Can left-side-driver car be driven in Msia?

TSkarhoe
post Oct 9 2008, 11:28 PM, updated 18y ago

6,238 posts

I'm curious as I saw a Mustang at Sunway with Malaysia's road registration number. The driver was seated on the left side.

Wouldn't it be dangerous especially driving on fast lane when he might misjudge the distance between the opposite lane and his lane?

Isn't it illegal?

quick_shaq
post Oct 9 2008, 11:30 PM

872 posts

boleh lar..no problem punya
malaysia what thumbup.gif
we live in boleh land rclxm9.gif
SUSsoyaben86
post Oct 9 2008, 11:31 PM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

can drive..and if i not mistaken..u got to put the sign like those P sign to let ppl know tat your car is a left side driver car..
e30
post Oct 9 2008, 11:31 PM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

its not illegal.. but you gotta put a sticker i think
mamata
post Oct 9 2008, 11:34 PM

better get laid early then regret later on
699 posts

can
what he need to worried is how to pass toll
only can use smart tag
advanced
post Oct 9 2008, 11:36 PM

1,567 posts

i saw 1 be4 at setapak,but dunno wat kind of junk car that is,plate number start wit j
TSkarhoe
post Oct 9 2008, 11:36 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(mamata @ Oct 9 2008, 11:34 PM)
can
only can use smart tag
Lol now that I think of it, quite true. What about parking in shopping complexes. Need to go with another passenger biggrin.gif
viking68
post Oct 9 2008, 11:37 PM

24 posts

Yes, no problem if your car driver is on the Left side as long as put sticker say Left hand driver.
the_catacombs
post Oct 9 2008, 11:39 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

yes u can drive left-hand-drive cars... i'm not sure u need to get documents from jpj or not... better go jpj and enquire... smile.gif
joesniper
post Oct 9 2008, 11:41 PM

328 posts

why not ???
SUSceo684
post Oct 9 2008, 11:41 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

can but make sure u can handle it well cos of "wrong side perspective"

unlike a noob driver in LHD accord putrajaya 7492 @ 7am weekday damansara toll who banged into me and dinged my door. i avoided her as best as i could cos her car was really makan lane also cannot escape. damn noob. jam like hell also cannot position her stupid car properly.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 9 2008, 11:42 PM
mokhzaini
post Oct 9 2008, 11:44 PM

278 posts

yes. u can.
fir3f0x
post Oct 9 2008, 11:45 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(mamata @ Oct 9 2008, 11:34 PM)
can
only can use smart tag
haha. maybe when almost reach toll, use reverse la.
Hikaru Kenshin
post Oct 10 2008, 12:01 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(fir3f0x @ Oct 9 2008, 11:45 PM)
haha. maybe when almost reach toll, use reverse la.

LOL, LOL.

I have seen before one BMW and Mercz (both driven by ladies) left side driver.....

At the back of their car got sticker with sign "Left Hand Drive"

Actually, how do they pay toll? LOL
SUSceo684
post Oct 10 2008, 12:06 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

can wat.. use smart tag..
or touch n go.. stick d tng on a fly swatter to extend the reach tongue.gif
bukanmain
post Oct 10 2008, 12:20 AM

I'm only 20,still learning..
1,711 posts

can but must go jpj get letter..state why u have that car ..n must put sticker sign..
Benjamin
post Oct 10 2008, 12:21 AM

312 posts

Driver : Eh man , today i feel like buying stuff for my gf... Can teman me ar ?

Friend : Eh bro , u're gonna buy things for your gf la. Wan me to teman for wat ?

Driver : No lah , actually just to help me pay toll. Later other drivers look at me, i very shy lar.

Friend : Swt sweat.gif

Azuma-kun
post Oct 10 2008, 02:19 AM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

They will have problem to go any drive-thru, get a parking ticket, pay tolls, and what else hmm.gif

Hikaru Kenshin
post Oct 10 2008, 02:33 AM

381 posts

so much hassle for it lol

common ppl will be entering da left side LOL if da driver dun enter first lol
d3vilzzzz
post Oct 10 2008, 05:08 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

its nt illegal r..but if ur used to it..ermm...shud be okies kua tongue.gif
NewAchiever
post Oct 10 2008, 08:39 AM

222 posts

Should be ok i think, my ex-uni drive used to drive a left-side driver car ~~
It feels funny, coz people thought I am driving the car though I'm actually the passenger @@

