Noisy upstairs neighbour in apartment..solution?

allanlee89
post Aug 9 2016, 11:17 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Oct 14 2008, 06:04 PM)
So ganas...  shocking.gif  icon_question.gif

People probably don't mean to sound like a herd of elephants; they just don't know it's a problem. Talk to them... nod.gif or if paiseh leave them a polite note on their door (minus red paint)  rolleyes.gif

The noise is part and parcel of living in condos and other high-rises, your ceiling is somebody's floor.

Options available:-

Aggressive Approach

1) Tell them and they keep it down...

2) Gather evidence (recordings of the noise, neighbor testimony, etc) and get the police involved. Preferable when they have a party or function it's sure to be noisy and will bolster your case (diabolical muahahahaha) Nothing like having the cops bust up a function  thumbup.gif

Pacifist Approach

3) They ignore your complains and you soundproof your ceiling... problem solved  thumbup.gif

4) You move out and buy a landed house...  sweat.gif
Even a landed terrace can face annoying problem, eg: neighbor pipe vibrating and making loud noise, to make thing worst, they tend to bath early in the morning around 5am.
allanlee89
post Aug 9 2016, 03:05 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Aug 9 2016, 02:44 PM)
wow, im surprise to read this even you have a 250mm thick fire wall seperate apart.
The water piping is hiding inside the wall, when it resonance, it will create a very loud noise.
allanlee89
post Aug 9 2016, 03:12 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Aug 9 2016, 03:07 PM)
all your units come with pump? or else, u go outside , turn lower the water meter stopcock
No. And it's not about pump issue. I suspect it's their piping/water tap valve spoil already. Really beh tahan.
allanlee89
post Aug 9 2016, 04:32 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Aug 9 2016, 03:14 PM)
i see, try my method, turn their water meter stop cock

sometime i also behtahan mine. something wrong with my one way valve to central water heater, always emit weird sound when open tap
I scare later they destroy my car porch tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
Will try to talk to them and see their response 1st.
Actually this thing quite common in old house, my other side neighbor also faced this piping noise in the past, he just changed the water tap and voila!
allanlee89
post Aug 10 2016, 08:13 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Aug 9 2016, 04:34 PM)
but water pressure to high also can caused vibration. changing tap because there are sediment trap in faucet. yeah, better check with him. neighbour can be very nasty  biggrin.gif
I see. The sound is coming from their masterbed bathroom, which the water comes from the water tank hiding inside house ceiling, plus the noise just happen recently, rough guess is their piping/valve degraded ady.
allanlee89
post Aug 10 2016, 09:44 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Aug 10 2016, 08:23 AM)
not sure, like my brother, my brother to a by pass the water tank directly to all bath room for better pressure.

mostly landed will do by pass like this since many installing own central main filter

it is stupid for syabas only allow direct main to kitchen tap and garden tap only.
I thought water that direct go up to upper floor will have weaker pressure compare to those flow down from water tank...
Perhaps i will do bypass in the future when the water tank dirty level is unbearable, right now still ok tongue.gif
allanlee89
post Aug 10 2016, 09:46 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(ahkit123 @ Aug 10 2016, 09:29 AM)
Ya, my landed neighbor install a noisy water pump on the roof... Early morning already pumping
I guess u live in Selangor? I heard water pressure in this state not that good.

0.2922sec    1.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:56 AM