18 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 >Bottom

Runnerz... #2

ccube
post Jul 5 2009, 11:26 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Jul 4 2009, 11:49 PM)
This is my footprint, which type of running shoe suitable for me?
http://img248.imageshack.us/img248/9916/p0407090000.jpg
a normal feet to me. so a neutral cushioning shoe will be OK. u can still choose a shoe with mild stability medial support if you are doing longer distance like 25k and above. this is just to ensure there is stability support to stabilize ur landing in case ur feet bend inwards as u tired out during a longer run. otherwise as i said, a neutral cushion shoe will work fine for u.
ccube
post Jul 6 2009, 01:23 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(SpaceBeast @ Jul 6 2009, 12:45 PM)
I guess ill do a few miles of walk before actually running in it, thx for the tips, hopes it works out well, otherwise ill have to sell it hmm.gif or probrably trade it... is it possible to get a refund from asics if it doesnt work out well for your feet?
shoes are not refundable in MY unlike in USA where u can send the shoe back if u r not satisfied with it. in MY, consumers had not rights to return, too bad.
ccube
post Jul 6 2009, 09:20 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(blackstripes @ Jul 6 2009, 09:17 PM)
can i actually take a photo of my wet feet on a newspaper and show you guys so you guys can actually recommend a couple of shoes for me? like what an earlier member did
yes go ahead and do it, then post it here.
ccube
post Jul 7 2009, 03:50 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Jul 7 2009, 03:38 PM)
Honestly Newton's running techinique just another marketing ploy..in the end it what you want and what you can afford, Newton's has a slightly elevated base on the forefoot that helps forefoot strike but yes you have to pay for it...personally I've tried it and nearly got it but thought better keep the money to get a Garmin,

Which brings me to the Garmins...heard lots of bad reviews about Garmin 405 compared to 305 where the bezel has some touch sensetivity issue's..Digital Mall in PJ quoted me ard 1.7k without HRM and 1.2k for 305 without HRM, probably get it in Sim Lim Sq this year end i was quote RM 1.4 without the HRM monitor

btw Metalfreak saw your new Nike's in the Fatso thread..hows it?? brows.gif
if u decided 2 buy a NEWTON, let me know. Am selling it now.

As for Garmin, just buy the 305. i do hear runners experience those problems u mentioned in 405. i personally uses a 205 for the last 1.5 years, perfectly OK.
ccube
post Jul 7 2009, 06:51 PM

1,074 posts

i used to wear shorts and run for donkey years. abt 3 years ago i switch to tights. i felt that it absorb sweat better and dont soak my shoe too early in a race. i will probably be trying out 2XU compression knee length tights once i get hold of it.

Shah, depending on wat tights u looking for and some of ur Q were being answered. Compression tights are totally different from normal ones (and for obvious reasons cost more). They are supposed to increase proper blood circulation during runs and hence reduce the build up of lactic acid which can results in cramps.

ccube
post Jul 7 2009, 07:50 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(blackstripes @ Jul 7 2009, 07:36 PM)
sorry, repost, my question wasn't answered smile.gif
ur left foot is normal but ur right one is almost flat footed. to be on the save side, choose a neutral cushioning shoe with mild to moderate medial support. As for the size of the shoe, its not necessary to get one size larger (except that if u really like to wear very thick socks). Just make sure u have one thumb space at the toebox and then your index finger can slot into the back of shoe w/o forcing it in (when u push ur feet all to the front)

most brands have such model which i mentioned. if u r looking at Saucony, then i will recommend the Omni 7. selling at RM275 (after 40% discount)
ccube
post Jul 7 2009, 09:40 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ Jul 7 2009, 08:33 PM)
I have never tried tights...I am using one UA compression short (as base layer). It's a good feel and hold your muscles/fats firmly to reduce unnecessarily movement, making the run more efficient and steady......
wah u used Under Armour, Kheng wor rclxms.gif where u bought it??
ccube
post Jul 7 2009, 10:44 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(chgchksg128 @ Jul 7 2009, 10:10 PM)
Ccube, what model of Saucony u will recommend to me?
How about Newton?
based on the pix i told u, u hv normal neutral feet right? if not mistaken i recommend Jazz 12 to you for a start. selling at RM230 after 40% discount.

as for Newton, it will be the neutral trainer which is RM645. If u r really interested i can give u some discount. Its a premium for this shoe as its a shoe design for forefoot runner as well as help u change to be a forefoot runner. based on theory, running forefoot is more efficient than a heel striker.

For me, I noticed that when I run slower in my long runs, i am a heel striker. But when i do speed work or do a fast 10k or 21k, i tends to become a forefoot runner. so Newton will be extremely efficient when one wants to run fast in a race.
ccube
post Jul 8 2009, 09:03 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(blackstripes @ Jul 8 2009, 01:20 AM)
hey ccube i went to your website, I couldn't find the omni7 you mentioned.

jazz12 looks pretty decent, but is there different model perhaps? somewhere along the price range..

i want to weigh some options if its not too much trouble.

the Jazz12 is ok too if u dont over-pronate too much. i recommend Omni 7 was bcos, ur right foot was a bit of flat footed. this is to compensate it in case u overpronates. The next option will be the Triumph 5 (RM300) - neutral cushioning or the Hurricane 10 (RM320) cushion + stability.