But our Malaysian road is catered for right-side drivers ~~~ Got to be extra careful you want to drive left-side driver car
KeV
post Oct 10 2008, 09:26 AM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

my neighbour used to had a left hand drive 300zx brought back from the states. in the end of the day, the car was lying there collecting dust more than being driven out.

i have a friend too, whos bringing in a dodge charger to melaka, so i guess its gonna be a sunday drive car
eddyann
post Oct 10 2008, 09:36 AM

Gold Miner
1,981 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Oct 10 2008, 02:19 AM)
They will have problem to go any drive-thru, get a parking ticket, pay tolls, and what else hmm.gif
the dangerous one is how u wanna overtake the car infront of you? use left lane if in highway blink.gif ? dangerous wo. if normal road, wanna depend you right passanger? can be trusted or not? haha

This post has been edited by eddyann: Oct 10 2008, 09:36 AM
sebnimh84
post Oct 10 2008, 09:57 AM

321 posts

Shouldn't be illegal. There are Mercedes Diesel Hearses owned by mostly funeral companies (Station wagons) which are all left hand drive.

I guess problems one'd face is;

1. Overtaking
2. Paying tolls
gkl83
post Oct 10 2008, 10:05 AM

8,377 posts

1. overtaking should be no an big issue if familiar with the car and always drive that car...
i can overtake car by using left lane easily even though i right handed...
2. most of the tolls in malaysia equipped with SmartTag lane...

the biggest issues are collecting and slotting parking ticket at shopping car park if they driving alone...
some of the spare part may issue for them as well, the part design may "up side down" compare to right handed...

This post has been edited by gkl83: Oct 10 2008, 10:10 AM
Joshiet
post Oct 10 2008, 10:12 AM

383 posts

Saw a bmw 3 series at my friend's condo left hand drive . just gotto paste sticker behind to warn peoples
SUSsoyaben86
post Oct 10 2008, 10:12 AM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Oct 9 2008, 11:36 PM)
Lol now that I think of it, quite true. What about parking in shopping complexes. Need to go with another passenger  biggrin.gif
that's the best part of getting a left hand driver car man..if the passenger is a pretty female with a nice body..i won't mind passing all the shopping complexes parking man.. brows.gif
CooShyRee
post Oct 10 2008, 10:18 AM

The mad italian scorpions!!
3,806 posts

no prob actually.. left hand drive cars can be registered legally in our country no prob at all, but u have 2 put some kinda sticker saying "Left-Hand Drive Vehicle" if im not mistaken.. ive seen a couple of mercs at my hometown that r left hand drive, which is kinda weird 4 me coz right hand drive mercs isnt wat we call hard 2 find here..

some countries charge more expensive roadtax on cars that have different driving side than their normal ones, not sure bout malaysia though..
yngwie
post Oct 10 2008, 11:01 AM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

besides the unusual driving position, just make sure the left hand drive car has a "left hand drive" sign on the rear screen.
SUSsoyaben86
post Oct 10 2008, 11:03 AM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

also got to worry about the parts..some of the spare parts is not the same..got to import it..but since TS said is a mustang..comfirm everything need to import..and ppl who buy the car must be kind of rich even the ride is around 200k+??that car was at tat dealer for a time already..i think got 5 to 6 month about already..
ejiema
post Oct 10 2008, 11:06 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(mamata @ Oct 10 2008, 12:34 AM)
can
only can use smart tag
lol, yup you're right! rclxms.gif
nimrod2
post Oct 10 2008, 11:30 AM

the imba one
2,521 posts

QUOTE(ejiema @ Oct 10 2008, 11:06 AM)
lol, yup you're right!  rclxms.gif
wahahaha can always lean over n pay mah.

or ask the passenger pay for u only le.
V12Kompressor
post Oct 10 2008, 11:43 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

Can... just today I've saw a E46 BMW 3 series LHD model at Keramat.

