Food Bak Kut Teh!, Any nice bak kut teh

stimix
post Sep 20 2011, 04:38 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The traditional type Klang BKT such as Seng Huat, Mo Sang Kor & Piao Xiang now not so heng liao lah...Even you see Seng Huat which started the Klang style already switched to Tlk Pulai Claypot style liao...

Time changed and now ppl go for Teluk Pulai style...probably coming future..JB/S'pore clear BKT pulak haha

Anyway, on the meat portion getting small, I hv to agree wth you..When they started years ago in Puchong, they have the biggest meat portion but now getting smaller and price getting expensive..Started at RM6.50 or RM7 years ago if I still can recall..now..RM10.50 liao
marcus20125
post Nov 16 2011, 02:39 PM

1,770 posts

Jalan Raja Laut opposite Hong Leong Bank(EON Bank previously)
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 16 2011, 03:12 PM

12,696 posts

Will be staying overnight at Concorde Inn with a rental car so any recommendation for BKT that's great somewhere not too far from KLIA? Please provide me the GPS coordinates are else I wouldn't know how to get there even if you gave me the addresses.

Plus, anything to do in the evening to kill time because flight only next morning.

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 16 2011, 03:12 PM
stimix
post Nov 16 2011, 04:08 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

This time round, you can use Garmin instead of Nokia maps liao..closest to KLIA probably Sri Kembanagan Yap Beng 2°59'46"N 101°40'23"E or Puchong -Yap Chuan 2°59'40"N 101°37'15"E . just search in Garmin can liao
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 16 2011, 04:21 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 16 2011, 04:08 PM)
This time round, you can use Garmin instead of Nokia maps liao..closest to KLIA probably Sri Kembanagan Yap Beng 2°59'46"N  101°40'23"E  Jalan Equine 9D or Puchong -Yap Chuan 2°59'40"N  101°37'15"E . Jalan BPU 1A just search in Garmin can liao
Correct?

I don't have the touch screen version of Garmin and my last encountered with a 'ahem' version that scanned positive with malware left me wary. I guess I will stick with Nokia with your help.

stimix
post Nov 16 2011, 04:29 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yes correct. These two are comparable & even better than most Klang BKT esp the dry type. Both also from same family if I'm not mistaken. there are review by vkeong on both BKT here:

http://www.vkeong.com/2008/08/yap-beng-dry...seri-kembangan/

http://www.vkeong.com/2011/09/yap-chuan-ba...-puchong-utama/
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 16 2011, 04:37 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 16 2011, 04:29 PM)
Yes correct. These two are comparable & even better than most Klang BKT esp the dry type. Both also from same family if I'm not mistaken. there are review by vkeong on both BKT here:

http://www.vkeong.com/2008/08/yap-beng-dry...seri-kembangan/

http://www.vkeong.com/2011/09/yap-chuan-ba...-puchong-utama/

How about some wet BKT around that area? I guess I have enough time for 2 eating during the stop over.

They said Klang is the best but I have been to 3 3 22.395, 101 28 27392 but don't think much of it.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 16 2011, 04:42 PM
stimix
post Nov 16 2011, 05:53 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The Yap Chuan BKT soup base also superb. For me better than those in Klang. Yap Chuan won the King of BKT contest b4 years back FYI. They are actually from Sg Besar/Sekinchan side but moved to Puchong after winning the contest. They told me Axian recommended them to Puchong bcos of the boomig Puchong years ago haha. BTW, can't fig out the coordinate you gave me..haha

This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 16 2011, 06:03 PM
abubin
post Jan 27 2012, 03:53 PM

10,429 posts

just went to eat kaka bkt...and same experience with first time. Taste is not bad but not great either. The problem I have with them is mostly to do with hygiene. The worker just simply pour water on the road side when clearing table. So the whole place have some rubbish and looks wet. They have the used plates and all placed outside. Can be smelly sometimes when a little windy. They should have relocated washing of dishes to the back of the restaurant.

7/10 for taste. Environment is 3/10. Overall 5/10.
SUSUpCar
post Jan 27 2012, 04:21 PM

1,612 posts

kaka bkt in kepong is the best bkt i've ever tasted.
though beside the main road, what u could be smelling is also a mixture of dust, carbon dioxide and fumes from vehicles passing by.

but because of its superb bkt and excellent location, kaka bkt has a long que of people waiting to eat .

u know what they say, when there's a que, the food must be damn good.
deodorant
post Jan 28 2012, 12:30 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Jan 27 2012, 04:21 PM)
though beside the main road, what u could be smelling is also a mixture of dust, carbon dioxide and fumes from vehicles passing by.

it's ok one lah, malaysian spirit is the dirtier the kitchen the better the food lol.

Pao Xiang bkt got outlets in Singapore, somehow the Singapore outlets not really nice ... sad.gif
ChiaW3n
post Jan 28 2012, 03:22 AM

3,736 posts

omgieeeee!!! dry bak kut teh
Kenzany
post Feb 8 2012, 07:50 PM

435 posts

anyone tried heng bkt at taman kepong? your input please?
Shenay
post Feb 9 2012, 01:25 AM

546 posts

Hello peeps, is it difficult finding Yap Chuan Restaurant in Puchong? I do not own a GPS sad.gif Would appreciate it if someone can guide me roughly from the LDP toll onwards ! thanks
samlee860407
post Feb 9 2012, 08:53 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Shenay @ Feb 9 2012, 01:25 AM)
Hello peeps, is it difficult finding Yap Chuan Restaurant in Puchong? I do not own a GPS sad.gif Would appreciate it if someone can guide me roughly from the LDP toll onwards ! thanks
http://www.yapchuan.com/contact.htm#
Shenay
post Feb 9 2012, 11:47 AM

546 posts

samlee860407, if I'm coming from LDP, am I at the Pusat Bandar Puchong, Giant/Tesco, road ?
stimix
post Feb 9 2012, 11:52 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

No easy way to got to Yap chuan go further towards Putrajaya. thereafter look-out for Kampung Bahru Puchong/ Putra Perdana and turn left at that bt14 Interchange. From there you can see Klinik Kesihatan on your left and an ugly looking shoplots on the right.. Yap Chuan is right on the 1st right turn and facing the inner row of the shoploy - corner lot and facing Hero Hypermarket
Shenay
post Feb 11 2012, 10:59 AM

546 posts

Thanks a lot stimix ! smile.gif Looking forward to my trip there, hopefully its good biggrin.gif
stimix
post Feb 11 2012, 12:49 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Beware..Yap Chuan sometime also got quality prob wan certain day good certain day so-so..To play safe, dun go early in the morning but afternoon..wait till few rounds of cooking and the taste of the soup blended well. Anyway, they are famous more on their dry type
Shenay
post Feb 13 2012, 08:51 PM

546 posts

Finally found my way to Yap Chuan yesterday, using a GPS but still got lost in the process. They're closed from 11th to 18th Feb sad.gif So unlucky ! Ended up at the bkt in Lot 10 Hutong which I find not too bad but don't have the dry version I crave for.

24 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:28 AM