@vincent i'd imagine any place that servers killer steaks should also be at least above average / decent on other meats like lamb - can try your luck and report back to us, ha ha.
Food Best place for steaks
Oct 7 2010, 09:35 PM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
@vincent i'd imagine any place that servers killer steaks should also be at least above average / decent on other meats like lamb - can try your luck and report back to us, ha ha.
Oct 8 2010, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(vincent09 @ Oct 8 2010, 12:18 PM) OH haha ok, I like beef or lamp but my gf don't eat beef or lamb, so ask you guys got any recommendation or not fish lor. grilled cod or something would normally be a 'safe' alternative. though if you don't eat beef or lamb you might as well go to a 'restaurant' and not a 'steakhouse.' |
Oct 20 2010, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(goliath @ Oct 18 2010, 03:09 PM) Tony Roma's is having Wagyu steak promo (which ends on 24 October 2010). Any feedback about 'em? I've only ever had the ribs in tony romas (pork in SG, beef in KL), and seems to be inbetween fridays/chilis and the 'dedicated' steakhouses. Never really tried the steak though. |
Dec 12 2010, 02:53 AM
QUOTE(nazish @ Nov 12 2010, 10:15 PM) No. 1. Gaucho Grill (try their T Bone or Tenderloin, ask them to bring the sauce separate) My brother who lives in the UK loves the UK version of Gaucho Grill (I'm not sure if it's related to the KL one, but my bet is yes). Gotta try it when I get back to kay-el. I've been in Africa for 2-odd months on business and the lack of good steak is killing me. Interestingly though, I haven't been to ANY of the steakhouses on your list. Normally when I have a steak hankering I just go to Prime, haven't bothered with experimenting, lol. |
Jan 6 2011, 02:26 AM
okok putra >> faster go and try and then tell us how it is. if nice then i also go. shah alam so far, don't want to drive all the way there if not worth it
Jan 6 2011, 12:35 PM
Haha yeah was about to say that too. Especially the description of the rare/medium rare/etc etc, and the recommendation not to eat well done steaks
Jan 14 2011, 01:08 PM
^
don't bother with steak in genting. the only "good" restaurant up there is the olive ... supposed to be quite award-winning but I've never tried. everything else caters for gamblers and their families. |
Jan 17 2011, 10:46 PM
o_o #2 ... is it "good considering the money" good, or "good full stop" good?
Jan 26 2011, 10:59 PM
Most utter useless tip in this thread: I had a steak in the Thorn Tree Cafe, Sarova Stanley Hotel, Nairobi, and it was sh*t. So if you're ever in Nairobi (for safari?), and staying in the Stanley (which is one of the best hotels in town), do yourself a favor and don't eat steak.
http://www.lonelyplanet.com/kenya/nairobi/...thorn-tree-cafe |
Jan 27 2011, 01:48 PM
i mean, how likely is anyone reading this right now, going to ever find him/herself in nairobi sometime in the future? haha.