Omni 7
http://www.zappos.com/n/p/p/7415932/c/744.html
ccube
post Jul 8 2009, 03:07 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(hanjo55 @ Jul 8 2009, 12:32 PM)
Guys,

Know where I can get a number belt? I've checked with ccube. Just need to know if it is available in retail elsewhere in case I got disconnected with ccube. Need to purchase one by Friday.
i send over to your ofc this friday. the price is RM42
ccube
post Jul 8 2009, 04:49 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(hanjo55 @ Jul 8 2009, 04:02 PM)
Roger! I'll wait
wat time is good for u, i am going to KLCC ard noon tmrw, maybe u can wait outside Wisma MCA, no need park car
ccube
post Jul 9 2009, 10:04 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(blackstripes @ Jul 8 2009, 10:06 PM)
hey ccube do you have a shop or something that I can visit?
my shop is under renovation now. we cann meet at a specific location like Lake Gdns on a Sat mornign after my run from 0830 - 0930. U can test try the shoe there.
ccube
post Jul 9 2009, 11:29 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Jul 9 2009, 11:27 AM)
Well... I'm still considering all options. The Mizuno Tempo LD is for long distance track runs (hence the "LD"). There are cheaper ones of course, I went to GS Gill on Saturday, there was this Line 7 spikes for RM69.90 !

My other option is to buy another road racer, I have the Mizuno Wave Aero currently. I was considering buying the Wave Ronin. I can't find the Wave Universe (at 100g/pair, proly the lightest road racer in the market today). New Balance have got a really light racer I saw in their store @ Gardens, not too expensive too. Haih...  hmm.gif

Training ? Hahah.. I've been running as usual la, after the SCKLM. Did hillsprints, tempo, etc. Next week it's gonna be the Siemens Run. My first back-to-back race this year.

As for the competitors, I've been told there's one established runner who used to run for BSN (which is also under my ministry). So I guess he's gonna be the favorite, unless I can suddenly run a sub-5:00/km pace. My goal would be to break the hour. That first, anything more will be a bonus.
chk out the Saucony Type A2 or Fastwitch 3 if RM260 is within ur budget.
ccube
post Jul 9 2009, 03:39 PM

1,074 posts

[quote=tenno,Jul 9 2009, 01:09 PM]
How different Type A2 is from Type A3 ? & what color is the Type A2 ?

based on review Type A3 had better cushioning, and able to take on a marathon for heavier runners. its not available here as yet, so i am still selling the A2 which is RED in color. My recommendation is A2 is best for short races and max is a 21k. Its is pretty flat and have very little cushioning.
ccube
post Jul 9 2009, 06:47 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Jul 9 2009, 06:05 PM)
I really have never concentrated on that, but i swing my shoulder moderately...cant see myself running with flailing arms though
most long distance runners dont swing their shoulder too much, unlike a walker. Moderately like wat triple02 said is pretty common.

Added on July 9, 2009, 6:47 pmanyone u know wanna sell SIEMENS bib, pls let me know.

This post has been edited by ccube: Jul 9 2009, 06:47 PM
ccube
post Jul 9 2009, 10:37 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(maniac_rage @ Jul 9 2009, 10:04 PM)
When is the nearest running event? Interested to join.

I just developed some interest in running. I usually run in Kiara Park, but I dont know how to gauge my performance since I dont know the distance of the track. I just run for the fun of it.  biggrin.gif
chk here
http://pmone.multiply.com/calendar/2009/7/9

i think the next 3 Sunday races in July are either fully registered or registration closed liao.
ccube
post Jul 10 2009, 10:03 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(asmlbk3 @ Jul 10 2009, 10:01 AM)
me cannot run shape 25/7 and giving away bib...anybody interested pm me
men or women cat?
ccube
post Jul 10 2009, 10:41 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jul 10 2009, 10:08 AM)
@ccube
ur newton hv women uk 4.5 / 5? smile.gif
yah i hv one US6 = UK5 Cushion Trainer

Added on July 10, 2009, 10:41 am
QUOTE(asmlbk3 @ Jul 10 2009, 10:08 AM)
men jr. vet
i will take it, izit FOC?

EDIT: and how can i pick up from u.

This post has been edited by ccube: Jul 10 2009, 11:33 AM
ccube
post Jul 10 2009, 12:33 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(bubb13s @ Jul 10 2009, 11:43 AM)
need to find new places to run...other wise running the same place all the time and round and round...is so boring.
the treadmill is the most boring ever. but i guess its another alternative lo.
there are some good places to run. Near ur ofc u can goto Tmn. Bkt Jalil. if ard TTDI, can run at lembah kiara, either at the park or goto the forest reserve (but very hilly). over at Kepong will be Tmn Metropolitan (a 3.3k loop) will up and down terrain. if u like some trail + road running then heads towards FRIM.
ccube
post Jul 10 2009, 02:08 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(rukawa @ Jul 10 2009, 02:06 PM)
Hmm.. I am lookin for shape men open bib...
u can buy it from asmlbk3. its Jr vet category one. read his posting on top

18 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 >Top

0.0459sec    1.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:40 PM