Bad things happen to unlicensed Windows users, Study by Microsoft

atomica
post Oct 16 2008, 08:10 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(Yunan546 @ Oct 15 2008, 01:10 PM)
so OEM is just for a single pc....what if i want to use it on other pc?
OEM version won't allow you to do that because the activation will fail.

anyway, even with the retail edition, you are only supposed to use Vista on one PC at any one time. the difference here is that you can uninstall it from one machine and install it in another.
beyond_99
post Oct 16 2008, 08:34 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(unknownsubject @ Oct 9 2008, 04:31 AM)
pure bs..

im also using a *ahem* copy of windows.
for 3+ years i have not formated my os, only updates on the latest service pack.like sp3.
it's not the windows which causes errors...ITS THE USER of the windows.
i work in the IT line so i KNOW how to maintain my windows.
Share ur ways on how to maintain windows since u said it is users' problem.
U work min IT line ,yet u use pirated Windows....
Why don u select open source software?

QUOTE(atomica @ Oct 16 2008, 08:10 PM)
OEM version won't allow you to do that because the activation will fail.

anyway, even with the retail edition, you are only supposed to use Vista on one PC at any one time. the difference here is that you can uninstall it from one machine and install it in another.
Retail version does not need activation?

FarCry3r
post Oct 16 2008, 08:36 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(beyond_99 @ Oct 16 2008, 08:34 PM)
Retail version does not need activation?
daa... it still need activation, but the license can transferred to another machine... doh.gif
beyond_99
post Oct 16 2008, 08:40 PM

1,035 posts

Wat is the Windows called which is preinstalled in laptop n run recovery tool to reformat?
That one does require activation, right?
Can I install(transfer) the Windows to another com?
TechnoDude94
post Oct 16 2008, 08:47 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(beyond_99 @ Oct 16 2008, 08:40 PM)
Wat is the Windows called which is preinstalled in laptop n run recovery tool to reformat?
That one does require activation, right?
Can I install(transfer) the Windows to another com?
That's called OEM. NO it CAN'T BE TRANSFERRED to another computer.
beyond_99
post Oct 16 2008, 08:59 PM

1,035 posts

U mean that i canot transfer or not suppose to transfer even my previous pc break down?
TechnoDude94
post Oct 16 2008, 09:21 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(beyond_99 @ Oct 16 2008, 08:59 PM)
U mean that i canot transfer or not suppose to transfer even my previous pc break down?
YES, that is what I mean. You can't transfer the license to a new computer, example, new motherboard. If you'd really have to transfer the license, you can call Microsoft and tell make some crap up so that they'll allow you to activate it. Sometimes they let you activate and sometimes they don't. So please buy OEM and activate it a few times on a few different computers @ your own risk.
atomica
post Oct 16 2008, 10:37 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Oct 16 2008, 09:21 PM)
YES, that is what I mean. You can't transfer the license to a new computer, example, new motherboard. If you'd really have to transfer the license, you can call Microsoft and tell make some crap up so that they'll allow you to activate it. Sometimes they let you activate and sometimes they don't. So please buy OEM and activate it a few times on a few different computers @ your own risk.
having said that it will tolerate minor upgrades, such as changing graphics card, adding hard drives, adding ram, etc.

but i believe it will never allow you to change the mobo.
TechnoDude94
post Oct 16 2008, 10:44 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(atomica @ Oct 16 2008, 10:37 PM)
having said that it will tolerate minor upgrades, such as changing graphics card, adding hard drives, adding ram, etc.

but i believe it will never allow you to change the mobo.
I've been forumming here in LYN Forum for about 2 years and I've heard of reported cases that people who changed their motherboards were able to reactivate. Not allowed everytime though.
FarCry3r
post Oct 17 2008, 12:20 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Oct 16 2008, 10:44 PM)
I've been forumming here in LYN Forum for about 2 years and I've heard of reported cases that people who changed their motherboards were able to reactivate. Not allowed everytime though.
same brand of mobo perhaps? with only addition to extra RAM slots, USB etc etc?
atomica
post Oct 17 2008, 12:28 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Oct 16 2008, 10:44 PM)
interesting. have not been so lucky cause every time i change mobo, vista would fail the activation.

i have to call up to do phone activation to get it working again.
beyond_99
post Oct 17 2008, 06:53 AM

1,035 posts

So, u can activate ur Vista?
U call microsoft n tell them?
They give new serial or somethngelse?
TechnoDude94
post Oct 17 2008, 06:23 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Oct 17 2008, 12:20 AM)
same brand of mobo perhaps? with only addition to extra RAM slots, USB etc etc?
Sorry but don't really understand what you mean. blush.gif

QUOTE(atomica @ Oct 17 2008, 12:28 AM)
interesting. have not been so lucky cause every time i change mobo, vista would fail the activation.

i have to call up to do phone activation to get it working again.
Dude, read the previous posts. doh.gif Not asking you to read all the previous pages. That's the issue that we've been stressing on. shakehead.gif

QUOTE(beyond_99 @ Oct 17 2008, 06:53 AM)
So, u can activate ur Vista?
U call microsoft n tell them?
They give new serial or somethngelse?
They'll allow you to reactivate but sometimes not. You understand?
beyond_99
post Oct 17 2008, 06:43 PM

1,035 posts

Yea, I get it.
Thanks for all of your explanation.
TechnoDude94
post Oct 17 2008, 07:00 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(beyond_99 @ Oct 17 2008, 06:43 PM)
Yea, I get it.
Thanks for all of your explanation.
No problem man, that what LYN Forum is for.
narien
post Oct 18 2008, 01:11 PM

115 posts

i'm wondering those who take pride in using ori windows, do they also listen to mp3 from legitimate source, watching ori dvd's, pay their taxes, quit rent, assessment fee, give money to their parents??
atomica
post Oct 18 2008, 02:48 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(narien @ Oct 18 2008, 01:11 PM)
i'm wondering those who take pride in using ori windows, do they also listen to mp3 from legitimate source, watching ori dvd's, pay their taxes, quit rent, assessment fee, give money to their parents??
wow. loaded question :-)
crapp0
post Oct 18 2008, 08:33 PM

4,414 posts

There are. Then they are those prefer pirated stuff coz they dont need to goto the pain of purchasing something which they need but just dont want 2 pay for it or have a cheaper or free alternative but still choose the pirated goods since they are stubborn enough to not wanting to learn how to use the free software and complain about why the free software isnt like the pirated software which they are so used to.

I used to do that but now i either go open source or i buy my CD's or just listen to music online through last.fm since i'm connected to the net constantly. There are ways to beat the pirated addcition, the only thing is whether you want 2 and if you are willing to for go the luxury of pirated goods.

Nearly everything i used is either freeware or open source from openoffice to 7zip to thunderbird and firefox. Photo editing i use gimp which is also open source.

If you want non pirated platform, go for fedora, ubuntu or red hat OS since most of the apps for those OS are either freeware/open source. The future of computing is open source as google as demo quite extensively with their apps.

As for watching US tv shows, i just goto the their own website which provide free viewing like NBC's heroes.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Oct 18 2008, 08:39 PM
TechnoDude94
post Oct 18 2008, 08:38 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

You should ask them yourself and I doubt they'll answer you but I think that you'll get flamed.

QUOTE(atomica @ Oct 18 2008, 02:48 PM)
wow. loaded question :-)
Point of this post is pointless. doh.gif
kyoshilang
post Oct 19 2008, 01:34 AM

54 posts

i dont mind using ori if its not so cekik darah lor

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top