Android Phone (G1)

lek_e30
post Mar 30 2009, 09:12 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 29 2009, 08:25 AM)
Go and test out the Dream ^^; before you make up ur mind.
I'm sure you will be surprised with Android OS tongue.gif - simple yet versatile.
poisonous spotted!! whistling.gif

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 29 2009, 11:35 PM)
So have to make sure that the hardware works before paying up. The software however can be fixed. Just a matter of time of learning the software tricks. I believe software/firmware related issues are easier to manage because you'll get it fixed sooner or later.

Grazy is right because the risks involved aren't higher than buying an iPhone from other than Maxis. Some iPhone 2G users ran into capacitive touchscreen problems (portions of screen dead) and they had nowhere to turn to. Problem is that you can't get people to fix it even if you want to pay for it. Lucky, we got Singapore just next door. Can pay a trip down to get it fixed. Or we can just call it a day and another excuse for something new.  tongue.gif
yup!!! its our luck here also when singtel carry this baby... if not...really dunno where to go doh.gif doh.gif

As for my opinion, majority of mobile phone problem is 80% due to luck...unless you really a rough user... as far as i've been changing phone quite often (doh.gif doh.gif) i dun really send my phone to repair b4 due to problem...except the common prob.... **touch wood** tongue.gif tongue.gif
grazy
post Mar 30 2009, 09:23 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Mar 30 2009, 09:12 AM)
poisonous spotted!!  whistling.gif
yup!!! its our luck here also when singtel carry this baby... if not...really dunno where to go doh.gif doh.gif

As for my opinion, majority of mobile phone problem is 80% due to luck...unless you really a rough user... as far as i've been changing phone quite often (doh.gif doh.gif) i dun really send my phone to repair b4 due to problem...except the common prob.... **touch wood**  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Where got poison leh?! blush.gif It's fact right?? brows.gif
Lek is right, it's much depend on luck when purchasing electronic devices.
Really have to pray-pray, find a good day, go to right place to buy ^^;

Bad news, the famous G1/Dream XDA-developers forum being hacked and now slow like zsnail.... sad.gif

*now back to normal ^^.

This post has been edited by grazy: Mar 31 2009, 07:07 AM
squall3377
post Mar 30 2009, 01:55 PM

Y bother...
793 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 30 2009, 09:23 AM)
Bad news, the famous G1/Dream XDA-developers forum being hacked and now slow like zsnail.... sad.gif
doesnt affect us... lol

so far any owners of HTC Dream / G1 yet?
grazy
post Mar 31 2009, 07:24 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(squall3377 @ Mar 30 2009, 01:55 PM)
doesnt affect us... lol

so far any owners of HTC Dream / G1 yet?
I'm using it, now it has been mutated to a better droid. flex.gif

Yosz...last day of the month!
Looking forward to the speculated Cupcake firmware (1.5) in April...he...he... pray pray it comes out lah ^^;

This post has been edited by grazy: Mar 31 2009, 07:25 AM
schrodinger_cat
post Mar 31 2009, 08:14 AM

85 posts

Hello there, it's me again. Haven't survey Low Yat yet as I have a busy working schedule. Anyhoo, my interest on Android grows day by day. Speaking of Google Maps on Dream....is it the same as, ya know...Google Maps? Does it offer topography map like Google Earth? Can somebody post screenshots of Dream on GPS?

Added on March 31, 2009, 8:44 amOh, btw Grazy, how did u amp up the battery juice?

This post has been edited by schrodinger_cat: Mar 31 2009, 08:44 AM
grazy
post Mar 31 2009, 10:56 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(schrodinger_cat @ Mar 31 2009, 08:14 AM)
Hello there, it's me again. Haven't survey Low Yat yet as I have a busy working schedule. Anyhoo, my interest on Android grows day by day. Speaking of Google Maps on Dream....is it the same as, ya know...Google Maps? Does it offer topography map like Google Earth? Can somebody post screenshots of Dream on GPS?

Added on March 31, 2009, 8:44 amOh, btw Grazy, how did u amp up the battery juice?
Yes, the G1 google maps does have the satellite mode ^^; But the maps would not be cached on G1, meaning the maps need to be downloaded everytime you need to use them, so data plan or WIFI is must! However there is an apps called Bigplanet. It can download and cache the maps so you may view them later.

Oh, he..he... I have 3 units of 2400mAh (1 using, 2 standby) to amp up my Droid, so it never never worries about low batt ^^;
3G and GPS (Latitude) always on, even I'm sleeping ^^

*Shoot!! Some of the tethering apps being removed from the Market!! Bad move sad.gif

This post has been edited by grazy: Mar 31 2009, 11:33 AM
davidmak
post Mar 31 2009, 01:52 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 31 2009, 10:56 AM)
3G and GPS (Latitude) always on, even I'm sleeping ^^
Hehehe... don't do something wrong... otherwise the Feds will know where to knock... biggrin.gif

For me... I always manually set a location. That is my office. Gives people the impression that I'm always working. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by davidmak: Mar 31 2009, 01:52 PM
lek_e30
post Mar 31 2009, 02:55 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 31 2009, 01:52 PM)
Hehehe... don't do something wrong... otherwise the Feds will know where to knock... biggrin.gif

For me... I always manually set a location. That is my office. Gives people the impression that I'm always working.  tongue.gif
how do you manually set your location??
grazy
post Mar 31 2009, 03:13 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 31 2009, 01:52 PM)

For me... I always manually set a location. That is my office. Gives people the impression that I'm always working.  tongue.gif
He...He... nothing illegal ^^ so no worries!
I like to see my families/friends/buddies on the maps, even though it might no accurate.

