9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Asus Eee PC Thread V3

havocx
post Dec 16 2008, 09:05 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(SapperJones @ Dec 15 2008, 11:14 PM)
which Netbook fits my needs?
=====================

already have an old dell inspiron 15" that stills works fine after 6 years.
but heavy to lug around.
am looking for a reliable, good looking netbook (black and professional-looking) that lets me do 3 things really well.
1) Word processing using MS word as I write a lot
2) Use the Internet using free WiFi
3) a bit of photo editing/touchups to go with word processing using irfanview, etc.
Other than that, I do very little DVD movie watching/music listening but it's nice to have.
since netbooks do not have DVD recorder/player, would like to get an external unit. Battery life at least 3 hours. Bluetooth is a requirement to sync with a Nokia E71.
pros and cons with HP Mini, latest FTEC don't know reliable or not and dell and lenovo look sweet. am leaning towards the later 2 esp dell since i have had good experiences with it and aftersales.
No rush... I can wait till first quarter 2009.

which would be ideal? all-in budget RM2,000. sweet spot would be RM1,600-RM1,800.
HOLD YOUR BREATH, this is gonna be a long one smile.gif

Lets see, you're asking in an EEEPC Fans thread so of course the onus would be to push you towards EEEPC
Your requirements were :

1) Word processing using MS word as I write a lot
2) Use the Internet using free WiFi
3) a bit of photo editing/touchups to go with word processing using irfanview, etc.

An answer to that is : All Netbooks from the very first generation EEEPC 701 can actually do the very base of these. In fact, I can proudly say the lowest capacity of the lot can do all this.
Im pasting an answer ive put earlier in this thread on what the EEEPC can do.

I went with the EEEPC's for their lightweight and design and more importantly the SSD's. Now most Ultra Mobiles will pit SSD's ( which are small ) vs their larger capacity HDD's within. Even the 901 which I have uses the 1.8" Sata HDD which gives a space of 30gb vs the others which are all SSD's the largest being 12gb and the smallest being 4gb. Believe me, SSD's are the only way to go. Nothing beats that.

For size comparisons, from what I see the EEEPC takes about the smallest footprint as compared to its similar competitor of the same capacity and size. That being said, yes Im a fan of the EEEPC but not to say Ive nothing good to say about the rest. But if you are going for size, you will see that most the time the EEEPC will be much sleeker than the others. Have you seen how huge in comparison HP 2133 Mini Notebook is ? Or how fat MSI Wind is in comparison to the EEEPC ?

Design wise though I like the look of the Aspire One from Acer. That's just new but those lights at the side and the gloss they go really well together smile.gif EEEPC has gloss too on the 901 and 1001 but I still prefer the Aspire One look. Perhaps I may trade in one of the Laptops that I have for the Aspire One

Earlier when purchasing my requirements were :

Running on / Can install Windows XP SP2 - Most if not all support that. In fact all my EEEPC's are running a small Modified version of XP SP3 which is taking only about 400mb in install footprint!

Net Surfing, (thus need Wifi and Ethernet support ) - The very essence of an Ultra Mobile PC, we can safely say for both requirements above any UMPC will fit that need.

Watch Movies, ( RMVB, Avi , moderate bitrate, maybe sometimes 720HD or 1080HD, rarely but possible) -
For this part yes most UMPC will be able to fulfill your needs but having the latest Atom Processor EEEPC in the 1001 I can play all movies except sadly for the movies running on 1080HD and 720HD, well they play but not often smooth. So yes they play but you wont get proper playback. Best stick to normal divx at the normal high resolution and not the super high ones.

Play Games, (old school game, Counter-strike 1.6 ) - Playing Warcraft 3 on my old skool EEEPC 701 with 512mb Ram ( All the other ones have been upgraded to 2gb Ram ),
Warcraft 3 runs fine on it so safe to say you'd be fine, though playing CS on it may need you to squint a little
Running Diablo 2 on mine now too.

Office works ( MS office) - This goes without saying, In Fact MS Office 2007.

Running Garmin GPS on 2 of the UMPC's now. I have Ultra Big Screen GPS for cheap!
All my EEEPC's are running WinXP SP3 fine without problems. Speed is essential and other than my 901 which runs on 30gb SATA HDD all I can say about all of the UMPC that I have is that they run blazing fast.

Personal Tips from havocx on getting a netbook :
*There is no major reason as to why you should get an External Drive EEEPC is USB bootable too.
*Dont worry about HDD footprint, my 4G SSD still have plenty of space ( if youre good enough to manipulate it ) for WinXP SP3, Word 2003, GPS, Diablo and a couple of programs. All on only 4GB. SSD of course. So buying a new machine, think about the speed of the HDD as well, no use having a huge space when you load and run programs very slow.
* HDD size comparison 80gb, 160gb vs SSD of 12gb, 8gb ? Bah - I carry 1 Terrabyte of space with me on my very small twin external laptop drive. Why bother with space issues ?
* VGA output is a must, there are times when youd want to see that photo you took and you saved on say a larger than 20" screen.
* Try to get one with an Atom Based processor, on the same mAh battery rating, Atom based processor will last you longer, much longer. Of course size is also a factor. ( I got 2 Atom based processors but I still like my Celeron based one simply for its size, i personally think the EEEPC 1000H is a little on the fat side. No offence owners smile.gif
* Ram Upgrades ? - If youre running SSD youll see that 512mb is actually enough for most things smile.gif
* Better to get one with 3G WWAN Support, running on Bluetooth is fine but youre limited in speed by your Bluetooth connectivity. Nowadays you can clone your own sim card to have 2 sims with the same number and capability, just chuck one in the laptop while leaving your phone functions running. Much faster support smile.gif
* Battery Life - Most common Laptops nowadays run with 4 cell batts, the more cell the better, combine that with an Atom processor and youve got a winner in how long the laptop holds up. A simple 6 cell battery with ratings of 6600mah on an Atom based processor runs about 5 hours on max setting for all. If you lower brightness sound and everything else youll get an even longer hang time!