Just get the vehicle to be inspected at puspakom can liao. And I also notice that most LHD cars got carry "LEFT HAND DRIVE" sticker behind the bonnet. Dunno the sticker is mandatory a not la... hmm.gif
zaqre
post Oct 10 2008, 11:45 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Oct 10 2008, 10:05 AM)
1. overtaking should be no an big issue if familiar with the car and always drive that car...
i can overtake car by using left lane easily even though i right handed...
2. most of the tolls in malaysia equipped with SmartTag lane...

the biggest issues are collecting and slotting parking ticket at shopping car park if they driving alone...
some of the spare part may issue for them as well, the part design may "up side down" compare to right handed...
u have no problem overtake car by using left lane because it was same direction with u and u can see the car from ur side mirror.
but if a left-side-driver car want to overtake, the driver may unable to see the car come from the opposite direction.
CooShyRee
post Oct 10 2008, 11:52 AM

3,806 posts

paying toll is not much of an issue really.. 4 example, UK has the same driving side as us, n they r surrounded by other european countries that drive on the left side.. u can see that wat they do is juz lean over the other side 2 pay tolls, its not difficult come 2 think of it.. toll booths r operated by people, they can reach out their hands which makes it a bit easier for us.. the issue here i think comes when we're dealing wit parking machines, press button 2 get ticket or slot ticket or money 2 get out..

This post has been edited by CooShyRee: Oct 10 2008, 11:53 AM
V12Kompressor
post Oct 10 2008, 11:55 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

Pakai jockey senang cerita... biggrin.gif
No need to streeeeetch-streeeetch.

For toolbooth maybe can use a long stick with a clothes clip at the end. XD

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Oct 10 2008, 11:55 AM
TSkarhoe
post Oct 10 2008, 11:56 AM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(CooShyRee @ Oct 10 2008, 11:52 AM)
paying toll is not much of an issue really.. 4 example, UK has the same driving side as us, n they r surrounded by other european countries that drive on the left side.. u can see that wat they do is juz lean over the other side 2 pay tolls, its not difficult come 2 think of it.. toll booths r operated by people, they can reach out their hands which makes it a bit easier for us.. the issue here i think comes when we're dealing wit parking machines, press button 2 get ticket or slot ticket or money 2 get out..
You serious? That's quite a distance to lean
eastwest
post Oct 10 2008, 12:25 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(soyaben86 @ Oct 10 2008, 10:12 AM)
that's the best part of getting a left hand driver car man..if the passenger is a pretty female with a nice body..i won't mind passing all the shopping complexes parking man.. brows.gif
Right hand drive also can do what? tongue.gif

BTW, saw a few of this left hand drive car. One of it is honda accord. When I first saw it, couldn't see the driver head (from behind), only saw the "passenger" head blush.gif . ""Oooh, this fella must be a short person, thats why cannot see his/her head biggrin.gif""My thougth. . during overtaking, Ehhh??? no driver??!! blink.gif Lol, steering at the left side la tongue.gif laugh.gif
CooShyRee
post Oct 10 2008, 12:38 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Oct 10 2008, 11:56 AM)
You serious? That's quite a distance to lean
really.. ive seen in couple of times b4 in uk shows..
stormyz
post Oct 11 2008, 05:20 PM

Thread Killer
595 posts

i just saw an old volvo wif left side drive few days ago...

icycokes
post Oct 11 2008, 05:56 PM

Unlicensed Surgeon
857 posts

johor cauesway custom have lotsa left hand sided counters as well. no problems in passing passports and paying tolls, just have to stretch lefthand.
torresism
post Oct 11 2008, 06:18 PM

355 posts

last time my lecturer own one left sided-drive Benz, forget what model d...that time i was shocked because she sat at the left side...haha...

i wonder how she going to overtake the car..i think quite difficult to do it...:hehe
SUSsoyaben86
post Oct 12 2008, 01:07 AM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Oct 10 2008, 12:25 PM)
Right hand drive also can do what? tongue.gif

BTW, saw a few of this left hand drive car. One of it is honda accord. When I first saw it, couldn't see the driver head (from behind), only saw the "passenger" head blush.gif . ""Oooh, this fella must be a short person, thats why cannot see his/her head biggrin.gif""My thougth. . during overtaking, Ehhh??? no driver??!! blink.gif  Lol, steering at the left side la tongue.gif  laugh.gif
right hand drive how to do that kind of leaning thingy wor..right hand drive u get the parking ticket direct from the machine jor..if left hand drive..u can act act abit..lean on the girl..say "aiyakk..cannot reach the ticket..let me try again and again and again" blush.gif brows.gif
memkingdom
post Oct 12 2008, 03:15 AM

529 posts

wao, look cool. left side driving skill, won't get summon meh ?
SUSceo684
post Oct 12 2008, 03:17 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

ticket machine at parking is ok..
if auto can put to P, safe incase ur foot press on gearstick
with manual got risk of nudging into gear
SUSsoyaben86
post Oct 12 2008, 11:49 AM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

