Asus Eee PC Thread V3
havocx
Dec 23 2008, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(rahuldave @ Dec 23 2008, 12:19 PM) Wow good info man. Bro, the one which u say u bought for RM 139 that is the full fledged ones, pls advise where can i get it, if possible online? And does the docking comes with DVD Drive? Does the drive supports DVD +/- Dual Layer? If the drive is not included, how can I find it, is it hard to get in Malaysia? Hope u can advise some specs.  I got it online at HERE Sadly as you can also see stuff being sold there is only for one day never to make a return. So gotta wait till my rounds in the shops to update you if I do see it.
The Netbook dock does not come with a DVD Drive. You can opt to get one of those slim ones though, Samsung, LiteOn, Bufallo, LG and Pioneer all comes with one, they range from RM250 - RM300. Kinda pricey. Unless you get the Fat External ones which is designed for Desktops, those go from RM160 - RM200. You can already install stuff from USB though, personally I dont recommend getting one unless you really feel the need for it.
In case you do though, Id recommend getting a Bufallo Model, kinda pricey at RM300 its better than the rest I feel, only needing one single Mini USB cable to run it vs all the rest which needs the Larger USB Cables to connect to it. Built is pretty good, superb design. Oh and the 3 years warranty REALLY helps, I mean who cares if its RM20 ringgit more than the others, 1 year vs 3 years for RM20 more, I dont mind
If you dont like trays and like Slot Ins though you can go for Pioneers External DVD drive works very nicely. And finally yes they all support DVD + / - as they all can burn DVD's too
rahuldave
Dec 23 2008, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(havocx @ Dec 23 2008, 01:34 PM)
I got it online at HERE Sadly as you can also see stuff being sold there is only for one day never to make a return. So gotta wait till my rounds in the shops to update you if I do see it.
The Netbook dock does not come with a DVD Drive. You can opt to get one of those slim ones though, Samsung, LiteOn, Bufallo, LG and Pioneer all comes with one, they range from RM250 - RM300. Kinda pricey. Unless you get the Fat External ones which is designed for Desktops, those go from RM160 - RM200. You can already install stuff from USB though, personally I dont recommend getting one unless you really feel the need for it.
In case you do though, Id recommend getting a Bufallo Model, kinda pricey at RM300 its better than the rest I feel, only needing one single Mini USB cable to run it vs all the rest which needs the Larger USB Cables to connect to it. Built is pretty good, superb design. Oh and the 3 years warranty REALLY helps, I mean who cares if its RM20 ringgit more than the others, 1 year vs 3 years for RM20 more, I dont mind
If you dont like trays and like Slot Ins though you can go for Pioneers External DVD drive works very nicely. And finally yes they all support DVD + / - as they all can burn DVD's too   Thanks for your reply. But I'm really sad as I can get the item as it is one day stuff. Bro, please let me know if there is any shop around KL seling it. I will pay you the money including the courier chargers, appreciate if u could send it to me Currently, I'm having this Panasonic UJ-870 , it is connected via USB and does not need ac power, is there anyway that I can take out the casing and install the drive to the docking station? If it can be done, it can save me some $$$ This post has been edited by rahuldave: Dec 23 2008, 01:51 PM
havocx
Dec 23 2008, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(rahuldave @ Dec 23 2008, 01:49 PM) Thanks for your reply. But I'm really sad as I can get the item as it is one day stuff. Bro, please let me know if there is any shop around KL seling it. I will pay you the money including the courier chargers, appreciate if u could send it to me Currently, I'm having this Panasonic UJ-870 , it is connected via USB and does not need ac power, is there anyway that I can take out the casing and install the drive to the docking station? If it can be done, it can save me some $$$  Sure if and when I do see it Ill drop you a note to let you know. Ill charge the exact rate of course no cut throat jacking up prices when Im already at the shop and all that, besides its not as if I went to the shop specifically to get the item for you now huh 
You may find that it might go for a little higher than the price I got it for though ( perhaps ), the site thats lists stuff that you saw sells things in a bunch in discounts, kinda like a one day bulk sale but it wont be different by much.
