Nokia [Nokia N82 Official Thread V4], Code Name Sharaku~

cute_boboi
post Dec 17 2008, 01:03 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(klk89 @ Dec 16 2008, 11:42 PM)
Hello. May I know whether can N82 record conversation? I mean when you talk on the phone can it record the whole conversation? Thxs.
When you are in call conversation, press the left option button, there is an option to record. However, the other party will hear a beep sound every 10 seconds or so. I have tried recording nearly 1 hour of conversation, did not reach 100MB. However, I have tried video recording >1 hours+ in 2 files, still has battery left, estimate 50%.

Added on December 17, 2008, 1:05 am
QUOTE(hseyrann00 @ Dec 16 2008, 11:54 PM)
and now when i connect my phone to comp via USB ,
i can't copy things into it ..
it says "The device has either stopped responding or has been disconnected "
how to fix this =.=
Unplug, plug into another USB in PC, choose PC Suite in N82 and let it auto-detect and install. It's a PC system problem.

Another way is to uninstall all PC suite and PC connectivity/data cable/connection from PC. Reboot. Then install again. Reboot again. Plug N82 in and choose PC Suite. Let it detect all over again. sweat.gif

Added on December 17, 2008, 1:07 am
QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Dec 17 2008, 12:37 AM)
yup im using class 6 at the moment...
love the usb card reader biggrin.gif
Wow, that's something new. I saw in SanDisk website only has 8GB Class 4 micro-SDHC 1-2 weeks ago only.

Added on December 17, 2008, 1:09 am
QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Dec 17 2008, 12:45 AM)
i tot wifi more power hungrier

but i can assure u...
im using Garmin(ver 4) 4.5hours still have 1bar of power
LCD of coz always Light ON
My GPS test was KL->Ipoh Town->Simpang Pulai->Halfway to Cameron runs out of battery. Estimate definitely <4 hours and it was quite new at that time. <2 months old, authorised set (not AP).

Added on December 17, 2008, 1:11 am
QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Dec 16 2008, 11:20 PM)
the info above i can guarantee accurate coz everything is based on estimation  whistling.gif

GPS easily tested whenever u go outstation
Game is the fastest energy consumption, no effort
Phone u use it everyday, no effort
Music sometime u play it until u forgot to turn it off and fall asleep...  doh.gif

fyi very hard to get info on battery consumption from other forum
they mostly tested on music oni  cool.gif
so better do self experiment  wub.gif
I can bet with you HSDPA (3.5G) continuous download non-stop will drain faster than playing game tongue.gif e.g. 200MB+ patch file from microsoft/download.com/etc.
Full charge to zero in <2 hours. I have never achieve HSDPA >2.5 hours, except go online and let it idle (no upload/download).

WiFi is somewhere around gaming and GPRS/EDGE usage. 2-4 hours.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Dec 17 2008, 01:11 AM
cute_boboi
post Dec 17 2008, 11:19 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Dec 17 2008, 01:20 AM)
wow u tested on video, i about to ask camera power consumption
Yes. The reason is, I remember from my N80 days, voice recorder has a limitation of 5/10/15/30/60/???? minute max. Video has longer limitation of >60 min or up to 1GB or something. Cannot really recall. Since I know it was a long discussion, and I have plenty of memory card space, I use video recording rather than every 5 min check my N82. I'm sure the other party would not like it if I check my h/p every now and then during discussion sweat.gif

No joke... i tot i use outdated stuff...
u know la, i didnt keep track of this kind of stuff...
oni interested in 16GB
8GB Class 6 vs 16GB Class 2 now... RM65+ vs RM250
Very tempting sweat.gif Cause I can use the micro-SD with SD converter on my camera also.

my testing is from KL to Pulau Perhentian (Jetty)... travel need ~ 9hours (3am to 12pm)
by the time 4.5hours scare already quickly put in car charger (coz left with 1bar batt)
my unit is AP also 2months old at tat time ~ Black edition
At that time, I was using GMXT 4.x and Malsingmap v2.20 also.

ok u WIN
my failure to test HSDPA...
tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif sweat.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
cute_boboi
post Dec 17 2008, 12:59 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(seraph8660 @ Dec 17 2008, 12:47 PM)
hmm.. a silly question,
i'm wondering can we track our frens location using our n82 gps?  hmm.gif
i mean when our frens connected to the gps at the same time.
Using GMXT, once you locked the satellites, there is an option to send your location to another GMXT user as SMS. They will receive an SMS, and if both devices are set correctly, when the other user open the message, it will launch GMXT and he/she can choose to navigate to your location. thumbup.gif

Already tried and it works.

Added on December 17, 2008, 1:02 pmlucaswjk,

For 8GB Class 2/4/6, I don't mind spending extra RM20 for Class 6. However, the 16GB is way too expensive right now doh.gif

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Dec 17 2008, 01:08 PM
cute_boboi
post Dec 17 2008, 01:40 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Dec 17 2008, 01:25 PM)
Can the default Nokia file manager detect hidden files? Do I hide the files by right click and set to "hidden"? Or there must be a specific software to do this?

Anyone can pls provide the list of Garmin folders with images pls  notworthy.gif
Thanks  thumbup.gif
AFAIK, default Nokia File Manager cannot view hidden files. Therefore, cannot set the hidden attributes on/off.

Just do a search in E:\Garmin\ for all subfolders with _pAltbn (or _pAlbtn?). Don't be so lazy lah tongue.gif
Then set all necessary files to hidden. Then delete the _pAltbn folder and sub.

