79 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Asus Eee PC Thread V3

jamezco
post Nov 3 2008, 12:13 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

hmmm i dont mind if they sell me a 701 for RM600 then i can mod a touch screen and mount it in my lil wira ...

change the speedo to a touch screen ..... wooooooooot

Proton Wira 1.3 = Powered by Asus 701 with Windows XP...

xD
Perfect-Stranger
post Nov 3 2008, 12:29 AM

做人如果没梦想,同咸鱼有甚么分别
1,593 posts

Lol !!
That's great idea.
But .. worth it ? I mean it would cost sum of money to mod it into a touch screen mode, isn't it ?

kazasho
post Nov 3 2008, 01:28 AM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

last time got forumer bulk. now none sad.gif
wanted last time but no money.
rm1xx for touch screen hardware
jamezco
post Nov 3 2008, 01:56 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(Perfect-Stranger @ Nov 3 2008, 12:29 AM)
Lol !!
That's great idea.
But .. worth it ? I mean it would cost sum of money to mod it into a touch screen mode, isn't it ?
QUOTE(kazasho @ Nov 3 2008, 01:28 AM)
last time got forumer bulk. now none sad.gif
wanted last time but no money.
rm1xx for touch screen hardware
I remembered someone posted there is a USB screen which we can stick on the screen and make it automatically touch screen...

what my friend suggested was go find some china touch screen thingy and hook it up ...

the problem now is that ... how do i power the lappie wit the car batt???

do i need extra batt in the car???

if this really could be done it would be dam sweet ...

the water temp and petrol meters could be placed on the right hand side then the custom make a place to fit the touch screen on the speedo area ...

hide the 701 behind the dashboard .... bluetooth it and put a bluetooth GPS .... install garmin mobile pc and load it with malsing maps ... put a 5.1 USB sound card ... and it would be FANTASTIC... i think all this mods wont even cost more than 1k since the 701 is so cheap ... hehehehe =)

not forgetting we could put a bluetooth keyboard as well =) ... hahaha xD

This post has been edited by jamezco: Nov 3 2008, 01:57 AM
vixxiee
post Nov 3 2008, 03:30 PM

Super size me!!
1,294 posts

plug power to your eeepc in the car..can use something like this

ercheekong
post Nov 3 2008, 03:37 PM

29 posts

Can any 1 tell me that Eee 901 used what kind of graphic chip?? it not stated in the official website...(need it to draw Autocad 3D)

If i connect it to 19" LCD monitor, can i change the resolution to 1440X900...??

Eee 901 used SSD, can change it to HHD??
And what kind of upgrade can be done??
like... RAM, Max is??
XP home to XP pro?? or Vista??
kevtan
post Nov 3 2008, 03:46 PM

the asus eee series is the lowest in terms of speed for a pc. You do not want to run heavy duty apps like ACAD or Photoshop unless you want to make lots of coffe while waiting for updates to refresh the screen.
ercheekong
post Nov 3 2008, 04:15 PM

29 posts

So, it can't run AutoCAD...
it can run MS office??
jamezco
post Nov 3 2008, 04:23 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(vixxiee @ Nov 3 2008, 03:30 PM)
plug power to your eeepc in the car..can use something like this

hmmm nice one ... but I want to hide the 701 under the dashboard wor ... then i cannot smoke in the car liao lo ... anywayz great suggestion ... =)

thx thx

QUOTE(ercheekong @ Nov 3 2008, 04:15 PM)
So, it can't run AutoCAD...
it can run MS office??
Yes you can run MS Office ... In fact ... my 2gb ram 1000H is running Vista Ulti with MS office 2007.... no problemo ....
ercheekong
post Nov 3 2008, 04:46 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Nov 3 2008, 04:23 PM)
hmmm nice one ... but I want to hide the 701 under the dashboard wor ... then i cannot smoke in the car liao lo ... anywayz great suggestion ... =)

thx thx
Yes you can run MS Office ... In fact ... my 2gb ram 1000H is running Vista Ulti with MS office 2007.... no problemo ....
So, Eee 901 can use vista too??
RAM can upgrade to 2 GB?? 4GB can a??
TSemino
post Nov 3 2008, 05:25 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(ercheekong @ Nov 3 2008, 04:46 PM)
So, Eee 901 can use vista too??
RAM can upgrade to 2 GB?? 4GB can a??
You keep forgetting that eee is for portability, not performance. Better get a full spec laptop if you wants those things.
kevtan
post Nov 3 2008, 05:26 PM

ram maxes out at 2gb, yes you can run acad or photoshop or vista but its like running those apps on a pentium 4 of 5 years ago in terms of speed. You will regret getting the EEE for these apps.