Lets talk about the new HP Mini

Id say

1) doesnt have proper vga-out ; need spend extra for adaptor - Major ouch for me, that Adapter on its own is outrageous, i mean, i dont mind it not having a proper vga out, but please pass the adapter for free since you dont have it in your design, this to me is a major flaw sad.gif

2) 3-cell battery - Tested the battery life on this, 3 cell lasted me only 1.5 hour with medium brightness and constant surfing. Even running on Atom, its a major letdown.

3) WWAN freaking xpensive >RM700 - One word Expensive! The FTEC EEBook which comes in at RM1899 comes in with Bluetooth, 10.2 Inch screen, 160Gb Hdd, 2gb Ram, Wifi, VGA Port connector and 3G Module, now that as opposed to very sleek sexy, RM1699 without the ability to display on a larger screen for presentation and no 3G WWan Module....very mahal wor.

4) hdd is 1.8" - expensive to get & very slow at 4200 rpm... - Nowadays if possible i only go with SSD anyway, reduce my XP to what size i want with a certain 3rd party software and voila, I load faster on my EEEPC 701 ( yeah first gen SSD ) than on my Quad Core Processor at home with 4GB Ram

5) Their screen size, keyboard size however might be the best for someone who writes alot like yourself smile.gif

On the Dell

Battery Life - Sucks to high heaven. 3 cell battery ? Aww cmon, even on an atom based processor youll not be mobile on this, its power hungry due to its limited power supply.

On FTEC

Youve seen my comments about a few posts back. Your choice, but remember though, that brands untested so its more of a wait and see game
Pretty good specs though, wished they had SSD smile.gif

Oh finally why SSD ?
I'm hoping that as per discussion real question and real world comparisons
are used and not assumption based, I have both SSD and HD based netbooks and I do not just own 1 of them so I believe in my facts. Im not saying I the all correct source but at least I would have a clearer picture of what im explaining about and for discussion purposes the other folks could know and understand what it being discussed about.

Yes to many 160Gb HDD is a heck a lot bigger than the measly 8GB of SSD but not everyone needs space for the netbooks, they are to be fast light and easy to use. I need them really really fast and though booting up speed of 5 seconds vs 16 seconds ( for instance ) on a SSD based netbook vs your HDD based netbook may seem a neglible difference to you, it is a major difference as opposed to the work that I do which needs VERY FAST hdd access speeds.

Youll also find that Im clamour for space, I own 9.46 TB of data currently and yes space is also very important to me. Its just that for a netbook, im looking to more for speed which is the reason why SSD's i personally believe is always a better option. As also mentioned earlier, i own a twin Buffalo mini casing, holding twin 250Gb laptop HDD's so basically im going around with the netbook and 500Gb of data when i need it. Not only will it save space on my netbook's Defrag, it will also not load up too much unnecessary processes when im looking at running the laptop optimally. Have you seen how long it takes to defrag a HDD based 80GB netbook ? Versus a 4GB SSD ? wink.gif

There's many things that contribute to why people choose SSD's over HDD's. A little google may help you
a lot in finding out the reasons my friend. Results from Wiki.

Advantages of SSD :

- Faster start-up, as no spin-up is required (RAM & Flash). - Typically, fast random access for reading, as there is no read/write head to move (RAM & Flash).
- Extremely low read latency times, as SSD seek-times are orders of magnitude lower than the best current hard disk drives.
- (RAM) In applications where hard disk seeks are the limiting factor, this results in faster boot and application launch times.
- Extremely fast write (RAM, nearly the same for best modern flash).
- No noise: a lack of moving parts makes SSDs completely silent, unless, as in the case of some high-end and high-capacity models, they have cooling fans attached (RAM & Flash).
- For low-capacity flash SSDs, low power consumption and heat production when in active use, although high-end SSDs and DRAM-based SSDs may have significantly higher power requirements (Flash).
- High mechanical reliability, as the lack of moving parts almost eliminates the risk of mechanical failure (RAM & Flash).
- Ability to endure extreme shock, high altitude, vibration and extremes of temperature: once again because there are no moving parts.[This makes SSDs useful for laptops, mobile computers, and devices that operate in extreme conditions.
- Larger range of operating temperatures. Typical hard drives have an operating range of 5-55 degrees C. Most flash drives can operate at 70 degrees, and some industrial grade drives can operate over an even wider temperature range.
- Relatively deterministic read performance: unlike hard disk drives, performance of SSDs is almost constant and deterministic across the entire storage. This is because the seek time is almost constant and does not depend on the physical location of the data, and so, file fragmentation has almost no impact on read performance.
- For low-capacity SSDs, lower weight and size: although size and weight per unit storage are still better for traditional hard drives, and microdrives allow up to 20 GB storage in a CompactFlash 42.8×36.4×5 mm (1.7×1.4×.2 in) form-factor. Up to 256 GB, SSDs are currently lighter than hard drives of the same capacity.When failures occur, they tend to occur either 'on write', or 'on erase', rather than 'on read'. With traditional HDDs, failure tends to occur 'on read'. If the drive detects failure on write, data can be written to a new cell without data loss occuring. If a drive fails on read, then data is usually lost permanently.

