
post Jan 12 2009, 08:53 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jan 11 2009, 07:59 PM)
There is not exactly 2% on all transaction. It is based on tier rate. Below are taken from Alliance Bank FAQ for this card;

Q:How is the cash back calculated for the Alliance Rebates MasterCard?
A:The cash back is credited monthly into the card account and calculated based on the table below. 

Alliance Rebates MasterCard

Monthly Spending Range (RM) Rebate Factor
0-500 0.50%
501-1350 0.70%
1351-2550 0.90%
2551-5000 2.00%
Above 5000 Nil
The above is just one of the examples that you need to be well equip with the cc product information before you apply for the card. Don't just take the agent's recommendations straight on. Few are honest (I personally know 1 HSBC guy who's honest about the product) as they are out to get their commission when they are able to sign you up.

e.g Never fall for the apply for the 2 card trick, they actually want to get commission from 2 cards! Heard this before "Sir ... I think you qualify for 2 cards from our bank"

Added on January 12, 2009, 8:55 am
QUOTE(arsenal @ Jan 12 2009, 12:45 AM)
hsbc amanah got rebate but no point collections?
Yup ... confirm no point collections. smile.gif

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 12 2009, 08:55 AM
hye
post Jan 12 2009, 04:15 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Jan 12 2009, 03:53 PM)
just want to confirm, nothing can be done by someone if they know our credit card number only (not CVV)? example just has front page of our credit card. photocopy front of my CC then the girl does not satisfied with the first copy and copy again. stupid me forget to ask for the the first unclear copy.. hahaha paranoid tongue.gif
Might be possible. I have encountered situation (not sure whether it is a credit card authorization to debit or online form) where all the information on the front portion of the card is sufficient. (Read : CVV not required)

I could be wrong ... for better confirmation can ask bro chipolatas

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 12 2009, 04:51 PM
hye
post Jan 12 2009, 09:14 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Jan 12 2009, 06:57 PM)
That's not entirely true.  e.g. if u want to get SCB Infinite -

1.  Just show them another card with a min credit limit of 60K (they will back derive your income for credit processing purposes)
This particular requirement is correct. I spoke to someone in SCB before. (No ... I don't work in SCB, just in case anyone is asking)
hye
post Jan 13 2009, 06:41 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jan 12 2009, 11:23 PM)
So basically entry level of HSBC premier CC still not qualify to get SCB visa infinity or CIMB World mastercard. Anyone know about RHB visa infinity?
RHB Infinity ... incredilously crazy.
For example, if you qualify as the Preferred Customer, you'll auto qualify for a complimentary Gold card. Fund over RM500K, will qualify for Platinum card.
VISA Infinity - I think FD around RM1 mil. (or more) I know that their CL starts @ RM200K.

Problem is, I don't take too well the bank CS quality level. CS number takes forever to call in even though you are a Platinum card holder. Card application takes about 3-4 weeks for platinum and similarly for gold. (At least from my experience) The one good thing I can speak about this card is that they actively monitor your spending pattern and will call you almost immediately they detect the spending but really that's the only good thing about the card.

The fact that not many have this card, we don't have much feedback about the CS quality level for Infinity card.
hye
post Jan 14 2009, 11:53 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(davidlow7 @ Jan 14 2009, 11:04 AM)
I am now just waiting for my HSBC and hopefully I'll get it. I don't know should I terminate HLB CC or wait till all approve only I terminate HLB CC. Will it like affect the other applications like why this person terminate a card once right after applied it successfully?
You can choose to wait for a little while and then terminate your HLB, meanwhile you can stop using your HLB in preparations for an exit. My opinion is no problem even if you terminate now but there's a possibility that HSBC is rather sticky for this as compared to other banks.

hye
post Jan 14 2009, 02:02 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 14 2009, 01:29 PM)
@David83,
You should have asked him how he got your number + what kinda Platinum card he was referring to.
Aha ... tinkerbel. You are back ? We were wondering where have you gone to ?

