125 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V7<<,, The Journey Continues Here!

dlwl
post Nov 8 2008, 11:26 PM

4,789 posts

zzz...feel lost here now that it's becoming a ram discussion. dunno much about timing and stuff like that. anyway, cod5 is out..any chance of P4 running it? from what i read minimum requirement for GC is 6600GT.
fylon
post Nov 8 2008, 11:53 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Haha.. Whats wrong wit the topic dlwl? Dont know whats going on? Now the time to learn. laugh.gif Ram timing makes diff in benchies.. brows.gif So i wanna squeeze few more pts on ur benchies, u gotta play around with it.

P/s: Argh... Never play COD series before. FPS game?
dlwl
post Nov 9 2008, 12:01 AM

4,789 posts

yeah. din read much in this thread this 2 weeks coz of exams. now see, so much technical ram stuff. laugh.giflaugh.gif
it's call of duty series. WWII based FPS. only the cod4 has been modern background. now 5th one is back to old world war days. definately one of the best WWII fps around. smile.gif
fylon
post Nov 9 2008, 12:21 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Lol.. That what this thread should talk about actually. Hahah.. laugh.gif 6600GT the minimum for that game? Should be alright for P4 to handle the game thou.
Jcsy
post Nov 9 2008, 02:57 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

lol im at about 1.2gb constant on any normal day usage

rest of the RAM is for games, and so far COH uses about 2GB from my experience and choked out of RAM! lol

COD1234 all so far always had a great engine
their graphics is great with really good rendering which doesnt require a hell load out of your CPU

back in COD1, i remember my lousy 9200SE graphics card was able to take it and at that time, normal CounterStrike1.6 had problems =.=

TSraymond5105
post Nov 9 2008, 12:59 PM

5,341 posts

COD 4 i payed but ATI 9550 is not SM3.0 supported. doh.gif Unplayable for my case.
NtahX
post Nov 9 2008, 01:00 PM

94 posts

6600GT minimum...so i can play with minimum config yeah biggrin.gif

tried COD4 last time fuhhh... sweat.gif the GC is ok but the CPU thread is bottleneck..
TSraymond5105
post Nov 9 2008, 02:48 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(NtahX @ Nov 9 2008, 01:00 PM)
6600GT minimum...so i can play with minimum config yeah biggrin.gif

tried COD4 last time fuhhh... sweat.gif the GC is ok but the CPU thread is bottleneck..
Which model of cpu are you using?
NtahX
post Nov 9 2008, 06:35 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Nov 9 2008, 02:48 PM)
Which model of cpu are you using?
The only 1 i got 3.2GHz northwood biggrin.gif
TSraymond5105
post Nov 9 2008, 06:38 PM

5,341 posts

Why not try to clock the CPU a bit?I think GPU demand is more crucial for this game.Your GPU is 6600GT ?
NtahX
post Nov 9 2008, 07:08 PM

94 posts

yerp.. but i don't want to harm this baby hehehe... all running at stock.. even though it can be oc-able biggrin.gif

as long as it could be run & i already finish the game is good already...
dlwl
post Nov 9 2008, 07:43 PM

4,789 posts

i think 3.2GHz should be ok already. yeah, as raymond said, the gpu plays a bigger part in the game.
edministrator
post Nov 9 2008, 08:11 PM

1,940 posts

hi guyz, long time no drop in and leave a post.

I've jumped onto the vista platform on my s478. so far so smooth. drivers support is getting better for vista also. one thing i noticed compared to xp is, multitasking is smoother and applications seems to load faster. Superfetch is a great feature utilising our RAM.

As u guys know, I do lots of photoshop stuff, loading big chunks of files that sucks system resources. Using Photoshop CS4 combined with vista, it's buttery smooth, due to the use of 3D graphics accelerator and pushing data onto system RAM and VGA RAM. No more lagging zooming in and out, applying layers! Wonderful!

Ran Red Alert 3 on default medium settings, no lags also after several missions, looks good for now. Will report in when I get to use Vista on my rig for a few more days. Cheers...

This post has been edited by edministrator: Nov 9 2008, 08:11 PM
TSraymond5105
post Nov 9 2008, 08:19 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ Nov 9 2008, 08:11 PM)
hi guyz, long time no drop in and leave a post.

I've jumped onto the vista platform on my s478. so far so smooth. drivers support is getting better for vista also. one thing i noticed compared to xp is, multitasking is smoother and applications seems to load faster. Superfetch is a great feature utilising our RAM.

As u guys know, I do lots of photoshop stuff, loading big chunks of files that sucks system resources. Using Photoshop CS4 combined with vista, it's buttery smooth, due to the use of 3D graphics accelerator and pushing data onto system RAM and VGA RAM. No more lagging zooming in and out, applying layers! Wonderful!

