(Tutorial) ICS seed Iphone3g Via Built-in Wifi, Tethering discussion

harmeet15
post Nov 16 2008, 01:42 PM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

i kal maxis, they said they charge rm15 for tat service...
tats all
no other charges
Raiko
post May 16 2009, 03:04 AM

582 posts

anyone who uses xp can share the how to connect iphone with celcom broadband through laptop ?
yewjin
post May 16 2009, 10:50 AM

356 posts

excellent guide. Thank you
Raiko
post May 16 2009, 01:35 PM

582 posts

xp user anyone ? teach me pelase. sad.gif
spycat
post May 18 2009, 10:56 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Raiko @ May 16 2009, 03:04 AM)
anyone who uses xp can share the how to connect iphone with celcom broadband through laptop ?
i have pass this way..but i got problem where is on my status wireless..i got venue for the send..but no velue for receive..anyone can solve this?
spike_77
post May 19 2009, 04:24 AM

13 posts

hahaha..
1st of all i want 2 thankz to all da sifuz who hav teach us using ICS on Mac n Vista..
now i would like 2 share my exp using xp..(AFTER 1 HOUR EXPLORE MY LAPPY)
sory if u cant understand my lecture cz im nt prvided pix..(noob) =P

okay..
jz like sifuz said we need
broadband(im using maxis broadband)
wireless(internal or external)
n laptop o pc...

now go to NETWORK CONNECTION
click SETUP A HOME OR SMALL OFFICE NETWORK(at da bottom of da page)
then da NETWORK SETUP WIZARD will appear
click Next and click Ignore da connection..
then SELECT da first of connection method
then SELECT da connection.. (mine using Huawei3g maxis so i clik on it)
then SELECT WIRELESS NETWORK CONNECTION box
then finish da setup..

Open wireless network connection
at related task tab clik change da order of bla bla bla
at wireless network tabs clik ADVANCED
then clik com to com (ad hoc) network only
clik ok
at preferred network clik ADD
enter ur info then disable ur wep automatically.
enter ur own wep password..
clik ok..
at wireless network connection choose ur network. (mine is SPIKE)
then u r ready 2 go..
yeah!!!!! smile.gif smile.gif
LizStephenie
post May 19 2009, 12:01 PM

310 posts

after i connected my iphone to my wifi i still cant use the wifi to online leh...
anyone care to help out?
uniquexme
post May 19 2009, 02:33 PM

839 posts

thanks for this info, i just tried with my iphone 2G and it worked... u are the man..
gyver
post May 20 2009, 11:14 AM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(kasmankk @ Oct 31 2008, 11:48 PM)
how about the other way around?
can the laptop be connected with Iphone  so that it works as a modem or wifi server (not sure what is the right term) ?
It's called tethering. This function will come out next month in the latest OS version 3 firmware.

Added on May 20, 2009, 11:17 amVista ICS is more stable compared to Windows XP. In any case make sure you guys update your Windows OS first, especially Windows XP or else you will get connection but still no internet connection.

After connection, please do a ping from your iphone, if you can ping but can't surf, might be your PC/Laptop firewall blocking port 53 so you might need to configure to allow connections.

This post has been edited by gyver: May 20 2009, 11:17 AM
irasyazreen
post May 20 2009, 12:24 PM

If still no internet connection..
try 2 disable ur firewall..
kokocrun
post May 23 2009, 06:04 PM

337 posts

guys i guess i will sounds a little bit noob does iphone can use it like modem to surfing by laptop via 3g connection?

LizStephenie
post May 25 2009, 01:35 AM

310 posts

i still cant figure it out on my win xp...
can someone with xp and know how to do it help me?
thanks a million...
gyver
post May 25 2009, 11:33 AM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(LizStephenie @ May 25 2009, 01:35 AM)
i still cant figure it out on my win xp...
can someone with xp and know how to do it help me?
thanks a million...
Sorry I am using Vista but a google search got this. Care to try it first.

http://unlock.i.ph/blogs/unlock/?p=5
LizStephenie
post May 25 2009, 12:02 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(gyver @ May 25 2009, 11:33 AM)
Sorry I am using Vista but a google search got this. Care to try it first.

http://unlock.i.ph/blogs/unlock/?p=5
thanks a lot for the info...
but i too have do some googling on this adhoc network...
and for the website you gave me, i'm pretty sure that's what i did to the settings...
but yet i still cant online on my iphone once its connected... not sure what's the reason...
but i'll try it again tonight when i reach home as i'll be in my campus library till midnight...
anyway, thanks for the info...^^

Added on May 25, 2009, 12:08 pmanother thing i would like to mention is that my laptop does not connects to the modem directly, it connects to a switch and the switch is connected to the modem...
does this have any difference compared to the laptop connects directly to the modem?

and does creating a wep password have anything to do with the ip of my iphone when i connect it to my laptop or its just simply protect your ad-hoc network from being use by unauthorized people?

again, thanks in advance...^^

This post has been edited by LizStephenie: May 25 2009, 12:08 PM
siqplus
post Jun 7 2009, 11:34 PM

81 posts

guys.. i need help here.. the first time i used the ics technique, my iphone works well.. after day, few days after i try to connect but.. i couldnt get internet.. my laptop and the iphone are connected.. but the iphone cannot get thru the internet..
in the setting i noticed a few difference from before..
the router and DNS aldy gone.. do i need to fill in myself?
does any1 know why?
cry.gif
mfayzol
post Jul 3 2009, 10:45 PM

Hi all. Just wanna share my experience. For me, the best tethering apps out there (on jailbreak iphone of course) is PdaNet. It's free for 30 days and u can use ur iphone 3g broadband internet to share with ur laptop.

How to install:
1. Open Cydia, search for PdaNet and hit install.
2. Open PdaNet website http://www.junefabrics.com/desktop/ and install the desktop client.
3. Open PdaNet on ur iPhone, click settings and set PdaNet to connect tru USB cable.
4. Open PdaNet client on ur laptop and click connect.
4. Done! Enjoy ur 3G connection from ur laptop.

*This applies for Windows (XP or Vista x86 and x64)
*U can also use wifi connection if u forgot to bring ur usb cable

I just don't hv time to explain in detail. But if u can use iPhone, meaning that u are somewhat tech savvy and I believe u can sort this out. Just one thing to keep in mind, iPhone OS3.0 support tethering by default (find that in the Settings>Network) and u dont really need any 3rd party software. BUT u may be charged again for tethering usage even though u already subscribed for unlimited 3G (dont know if this really true?). Cheers!

-abejoe-
deodorant
post Jul 3 2009, 11:20 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

not to be an ass or anything, but if you already know that os3.0 natively supports tethering, what's the poing of sharing some third-party tool that only works on jb'ed phones?
mfayzol
post Jul 5 2009, 06:14 PM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 3 2009, 11:20 PM)
not to be an ass or anything, but if you already know that os3.0 natively supports tethering, what's the poing of sharing some third-party tool that only works on jb'ed phones?
Coz the official tethering doesn't work for me. Once I pushed the button to "On" suddenly it disappeared. I wonder where it's gone? Secondly, as I said before, u may be charged again for using tethering even if u already subscribed to unlimited 3G.
amypisces
post Nov 20 2010, 01:57 AM

22 posts

sifu, i got 2 iphone. but only 1 is sign up for idata. last time i used pdanet to sharing internet with each other. but right now the pdanet is expire n need to buy. is that any other way? thank you.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0206sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:56 PM