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Mar 31 2009, 02:55 PM)
how do you manually set your location??
^^; In your maps --> Latitude --> click your avatar --> edit privacy setting --> set your location --> select point on map / search map --> tap on the maps --> done !!

Enjoy!

lek_e30
post Mar 31 2009, 03:37 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 31 2009, 03:13 PM)
He...He... nothing illegal ^^ so no worries!
I like to see my families/friends/buddies on the maps, even though it might no accurate. 
^^; In your maps --> Latitude --> click your avatar --> edit privacy setting --> set your location --> select point on map / search map --> tap on the maps --> done !!

Enjoy!
oic thx....

i think i want to hard reset my G1 sweat.gif
davidmak
post Mar 31 2009, 04:29 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Mar 31 2009, 03:37 PM)
oic thx....

i think i want to hard reset my G1  sweat.gif
Why hard reset?

Anyway my G1 has been running for 2 weeks + and still going strong! Occasionally it'll hang and force close itself and then it'll magically restore itself along with its previous state. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
lek_e30
post Mar 31 2009, 11:59 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 31 2009, 04:29 PM)
Why hard reset?

Anyway my G1 has been running for 2 weeks + and still going strong! Occasionally it'll hang and force close itself and then it'll magically restore itself along with its previous state.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
does not consider hang rite?? maybe semi-hang....haha

i think i got prob with my gps, tats why lor
grazy
post Apr 1 2009, 07:30 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Mar 31 2009, 11:59 PM)
does not consider hang rite?? maybe semi-hang....haha

i think i got prob with my gps, tats why lor
He..he... Have you give your droid a bit longer to logon those satellites? ~15 minutes from a cold start? ^^;

Anyhow let me know when you ready to factory reset lah! cool2.gif

schrodinger_cat
post Apr 1 2009, 08:57 AM

85 posts

btw guys, which data plan did u subscribe? Is Digi's the cheapest one?
grazy
post Apr 1 2009, 09:05 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(schrodinger_cat @ Apr 1 2009, 08:57 AM)
btw guys, which data plan did u subscribe? Is Digi's the cheapest one?
I'm on Maxis, pricey & kena kacau often, yet still with them coz they give me rebate lor ^^
Thinking switching to SiowCom through MNP! But before that will see how Maxis doing their iPhone 3G biz first. flex.gif

Yeah, think the cheapest data plan is DIGI (EDGE).

schrodinger_cat
post Apr 1 2009, 04:12 PM

85 posts

EDGE....any good?

Added on April 1, 2009, 4:12 pmI don't really want it to be slow like screamyx in my area. But, EDGE..sounds like a name that I shouldn't fancy too much

This post has been edited by schrodinger_cat: Apr 1 2009, 04:12 PM
lek_e30
post Apr 1 2009, 11:01 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Apr 1 2009, 07:30 AM)
He..he... Have you give your droid a bit longer to logon those satellites? ~15 minutes from a cold start? ^^;

Anyhow let me know when you ready to factory reset lah!  cool2.gif
really nid that time to lock on meh?? but it always prompt me failed, try to move your location..bla bla(maps)

QUOTE(grazy @ Apr 1 2009, 09:05 AM)
I'm on Maxis, pricey & kena kacau often, yet still with them coz they give me rebate lor ^^
Thinking switching to SiowCom through MNP! But before that will see how Maxis doing their iPhone 3G biz first.  flex.gif

Yeah, think the cheapest data plan is DIGI (EDGE).
wat kind of rebate they give you??
grazy
post Apr 1 2009, 11:45 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Apr 1 2009, 11:01 PM)
really nid that time to lock on meh?? but it always prompt me failed, try to move your location..bla bla(maps)
wat kind of rebate they give you??
Usually less than 15 mins lah! Sometime if cloudy, it will take longer to logon those satelittes ^^

I have family plus package discount! But Siaocom got rebate on data plan if you are screamyx user plus it has better coverage. Really tempted to move over, but wifey don't want sad.gif

Guys, in case you missed the "No Signal Alert", try it out in the Market. ^^; It helps to detect lost signal.

This post has been edited by grazy: Apr 2 2009, 07:58 AM
St@nZ
post Apr 2 2009, 12:03 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(schrodinger_cat @ Apr 1 2009, 04:12 PM)
EDGE....any good?

Added on April 1, 2009, 4:12 pmI don't really want it to be slow like screamyx in my area. But, EDGE..sounds like a name that I shouldn't fancy too much
EDGE is quite good based on my experience, but I never tried 3G so dunno how slow it is compared to 3G. Do remember that EDGE is only available in Klang Valley; outside that will run in GPRS. Surprisingly, it was faster than the stupid streamyx at times and i had no problems to stream youtube videos wen I was in Melaka which is outside of EDGE coverage. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on April 2, 2009, 12:12 pmthanks grazy for the DXTop program. I have been using it ever since and its really nice;now I can organize my programs to find them easily. thumbup.gif

Anyway,Let us know how is cupcake once u have tried it.Been busy with exams n stuffs n I c got lot of discussions that i missed here,hahaha. cry.gif

This post has been edited by St@nZ: Apr 2 2009, 12:12 PM
lek_e30
post Apr 2 2009, 12:38 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Apr 1 2009, 11:45 PM)
Usually less than 15 mins lah! Sometime if cloudy, it will take longer to logon those satelittes ^^

I have family plus package discount! But Siaocom got rebate on data plan if you are screamyx user plus it has better coverage. Really tempted to move over, but wifey don't want  sad.gif
Guys, in case you missed the "No Signal Alert", try it out in the Market.  ^^; It helps to detect lost signal.
oic...only with screamyx user can get disc. on data plan ah doh.gif doh.gif

81 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:48 AM