Added on January 14, 2009, 3:10 pm
QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 14 2009, 12:46 PM)
Received another strange call from 016 2278601. That guy caller said he wants to offer me platinum card but didn't say from which bank. Very fishy call!
David83, I suspect this call to come from those fishy operators who just wants to scam you out of your CC information. Banks will never call you from a mobile phone, most likely from a fixed line number. I suspect a scam. BTW ... what's the full story anyway ?

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 14 2009, 03:10 PM
hye
post Jan 14 2009, 06:44 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

- Earlier Answer deleted -

If you were to do as the approach suggested, likely you will not be able to apply cc from any other banks until you clear your existing cc debts. Such an approach does have consequences - so please anyone do not take up this option unless it is the last resort and you are heavily in debt.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 14 2009, 06:52 PM
hye
post Jan 14 2009, 11:09 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 14 2009, 09:47 PM)
I mean GO to Maybank HQ and complain there.
You fax to them, they throw to rubbish bin you also never know.
It's better go HQ and ask supervisor/manager out and discuss.
Making a complaint is one thing but I doubt so anything is going to happen as to begin with there's no such product from MBB. Unfortunately rockstar teddy would need to sit the problem out. Personally I don't trust CS much unless I am able to
cross check the info on the bank's website.

Added on January 14, 2009, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jan 14 2009, 10:27 PM)
CIMB CC pin need to apply thru branch....
Not really back then ... I applied mine through the form which was attached in the statement which I obtained from them. Filled it in and mailed it over. The next few weeks, got the PIN in my mailbox. I know they are not that efficient but what I'm saying, it might not be the only method.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 14 2009, 11:12 PM
hye
post Jan 15 2009, 12:39 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(rockstar teddy @ Jan 15 2009, 11:27 AM)
thanks..but who is he btw??/
i dont have access to internet that time and dats y i call2ask the stupid CS!!!
if i knw they all have shit for brains..i wouldnt have ended up this way
i wont give up until they admit their mistake n do something about it!

Added on January 15, 2009, 11:28 ami sent a fax n also email today
coz the phone mailbox full n maybank2u customer feedback died..
haih!!!!
curse them kaukau
Relax ... doing all these cursing isn't going to help you at this stage. Even if they admit their mistake ... bear in mind, they have no such product that you are wanted in the first place. What do you want them to do ? (Disclaimer : I'm not working for MBB)
hye
post Jan 16 2009, 10:28 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Jan 16 2009, 08:08 PM)
owh see.. will try to look for it first..
BTW ... I'd recommend you going to the bank's website yourself to read up about the bank's cc offering & priviledges. It may be more tedious but you are getting the info direct from the bank. Google may return you a link to another forum which contains outdated info.

More importantly, please please avoid asking which card is the best card ! (And for everyone else who enters this forum and blatantly ask this question and expect an answer) It is difficult to answer without stating a more detailed requirement and there is no such card which card fit all, do all and provide the best gift/bonus in the Malaysia. (or even the world)

Yes .... I am annoyed at anyone who ask this question and does not want to spend some time readin the info. Plain lazy! mad.gif Mod can we agree (and ask everyone) not to answer such question every again ?
hye
post Jan 16 2009, 11:14 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Jan 16 2009, 11:04 PM)
It's not wrong to ask, but I think the point is that the person asking the question should at least try to qualify the question a bit more than just "what's the best card?" and expecting others to do their homework. Notice the reply is always the same, another question for more information.

Something like "what's the best card to get fuel rebates, I use Shell/Petronas/whatever?" would result in a definite answer. Help us to help you!
I don't mind such question actually. But definately not those "What's the best card?" That is just plain lazy I think.
hye
post Jan 17 2009, 04:09 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jan 17 2009, 03:43 PM)
Not really unique coz Citibank already did it 10 years ago, although its just a a picture of your IC/Passport photograph.
And it costs u RM38 for putting your picture on the card.
I didn't see this fine print. I guess most people won't coz they will get excited on the thought being able to put your own photo on the card. blush.gif

hye
post Jan 18 2009, 07:09 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Jan 18 2009, 02:36 AM)
is CIMB customer service 24 hours?
Correction .... CIMB CS is 24 hours !