Hmm sadly I dont think youll be able to fit it to the dock, although, with some strong double sided tapes you might well be able to make it part of the docking station I think the docking station can be opened somehow, there's two fans inside, removing one and closing the dock again on top of your External DVDRW might well make it part of the docking station but thats just a thought, i gotta have a proper look at the dock again once i get the chance to.
paskal
Dec 23 2008, 02:08 PM
guys, especially to those that have EEEPC 1000H, can i know how much capacity (mAH rating) of your 6 cell battery? as it's heavier than other netbooks that i've hold, i think maybe it has bigger capacity than the raved Samsung NC10. Mobile Computer Mag UK rates the 1000H to have more than 9 hours of battery life with their 6600mAH battery. anyone could confirm the capacity? would be much appreciated.
rahuldave
Dec 23 2008, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(havocx @ Dec 23 2008, 02:00 PM)
Sure if and when I do see it Ill drop you a note to let you know. Ill charge the exact rate of course no cut throat jacking up prices when Im already at the shop and all that, besides its not as if I went to the shop specifically to get the item for you now huh 
You may find that it might go for a little higher than the price I got it for though ( perhaps ), the site thats lists stuff that you saw sells things in a bunch in discounts, kinda like a one day bulk sale but it wont be different by much.
Hmm sadly I dont think youll be able to fit it to the dock, although, with some strong double sided tapes you might well be able to make it part of the docking station I think the docking station can be opened somehow, there's two fans inside, removing one and closing the dock again on top of your External DVDRW might well make it part of the docking station but thats just a thought, i gotta have a proper look at the dock again once i get the chance to.Thanks man, appreciate that I guess, I will try to sell my external drive once I hv chance to get the docking station. And purchase another drive, if possible, when u r at the shop, maybe can u ask them, if they can fix it as well. It'll be easier. The drive should support DVD+/-RW, DVD+/- R Dual Layer, DVD Ram, and those CD-R, CD-RW and etc for burning of DATA CD, Audio CD and etc . And just to confirm, as u hv mentioned earlier, u hv bought the full fledged version, but at the website that u have mentioned before, it only shows ePA-106, which does not have the slot for DVD Drive. The exact model should be ePA-108, with CD Bay. This post has been edited by rahuldave: Dec 23 2008, 04:03 PM
havocx
Dec 23 2008, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(paskal @ Dec 23 2008, 02:08 PM) guys, especially to those that have EEEPC 1000H, can i know how much capacity (mAH rating) of your 6 cell battery? as it's heavier than other netbooks that i've hold, i think maybe it has bigger capacity than the raved Samsung NC10. Mobile Computer Mag UK rates the 1000H to have more than 9 hours of battery life with their 6600mAH battery. anyone could confirm the capacity? would be much appreciated. Now now, you should do a little search first mate, this is already in a couple of pages back. You'll find that there are different versions of it in the market and instead of needing to open the battery you can actually just look at the battery to know the difference.
Ill put it in for your reference.
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(alvinddm @ Nov 28 2008, 04:18 PM) Just my luck.. anyone knows who has stock? If not any big difference between the two battery capacity? Here you go mate. Check it out for a WHOLE FULL BLOWN comparison reports on ALL the EEEPC's ever! ( Ever for now.. ) Also from reports, the smaller capacity battery also apparently juts out a little more than the bigger capacity ones.
QUOTE(hangy2k @ Nov 28 2008, 04:31 PM) anyone can buy, as long as you have money  Right then, since itll be only after PC Fair that Ill be dropping by SG, perhaps ill see how hard it hits the pocket in our local shores first, that is, if it does hit  QUOTE(alvinddm @ Nov 28 2008, 06:45 PM) Please elaborate  Okie day.. Here's the picture of the current 160GB EEEPC 1000H with 5600mah Batteries

Here's the one from the original 80GB EEEPC 1000H with 6600mah Batteries.

Lower capacity batteries but juts out ? Shouldnt it be the other way around ? Cuz on my 10400mah batteries they REALLY jut out ! 
QUOTE(rahuldave @ Dec 23 2008, 03:48 PM) Thanks man, appreciate that I guess, I will try to sell my external drive once I hv chance to get the docking station. And purchase another drive, if possible, when u r at the shop, maybe can u ask them, if they can fix it as well. It'll be easier. The drive should support DVD+/-RW, DVD+/- R Dual Layer, DVD Ram, and those CD-R, CD-RW and etc for burning of DATA CD, Audio CD and etc . And just to confirm, as u hv mentioned earlier, u hv bought the full fledged version, but at the website that u have mentioned before, it only shows ePA-106, which does not have the slot for DVD Drive. The exact model should be ePA-108, with CD Bay.  Haha as mentioned I didnt actually check properly had it sent direct to my bro in laws house. Will check when I get to see him again. And yes will work on the DVD input as well
rahuldave
Dec 23 2008, 09:14 PM
HI GUYZ, JUST WANNA SHARE, MY EEE PC 1000H WITH FULL BODY EZSTICK INNER PART (WITH KEYBOARD PROTECTOR)  FRONT PART  BACK PART  WITH SCREEN PROTECTOR
hangy2k
Dec 24 2008, 09:12 AM
bought a 64gb pci-e SSD yesterday and installed in my eeepc 901 3.75G, now i have a lot of space..
