5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Bad things happen to unlicensed Windows users, Study by Microsoft

TSzer0hour
post Oct 6 2008, 01:22 AM, updated 18y ago

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

Microsoft claims that companies that rely on unlicensed copies of Windows are more likely to experience system failures and lose customer data:
From the article:

"..43% more likely to have had a critical system failure lasting more then 24 hours,
28% more likely to lose customer data and
73% more likely to lose their own data."

http://www.pcworld.com/businesscenter/arti...dows_users.html

Shah_15
post Oct 6 2008, 01:25 AM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

SO this is the way microsoft threathen us to use their ori software?
TSzer0hour
post Oct 6 2008, 01:26 AM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

Haha yeah I guess so. The study was commissioned by them, so take the findings with a grain of salt..
s@ni
post Oct 6 2008, 01:40 AM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,843 posts

to those company,just move on to open source software.there's plenty of free software.

tongue.gif

pengiranijam
post Oct 6 2008, 02:12 AM

1,568 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Oct 6 2008, 02:25 AM)
SO this is the way microsoft threathen us to use their ori software?
I don't think so...
Using ORI is the safest way to avoid more losses, not just being get virusus, but your business profitable from it... blush.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post Oct 6 2008, 02:15 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(zer0hour @ Oct 6 2008, 01:22 AM)
Microsoft claims that companies that rely on unlicensed copies of Windows are more likely to experience system failures and lose customer data:
From the article:

"..43% more likely to have had a critical system failure lasting more then 24 hours,

It does makes sense, coz Ori users gets to call and use their technical support when problem happens...
aspire2oo6
post Oct 6 2008, 02:22 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

they claim to cover their a**. Got such thing just because of a cd key your computer crashes.
TSzer0hour
post Oct 6 2008, 02:23 AM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Oct 6 2008, 02:15 AM)
It does makes sense, coz Ori users gets to call and use their technical support when problem happens...
Yup, and they get program updates too. Aspire - sure lor, that's prolly one reason they comissioned the study =p

This post has been edited by zer0hour: Oct 6 2008, 02:24 AM
Aria_Sacho
post Oct 6 2008, 02:46 AM

41 posts

wooo... lucky i get my xp and vista for free XD
jihchuan
post Oct 6 2008, 03:28 AM

:)
528 posts

I hv my xp oem but crashed for som program frequently oso..does oem diff frm buy one?
memkingdom
post Oct 6 2008, 03:49 AM

529 posts

just a trick !
aLWAYStHEsAME
post Oct 6 2008, 06:17 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(jihchuan @ Oct 6 2008, 03:28 AM)
I hv my xp oem but crashed for som program frequently oso..does oem diff frm buy one?
I dont think got different, it's still the same, just different customer support only, any problem you must refer to the oem manufacturer if im not mistaken
navilink
post Oct 6 2008, 08:03 AM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

man talking bad about their own products... the facts applied to their windows WITHOUT the update laugh.gif
zx7177
post Oct 6 2008, 06:23 PM

@mp.ZX
2,851 posts

solution , get windows with a super l337 crack to update laugh.gif
ronho
post Oct 6 2008, 10:09 PM

1,356 posts

hey bros...if company one better not use ahem windows...ori not so expensive...can also deduct from expenses-- no ??
TSzer0hour
post Oct 6 2008, 11:31 PM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

Well it's not advisable to use non-original Windows for companies. Microsoft tolerates personal pirated use, but a company doing it is asking to get sued..
ChayimT
post Oct 7 2008, 07:17 AM

90 posts

Yes, don't use pirate stuff in businesses.

We do not know if the research indicates that companies that do not use Windows at all, experience even lower rates of system failures and data loss.
TechnoDude94
post Oct 7 2008, 09:22 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(zer0hour @ Oct 6 2008, 01:22 AM)
From the article:

I have to admit, I've used pirated Windows XP but have never encountered any problems listed. Currently dual-booting XP Professional SP3 and Vista Home Premium SP1 (OEM). Worth the money rather than having the crack/hack WGA. I know there are things to do it for you (don't have to tell me, no software if perfect).
haya
post Oct 7 2008, 12:01 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Toyota and Honda claims that using China-knockoff replacement parts for their cars will reduce its life and increase the chance if you getting into an accident.

Take a look at the nearest car scrapyard and have a look closely at the twisted metal.

My point is, even if it increases the chance of you getting viruses, going bankrupt, contracting STD, having a marriage breakdown, people will still try to circumvent the whole thing and stick to a pirated copy.
FarCry3r
post Oct 7 2008, 05:53 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Oct 7 2008, 09:22 AM)
I have to admit, I've used pirated Windows XP but have never encountered any problems listed. Currently dual-booting XP Professional SP3 and Vista Home Premium SP1 (OEM). Worth the money rather than having the crack/hack WGA. I know there are things to do it for you (don't have to tell me, no software if perfect).
me too in the past. I've been using pirated Windows XP since the first gold release back in 2001. No virus whatsoever, I repeat, NO VIRUS WHATSOEVER, it just gimmick. And believe or not, I even called Microsoft support to ask about my pirated Windows problem, and they just help me, no question asked. whistling.gif But using original is worth the time and money since you didn't need to apply some 1337 crack everytime WGA updates, also the packaging and media is so nice, so, get original thumbup.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0198sec    1.06    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:38 PM