5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Noisy upstairs neighbour in apartment..solution?

RickOoi
post Jun 9 2010, 08:48 PM

403 posts

I also face neighbor from hell! I don't know how many people lives upstairs of my condo unit but the constant slamming of doors, things dropping on the floor, kitchen and wardrobe doors slamming, etc. The noise just go on and on night and day. There was this once, they was hammering something on the wall at 2am in the morning, can you believe that? What so urgent that you need to nail it immediately? Did the sky falls down?

I thought of confronting them, but if I do that I am afraid they will retaliate with louder noises, then it will be living hell x 2.

I can't move away because I just bought this unit and has bank loan to serve (lock in period 5 years). I blame myself for not carefully 'listen' when I view this unit. I have no $$ to relocate or buy anther house.

I am a law abiding citizen. I don't create problems or noises for others. Even at home, my TV volume is always on the low side, I sleep early, I am careful and don't bang door or drop things on the floor.

I feel like banging the door back...but I keep telling myself, if I do that, the neighbor below me will suffer. It has to end with me taking this 'heat'.

I honestly don't know what to do. I talked to the management but they don't seems to be doing anything at all.

Every time they slam the door, my heart skip a beat. I literary jump up from my seat.

This world is full of crazy people and I am so unlucky to have those on top of my head.

I think sooner or later I will either go crazy or have a heart attack. Can someone please SAVE ME?

The only solution I can think of is to work hard, save $ and pay off the loan ASAP and get a landed property at somewhere remote and quiet place. Only God knows what will happen from now until then...

This post has been edited by RickOoi: Jun 9 2010, 08:50 PM
Calmman
post Jun 13 2010, 03:41 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(RickOoi @ Jun 9 2010, 08:48 PM)
I also face neighbor from hell! I don't know how many people lives upstairs of my condo unit but the constant slamming of doors, things dropping on the floor, kitchen and wardrobe doors slamming, etc. The noise just go on and on night and day.  There was this once, they was hammering something on the wall at 2am in the morning, can you believe that? What so urgent that you need to nail it immediately? Did the sky falls down?

I thought of confronting them, but if I do that I am afraid they will retaliate with louder noises, then it will be living hell x 2.

I can't move away because I just bought this unit and has bank loan to serve (lock in period 5 years). I blame myself for not carefully 'listen' when I view this unit.  I have no $$ to relocate or buy anther house.

I am a law abiding citizen. I don't create problems or noises for others. Even at home, my TV volume is always on the low side, I sleep early, I am careful and don't bang door or drop things on the floor.

I feel like banging the door back...but I keep telling myself, if I do that, the neighbor below me will suffer. It has to end with me taking this 'heat'.

I honestly don't know what to do. I talked to the management but they don't seems to be doing anything at all.

Every time they slam the door, my heart skip a beat. I literary jump up from my seat.

This world is full of crazy people and I am so unlucky to have those on top of my head.

I think sooner or later I will either go crazy or have a heart attack.  Can someone please SAVE ME?

The only solution I can think of is to work hard, save $ and pay off the loan ASAP and get a landed property at  somewhere remote and quiet place.  Only God knows what will happen from now until then...
Visit this website : www.tclmalaysia.com

This company do sound insulation with cellulose insulation might help.
leongal
post Jun 13 2010, 09:02 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

QUOTE(RickOoi @ Jun 9 2010, 08:48 PM)

I can't move away because I just bought this unit and has bank loan to serve (lock in period 5 years). I blame myself for not carefully 'listen' when I view this unit.  I have no $$ to relocate or buy anther house.

i don't think it is easy to catch them with the sound when viewing blink.gif

anyway, i have the same concern there, but recently the noise has been reduced; for me, as long as it is not wee hours, it is fine.....

bukanmain
post Jun 15 2010, 06:29 PM

I'm only 20,still learning..
1,711 posts

i face the same problem..he got 2 small kids but dont know how to control..went up TWICE still no improvement..he work at celebrity fitness as trainer big muscle body and yes didnt take my nice chat seriously..

what i did was talk to the management..cut his water supply until he control his kids..he only renting the house so i guess management take my side more..

management willing to cut and active his water supply on my demand ..great service aye?
RickOoi
post Jun 21 2010, 10:30 PM

403 posts

Thanks Calmaman, Leongal and Bukanmain.