Hico
Dec 24 2008, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(hangy2k @ Dec 24 2008, 09:12 AM) bought a 64gb pci-e SSD yesterday and installed in my eeepc 901 3.75G, now i have a lot of space..  how much you bought the ssd? eee pc 901 3.75G??? where did u get it? online?
havocx
Dec 24 2008, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 24 2008, 09:16 AM) how much you bought the ssd? eee pc 901 3.75G??? where did u get it? online? Got it in SG, im planning to get me one as well. Comes with 3G, actually look up post by hangy2k and youll find the answers to your query. Im however interested to know how much was the SSD and it replaces the 8gb or 4gb on your 901? Im assuming your 901 originally came with 12gb SSD divided to 4gb and 8gb.
hangy2k
Dec 24 2008, 09:34 AM
QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 24 2008, 09:16 AM) how much you bought the ssd? eee pc 901 3.75G??? where did u get it? online? the pci-e ssd cost me about S$278 i got my 901 3.75G in singapore QUOTE(havocx @ Dec 24 2008, 09:20 AM)
Got it in SG, im planning to get me one as well. Comes with 3G, actually look up post by hangy2k and youll find the answers to your query. Im however interested to know how much was the SSD and it replaces the 8gb or 4gb on your 901? Im assuming your 901 originally came with 12gb SSD divided to 4gb and 8gb. 901 3.75G originally come with 16GB SSD divided to 8GB and 8GB seperately..
havocx
Dec 24 2008, 09:45 AM
QUOTE(hangy2k @ Dec 24 2008, 09:34 AM) the pci-e ssd cost me about S$278 i got my 901 3.75G in singapore 901 3.75G originally come with 16GB SSD divided to 8GB and 8GB seperately..  Thanks for the clarification mate. Erm id like to confirm tho. The 901 I have ( which of course is different from yours ) comes with 12gb SSD. But they are 2 separate ones physically, one is a faster 4GB and the other a slower 8gb.
Mind giving more details of the original 901 3.75g ? Ie you mentioned 16gb, does it physically separate to 8gb x 2 or is it only partitioned in 2. Also assuming that its physically separated, how you only replaced one of them making it 8gb + 64gb ?
Very curious, cuz im planning another EEEPC project later
hangy2k
Dec 24 2008, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(havocx @ Dec 24 2008, 09:45 AM)
Thanks for the clarification mate. Erm id like to confirm tho. The 901 I have ( which of course is different from yours ) comes with 12gb SSD. But they are 2 separate ones physically, one is a faster 4GB and the other a slower 8gb.
Mind giving more details of the original 901 3.75g ? Ie you mentioned 16gb, does it physically separate to 8gb x 2 or is it only partitioned in 2. Also assuming that its physically separated, how you only replaced one of them making it 8gb + 64gb ?
Very curious, cuz im planning another EEEPC project later  it come with 8gbx2 physically. now i have 8gb+64gb, 8gb for the operating system. i saw somewhere saying that the 64gb is faster than any stocked ssd or other brand ssd, those people have disable the 8gb and boot OS from the 64gb/32gb ssd
hangy2k
Dec 24 2008, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(havocx @ Dec 24 2008, 10:16 AM)
Thanks mate, that looks about right  Yeah on my system my 12gb system divided into 2 of 4gb and 8gb the difference is glaring. Installing Windows on the 4Gb takes about 30 minutes while on the 8gb it takes about 4 hours. The 8gb on mine is definitely VERY slow Good insight and info on the 64gb SSD mate. Got any tips for me wheres best to get IT Stuff in SG ? I only know of Sim Lim Square which may or not be the correct place to be at  yeah, sim lim square is the best place to get IT stuff. But the pci-e ssd i got is from a shop near lavendar MRT, they carry very limited amount of the pci-e ssd by RunCore. here's the shop URL http://www.eastgear.com
tanseehua
Dec 24 2008, 03:22 PM
For those who wanna get EeePC 904HD at Tesco, for ur information. The price after 26 Dec 2008 is RM1399, but with RM100 discount when u show the Tesco promotion booklet to them, so the price is RM1299. All the spec its same with the previos version of 904HD sold in Tesco, but it now come with bigger size HD it is a 160GB HDD. the one that i bought in end of Nov is 80GB but the price is RM1199.