As you can see there are many advantages, reasons as to why folks tend to choose SSD's.

To be fair there are of course disadvantages as you so eloquently put.

Disadvantages

Cost – as of mid-2008, SSD prices are still considerably more costly per gigabyte than are comparable conventional hard drives: consumer grade drives are typically USD 2 to 3.50 per GB for flash drives and over USD 80 per GB for RAM-based compared to less than USD 0.15 per gigabyte for hard drives. As time passes these are rapidly falling.

Capacity – currently far lower than that of conventional hard drives (Flash SSD capacity is predicted to increase rapidly, with experimental drives of 1 TB).

DRAM based SSDs have a higher vulnerability to abrupt power loss. Most SSD's have moved away from DRAM based SSD's.

Limited write (erase) cycles – flash-memory cells will often wear out after 1,000 to 10,000 write cycles for MLC, and up to 100,000 write cycles for SLC[5], while high endurance cells may have an endurance of 1–5 million write cycles (many log files, file allocation tables, and other commonly used parts of the file system exceed this over the lifetime of a computer).[18] Special file systems or firmware designs can mitigate this problem by spreading writes over the entire device (so-called wear levelling), rather than rewriting files in place.In 2008 wear levelling was just beginning to be incorporated into consumer level devices. Nevertheless newer SSD's have a higher write cycle. Thus the calculation for EEEPc will be as below.

The Eee PC will perform between 100,000 and 200,000 writes to a sector before it fails.

To use the table, choose a sub-table based on wear-leveling effectiveness and total lifetime writes. Enter the sub-table on the line that most closely represents your measured write rate in MB/s. Read across the line to the last column to see how many years until the drive fails (or perhaps becomes unusable/unreliable).

So here's what I'm seeing with the Eee PC SSD useful lifespan (limit) in years. The pairs of lines highlighted in yellow represent the typical range of results I got in my write tests. I continued the table up to a write speed of 10 MB/s just to see how short the lifespan might get.

Example: With the Eee PC SSD, a typical user (6 hours/day, 10% write rate) will write for 36 minutes per day resulting in a useful lifespan of ~25 years. In other words, I'm not going to worry about it.

Slower write speeds – as erase blocks on flash-based SSDs generally are quite large (e.g. 0.5 - 1 megabyte), they are far slower than conventional disks for random writes and therefore vulnerable to write fragmentation, and in some cases for sequential writes. SSDs based on DRAM do not suffer from this problem.

Lower storage density – hard disks can store more data per unit volume than DRAM or flash SSDs, except for very low capacity/small devices.

This post has been edited by havocx: Dec 16 2008, 09:12 AM
havocx
post Dec 16 2008, 09:14 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Dec 16 2008, 09:10 AM)
If he wants light photo editing, 701 is not really that good since the screen is way too small. I suggested 1000H since the screen is just nice and the keyboards are one of the most comfortable I've seen on a netbook so far. The only downside (to me) is the uses of HD rather than SSD but then again, some people likes big storage.

Since he mentions listening to music, I assume he might want to keep the musics inside the eee. so, big storage.
Didnt recommend him the 701 boss smile.gif
Just mentioned to him even the lowest and smallest of all netbook range can already do all that.
And yes to have better screen size of course choose the netbook with the larger screens..i call them fatties haha smile.gif
But dont worry, like you I have them fatties too, just that they dont fit into my pants like the 701 does nod.gif

havocx
post Dec 16 2008, 09:26 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Dec 16 2008, 09:19 AM)
why not we start a list.

"the reason i liked eee more than other netbooks"
- built in overclocking system (asus hybrid engine)
- the touchpad gestures thingy (easy to scroll, zoom, rotate, etc)
- battery life
- ssd. most netbooks uses hd.
- bluetooth!

anyone else wanna add more?
Hmm but those reasons are not really relevant ( what i feel personally though ) because say Bluetooth, the other netbooks have it too smile.gif
But in any case
- the touchpad gestures thingy (easy to scroll, zoom, rotate, etc) - Almost like Iphone.
- the touchpad is normal - have you seen the left and right placement of the Aspire Series for their Touchpad ?
- Dolby Surround added on to the 1000H
- Matt background ( on the 701 and 900 ) - Easier to clean than fingerprint attracting glossy exterior smile.gif
- Bootable USB
- battery life - most EEEPC provides large 5 cell or 6 cells batts as opposed to 3 cell than the rest of the competitor
- EEEPC is still sleek and slimmer than the rest.
- Wonderful speakers even on the lowest end EEEPC, ive heard the sounds from Dell Mini, HP, MSI Wind and Aspire, they all cant compare to how loud the 701 is, how can they hope to fight Dolby on 1000H cool.gif

havocx
post Dec 16 2008, 11:23 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 16 2008, 10:23 AM)
wow very good explaination!  rclxms.gif
for SSD, i heard aspire is using different type of SSD compare with EEEpc...and its slower too...isit true? how abt the life span compare to both?
Thanks Hico smile.gif
Yes it is VERY MUCH Slower. In actual fact the same SSD is also used in the earlier models of the 901 where it comes with 12gb SSD. The 12gb SSD that Asus gives is in fact 2 different SSD's running at 4gb and 8gb respectively. The 4GB is the same one used in all the speedier models of the EEEPC while the 8gb is the slower one Acer uses. Its only supposed to run and act as storage anyway smile.gif

How slow ?