Jan 30 2011, 03:58 AM
QUOTE(hfi @ Jan 29 2011, 09:33 PM) Why dont you just grill it yourself ? Its so easy, takes 3-4 mins for medium rare. Less if you want it more rare. Then let it rest for few mins to let the juice settle. Profit! I use the 'thumb meat' way to tell once the steak is medium or medium rare (i.e. hold your thumb to your finger, and the 'hardness' of the flesh below the thumb corresponds to how hard the steak should be). problem is, (i) can't find good beef and (ii) using a griddle doesn't give the same flavor as a real grill. |
Feb 2 2011, 07:45 AM
Went to try Gobo Upstairs (also specializes in steak) in Trader's Hotel, with the GF. Didn't bring my dslr so not gonna blog about it, she had filet mignon, i had rib-eye-on-bone, 500g, pictured here:
According to tripadvisor it's the #2 restaurant in KL, which in my opinion is way overrating it. http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurants-g29...ersekutuan.html For starters, the ambience is only so-so. The choice of dinnerware is also poor as the plate slides around the table super easy (which makes it frustrating to eat steak cos you're always cutting and the plate is always sliding around). The steaks themselves had inconsistent seasoning. one mouthful would be nice and juicy, the next felt like putting a teaspoon of salt in my mouth. if you like to be "adventurous" with your food then you might be interested, but I find that a mouthful of salt does wonders in ruining your tastebuds for the rest of the meal. The worst part about it was the price. $270 for both of us (1soup 1salad 2non-'gourmet beef' steaks) is damn expensive - even more expensive than Prime, where (admittedly after starwoood 50% discount) everything is better and yet dinner for 2 can comfortable come in under $200. Would not come back again. |
Feb 11 2011, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Feb 8 2011, 08:02 PM) Thanks for the review. You should try Mandarin Grill. lol bro, mandarin grill too expensive ler. prime also the only reason i can step foot inside is cos of starwood privilege |
Mar 21 2011, 06:28 PM
@nazish/samlee wow that bad already? I had blackmore wagyu a while ago and it was definitely not "I could not cut the meat with the knife."
I've been mostly been in Mauritius/Kenya for the last half a year so I also haven't gone to prime lately though. Due back in KL for a few days at end of March hmmmmmmmm ... think I'll give prime a miss until I hear you two verdict on your second chance visit to them |
Mar 22 2011, 12:34 AM
eh, kampungboycitigal just posted about prime, positive review leh.
(then again their blog whatever also positive. lol) |
Mar 22 2011, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Mar 22 2011, 05:51 PM) btw, some only blog about good food, while some no matter what is it, it still good food Your blog? Your previous visit, or the "second chance" visit that you're going to go to soon so that putra & i no need to go? For me I blog if it's truly terrible. Just so that other people (if they happen to read) will be like okaaaaaaaaay must avoid this place at all costs. Like Spaghetti Farm in Mid Valley, I hope they've closed down by now for the atrocious garbage they call pasta. But if it's mediocre ... ehhhhhhh. like ... what's the point of taking all the effort to take photos, edit, and then type long long? Haha. |
Mar 24 2011, 12:33 AM
@ juschin Kobe is pretty much a 'brand' of beef, has to be bred, raised and slaughtered at a particular area in Japan. Wagyu is the breed of cattle, so any Wagyu raised in that Japan area is 'kobe,' if it's raised anywhere else it's plain Wagyu. or something like that.
[edit] any of you other peeps gone to gobo upstairs for steak? they're up to the #1 ranked restaurant in KL on tripadvisor. I went a month or so ago and the steak was unevenly seasoned - so annoying to have one bite bland and the next one super salty. overall i'd think it was OK, but nowhere near "top top" quality - and not worth the rm270 I paid (for dinner for two without wine). would love to hear your view of course This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 24 2011, 01:04 AM |
Mar 24 2011, 10:34 PM
@raist different people different preferences i guess. just like how i actually don't really like filet mignon even though it's supposed to be the #1 cut. cos it's not fatty enough ... haha!
anyways when i want cheap steak i'd all along been grilling my own. but after going to suzy's once, there really isn't any point. good beef is like what, at least rm15/100g? 200g cut = rm30 = might as well go to suzy's (unless i'm lazy to drive to ampang cos mrr2 is a bi0tch). |
Mar 24 2011, 10:53 PM
That works out to ... rm8-ish/100gm which is actually pretty cheap. Jaya Grocer - in Jaya one, right? (or was it jaya 33 ... i mix up the names of the two places all the time)
Mar 25 2011, 12:36 PM
looking back on my post (9 months ago), apparently I had the cube roll which cost ... dun dun ...
QUOTE Charcoal Grilled 170g Blackmore Wagyu Cube Roll - Medium Rare ($488.00 ala-carte). expensive! was OK though, entire dinner apparently was rm330 for two cos me and the gf shared one set and added one starter, so it's OK! |
| Change to: | 0.0422sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:52 AM |