This is not a desktop replacement, its meant for long runtime wifi access for those on the run without the weight penalty of a desktop replacement notebook.
ercheekong
post Nov 3 2008, 05:50 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Nov 3 2008, 05:25 PM)
You keep forgetting that eee is for portability, not performance. Better get a full spec laptop if you wants those things.
I know it is not for performance...i just wanna know is there possible for a portable laptop to run such heavy program...

Btw full spec laptop is very heavy...
I now using 14" laptop, damn heavy... (maybe i'm too weak hmm.gif )

I need to travel a lot from S'pore to M'sia. So, i really need a portable laptop.
jamezco
post Nov 3 2008, 06:14 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

hmmmm .... how bout going for a 12" lappie? there are quite a few good ones

X200 is good ... but its kinda pricy
Perfect-Stranger
post Nov 4 2008, 08:28 AM

做人如果没梦想,同咸鱼有甚么分别
1,593 posts

I double check with Asus Imbi Plaza, they said it is impossible to order this car charger.

Using intel graphic chipset with integrated graphic like 128mb.

I tested with 22'' LCD monitor, it is possible to change the resolution to 1440 x 900.

Eee 901 used SSD inwhich the size of it is totally different with 2.5inches normal laptop HDD, unless you are going for mini HDD.

RAM can be maximum upgraded to 2 GB one stick.
You can try with 4GB one stick in the future after the price for 4gb become cheaper. *Currently is RM1K+ for 4GB ram*

901 comes with XP home, but you can stil go for XP proby reformating it again.
I would not recommend you to go for Window Vista as i felt that n10 that comes with vista + atom processor + 2gb ram is kinda slow.
So, stick with XP if possible.
I wonder whats the difference between the future window 09 with the current XP and Vista, you can anyhow try it in the future. rclxms.gif

wufei
post Nov 4 2008, 11:30 AM

3,039 posts

bookmark , v3 liao
kazasho
post Nov 4 2008, 12:51 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

anybody selling their eeepc brows.gif

check at garage sales, not many used for sell >.<
if anyone know who sell used or new, pm me

my father plak bising mau. hahaha
ercheekong
post Nov 4 2008, 04:14 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Perfect-Stranger @ Nov 4 2008, 08:28 AM)

I double check with Asus Imbi Plaza, they said it is impossible to order this car charger.

Using intel graphic chipset with integrated graphic like 128mb.

I tested with 22'' LCD monitor, it is possible to change the resolution to 1440 x 900.

Eee 901 used SSD inwhich the size of it is totally different with 2.5inches normal laptop HDD, unless you are going for mini HDD.

RAM can be maximum upgraded to 2 GB one stick.
You can try with 4GB one stick in the future after the price for 4gb become cheaper. *Currently is RM1K+ for 4GB ram*

901 comes with XP home, but you can stil go for XP proby reformating it again.
I would not recommend you to go for Window Vista as i felt that n10 that comes with vista + atom processor + 2gb ram is kinda slow.
So, stick with XP if possible.
I wonder whats the difference between the future window 09 with the current XP and Vista, you can anyhow try it in the future.  rclxms.gif
thank dude. biggrin.gif

I saw some videos in youtube, Eee 901 can ply NFS most wanted and SSD can change to 18" HHD.

BTW... M'sia got sell 18" HHD?? I never hear it before... hmm.gif
n price??
jamezco
post Nov 4 2008, 04:53 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(ercheekong @ Nov 4 2008, 04:14 PM)
thank dude. biggrin.gif

I saw some videos in youtube, Eee 901 can ply NFS most wanted and SSD can change to 18" HHD.

BTW... M'sia got sell 18" HHD?? I never hear it before... hmm.gif
n price??
i think what you meant is SSD ????

currently its 64gb SSD for RM715
ercheekong
post Nov 4 2008, 05:04 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Nov 4 2008, 04:53 PM)
i think what you meant is SSD ????

currently its 64gb SSD for RM715
That expensive a... shocking.gif
Better buy a SDHC... icon_idea.gif