Well on the 12GB 901 i tested it on ( still in my house by the way ), installation on the 4GB for Win XP took about roughly 30 minutes for everything to settle down, drivers, software and stuff, for the 8gb when i tried installing it on the second partition, it took me BELIEVE IT 5 hours. Sheesh.

Imagine running that on the EEEPC as the main HDD.

havocx
post Dec 16 2008, 01:13 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 16 2008, 12:28 PM)
wow..so slow!!  icon_question.gif  rclxub.gif at first i still think of getting aao which is cheap now and make it into nlite xp... but now..  rclxub.gif
I actually had the same thought too, a move to replace my 701's but having seen that I didnt move forward.
The 901 at home is back at using the original first 4GB SSD as its main HDD

havocx
post Dec 16 2008, 02:28 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 16 2008, 01:42 PM)
i think some users here oledi swap to xp after getting their aao linux version..maybe can share some experience with us here..
Are you sure you got the right thread Hico, this is the EEEPC Club lar smile.gif
In any case you were asking on the AAO Club if anyone upgraded theirs and the availability of Drivers for it.

Well, just to let you know, I have with me an Image of AAO running WinXP ie a Ghosted image of AAO and im running it on one of the EEEPC. My verdict, its kinda buggy on the EEEPC ( well of course since theres slight difference in drivers ) and Maxis Broadband wont work on it. Also it keeps enabling the onboard webcam for no reason.

But that doesnt answer your question, you wanted to know if running XP on a Linux AAO will work. Answer is a yes smile.gif
Wrong thread to ask though laugh.gif

havocx
post Dec 17 2008, 07:10 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 16 2008, 05:03 PM)
hehe...i am asking ssd support xp fluently or not...so take aao a example only...as i know some did tried it lo..anyway..901 is kinda cute and pretty..too bad cant get it here anymore...
Ah okie, well answer to that Hico is that all my EEEPC's are running WinXP SP3 smile.gif
Only the 901 i have came by default with Win XP the others were all originally Linux.
Ive also installed WinXP Sp3 in MSI Winds, AAO and Dell Mini.

So yes, my comments on the bootup times were all related to speed of bootup on WinXP SP3 smile.gif

havocx
post Dec 18 2008, 08:42 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 17 2008, 08:16 AM)
wow..u operate computer shop or u just bought them cos u like them???
then next time if i wan install xp..should ask for ur advice...  icon_question.gif
I bought my EEEPC's cuz I like them..A lot smile.gif. In fact, Ive never owned any laptops before I got my EEEPC's. To me they were just heavy loads i need to carry around.
Many times refused my offices laptop cuz I dont wanna be lugging them around. EEEPC's, i got on the Notebook bandwagon smile.gif
The others were favours I did for friends on installing the apps.
Cant afford to open a shop blush.gif

QUOTE(SapperJones @ Dec 17 2008, 12:29 PM)
Hello Havocx,
Thanks for taking the time to explain in detail. Appreciate it.
Yeah, speed of access is very important to me. I don't want to spend like 4 mins waiting to get to work. 
Probably will get 8GB SSD computer. As a Netbook, I plan to keep it stripped down and bare, so that it will be zippy as can be. Every file must earn its space. wink.gif
The Asus 1000H and 1002HA look tempting. where's the place/shop (Low Yat Plaza/Digital Mall??) to get the best deals

on Asus?
For the 1000H/1002HA, can a customer specify to the vendor he wants either HDD or SSD? In the first place, can a factory-fitted HDD on a Netbook be swapped with an SSD or vice versa?
Years ago, I would not consider asus because it was new and untested.  But I suppose like Korean carmakers (read

Hyundai), their quality and reliability these days are on par with the best in the business.
You mentioned a modified XP SP3 installation. Does this mean running 400MB of the OS from a thumbdrive? Is there a link somewhere where I can read more abt how this can be

done?
No worries mate,
For the best deals I think, you can head on over to Evernew in Digital Mall, ground floor in front of the escalators coming down from first floor, they should have the options you need smile.gif
For the laptops, unless they come with Zif sockets its not so easy just to swap HDD with SSD and customer can specify to vendor on what they need ie SSD vs HDD.
Note though its on availability and currently SSD will ALWAYS be more expensive than HDD. Well an 8gb one would be comparable in price to an 80GB HDD.

The 400Mb is running straight from the SSD. Not from Thumbdrive although that can also be done.
PM me for the link though if youre interested smile.gif

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Dec 17 2008, 07:44 PM)
was wondering... between eeepc 904 and AAO winxp, which one will last in terms of battery life?
The AAO only runs on 3 cells mate. The 904 is running 6cell 6600mah battery.
Thats 2 hours runtime on all medium settings versus 5 hours runtime on all max settings. You be the judge cool.gif

This post has been edited by havocx: Dec 18 2008, 08:44 AM
havocx
post Dec 18 2008, 05:36 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(MT-MT @ Dec 18 2008, 02:34 PM)
i think AAO had 6 cells model which cost RM1499..Quite same spec with EE904 beside the EE904 running with Celeron..
correct me if i'm wrong..i'm thinking which one to go for ..AAO RM1499, EE904 RM1380+-, any recommend?

i use it for web surfing and movie watching, therefore battery life, sound quality is most important issue to me..
beside this, 8.9" will cause problem for web viewing? Can fit the screen without scroll left and right?
thanks all feedbac..