QUOTE(memkingdom @ Oct 12 2008, 03:15 AM)
wao, look cool. left side driving skill, won't get summon meh ?
unless u are talking on the phone..or didn't buckle up..yes..u will kena summons.. laugh.gif
ssyy
post Oct 12 2008, 12:37 PM

446 posts

can, but overtaking big vehicles is almost impossible.. must put camera at da right side bumper there tongue.gif
UE7
post Oct 12 2008, 02:20 PM

First Among Equals
2,077 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Oct 9 2008, 11:28 PM)

Isn't it illegal?
Nope
post Oct 12 2008, 02:58 PM

391 posts

mostly all I saw with VVIP plate num.
kucingfight
post Oct 12 2008, 04:30 PM

5,784 posts

Saw A LDH driver, was at a toll, and he was using a portable sort of a stick and attach the TOuchNGo card to it..so no problem, he can reach the other easily laugh.gif
SUSsoyaben86
post Oct 12 2008, 05:17 PM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

QUOTE(ssyy @ Oct 12 2008, 12:37 PM)
can, but overtaking big vehicles is almost impossible.. must put camera at da right side bumper there tongue.gif
actually why does it hard to over take vehicles on the left or on the right??is just like normal car only wor..is like u are having a right hand drive..does it hard to over take to the left lane?? actually does anyone drive before a left hand drive car before before they say it's hard to over take other vehicles?? whistling.gif
ssyy
post Oct 12 2008, 06:32 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(soyaben86 @ Oct 12 2008, 05:17 PM)
actually why does it hard to over take vehicles on the left or on the right??is just like normal car only wor..is like u are having a right hand drive..does it hard to over take to the left lane?? actually does anyone drive before a left hand drive car before before they say it's hard to over take other vehicles?? whistling.gif
cuz my father used to drive a LHD 300CE many many years ago. 1996 i think.. its quite difficult to overtake front vehicle in normal road where there is oncoming traffic at da opposite lane. need to check whether got oncoming vehicles or not.. need to bring the car further out the lane to check instead of juz peeping, or extend our head to see. for highway of course its normal with the aid of side-mirrors.. smile.gif
moo moo
post Oct 12 2008, 06:36 PM

325 posts

my russian classmate drives a white pajero with united nations number plate..

SUSgigabyte_PHD
post Oct 12 2008, 06:37 PM

Working For QUIDS Industry
855 posts

There is no such thing as tak boleh
SUSsoyaben86
post Oct 12 2008, 10:41 PM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

QUOTE(ssyy @ Oct 12 2008, 06:32 PM)
cuz my father used to drive a LHD 300CE many many years ago. 1996 i think.. its quite difficult to overtake front vehicle in normal road where there is oncoming traffic at da opposite lane. need to check whether got oncoming vehicles or not.. need to bring the car further out the lane to check instead of juz peeping, or extend our head to see. for highway of course its normal with the aid of side-mirrors..  smile.gif
it is hard to over take even we stick those round blind spot mirror at our side mirror??
sahiren
post Oct 13 2008, 03:48 AM

206 posts

i think the hassle s not worth it la lol
eastwest
post Oct 13 2008, 09:05 AM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(soyaben86 @ Oct 12 2008, 01:07 AM)
right hand drive how to do that kind of leaning thingy wor..right hand drive u get the parking ticket direct from the machine jor..if left hand drive..u can act act abit..lean on the girl..say "aiyakk..cannot reach the ticket..let me try again and again and again" blush.gif  brows.gif
In the end, you'll get "palm print" on your face laugh.gif

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 12 2008, 04:30 PM)
Saw A LDH driver, was at a toll, and he was using a portable sort of a stick and attach the TOuchNGo card to it..so no problem, he can reach the other easily  laugh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif
gkl83
post Oct 13 2008, 09:10 AM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(soyaben86 @ Oct 12 2008, 10:41 PM)
it is hard to over take even we stick those round blind spot mirror at our side mirror??

i think he means those kampung road lo with 1 lane only...
if wanna to overtake have to use opposite road at the right side since the drive sitting left side and look on right side car that come from opposite way... sure the sight will 100% blocked if big vehicle was in front...
SUSsoyaben86
post Oct 13 2008, 10:19 AM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Oct 13 2008, 09:05 AM)
In the end, you'll get "palm print" on your face laugh.gif
laugh.gif  laugh.gif
let me get a left hand drive 1st..then i try that and let u guys know i will got a plam print on my face or not.. laugh.gif laugh.gif