Added on December 17, 2008, 1:42 pm
QUOTE(seraph8660 @ Dec 17 2008, 01:29 PM)
@cute_boboi

what if after sent the sms for him/her then i move to another places? they will know it too?
their garmin will show my location tat i'm moving?
No. I'm not sure GMXT has the tracking feature or not. Never tried until that yet. If it has that feature, it means e.g. every minute will send an sms. Once a minute may be too long/short a time. Imagine how much sms you need to pay (but for those cheap ones) I think is alright.

Nokia Sports Tracker allow single/individual bread-crumb trail tracking.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Dec 17 2008, 01:42 PM
cute_boboi
post Dec 17 2008, 02:30 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

FExplorer (need to sign yourself, troublesome)
X-plore
SysExlorer
Y-Browser (Dr. Jukka)

Don't worry, all are freeware.

Connect as PC Suite using USB cable. You can try set whole E:\Garmin folder to hidden (including subfolders) using WinXP Explorer. I've never tried that before. sweat.gif But no matter what, you still need to find and delete all the _pAltbn (or _pAlbtn ?) folders first.

Edit: above bold is wrong. Connect as USB Transfer using USB cable. Otherwise, I think you won't be able to view E:\Garmin or those hidden/system files, even if your WinXP Explorer is set to enable view hidden/system.

BTW, I see some post can have text with "strikeout". How can I do that ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Dec 17 2008, 03:07 PM
cute_boboi
post Dec 17 2008, 04:06 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

_paltbn ??? is the folder which stores thumbnail images for Gallery. Even it hidden, it will still show in Gallery and load if available.

cute_boboi
post Dec 17 2008, 04:40 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

After delete pAltbn ?? , yes, GMXT will work. Even if you set those image files to hidden. I've been using it for >6 months without problem.

cute_boboi
post Dec 17 2008, 05:12 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

You can try delete the _pAlbtn in E:\Images\..... then when you open Gallery again, the thumbnail loading will be slower. Cause it is recreating the thumbnails again. _pAlbtn is similiar with WinXP thumbs.db
cute_boboi
post Dec 17 2008, 08:06 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

There are several _pAlbtn folders in \Garmin\
Don't be lazy, just browse through the 20+ folders.

If the file is hidden and no thumbnails (_palbtn), Gallery won't detect it.
If the file is hidden but earlier thumbnails already created, Gallery will detect the thumbnails + image

cute_boboi
post Dec 18 2008, 12:04 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(hseyrann00 @ Dec 17 2008, 08:55 PM)
GM-MySin v2.15  doh.gif
i jz cincai download a map to try ... can track myself .. but can't find place lor ...
all name in super short form [T T M L] , [I O P L] , [32 / 1]
shakehead.gif

anyway .. downloading 2.30 to try ..
If I'm not mistaken, you got the wrong map. Get the GM-MySinMXT.exe v2.15 map.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Dec 18 2008, 12:20 AM
cute_boboi
post Dec 18 2008, 02:53 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

If I'm going to buy original battery, I'll rather pay more and goto Nokia Authorised centres -> RM150+ ?

Else, if I'm going to normal phone shops, I'll buy the non-original-battery. RM30-60 type.

cute_boboi
post Dec 18 2008, 11:37 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Eve2211 @ Dec 18 2008, 11:17 PM)
Any idea why it's called D-pad? Why not Q-pad or O-pad?
QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Dec 18 2008, 11:36 PM)
i believe they started to called it during Nintendo era for his navigation pad...
D Pad = Digital Pad kua??? forget  blush.gif
Because it is a 5 Directional button keypad tongue.gif

left, right, up, down, centre

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Dec 18 2008, 11:39 PM
cute_boboi
post Dec 18 2008, 11:40 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

one more is centre push-down button la... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Dec 18 2008, 11:40 PM
cute_boboi
post Dec 18 2008, 11:47 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

hmm.gif gaming devices call it 4 directionDigital-pad for the left, right, up, down.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Dec 18 2008, 11:48 PM
cute_boboi
post Dec 18 2008, 11:49 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Seldom play N82 games now. If got time, play PS3 GTA IV sweat.gif
cute_boboi
post Dec 18 2008, 11:59 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Try games like AdvBrain Trainer, Brain challenge, Fr.Bubble, Bejeweled, tetris, pool/snooker
cute_boboi
post Dec 19 2008, 12:17 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Try apps like Ovi, SIC! FTP, Energy Pro (battery tool),
Argus RS, wwigo, webcam2 (web cam for N82)
CalSync, Nokia Step Counter,
all Dr. Jukka stuff, Y-browser,
Handy alarm,
mobiPad (with nintendo Wii)
QuickOffice suite
GPS: Nokia Sports Tracker
cute_boboi
post Dec 19 2008, 12:24 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

I didn't use VNCViewer before. Is there one for S60v3 to view PC desktop from N82 ?

I'm using Remote Professional (mobileways.de) to view N82 from PC (thru USB cable + PC Suite).

My Nokia Steps Counter is beta. Did not touch it for many months already tongue.gif not fun.

Added on December 19, 2008, 12:27 amHandy Clock/Alarm is similiar

File browser is depends on individual preference.

Quickoffice launching ver6 around Mar 2009. Free upgrade for existing v5 users thumbup.gif Previously I bought at USD1 during promotion period.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Dec 19 2008, 12:27 AM
cute_boboi
post Dec 19 2008, 12:46 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Yes, Diamond Twister is more fun than Bejeweled smile.gif

cute_boboi
post Dec 19 2008, 01:00 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Download Diamond Twister ... you may get addicted. A full charge can last 2-3 hours if you play non-stop tongue.gif I play with charger connected for 4-5 hours sweat.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0404sec    1.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:42 PM