And Havocx, remember u got lots of EEPC, do u hav 904? Mind to share ur experience ?
Heya MT-MT,
As far as I know for Acer Aspire One, only 2 models, A110X with Win XP, 16GB SSD, 1gb Memory, 0.3 Megapixel cam and A150X with Windows XP,160gb HDD, 1gb Ram and 1.3 Megapixel cam comes with the 6 cells battery. All the rest comes with a lousy 3 cell battery. So be careful what you purchase.

The Official ratings for the battery are up to 3 hours for the 3-cell, and up to 7 hours for the 6-cell. Linpus Linux Lite has been optimized by Acer for lower power consumption. Battery life is shorter on HDD configurations with Windows XP, at approximately 2.5 hours for the 3-cell, those were of course official words, real world usage of course finds it a little bit lower than the rated hours.

As what my review was before, and proven of course from usage by the rest of the community the Atom will definitely last longer for battery life.

Im gonna quote myself again on this, the lowest end model the 701 with 7" screen is already nice to watch movies on and we all know the bigger the better yes ? On an 8.9" it will be much much better. For web scrolling though if you want though you might need to get the tweaked drivers for EEEPC, im currently running mine on 800 x 600 resolution on my 701 ( i like to speak on the lowest possible EEEPC to show what the newer ones are capable of smile.gif ) and the tweaked drivers does allow it to go 1024 x 768 though i cant see a darn thing on the screen. And note im doing this on a screen that is rated 800 x 480 on the official Asus sites.

The higher 8.9" models will do 800 x 600 comfortably and 1024 x 768 will get you a screen where you wont need to scroll left right so much, but you wont need to go far 1024 x 768 will do. smile.gif Ive even tried 1280 x 1024, Worked like a charm. 1280 × 1024 scaled to fit on the 800×480 screen without scrollbars. Nice.

Now note : The graphics chip/driver takes the non-native resolution and scales it to the physical screen size of 800×600. This is easy to imagine if you are mapping 1600×1200 onto the physical 800×600 - you would just drop every other pixel on each axis. The signal processing is more complicated for other resolutions like 1024×768, but its the same idea.

I dont have the 904 but i have instead the 900 which basically is the lower end version ( well SSD version 8Gb ) of the 904, same body, same processor but different battery and different hdd. My 904 on 4 cell batts run for about 2.5 hours on all Max settings, yours should run longer being on bigger LCD and Celeron processor. I would say it would give the AAO a run for its money smile.gif

QUOTE(msiathot @ Dec 18 2008, 03:31 PM)
I would suggest that you consider a 10-inch screen for an optimum experience on the Net.  No regret - I can assure you.  You won't go wrong either with 1000H or the Lenovo S10, both with six-cell batteries.
Thats a premium to pay price but yes the battery life and not to forget the bigger screen would make all the difference. But you dont actually need a bigger screen to have optimum experience, a 10" screen with a 640 x 480 resolution would make my internet experience a non too happy one too i believe smile.gif

Its the resolution that matters.

QUOTE(MT-MT @ Dec 18 2008, 03:38 PM)
But price difference a lot..1000H RM1799, 904 RM1389, RM400 difference leh...and hope upgrade to 2g ram too..
Besides this, i hav 2 lappy aredi, so just want to hav extra small netbook when out for fun / tea, not heavy user
Your queries I hope is answered above, the 8.9" is capable of much higher resolutions which currently on my 900 i put it to 1024 x 768 though sometimes i tune it down to 800 x 600, scrolling is there, but its just a simple very quick flick not a long left to right dragging smile.gif

If you dont really need the HDD space, try and look around if anyone still has a 900 with SSD, with SSD, 512mb Ram already kicks ass for any sort or work you need to do since the load time is almost instantenous. In any case an upgrade of Ram nowadays is very cheap, note youll have to sacrifice your 512mb to place the 2gb since there wont be any available slots for you to put it in smile.gif But seriously, upgrade later if you manage to get an SSD EEEPC. Dont rush to upgrading Ram without feeling how good it is to be using an EEEPC running on SSD smile.gif

This post has been edited by havocx: Dec 18 2008, 06:27 PM
havocx
post Dec 18 2008, 07:38 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(MT-MT @ Dec 18 2008, 06:35 PM)
wah...really clear explanation...in fact i waiting for ur answer.. rclxms.gif

Yup, nearly made up my mind for 904, wait for price drop... drool.gif

ANyway, 900 differ processor with 904 rite? Though 904 hav better processor?

how much for 900 cost now?

Besides that, for my requirement above, any else netbook recommend? rclxub.gif
Nope 904 uses the same 900Mhz Processor that the 900 came out with. They came out at a time when there was a shortage of Atom processors. Yes im not making that up.

For 900 the last I saw it was 3 weeks ago selling at RM899 for the first 5 lucky buyers at an IT store opening in Puchong. I dont really know the price new now.