Added on October 13, 2008, 10:22 am
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Oct 13 2008, 09:10 AM)
if wanna to overtake have to use opposite road at the right side since the drive sitting left side and look on right side car that come from opposite way... sure the sight will 100% blocked if big vehicle was in front...
oh..i see..now i get the picture of wat he is saying..a bit slow lar my brain..cannot process to fast.. laugh.gif

actually if u guys happend to be in this problem..u can back off from the lorry away until u can see the oppsite road..and once the road is clear from far aheah..u can step on all the oil and over take the big fat lorry..terms and condition apply.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by soyaben86: Oct 13 2008, 10:22 AM
ssyy
post Oct 13 2008, 01:12 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Oct 13 2008, 09:10 AM)
this is wat i meant! jalan persekutuan.. one lane up and one lane down.. its totally blocked.. my dad will ask my mum, got car or not..... sweat.gif

QUOTE(soyaben86 @ Oct 13 2008, 10:19 AM)
oh..i see..now i get the picture of wat he is saying..a bit slow lar my brain..cannot process to fast.. laugh.gif

actually if u guys happend to be in this problem..u can back off from the lorry away until u can see the oppsite road..and once the road is clear from far aheah..u can step on all the oil and over take the big fat lorry..terms and condition apply.. laugh.gif
u got it now tongue.gif ppl at da back will angry.. my dad used to take tis risk to follow another car overtaking big vehicles.. but scary le.. rolleyes.gif
SUSsoyaben86
post Oct 13 2008, 02:13 PM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

QUOTE(ssyy @ Oct 13 2008, 01:12 PM)
this is wat i meant! jalan persekutuan.. one lane up and one lane down.. its totally blocked.. my dad will ask my mum, got car or not.....  sweat.gif
u got it now  tongue.gif  ppl at da back will angry.. my dad used to take tis risk to follow another car overtaking big vehicles.. but scary le..  rolleyes.gif
umm..that's the only way to over take car if u have a left hand drive..scary is for sure lar..every car over take another car also scary wan..but maybe a left hand driver car scary can +50% more.. laugh.gif
askar_lcy
post Oct 22 2008, 03:05 PM

382 posts

saw a LHD VW Golf GTi number plate WAY 7x4x
and a LHD VW Scirocco ...
there's no sticker mentionning it's a LHD car or watsoever.

shah_ho_nam
post Oct 22 2008, 03:07 PM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Oct 9 2008, 11:28 PM)
I'm curious as I saw a Mustang at Sunway with Malaysia's road registration number. The driver was seated on the left side.

Wouldn't it be dangerous especially driving on fast lane when he might misjudge the distance between the opposite lane and his lane?

Isn't it illegal?
no lah... if u wanted to see more of these left hand drive cars.. come to my office... there's a lot of people working outside and bring these left hand drive car with them back to malaysia
SUSsoyaben86
post Oct 22 2008, 03:10 PM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

QUOTE(shah_ho_nam @ Oct 22 2008, 03:07 PM)
no lah... if u wanted to see more of these left hand drive cars.. come to my office... there's a lot of people working outside and bring these left hand drive car with them back to malaysia
where are u from??japan??wat car they have at ur place??got old skool mustang?? drool.gif
shah_ho_nam
post Oct 22 2008, 03:17 PM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

QUOTE(soyaben86 @ Oct 22 2008, 03:10 PM)
where are u from??japan??wat car they have at ur place??got old skool mustang?? drool.gif
ministry of foreign affairs laugh.gif
vioxmonsta
post Oct 22 2008, 03:17 PM

287 posts

i've seen mustang shelby gt500
left side driver also..
dam kewl thumbup.gif
agape_ian
post Oct 22 2008, 03:22 PM

468 posts

It's legal. Not sure whether it's a must to have the sticker to alert others. I saw a couple before, with and without stickers.

1 things for sure is trouble getting pass toll, collecting parking ticket, etc.
ssyy
post Oct 22 2008, 03:53 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(soyaben86 @ Oct 22 2008, 03:10 PM)
i think japan using RHD.. btw, many lectures near my area using LHD cars too.. but mostly old cars..
StellaBi
post Apr 6 2009, 01:08 PM

is there any one got a contact for left hand drive cars?
I'm looking for it.. Is for shooting~~
Looking for left hand drive cars, convertible and 2 doors
Light color will do...
Please let me know is there any... smile.gif

0.0379sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:30 AM