U can do 12 month interest free installment on ur EeePC bought, but a RM30 processing fee will be add.
SapperJones
Dec 25 2008, 07:54 PM
After surveying the market for Netbooks, I have decided to go with Asus 1000H. I feel comfortable with the fact it's a strong player in this segment plus the little truism that it pioneered a whole new niche. Aftersales, from what I have seen and heard, are better than average to its rivals. Tell me if that's not true. The 80GB variant (the first model before Asus started packing it with 160GB) looks right for me at nearly RM1,600. It doesn't look like Malaysia will be getting any SSD-based Netbooks soon. But I can live with the fact that boot-up time on XP on a HDD will be marginally slower. Could have waited for the 1000H replacement, which one salesman said may be coming in the next 2 months. The 1000H looks style-wise, still good. The Asus EEE PC 1002HA has cosmetic changes to look like the higher-end S101. uses brushed alum....sexy. But it is let down by an underpowered 2 cell Li Poly battery that offers about 3 hrs and 45 mins with moderate usage. Using the Super Hybrid Engine lets u stretch it to more than 4 hrs 10 mins. Added on December 25, 2008, 10:05 pmGreat review on the 1000H and why the fella ain't missing the upcoming 1002HA http://www.liliputing.com/2008/12/asus-eee...00h-review.htmlA 1000H user highly recommend running Ubuntu. You'll run a little faster and thinner than the XP version. eeebuntu.org has a very friendly eeepc version of Ubuntu Intrepid IBEX - with ALL the eeepc features fully enabled. ALSO: how to install, boot and then run Ubuntu 8.04.1 (Hardy Heron) from a USB flash drive (non-persistent) http://www.pendrivelinux.com/2008/04/09/us...n-from-windows/This post has been edited by SapperJones: Dec 25 2008, 10:05 PM
rahuldave
Dec 26 2008, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(SapperJones @ Dec 25 2008, 07:54 PM) After surveying the market for Netbooks, I have decided to go with Asus 1000H. I feel comfortable with the fact it's a strong player in this segment plus the little truism that it pioneered a whole new niche. Aftersales, from what I have seen and heard, are better than average to its rivals. Tell me if that's not true. The 80GB variant (the first model before Asus started packing it with 160GB) looks right for me at nearly RM1,600. It doesn't look like Malaysia will be getting any SSD-based Netbooks soon. But I can live with the fact that boot-up time on XP on a HDD will be marginally slower. Could have waited for the 1000H replacement, which one salesman said may be coming in the next 2 months. The 1000H looks style-wise, still good. The Asus EEE PC 1002HA has cosmetic changes to look like the higher-end S101. uses brushed alum....sexy. But it is let down by an underpowered 2 cell Li Poly battery that offers about 3 hrs and 45 mins with moderate usage. Using the Super Hybrid Engine lets u stretch it to more than 4 hrs 10 mins. Added on December 25, 2008, 10:05 pmGreat review on the 1000H and why the fella ain't missing the upcoming 1002HA http://www.liliputing.com/2008/12/asus-eee...00h-review.htmlA 1000H user highly recommend running Ubuntu. You'll run a little faster and thinner than the XP version. eeebuntu.org has a very friendly eeepc version of Ubuntu Intrepid IBEX - with ALL the eeepc features fully enabled. ALSO: how to install, boot and then run Ubuntu 8.04.1 (Hardy Heron) from a USB flash drive (non-persistent) http://www.pendrivelinux.com/2008/04/09/us...n-from-windows/Quite a number of people saying that linux ubuntu is good in terms of booting time. But as for XP Users, is this Ubuntu suitable? I mean is it user friendly. I have installed it once, looks good, but I'm not familiar with it This post has been edited by rahuldave: Dec 26 2008, 09:25 AM
Vicks73
Dec 26 2008, 03:17 PM
I am looking for an eee pc 904, but with 80gb hd (budget), any idea can get one?
tanseehua
Dec 27 2008, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(Vicks73 @ Dec 26 2008, 03:17 PM) I am looking for an eee pc 904, but with 80gb hd (budget), any idea can get one? Now u can get in any Tesco the 904HD at price RM1299 but now the HDD is bigger 160GB. i got my last month at Tesco for RM1199 but the HDD is 80GB only. RM100 for another 80GB...........