I went upstairs and try to 'talk' to the family but they slammed their door on me. These are nasty and uncivilised people indeed.

Cellulose installation seems to work on cooling a house, doesn't seems to work to insullating noises. Moreover, I think it is expensive (sigh..$$). To be honest, I do not wish to invest further into my condo unit as I plan to relocate after the 5 years or when I saved enough $$.

I will try to talk to the management again but they seems to be helpless and oblivion to my sufferings every time I approached them. To them, I am the problem causing guy instead of upstair neighbours. Yet I clear my condo maintenance fees promptly.

Sleep deprivations and constant noises have taken a toll on my health and attention span.

Noises seem to intensified after my 'visit' to their unit. Last night, they banged their bedroom door at 3am++, not sure because of the World Cup or what. Feel like marching up to their house, bang on their door and have a huge argument with them vmad.gif But I keep telling myself surely there is a better way to resolve this than to argue with people because argument or anger just trigger negative emotions, and in the long run will, I believe, will cause heart problems, hig blood pressure or even cancer.

I moved to another room to sleep (from Master bedroom) but noises are still there. cry.gif Why did they make the walls so thin?

Another thing is that they love to drag chairs on the floor. All my chairs are fitted with those rubber sole so that it doesn't make any sounds when dragged.

I am sorry to rant here but I just don't know what to do...I would appreciate any constructive suggestions or any effective actions taken by fellow sufferers like me.
aku_ker
post Jun 21 2010, 11:59 PM

438 posts

Obviously Rick, they didnt respect you, you need to bring along someone that they afraid/respect.If you got police friend , ask to accompany you with full uniform and talk to them. Im sure they will not dare even to dropped a pin in the future.
SUSjalsrix
post Jan 25 2011, 11:39 AM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Oct 15 2008, 12:08 PM)
The management office is powerless to do anything unless the neighbors are jerk’s screaming at the top of their voice, drilling at night or set the TV/Radio volume too loud.
I am facing same problem as rick ooi, so anybody have any good practical solution ?

This post has been edited by jalsrix: Jan 25 2011, 11:40 AM
Cannabis
post Jan 25 2011, 11:45 AM

61 posts

talk to them..if no solution call police...
allanlee89
post Aug 9 2016, 11:17 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Oct 14 2008, 06:04 PM)
So ganas...  shocking.gif  icon_question.gif

People probably don't mean to sound like a herd of elephants; they just don't know it's a problem. Talk to them... nod.gif or if paiseh leave them a polite note on their door (minus red paint)  rolleyes.gif

The noise is part and parcel of living in condos and other high-rises, your ceiling is somebody's floor.

Options available:-

Aggressive Approach

1) Tell them and they keep it down...

2) Gather evidence (recordings of the noise, neighbor testimony, etc) and get the police involved. Preferable when they have a party or function it's sure to be noisy and will bolster your case (diabolical muahahahaha) Nothing like having the cops bust up a function  thumbup.gif

Pacifist Approach

3) They ignore your complains and you soundproof your ceiling... problem solved  thumbup.gif

4) You move out and buy a landed house...  sweat.gif
Even a landed terrace can face annoying problem, eg: neighbor pipe vibrating and making loud noise, to make thing worst, they tend to bath early in the morning around 5am.
peri peri
post Aug 9 2016, 02:44 PM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