For your requirement, have you looked at the FTEC EEBook. Yeah theyre taking the EEEPC name somewhat, its black, bigger and price is RM1399. 5 cell battery on Atom processor. That looks to be a sweet deal cept for the name smile.gif FTEC. Hmm still waiting for other reviews on it. Not gonna jump on that bandwagon just yet.

havocx
post Dec 19 2008, 12:26 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

Haha im going to sleep already but i'd like to share something which happened when i was playing a movie on my eeepc just now before going to bed.

If you’re a user of VLC Media Player you will have noticed that as of Midnight 19 December, it has a rather festive get-up! It seems the developers decided to include in version 0.9+ an Easter Egg (or perhaps, Christmas Present would be a better term for it) in the form of a little VLC Road Cone with a Christmas hat on it!

Here’s a quick screenshot:

Was playing Chuck on mine and was pleasantly surprised with the ending smile.gif

Ill update you folks on the queries tommorow smile.gif Nighty nite wink.gif

havocx
post Dec 19 2008, 11:41 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 18 2008, 09:24 PM)
wow ...u really know a lot abt netbook...do u know any netbook with atom selling below 1k? plan to get another one..aao linux version is in my list..any more other?
Haha its actually very little that I know smile.gif. Other than the Blue AAO and the 701 and 900 EEEPC's im not sure if there is any other netbooks in the market thats under RM1k.

QUOTE(Itori @ Dec 18 2008, 09:31 PM)
Wow... 900 at RM899? Well, I guess there are lucky people out there getting things cheap. Bought my tiny 900 from my friend. Costs the standard price of RM1399.

My 900 runs pretty slow on startup. Can't blame it, used only for moderate surf, Youtube, Blog, IM, Downloads... Pretty neat to have this netbook. I kinda use to the typing already. Although typos occur sometimes.

Usually what Antivirus is recommended on the 900? I got AVG installed and it sucks like hell. I wanted to remove it but from the forums and my personal experience, AVG is an a$$ when it comes to uninstalling it.

Currently running WinXPHome SP3. Do I need the updates? or should I off them? Using FF2, FF3 eats too much memory... Surf a few youtube already hangs... Using latest Opera since I can block some of the ads. Chrome a bit lagging sometimes and IE6... I can't install IE7. Donno why.

my HDD is the 160GB version. Does it lag when the drive is full? I'm not such of a geek. This is my first notebook/netbook so... Got to take care of it as much as I can.

Any advices?
I'd recommend you take the smallest footprint PAID antivirus. Yes free good Antiviruses are out there too, but Ive had experience before with Panda, AVG and Avira, all of which failed to get me the virus I was looking for. Using Kapersky found that for me. So far its the one with lightest footprint ive used though Ive not tried the New Norton Antivirus which claims to be the smallest footprint in the world. Yeah paid is not free but trust me been using various type of unpaid software, to me at the very least Antivirus, that should be a paid one. Of course if you can everything licensed, all the better.

Is this your main machine, if it is you should have the latest updates, if not getting a proper paid version of antivirus will do the trick for you. In any case though your HDD has 160Gb worth of space, if you can afford the space ( a HDD will be able to take the load of SSD anytime because of its size ).

The HDD is SATA and like all SATA or any HDD, it will lag when its full without proper defrag. It depends on what you have loading on it, on the taskbars and the like. Ive a 1.5TB at home thats nearly full but does not lag, but thats only filled with data you see no installation programs and the like, so its all up to what you have on it.

Id recommend FF1.5 actually which from reports shows it works awesome. Not sure but on mine FF3 runs okay. Depending on the version of Windows which was loaded on it I guess. Mine, I custom picked myself on things that should and should not be installed where for instance I specified I didnt want media player and windows games at all but replaced them with something else smile.gif

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 19 2008, 10:37 AM)
FTEC got sell in the market oledi? i agree with u..as 3rd lappy, over rm1500 is too expensive... if below that, still can consider tongue.gif... but i would like to find something which is small and easy to bring around.. since seldom use , so the size of keyboard is not so important ... but portable and size is my first consideration now..
Yes FTEC is in the market already.
RM1399 - Atom, 1GB Ram 80GB HDD, Wifi
RM1899 - Atom, 2gb Ram, 160GB HDD, Bluetooth, 3G WWAN Card!

QUOTE(MT-MT @ Dec 19 2008, 11:22 AM)
Some brochure show 904 model come with Atom processor, isnt it? If come with celeron, then may need to think twice of it..
Youve gotta look carefully at the brochures. The easiest way to identify a 904 vs 901 is how thick they are. The 904 is thin just like the 900 while the 901s are the only ones with the Atom Processor. Because of the different Architechture they were not able to incorporate the Atom processors into slimmer bodies. Remember how I was ranting that I wished the 901 was slimmer so it could fit into my pants pockets ?

But, if you really did get to have a 904 which is as slim and running on Atom, then go for it! And update us smile.gif

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Dec 19 2008, 09:51 AM)
Hi

1st of All, add me in , a 1000H User 80gb/6600mAH

Just wanna ask u guyz, currently i'm having 80gb HDD, can i upgrade the HDD without having the warranty void as I'm still covered for at least another 7 month?