Ran Red Alert 3 on default medium settings, no lags also after several missions, looks good for now. Will report in when I get to use Vista on my rig for a few more days. Cheers...
Nice to hear S478 is running smooth in Vista.A bit suprise with the multitasking performance,you said it's better than XP. rclxms.gif Is it because of the HT core ? HT core VS dual core? laugh.gif

@NtahX,I guess COD needs better GC to run it. At leaast 6800GT.
NtahX
post Nov 9 2008, 08:24 PM

94 posts

I've tried to run vista ultimate last time after installed 2 GB ram on my rig.. but the outcome is on negative compared to XP Pro.

I tried to transfer files from an external HDD to my Seagate 500GB sata.. I dunno what is the transfer rate but (the file size is about 2GB)

1st time using Vista: Estimated time 40+/- mins
2nd time using XP: No more than 12+/- mins

after all the frustration - i revert back to the old skool stuff which is more stable n smooth for me biggrin.gif

Added on November 9, 2008, 8:29 pm
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Nov 9 2008, 08:19 PM)
Nice to hear S478 is running smooth in Vista.A bit suprise with the multitasking performance,you said it's better than XP. rclxms.gif Is it because of the HT core ? HT core VS dual core? laugh.gif

@NtahX,I guess COD needs better GC to run it. At leaast 6800GT.
Yeah I think 6800GT is at least the minimum specs for COD...but never the less, i already finish playing campaign for COD4.. the game is just wonderful (the characteristics/realistics & the stories) even i cannot run it on High Settings... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by NtahX: Nov 9 2008, 08:29 PM
edministrator
post Nov 9 2008, 08:58 PM

1,940 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Nov 9 2008, 08:19 PM)
HT may play a part on that, but I believe is more towards RAM and resource management. In Vista performance rating (WPI), my CPU P4 3.0Ghz HT scores the lowest 4.2 followed by RAM 4.9 and the rest scores above 5.

Added on November 9, 2008, 9:01 pm
QUOTE(NtahX @ Nov 9 2008, 08:24 PM)
I've tried to run vista ultimate last time after installed 2 GB ram on my rig.. but the outcome is on negative compared to XP Pro.

I tried to transfer files from an external HDD to my Seagate 500GB sata.. I dunno   what is the transfer rate but (the file size is about 2GB)

1st time using Vista: Estimated time 40+/- mins
2nd time using XP: No more than 12+/- mins

after all the frustration - i revert back to the old skool stuff which is more stable n smooth for me biggrin.gif

Added on November 9, 2008, 8:29 pm
Yeah I think 6800GT is at least the minimum specs for COD...but never the less, i already finish playing campaign for COD4.. the game is just wonderful (the characteristics/realistics & the stories) even i cannot run it on High Settings... biggrin.gif
I think it might be some other factors involved in your bad experience of file transfer speed, or maybe I am using SP1 that might have solved the problems. I just transferred 15GB of video files (Dragonball GT) from my HDD to external HDD under 20 minutes.

Added on November 9, 2008, 9:06 pm
QUOTE(dlwl @ Nov 9 2008, 07:43 PM)
i think 3.2GHz should be ok already. yeah, as raymond said, the gpu plays a bigger part in the game.
my 3.0Ghz hits 90%++ all the time running RA3, I monitored the CPU usage in real time using my Logitech G15 keyboard's LCD. In today's new games, I would say both GPU and CPU cycle is needed badly. I remembered similar experience playing CoD4 early this year, CPU hits 90%++ most of the time too, and when the action get's hot, it reached 100% and starts to lag sweat.gif The only way to get more CPU juice is by reducing the game's resolution. doh.gif

This post has been edited by edministrator: Nov 9 2008, 09:08 PM
Jcsy
post Nov 9 2008, 09:47 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

i remember playing COD4 on my PC as well

fiinished it twice..

well, beggars are no choosers and we know our systems are not top notch anyways. drop the resolution abit , and can play nicely liao smile.gif

bai1101
post Nov 10 2008, 09:47 AM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

playing RA3 also... not yet finish soviet mission.

The empire of rising sun technology really gay..... BTW Sovient airship still so hardcore lol
dlwl
post Nov 10 2008, 11:11 AM

4,789 posts

i installed RA3 already but not yet start playing. just play a lil bit of the tutorial. the units look more like toys..quite gay leh..dunno about other units in the game..
edministrator
post Nov 10 2008, 11:16 AM

1,940 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Nov 10 2008, 11:11 AM)
i installed RA3 already but not yet start playing. just play a lil bit of the tutorial. the units look more like toys..quite gay leh..dunno about other units in the game..
do have an open mind when playing RA3, RA series was never meant to be realistic. let's just enjoy and have fun.

new report on gaming in vista. UT3 engine sucks in vista, i bet mainly due to the dx10 dll dependencies (confirmed when it requests for d3dx10_35.dll). My frames dropped around 10-15fps in game compared to XP. DMC4 & Tomb Raider Anniversary maintains the same performance.

125 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:43 AM