125 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V7<<,, The Journey Continues Here!

fylon
post Nov 6 2008, 07:41 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Jcsy

As mentioned in few post back, CL2.5 / 3 dont have must diff, in reality u wont feel the different. But in benchmark u will see the different. Especially in PI score bench. CL 2 is rare to have unless u gotten BH-5 on hand.

Otherwise, TCCD,TCCC will give u 2.5 the tightest u can go. Bear in mind, BH-5 need atleast 2.9v for booting up if u set the CL to 2. laugh.gif AFAIK P4 mobo maximum vdimm is is 2.9v, u need DDR booster in the case to have more then 2.9v vidimm.

@NtahX
U can set the timing at bios my fren. laugh.gif Are u using value ram? If then mostly the CL is either 2.5/3.
TSraymond5105
post Nov 6 2008, 10:30 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Nov 5 2008, 09:36 PM)
@NtahX

Tighten ur timing and u can score better. laugh.gif My black pearl last time boost from 3.2Ghz > 4Ghz super PI 1MB is 33sec @ 2.5-3-3-8.
brows.gif CL 2.5 really helps a lot on super PI.Hehe,seems like NtahX is very interested to tweak his 3.2C.
fylon
post Nov 6 2008, 11:27 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Haaha... Pity that northwood cannot push too far the most 3.6-3.8ghz until dare to push vcore. laugh.gif
Jcsy
post Nov 6 2008, 11:27 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

3 of my ram timings are 2.5, except 1 apacer which is 3.0 biggrin.gif

lol i can guess now that the 2.5's are better biggrin.gif
NtahX
post Nov 6 2008, 11:38 PM

94 posts

Oho...i never done any OC'ing yet... okey later i check whether this mobo can support or not...

http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p_spec.asp?model=PM8M-V
Jcsy
post Nov 7 2008, 12:07 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

last time i OC, i can reduce my timing to 3.0 from 2.5 also..

but i was thiking why risk everything for abit of difference which i can suffer smile.gif

i fall back 2 3.0, lol biggrin.gif
fylon
post Nov 7 2008, 03:49 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Jcsy

Usually if having 2 different timing on the same setup, the bios will automatically follow the lowest one. So like ur case, ur system is probably running on CL3 instead of CL2.5. laugh.gif

@NtahX
Haha.. Northwood having advantage on low temp, but they cant push too far.
Jcsy
post Nov 7 2008, 04:09 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

holy shits, lol !!

looks like i gotta fix that peice of crap apacer timing biggrin.gif

that was the only odd guy out from the kingstons ram biggrin.gif

thanks for the information... looks like i need downtime now >.<
bai1101
post Nov 7 2008, 04:55 PM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

just purchase another 512mb x 2 for RM 80 today

Hope my mobo no crash when run 4 ram

U all pray for me pls..........
fylon
post Nov 7 2008, 05:35 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Jcsy

Haha.. I thought u know that? Anyways, just restart ur system and did some changes on the bios will do. laugh.gif
bai1101
post Nov 7 2008, 11:46 PM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

dam one of my ram got problem.

Now need send warranty. Any one know PJ kingston working hours?
fylon
post Nov 8 2008, 12:21 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@bai1101

Confirm ram? Or the ram dimm on mobo has problem? Hahah... Wad a pity if it is the ram problem.
TSraymond5105
post Nov 8 2008, 12:39 AM

5,341 posts

Wao,add on another 1GB RAM?But you confirmed your RAM rosak ? Usually would be the slot issue.

@fylon,Northwood is based on 130nm architecture,so that's another limitation on it.
fylon
post Nov 8 2008, 10:06 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@ray
Yea. That is reason why northy cant be push too far. But anyways, i like the advantage it has. Low temp. lust.gif

Anyways, this thread is turning to real P4 technical talk thread. thumbup.gif Nice.
TSraymond5105
post Nov 8 2008, 01:09 PM

5,341 posts

Prescott with 90nm with longer pipeline architecture, does perform similar clock to clock to Northwood. Larger L2 cache is eventually helping the preoscott to perform better in gaming. I like the advantage of it can easily clock to 3.8GHz with no sweat. But sadly today the high clock of P4 isn't able to survive well in gaming world.
bai1101
post Nov 8 2008, 01:13 PM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

confirm no ram slot problem cause i test ram per ram....

2 ram run dual channel past test
than another 2 fail
than i test another 2 each alone...

One past ram test and another fail ram test

the faulty ram sometimes can boot up some times can;t and cause restart once log in window.
TSraymond5105
post Nov 8 2008, 01:41 PM

5,341 posts

Is the RAM still under warranty ?
fylon
post Nov 8 2008, 02:17 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Ram should be running on life time warranty right? Just need to RMA it. But takes sometime thou.. Haha!

P/s: Tested RA3 on my rigs. Flawless.. laugh.gif But just the game is too comical.. Totally different with RA and RA2 in my opinion. The game play it still the same, but just the graphic is different.
Jcsy
post Nov 8 2008, 10:56 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Nov 7 2008, 05:35 PM)
@Jcsy

Haha.. I thought u know that? Anyways, just restart ur system and did some changes on the bios will do. laugh.gif
haiya, 4-5 years liao i never bother tweaking system.

i dont find that it is that all worth it. I find that tweaking windows level and using "stripped" versions of windows tends to be much better than risking hardware. i just risk software.

well, i used 2 tighten timing for RAM but once i bought the apacer and made mine 3gb, i didnt bother tightening it. just power ON and use to maintain uptime..
fylon
post Nov 8 2008, 11:11 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Jcsy

Haha! Im running on 3GB as well now.. Miss the CL2 time. laugh.gif DDR2 the tightest can do is CL4 and is required atleast 2.2v to run at that speed, where default vdimm for DDR2 is 18v. sweat.gif

Anyways, 3GB for XP is like over kill. biggrin.gif

125 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:07 AM