What is max capacity that 1000H supports?
Well, if it aint broken dont tinker with it. If you upgrade it, it should not technically void the warranty, but preferably you do it at the shop you bought it at. Upgrading is a normal part and parcel of PC Purchase but make sure with the Asus Royal Club first or the shop you bought it from. Depending on what is your current model, if its a SATA 80gb you can then upgrade to the largest SATA HDD available in your size in the market. Note that there is an 1.8inch SATA and 2.5inch SATA Laptop HDD, better be sure whats yours smile.gif

This post has been edited by havocx: Dec 19 2008, 11:51 AM
havocx
post Dec 19 2008, 03:54 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Dec 19 2008, 03:02 PM)
Tks for your reply

U c, i bought it online, the shop is at KL, while I'm staying in Penang. So just thought maybe I can upgrade it myself without voiding the warranty.

By the way from your prev reply, u hv quoted about Asus U1 Tuner, i cant get it, maybe can u link it here.
Asus U1 Tuner comes with the 1000 series, perhaps you can look for the download there ?

QUOTE(MT-MT @ Dec 19 2008, 03:44 PM)
Check Asus EE Pc web only discover that 904 hav 2 models..
one is 904HD which i come with Celeron processor  cry.gif
another one is 904HA, which is come with Atom processor  drool.gif

904HD come with 0.3 megapixel camera but 904HA come with 1.3 megapixel camera..
i think i 'm looking for 904HA, anyone here own one? How much is it?
Since now i'm confuse 904HA same price with 904HD? rclxub.gif
904HD is the one at RM1399. It comes with bigger hdd and slim design. I think perhaps the 904HA will have the same price as the 904HD or perhaps an even higher priced. Note they do not look the same.

The 904HD is the newer version of the 900
The 904HA is the newer version of the 901.

havocx
post Dec 20 2008, 09:49 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Dec 19 2008, 09:18 PM)
Tesco selling 904HD for RM 1199 at this moment. But not sure how is the warranty claim when problem occur.
The Tesco I went to had their EEEPC's at the same RM1199 but the receipt is handled by ThunderMatch. What the sales person said was that you can return it to ThunderMatch for Service or Asus Royal Club directly which I thought was a fair bargain.

havocx
post Dec 20 2008, 02:04 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(MT-MT @ Dec 20 2008, 12:54 PM)
Sweet price for that...pity is celeron..but what make really significant different for Atom and processor?
Speed for surfing net? word / excel operating? battery life?
Since it quite hard to source for 904HA..may choose HD model..
No review for this baby?
I think ive mentioned before the major difference between an Atom based processor and a Celeron processor in real world usage Ive experienced is the battery life. SIGNIFICANT difference in that a 3 cell Atom can last as long or even longer than a 4 cell Celeron.

Real world comparison, my 1000 series running 10 inch screen with Atom and 6 cells battery easily outlasts the 701 with Celeron in terms of battery life.

1000H - Battery Consumption running on 6 cells, Medium sound, Wifi, Bluetooth, HDD (moving parts consume more batts), Bigger Screen medium high brightness lasts 5 hours.

701 - Smallest screen ( lest consumption ), medium brightness, medium sound, bluetooth adapter, SSD ( less consumption ), wifi and running a 4 cell battery only lasts 2 hours.

Since I dont own a 904HA or 904HD i cant give proper comparisons though but those 2 should give you an idea.

havocx
post Dec 22 2008, 11:02 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Dec 20 2008, 06:31 PM)
Tks once again for your reply. I have search the DVD, and only found U1 folder to be AiGuru U1 USB Phone For Skype, did u mean Super Hybrid Engine? Hope u can help
Sorry mate thats what I originally meant, right yout are smile.gif

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Dec 21 2008, 10:30 AM)
Any idea where this Asus Royal Clud located in northern malaysia region?
Im afraid the only official address I seem to find it is only in KL.
ASUS Royal Club (Malaysia)
Address: G-2IT@SPS, Ground Floor, Wisma SPS, Jalan Imbi, 55100 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: 603- 2141 9379
Fax: 603- 2145 8379

QUOTE(phunkydude @ Dec 21 2008, 02:59 PM)
@havocx ,

how's the celeron-900 compares with the atom? (aside of consumption on batt.)
does the celeron-900 able to handles some surfing on firefox with few tabs & vga out to tv for watching movie, etc etc.?

how bout the temp.? is it hotter than atom?

Aside from the Battery the Celeron 900 actually performs just as well and on par with the Atom, I dont see any speed boosts or slowness as compared to my Atom processors at home.
But that can also perhaps be attributed to my 1000H having HDD, my 901 running twin SSD's though seems to move along the same speed as the Celeron 900.

On the 701 running FF3 i can open 11 tabs without any lags whilst the 12 does show a little bit on the sluggish side, running games is not recommended while FF3 is running in background.
That said, with Chrome running, i can run Diablo 2 and Word 2003 and having the Internet simultaneously running without any major issues. In fact Im happily doing that now on my machine while typing this.

My review about the lowest end EEEPC and what it can do has been posted a few pages back if youd care to see. Now for watching movies and all that, well I have one running downstairs, I thought id just go and take a quick snapshot, since I took the display down to do some carpenting on the wall behind smile.gif Behold the MIGHTY EEEPC smile.gif

The EEEPC downstairs is connected constantly to my Display, its used to run Diablo 2 ( you can see the wireless mouse there ), so its a 7" running on a 42" hehe, seems to be overkill, but I like it, I have a wireless keyboard connected to it as well, and we use the display as a Photo Wall, basically displaying pictures coming from my HDD connected to it via USB, a Digital Photo Frame if youd like. Though the EEEPC's loud, i connected it to an Edifier and we have a Movie Running on it sometimes, and as you can see, when im bored, I sometimes play Diablo on the 42" as well. Very nice.

