5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Bad things happen to unlicensed Windows users, Study by Microsoft

TechnoDude94
post Oct 8 2008, 09:57 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

C'mon guys, what is this? All the flaming and such. icon_rolleyes.gif I was using pirated disc because I lost my original disc but genuine serial number. Currently don't use so much of Windows, more on Mac. icon_rolleyes.gif
macpolian
post Oct 8 2008, 10:01 PM

sigh....
unknownsubject
post Oct 9 2008, 04:31 AM

form blazing sword...
895 posts

pure bs..

im also using a *ahem* copy of windows.
for 3+ years i have not formated my os, only updates on the latest service pack.like sp3.
it's not the windows which causes errors...ITS THE USER of the windows.
i work in the IT line so i KNOW how to maintain my windows.

nimrod2
post Oct 9 2008, 10:24 AM

the imba one
2,521 posts

i think he's just trying to say that using pirated software is illegal lor.
how oso, if get caught will kena wan.

no big deal.
TechnoDude94
post Oct 9 2008, 10:40 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(macpolian @ Oct 8 2008, 10:01 PM)
sigh....
And the reason of this post is? shocking.gif
crapp0
post Oct 9 2008, 05:41 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(unknownsubject @ Oct 9 2008, 04:31 AM)
pure bs..

im also using a *ahem* copy of windows.
for 3+ years i have not formated my os, only updates on the latest service pack.like sp3.
it's not the windows which causes errors...ITS THE USER of the windows.
i work in the IT line so i KNOW how to maintain my windows.
Rather shameful to the profession that you still have to use pirated software to do your work or even study.

If your in the IT line, if you dont want 2 pay for windows. Then why dont go open source since your more then cheap enough 2 use pirated software.
nimrod2
post Oct 9 2008, 05:43 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Oct 9 2008, 10:40 AM)
And the reason of this post is? shocking.gif
to add post count. doh.gif

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Oct 9 2008, 05:41 PM)
Rather shameful to the profession that you still have to use pirated software to do your work or even study.

If your in the IT line, if you dont want 2 pay for windows. Then why dont go open source since your more then cheap enough 2 use pirated software.
pwn'd, and kinda true. sorry ah whistling.gif
crapp0
post Oct 9 2008, 05:50 PM

4,414 posts

There are so many open source OS out there, any capable IT person would at least have tried out some of it b4 resorting to pirated goods.

Even big firms are going open source such as google and even notebook manufacturers like asus and dell which have ubuntu linux os in it instead of always offering the standard windows OS coz.

Yunan546
post Oct 13 2008, 08:09 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(jihchuan @ Oct 6 2008, 03:28 AM)
I hv my xp oem but crashed for som program frequently oso..does oem diff frm buy one?
From what i heard OEM comes with the pc, no packing, no cd, only serial no. Buy one (retail), got box and cd, inside software same thing, much more expensive, not much different for users (software wise). If you intend to format your pc yourself go for retail, OEM only have cd key, normally they don't give you the CD (correct me if i'm wrong)
FarCry3r
post Oct 13 2008, 10:40 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Yunan546 @ Oct 13 2008, 08:09 PM)
From what i heard OEM comes with the pc, no packing, no cd, only serial no. Buy one (retail), got box and cd, inside software same thing, much more expensive,  not much different for users (software wise). If you intend to format your pc yourself go for retail, OEM only have cd key, normally they don't give you the  CD (correct me if i'm wrong)
you're not quite right. Usually OEM branded PC gives out a "recovery" disc so you can reformat your PC, the difference is you cannot transfer your OEM license to another PC. It's for PC you bought it with...
Yunan546
post Oct 15 2008, 01:10 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Oct 13 2008, 10:40 PM)
you're not quite right. Usually OEM branded PC gives out a "recovery" disc so you can reformat your PC, the difference is you cannot transfer your OEM license to another PC. It's for PC you bought it with...
so OEM is just for a single pc....what if i want to use it on other pc?
TechnoDude94
post Oct 15 2008, 04:55 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Oct 13 2008, 10:40 PM)
I've heard of people calling Microsoft telling them that they changed HDD and their allowed to activate/validate their Windows.

QUOTE(Yunan546 @ Oct 15 2008, 01:10 PM)
so OEM is just for a single pc....what if i want to use it on other pc?
You can't.
FarCry3r
post Oct 15 2008, 05:46 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Oct 15 2008, 04:55 PM)
I've heard of people calling Microsoft telling them that they changed HDD and their allowed to activate/validate their Windows.
can be done, but that's not ethically legal...
Yunan546
post Oct 15 2008, 05:47 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Oct 15 2008, 04:55 PM)
You can't.
what about retail?can i switch to other cpu with this?what if i want to use this on different computers at the same time, if not, does Microsoft provide different versions for this purpose? (always wanted to know)
FarCry3r
post Oct 15 2008, 05:51 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Yunan546 @ Oct 15 2008, 05:47 PM)
what about retail?can i switch to other cpu with this?what if i want to use this on different computers at the same time, if not, does Microsoft provide different versions for this purpose? (always wanted to know)
you can move the license to other PC if needed and can call Microsoft if you have reactivation issue(s). You cannot use it on more than one PC, if you still want to use it on more than one PC, you're required to buy an additional license, unless your license is VL (volume license) typically used in corporate environment...
Yunan546
post Oct 15 2008, 06:08 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Oct 15 2008, 05:51 PM)
you can move the license to other PC if needed and can call Microsoft if you have reactivation issue(s). You cannot use it on more than one PC, if you still want to use it on more than one PC, you're required to buy an additional license, unless your license is VL (volume license) typically used in corporate environment...
thanks for the info biggrin.gif
bsmohd
post Oct 15 2008, 06:19 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Oct 8 2008, 02:27 PM)
wrong - with pirated software - you won't be able to update your system and receive support.
yes, the system flawed, but Microsoft delivers patches and updates to genuine Windows users only.

even other operating systems have flaws doh.gif
i'm using pirated software, and still i can update to service pack 3.. it's just that u dont need to install wga when it ask u to. But once u install WGA, that's it, you no longer able to install updates / patches on ur pc. Basically we can still receive and install update, but have to make sure we dont install wga.
xcen
post Oct 15 2008, 07:57 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(bsmohd @ Oct 15 2008, 06:19 PM)
i'm using pirated software, and still i can update to service pack 3.. it's just that u dont need to install wga when it ask u to. But once u install WGA, that's it, you no longer able to install updates / patches on ur pc. Basically we can still receive and install update, but have to make sure we dont install wga.
If you know what to do, WGA can be anywhere on your computer and it still wont detect it is pirated.
arzz
post Oct 16 2008, 04:17 PM

92 posts

Ori is the best , i using two windows for my computer
1)xp professional
2)vista home basic
arzz
post Oct 16 2008, 04:19 PM

92 posts

i using two windows for my comp.