QUOTE(allanlee89 @ Aug 9 2016, 11:17 AM)
Even a landed terrace can face annoying problem, eg: neighbor pipe vibrating and making loud noise, to make thing worst, they tend to bath early in the morning around 5am.
wow, im surprise to read this even you have a 250mm thick fire wall seperate apart.
allanlee89
post Aug 9 2016, 03:05 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Aug 9 2016, 02:44 PM)
wow, im surprise to read this even you have a 250mm thick fire wall seperate apart.
The water piping is hiding inside the wall, when it resonance, it will create a very loud noise.
peri peri
post Aug 9 2016, 03:07 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(allanlee89 @ Aug 9 2016, 03:05 PM)
The water piping is hiding inside the wall, when it resonance, it will create a very loud noise.
all your units come with pump? or else, u go outside , turn lower the water meter stopcock
allanlee89
post Aug 9 2016, 03:12 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Aug 9 2016, 03:07 PM)
all your units come with pump? or else, u go outside , turn lower the water meter stopcock
No. And it's not about pump issue. I suspect it's their piping/water tap valve spoil already. Really beh tahan.
peri peri
post Aug 9 2016, 03:14 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(allanlee89 @ Aug 9 2016, 03:12 PM)
No. And it's not about pump issue. I suspect it's their piping/water tap valve spoil already. Really beh tahan.
i see, try my method, turn their water meter stop cock

sometime i also behtahan mine. something wrong with my one way valve to central water heater, always emit weird sound when open tap
allanlee89
post Aug 9 2016, 04:32 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Aug 9 2016, 03:14 PM)
i see, try my method, turn their water meter stop cock

sometime i also behtahan mine. something wrong with my one way valve to central water heater, always emit weird sound when open tap
I scare later they destroy my car porch tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
Will try to talk to them and see their response 1st.
Actually this thing quite common in old house, my other side neighbor also faced this piping noise in the past, he just changed the water tap and voila!
peri peri
post Aug 9 2016, 04:34 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(allanlee89 @ Aug 9 2016, 04:32 PM)
I scare later they destroy my car porch tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Will try to talk to them and see their response 1st.
Actually this thing quite common in old house, my other side neighbor also faced this piping noise in the past, he just changed the water tap and voila!
but water pressure to high also can caused vibration. changing tap because there are sediment trap in faucet. yeah, better check with him. neighbour can be very nasty biggrin.gif
allanlee89
post Aug 10 2016, 08:13 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Aug 9 2016, 04:34 PM)
but water pressure to high also can caused vibration. changing tap because there are sediment trap in faucet. yeah, better check with him. neighbour can be very nasty  biggrin.gif
I see. The sound is coming from their masterbed bathroom, which the water comes from the water tank hiding inside house ceiling, plus the noise just happen recently, rough guess is their piping/valve degraded ady.
peri peri
post Aug 10 2016, 08:23 AM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(allanlee89 @ Aug 10 2016, 08:13 AM)
I see. The sound is coming from their masterbed bathroom, which the water comes from the water tank hiding inside house ceiling, plus the noise just happen recently, rough guess is their piping/valve degraded ady.
not sure, like my brother, my brother to a by pass the water tank directly to all bath room for better pressure.

mostly landed will do by pass like this since many installing own central main filter

it is stupid for syabas only allow direct main to kitchen tap and garden tap only.
ahkit123
post Aug 10 2016, 09:29 AM

2,559 posts

QUOTE(allanlee89 @ Aug 9 2016, 12:17 PM)
Ya, my landed neighbor install a noisy water pump on the roof... Early morning already pumping
allanlee89
post Aug 10 2016, 09:44 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Aug 10 2016, 08:23 AM)
not sure, like my brother, my brother to a by pass the water tank directly to all bath room for better pressure.

mostly landed will do by pass like this since many installing own central main filter

it is stupid for syabas only allow direct main to kitchen tap and garden tap only.
I thought water that direct go up to upper floor will have weaker pressure compare to those flow down from water tank...
Perhaps i will do bypass in the future when the water tank dirty level is unbearable, right now still ok tongue.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0310sec    2.10    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:22 PM