So yes, my EEEPC is my GPS, Gaming, Movie Watching Internet Surfing portable Photo Display to which I lurve to bits smile.gif

Pictured is my constantly connected EEEPC 701, next to it is my 701 which i carry in my pocket when I go out and next to it is my 901, the rest are upstairs.
Dont mind the mess and Emino its in the spoiler now, was editing it earlier smile.gif

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Dec 22 2008, 03:05 PM)
Guyz

Looks like there is a perfect companion for our EEE PC's

Its a netbook docking station

Source
The netbook docking station is already available here, I actually bought one for my brother in law, its RM139 for the full fledged version. Didnt think to catch a picture of it though.
Personally for me, I dont have the need for it though smile.gif

This post has been edited by havocx: Dec 22 2008, 11:09 PM
havocx
post Dec 23 2008, 07:43 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 23 2008, 06:09 AM)
havocx,

what is the use of docking??
If you dont already know, a dock in the normal sense of the word for a normal laptop would enable it to expand its ports and have much more connectivity than normal, itll come with, for instance extra VGA or DVI port, more USB ports, an extra LAN, an extra Pararel port in some cases. Usually the come in raised platforms to encourage better ergonomics for users.

In my office, we use our office given laptops together with our LCD's making us have extended twin monitors for our work, the ports are also much easier to use.

The EEEPC dock however is a little different, well its not really an EEEPC dock, its a dock specifically designed for netbooks, the pros ( and cons ) of it,
1. Its light in design. Plus points there means itll be easier to carry around - Its bigger than the netbook makes it a little cumbersome at times.
2. Expansion ports, you use on USB port to power the dock, and from the dock you have 3 more. You now have a total of 5 USB (3 on dock and remaining 2 on your machine) - The same output is also going to be used by the HDD in the dock ( more on that later )
3. Has fans running inside, keeps your machine cool. - Works only for certain models because like the 701 and 901, the vents are by the side.
4. Best feature, you can put any size SATA HDD into the slot below of the Dock thereby increasing your total Laptop capabity. - While cool, the HDD also shares the same USB connection that powers up the Dock as well as powering up the other ports, data transfer might not be as good, I can do the same already with an External HDD connected to my machine, plus its more friendly, ie I can use it together with my Desktop and other laptops, the currect dock setup is much more cumbersome.

But hey thats just me, a whole lot of folks might actually find they like using the dock smile.gif

havocx
post Dec 23 2008, 08:43 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 23 2008, 08:32 AM)
icic..now i understand...it sound kinda useful...but need to carry another docking is a bit troublesome...3usb port should be enuff for my use now... HDD put below docking? got any protection or not or just explore like that? kinda dangerous issnt it? like u say..external HDD is even more useful..
Well its small, for me im okay already with my External HDD which I carry so I dont really find much use for the Docking station and since Im already using a hub with my EEEPC the only thing left is the function of the cooling fan, something I can do without for now. HDD below Docking, here's some pics courtesy of the earlier link. Second pictures show where the HDD will go under the docking station.

This post has been edited by havocx: Dec 23 2008, 08:44 AM
havocx
post Dec 23 2008, 08:52 AM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Dec 23 2008, 08:45 AM)
do u found sometime usb hub do not function when plug in pen drive or memory card reader? but if use with usb mouse or keyboard then it works well...i tried dekstop also the same...
Hmm not that I can recall, I have a Logitech and Belkin hub. Perhaps your hub is not giving you enough power to work on it guess. Keyboard and mice usually needs only 3w to run, your basic computer usb 2.0 ports should give it 5w of juice, sometimes though, the needs for readers go up to 5w in which the hub cant power those items up, perhaps you should give powered hubs a try ? The give much more juice than normal hubs.

havocx
post Dec 23 2008, 01:34 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Dec 23 2008, 12:19 PM)
Wow good info man.

Bro, the one which u say u bought for RM 139 that is the full fledged ones, pls advise where can i get it, if possible online? And does the docking comes with DVD Drive? Does the drive supports DVD +/- Dual Layer? If the drive is not included, how can I find it, is it hard to get in Malaysia? Hope u can advise some specs.

I got it online at HERE
Sadly as you can also see stuff being sold there is only for one day never to make a return. So gotta wait till my rounds in the shops to update you if I do see it.

The Netbook dock does not come with a DVD Drive. You can opt to get one of those slim ones though, Samsung, LiteOn, Bufallo, LG and Pioneer all comes with one, they range from RM250 - RM300. Kinda pricey. Unless you get the Fat External ones which is designed for Desktops, those go from RM160 - RM200. You can already install stuff from USB though, personally I dont recommend getting one unless you really feel the need for it.

In case you do though, Id recommend getting a Bufallo Model, kinda pricey at RM300 its better than the rest I feel, only needing one single Mini USB cable to run it vs all the rest which needs the Larger USB Cables to connect to it. Built is pretty good, superb design. Oh and the 3 years warranty REALLY helps, I mean who cares if its RM20 ringgit more than the others, 1 year vs 3 years for RM20 more, I dont mind thumbup.gif

If you dont like trays and like Slot Ins though you can go for Pioneers External DVD drive works very nicely.
And finally yes they all support DVD + / - as they all can burn DVD's too smile.gif

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0436sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:20 PM