57 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Nintendo DSi Discussion Thread, Check 1st post!! Updated 31st Oct

Voxdei
post Oct 2 2008, 06:31 PM

108 posts

eh, other than the DSi shop channel, nothing to shout about in the new hardware.
Most likely I'm not going to replace my DSLite and wait for their next upgrade.
Compelica
post Oct 2 2008, 06:39 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

Battery specs taken from the Nintendo Japan site:

Battery Duration:
DS - Minimum brightness - 15-19 h | Low - 10 to 15 h | High - 7 and 11 h | Maximum - 5 to 8 h
DSi - Minimum brightness - 9 to 14 h | Low - 8 to 12 h | Medium - 6 to 9 h | High - 4 to 6 h | Maximum - 3 to 4 h

Even if there was a new battery redesign, things aren't looking good for the DSi. Not sure if WiFi gaming is considered, but seems like it isn't, which I would give a minimum of 1.5 hours of gaming on the highest setting. sad.gif

Edit: Didn't notice that the DSi now has an extra step in the brightness setting, so it's hard to say if it's the same as the Lite.

This post has been edited by colinwong89: Oct 2 2008, 06:47 PM
bidfordun
post Oct 2 2008, 06:40 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(Dreamworks @ Oct 2 2008, 04:15 PM)
I think I'll be sticking to my NDSL, can't see any point in upgrading if I'm gonna lose all the GBA's functionality... And with that, bye bye to Opera DS/Rumble Pack/etc. thingy that depends on SLOT-2 sad.gif

It also looks too similar to the current NDSL tongue.gif
hehe, DSi comes wif a built in web browser

QUOTE(mitodna @ Oct 2 2008, 04:23 PM)
Neat stuff, woot, almost the same pricing with DSL? How I wish that Nintendo is working on Wii HD, by the way, there are news that there is a new better DS coming soon, SD card means that we will getting Virtual Console sort of thing?
I am curious as well. It just mentioned DSi ware, which makes me wonder, original games or portable virtual consoles.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 2 2008, 04:39 PM)
Dual touch screen is awesome. brows.gif

But I still love my current NDSL. cry.gif
hehe, never tot that u still own it, i tot u sold it edy.

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Oct 2 2008, 06:29 PM)
It is confirmed that there will be only one touchscreen.

A bigger display really complements the whole console, but the display resolution hasn't changed at all, meaning that we would still see even blockier textures. The biggest loss here is the removal of SLOT-2, which obviously caused a lot of worries/tantrums from users relying on it. In short, there will be no rumble pack, no added memory (unless more RAM is built in), and most importantly, no more GBA games.

Also, they have not announced what type of batteries will be used on the DSi. Most speculate that it would share the same battery pack as the Lite, but with the new console being 12% thinner and again, the removal of the GBA slot, there is still a trace of light for a new redesign.

About the camera, this really isn't much to bark about but with a 3.0 megapixel cam, I hope Nintendo decides to be generous and don't throw in a fixed-focus lens. Who knows, games in the future might feature taking objects, and autofocus would be very handy in this case.

Also, the relocation of the power button is a serious mishap. They should have left it where it is on the Lite, and used a button instead of a spring switch.
3 megapixel or 0.3?
viledante
post Oct 2 2008, 06:42 PM

414 posts

0.3 is for the inside, 3.0 is for the outside, right?
Compelica
post Oct 2 2008, 06:45 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Oct 2 2008, 06:40 PM)
hehe, DSi comes wif a built in web browser

3 megapixel or 0.3?
Even with the built-in browser, people who use their DSes to surf the Net will know they would only use it on a last-resort basis. It's just too slow IMHO.

Also, it's 3 megapixel on the outside, 0.3 megapixel on the inside.
kenji_britney
post Oct 2 2008, 06:48 PM

1,734 posts

seems nice, but it has its pros and cons as laid out by the others here:

pro:
- camera with 3.0 mp outside and 0.3 mp inside,
- 3.25" screen
- 12% thinner
- etc, etc

cons:
- battery life reduced
- no gba slot
- no change in picture quality
- etc, etc

since there's no dual touchscreen, it shouldn't be much of a wow factor anyway. so those who are already having an ndsl shouldn't be sad, it's still somewhat better than ndsi. biggrin.gif
viledante
post Oct 2 2008, 06:50 PM

414 posts

yeah, I thought it'll be a dual touchscreen.