Anyone here who has successfully cancelled their UOB without being charged the RM25 cancellation fee? (and still keep the card of course) I vaguely remembered to call up CS and said the letter never arrived and proceed with cancellation. Just got this card but I don't think I want this card anymore.

A refresher would be great. (and thanks in advanced)

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 18 2009, 08:40 AM
hye
post Jan 18 2009, 09:09 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Jan 18 2009, 03:27 PM)
i've cancelled my uob last week at the branch in puchong without returning the card to them, i've asked the need of returning and the officer say i just need to cut it myself and no need to return the card.
I think my card will arrive via courier some time next week. I got spoilt by my existing cards (I'm using 1 debit and credit card each) which gives me rebates for my general spending. (Covers like 80% of my monthly spending) Let's see whether I could get away with the card cancellation uncharged.

UOB cards does not give me equivalent rebates (not even the UOB One Platinum card) except the so called Platinum priviledges which I do not enjoy on a regular basis unless I spend like a rich man.

My next target is Alliance's bank card which provides rebates up to 2%. Plus can earn points. Anyone here is their current card holder ? Would love to hear some feedback. blush.gif
hye
post Jan 18 2009, 11:40 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(RockIron @ Jan 18 2009, 10:07 PM)
Hi hye,
I hold Alliance bank cc. Their CS so far no problem,very polite & professional.
Beside the 2% rebate, u can earn their timeless bonus points which will not expired.
Swipe 12 times in any amount within a year and the AF will auto waived.
Thank you RockIron. Will be looking at this card soon. I think can seriously consider it lah. biggrin.gif
hye
post Jan 20 2009, 06:49 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(IMAX @ Jan 20 2009, 06:32 PM)
I got both UOB One Card and Vox Card, and used the AUTO APPORTION function in Cash Deposit Machine to pay my balance for both cards, but in the end, the statement came out saying that I still got RM1.11 balance for One Card and RM1.11CR for Vox Card. So I just ignored it since overall I did not owe them any money. But the latest statement come and charged me interest on my One Card. Arent they should cover my RM1.11 debt in One Card with my RM1.11CR in VOX Card??? Anybody faced this kind of problem b4?
Yes ... UOB would not make an automatic reallocation. You need to be proactive (you should have done that in the first place) and call them up to make the correction. For all that matters, it applies generally to all cc providers. We the consumers should be proactive and check out any irregularities. If you made a mistake - apologies and move on, if the bank made the mistake - ask for a correction to be made and thank yourself for making a decision that will save you headaches later.

If anyone here remember the period before the chip-on-card cc were introduced, many petrol transactions frauds occurred and it made many (including myself) to be careful about what appears in the statement.

Added on January 20, 2009, 6:51 pm
QUOTE(maskedchan @ Jan 20 2009, 06:45 PM)
two different card..
can use the CR?i dont think so...

only the credit limit is combine not the card...
Correction ... moving the CR from one card to another can be made. (in UOB, not sure other banks) icon_idea.gif No issues about the combined limit. If you overpay one card, make a phone call to UOB CS and ask them to reallocate the funds. I have done so in the past, I'm very sure that it can be done.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 20 2009, 06:55 PM
hye
post Jan 22 2009, 11:13 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(deitel73 @ Jan 22 2009, 10:40 AM)
Did anyone knowing RBS bank credit card ??
RBS Malaysia does not offer cc. (At least that is what I'm aware of) Do you know something that we don't know deitel73?
hye
post Jan 22 2009, 06:27 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(zackskate666 @ Jan 22 2009, 05:04 PM)
guys..its like this..today i've charge 1k to my maybank petronas card..can i call their cc centre and request to them that my purchase today i want to change into installment for 12 month??..can it be done??..or only cimb offer that facilities??..
Hang on! Just to give you the right information ... MBB does not have this facility. (A few threads back, a forummer got into trouble for this wrong information) This is only available via CIMB/DA (Mastercard only) iPay facility.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0451sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:28 PM