Property in Economy Crisis, What will happen to property market?

a6meister
post Oct 28 2008, 10:18 AM

462 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Oct 27 2008, 11:00 PM)
You are right. Despite KLCI and global market plunges, houses pricing are still holding up. U will find decrease in asking price for high end properties(klcc, MK, and bangsar) in the next 3 months onwards.

Actually, speaking of retrenchment, anyone heard any coys layong of their staffs? I know many MNC now freeze new hires, but have not any heard any massive scale firing going on. My frens in SG having sleepless nights now.

Added on October 27, 2008, 11:04 pm

Hehehe,sound like a good plan to aleviate the pain tongue.gif

Added on October 27, 2008, 11:23 pm

Boss, in terms of timing, you could not pick a worst time to sell.

Btw,this property of yours, can give more info:
1. Development name
2. Your selling price
3. Rental p/m

Well, you are right, should not sell if the time is not right. You could say that i am actually selling at the wrong timing. But, to me this property does not worth to keep.

Ok, this is a shophouse. Located in SITIAWAN, my hometown. It is the place which considered as the top producer of swifnests and swiftlet farming.

Since i am staying in KL, I dont think i have the time and effort to take care of this property or even run a business there.

ROI is terrible. 3 storeys shoplot only yield 1750 rental a month, and dont forget, about 1k alone out of 1750 is for bank interest only.

purchased at 485k.

arsenal
post Oct 28 2008, 12:25 PM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Oct 28 2008, 12:30 AM)
So nice.. everything is cheap biggrin.gif
not really...food still expansive...car interest high.....cant buy civic also....
Pai
post Oct 29 2008, 01:22 AM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

QUOTE(a6meister @ Oct 28 2008, 10:18 AM)
Well, you are right, should not sell if the time is not right. You could say that i am actually selling at the wrong timing. But, to me this property does not worth to keep.

Ok, this is a shophouse. Located in SITIAWAN, my hometown. It is the place which considered as the top producer of swifnests and swiftlet farming.

Since i am staying in KL, I dont think i have the time and effort to take care of this property or even run a business there.

ROI is terrible. 3 storeys shoplot only yield 1750 rental a month, and dont forget, about 1k alone out of 1750 is for bank interest only.

purchased at 485k.
U r right, this is not worth investing in. To me, its not really a problem of timing, the real problem here lies in the location.

Out of curiosity, why buy this shophouse in the 1st place knowing the ROI is terrible?
hahaha85
post Nov 2 2008, 10:09 PM

162 posts

How is the property price of Bukit Jelutong? Will it be going down as u all expected? If yes, how much will it drop? Thanks
blasto
post Nov 10 2008, 12:19 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(toto4d @ Oct 23 2008, 09:07 PM)
Guy,
I am considering to purchase a unit at U1 Residence Suite in Shah Alam. The unit is 1100ft2, total price at 350k, will be completed at 2011.
I got loan offer for 300k at BLR -2.2%.

The purpose is for investment (gain rental mainly, hopefully there is appreciation), but i really doubt whether i should go on looking at current market.

Any advice?
Bro, I suggest you walk in & talk to a person called John Ting.
Heard they have confirmed project at walking distance.
MSU University & new Centralize Bus Terminal ?
or the next phase LRT route might pass thru the bus terminal ? rclxub.gif
Anyone know ?
TStoto4d
post Nov 10 2008, 05:18 PM

643 posts

QUOTE(blasto @ Nov 10 2008, 12:19 PM)
Bro, I suggest you walk in & talk to a person called John Ting.
Heard they have confirmed project at walking distance.
MSU University & new Centralize Bus Terminal ?
or the next phase LRT route might pass thru the bus terminal ?  rclxub.gif
Anyone know ?
Ya, i heard the MSU University oso.
blasto
post Nov 10 2008, 09:49 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(toto4d @ Nov 10 2008, 05:18 PM)
Ya, i heard the MSU University oso.
yeah, looking at those previous students in UPM.
One house, 3/4 rooms & 2 Toilet = 12 students share = Rent RM 1.5k drool.gif

Imagine U1 = 3 Rooms + 2 Toilet @ 2011 = 12 students = Rent RM 2k brows.gif

looqsonline
post Nov 13 2008, 11:30 AM

303 posts

please refer to my thread might have some useful info there

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/717298

vincentlee
post Dec 5 2008, 04:07 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
2,108 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Oct 11 2008, 06:50 PM)
IMO, now is a good time to buy mid-end segment properties due to :

1. Currently its a buyers market, can choose and nego as u wish.

2. Panic selling does happen occasionally due to global stock downturn. I see more bargains in the market today compared to 6 months ago.

3. Financing rate is at its all time low and banks have still have appetite to lend. In US now even the price drop by 50℅, banks refuse to lend.

4. We now have an influx of expats from middle east to increase our expat tenant n buyer pool.

5. Min 70℅ of all future launch will be high end props and it will only make mid-end properties more desirable due to decrease in supply.

Just remember to buy below market, and pick the RIGHT location. Myself last week just sealed another acquisition and looking to close another next week, hopefully smile.gif

Caveat : if u have tones of cash and can afford a property without financing help, then u should wait until mid-2009 then only buy.
excellent analysis. biggrin.gif

by the way how much cash is considered tons of cash? (is 1 million in FD enough) mid-range properties RM300~RM500k will be much cheaper by mid 2009?

Pai
post Dec 5 2008, 10:39 AM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee @ Dec 5 2008, 04:07 AM)

by the way how much cash is considered tons of cash? (is 1 million in FD enough) mid-range properties RM300~RM500k will be much cheaper by mid 2009?
tons of cash : min 30% of the property value u wanted to buy. Better still if you can pay 100% cash.

A fren of mine bought a property 25% below market 3 months ago bcoz he bought it cash from a desparate seller. His rental yield for the said property today is 13.5%. shocking.gif

RME-RAnger
post Dec 5 2008, 11:33 AM

763 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Dec 5 2008, 10:39 AM)
tons of cash : min 30% of the property value u wanted to buy. Better still if you can pay 100% cash.

A fren of mine bought a property 25% below market 3 months ago bcoz he bought it cash from a desparate seller. His rental yield for the said property today is 13.5%.  shocking.gif
wow, ur friend get a very good deal in his/her investment brows.gif (13.5% return is very gd investment)
Clareen
post Dec 6 2008, 04:56 AM

Workaholic~*
2,603 posts

QUOTE(toto4d @ Oct 11 2008, 10:06 AM)
Hi Guys,
I am a bit noob on this but hope someone could enlighten me.

I am curious to know what would happen to Malaysia Property Market following global economy melt-down. (assuming Msia will suffer the effect following US market soon.) Would the property rise drop? Interest increase?

Planning to buy a property soon, just think whether now is the right time.
hmm i think now is good time to buy because the owner will not hold their selling price until so tight so you can nego more.
dongding
post May 31 2009, 12:07 AM

30 posts

eh? how come this thread is like dead?
Anyway, I noticed the new mind-range properties prices now are soaring with low bank lending rate, promotions (free legal fee, free mot, free this free that), and also the 5/95 package. Is the developer price for mid-range properties in shah alam places like Setia Alam and Kemuning Utama still reasonable?
cherroy
post May 31 2009, 05:14 PM

25,802 posts

General discussion about properties price, trend, situation is being discussed in a pinned thread. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/741185/+360

That's why this thread is idle.

So please proceed posting the above mentioned thread.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0209sec    0.95    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:55 AM