nintendo should add the multi touch likes the ipod touch.
kenji_britney
post Oct 2 2008, 06:52 PM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Oct 2 2008, 06:50 PM)

haha i think it'll be a long way more to that, and imagine all the fingerprints blink.gif eww.. i can't stand it, even for my ndsl, i keep the screens at tip top condition whenever i'm not using it, or when i feel it a little rough then i'll give it a wipe.
Compelica
post Oct 2 2008, 06:55 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Oct 2 2008, 06:50 PM)

If they did multi-touch functionality it's going to break backwards compatibility with the DS and DS Lite. Then again, what's going to happen if you plug a game requiring the camera into pre-DSi handhelds...
BlueBerry~
post Oct 2 2008, 06:57 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

Where is the source saying there is only one touch screen?
Pip_X
post Oct 2 2008, 06:59 PM

Got miao miao jor.
2,465 posts

Do. Want.
Preorder one naw. Fasta!
Compelica
post Oct 2 2008, 07:04 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Oct 2 2008, 06:57 PM)
Not really officially mentioned anywhere, but if there were supposed to be two touchscreens Nintendo should be hollering it out since it's release. Furthermore it's already been mentioned that it's not a new platform altogether, but a new product to extend the DS platform.
viledante
post Oct 2 2008, 07:04 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Oct 2 2008, 06:52 PM)
haha i think it'll be a long way more to that, and imagine all the fingerprints  blink.gif eww.. i can't stand it, even for my ndsl, i keep the screens at tip top condition whenever i'm not using it, or when i feel it a little rough then i'll give it a wipe.
haha, you right

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Oct 2 2008, 06:55 PM)
If they did multi-touch functionality it's going to break backwards compatibility with the DS and DS Lite. Then again, what's going to happen if you plug a game requiring the camera into pre-DSi handhelds...
if they didn't make much change, then DSi will be nothing lah, all its upgrade is the size and reduce all the function likes the gba, battery etc.

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Oct 2 2008, 06:57 PM)
http://www.engadget.com/2008/10/02/nintend...ounces-the-dsi/

at the end of the post
Compelica
post Oct 2 2008, 07:11 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

-SD slot on the left side, there seems to be a slot where the power button originally used to be for the NDSL but unclear
-Smaller shoulder buttons
-Where's the volume control?

QUOTE(viledante @ Oct 2 2008, 07:04 PM)
if they didn't make much change, then DSi will be nothing lah, all its upgrade is the size and reduce all the function likes the gba, battery etc.
If they made a paradigm shift with it's features, it'll be a new console platform altogether. Nintendo's main goal is to extend the life of the DS platform, obviously you can't make many changes aside from a few things to retain compatibility.

This post has been edited by colinwong89: Oct 2 2008, 07:15 PM
TSevilhomura89
post Oct 2 2008, 07:11 PM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Oct 2 2008, 06:48 PM)
seems nice, but it has its pros and cons as laid out by the others here:

pro:
- camera with 3.0 mp outside and 0.3 mp inside,
- 3.25" screen
- 12% thinner
- etc, etc

cons:
- battery life reduced
- no gba slot
- no change in picture quality
- etc, etc

since there's no dual touchscreen, it shouldn't be much of a wow factor anyway. so those who are already having an ndsl shouldn't be sad, it's still somewhat better than ndsi. biggrin.gif
mayb the 0.3mp cam is for video conferencing thru wi-fi??
seems like NDSL users don't need to upgrade to NDSi...not worth the upgrade
NDSi's new features are more like bonus upgrades rather than essential upgrades
viledante
post Oct 2 2008, 07:17 PM

414 posts

the speaker looks like psp-3000

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Oct 2 2008, 07:11 PM)

If they made a paradigm shift with it's features, it'll be a new console platform altogether. Nintendo's main goal is to extend the life of the DS platform, obviously you can't make many changes aside from a few things to retain compatibility.
so basically, it didn't worth to buy it. It just upgrade some minor, and reduce the major =/

This post has been edited by viledante: Oct 2 2008, 07:20 PM
Compelica
post Oct 2 2008, 07:20 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

Anyone noticed that the START and SELECT buttons are slightly bigger on the DSi?
kenji_britney
post Oct 2 2008, 07:23 PM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Oct 2 2008, 07:20 PM)
Anyone noticed that the START and SELECT buttons are slightly bigger on the DSi?
can't really tell from the pictures in the first post, looks about the same.
juniorpop
post Oct 2 2008, 07:25 PM

20 posts

I want larger screens so mayb I'll wait for this one.
Compelica
post Oct 2 2008, 07:26 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Oct 2 2008, 07:23 PM)
can't really tell from the pictures in the first post, looks about the same.
Certainly looks bigger from here.

57 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:58 PM