jeez... tats y i refuse to use e banking even tho it helps to save lotz of time...
RM2822.16 gone via unauthorized transaction in PBe, Please be extra careful!!!
Oct 11 2008, 02:57 PM
334 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
jeez... tats y i refuse to use e banking even tho it helps to save lotz of time...
Oct 11 2008, 04:39 PM
442 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Oct 11 2008, 05:20 PM
1,438 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 11 2008, 02:02 PM) 5. So if hacker got online user name and password, they can do the transfer already because HP is in their hand. My handphone is not in their hand. My stuffs was lost on January. I canceled my sim card when I lost my sim card already. I don't think there can be 2 active sim cards, right?6. So main question and key area is how they obtain those username and password. TS write in the HP or on the stolen stuff? I don't write my username and password in handphone or stolen stuff. |
Oct 11 2008, 05:54 PM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
The other speculation we can generate is that there is a phishing website that you previous has been logging on.
This is one of the common and highest probability of e-banking fraud. FYI, the HP number which TAC being sent to can be changed one. |
Oct 11 2008, 06:00 PM
2,932 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(felicious @ Oct 11 2008, 05:20 PM) My handphone is not in their hand. My stuffs was lost on January. I canceled my sim card when I lost my sim card already. I don't think there can be 2 active sim cards, right? They would have got your username/password somehow - you have it written down somewhere but didn't remember, or via phishing, or it is easily guessable, or the computer you were using was compromised, eg key-logger. I don't write my username and password in handphone or stolen stuff. It is also possible the bank's computer system was hacked, but if that was the case, there would be reports of other cases. Also change the TAC to a new number when you lost the sim. |
Oct 11 2008, 11:31 PM
8,652 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: lolyat |
any updated news?
is been few weeks already |
Oct 12 2008, 12:16 AM
3,887 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Are you sure its being done by e-banking?
First of all, I would say its impossible. Even though its just 5digit TAC, how many times he had to tried in order to get the right one. Must be through your atm or something. The chance of guessing the correct tac code is very small leh.. 1/99999. |
Oct 12 2008, 02:28 AM
70 posts Joined: May 2008 From: shah alam |
nah......
i would say u accidentally login via phishing website.... there is no way they can get ur TAC.. because they manage to Hack my acc, but i not fall for their phishing banking website, they really did hacked my DC account thru Paypal... Luckily it is not my CC...otherwise it would be disaster to me... |
Oct 12 2008, 04:06 AM
2,603 posts Joined: May 2006 From: USJ Taipan + PJ SS2 |
QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 11 2008, 05:54 PM) The other speculation we can generate is that there is a phishing website that you previous has been logging on. I think should be related to the staff in Public bank. Because it's not easy to hack in one account, some more need TAC, that fellow able to get the TAC no as well.This is one of the common and highest probability of e-banking fraud. FYI, the HP number which TAC being sent to can be changed one. |
Oct 12 2008, 04:53 AM
76 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Klang - Selangor |
I lost 1 PBB ATM last few months, but luckily when the time I lost it.. i directly call up the customer service. N account jz left few RM only lor
Oct 12 2008, 05:03 AM
1,807 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
I join others here who don't understand how the hacker got the TAC.
Two ways I can think of:- 1) Hacker intercepts SMS sent to victim's mobile phone. 2) Hacker uses keylogger to obtain user/pass/PAC and use it while victim is still logged in to e-banking. For item #2, here's a quote from PBB website. QUOTE Once you have logged off from PBeBank.com, you are required to request for a new PAC. PAC is only valid once for each login session. |
Oct 12 2008, 05:08 AM
14,990 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(socratesman @ Oct 12 2008, 05:03 AM) I join others here who don't understand how the hacker got the TAC. How about this :Two ways I can think of:- 1) Hacker intercepts SMS sent to victim's mobile phone. 2) Hacker uses keylogger to obtain user/pass/PAC and use it while victim is still logged in to e-banking. For item #2, here's a quote from PBB website. (1) Get the name and password (2) Change the HP number from the website (3) send the TAC (4) Profit ? |
Oct 12 2008, 09:12 AM
2,656 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Oct 12 2008, 01:03 PM
349 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
felicious:
it has been few weeks already but you still haven't get back your money. i think you should put your concern now on how to get back your money rather than how the hacker hack your money. the excuse from pbb refuse to return your money is because they claim that the transaction is made by yourself. things you should do is: 1. you have to ask them for prove, what evidence can shows that the transaction is done by yourself? for example: the TAC should be tie to your phone number, not other ppl's phone number. find out the prove can shows that the transaction is not made by yourself. remember everything done in black and white, don't communicate with them by oral only. 2. if at the end pbb refuse to settle for u, give them some pressure. find their big boss, let them know you are not easily to compromise and going to publish this case on news paper. brand name is very important for a company, if they ignore you then just go ahead. i got some fren working in news paper company 3. seek for help from your fren or relative see anyone got know anybody is lawyer, ask advise from lawyer see is there anyway claim back your money trough law |
Oct 12 2008, 02:22 PM
7 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
DotA - "it has been few weeks already but you still haven't get back your money. i think you should put your concern now on how to get back your money rather than how the hacker hack your money."
That's precisely what i advised earlier. Felicious priority should be how to get her money back NOT how the thief did it. How it's done - that's for the bank and police to worry about to prevent future occurrence. |
Oct 12 2008, 02:33 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
23,851 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Can approach Bank Negara Malaysia for assistance.
Asking a lawyer to get involved could be quite costly, unless you are asking a few hundred k for compensation. |
Oct 12 2008, 02:34 PM
470 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
if felicious know how the hacker did it
den she can be the hacker herself also its no use just guessing for those who has debit master/visa extra cautious juz get solid evidence to prove that the transaction wasnt made |
Oct 12 2008, 09:06 PM
1,438 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 12 2008, 12:16 AM) Are you sure its being done by e-banking? The bank said that it is done by e-banking. And TAC is applied. First of all, I would say its impossible. Even though its just 5digit TAC, how many times he had to tried in order to get the right one. Must be through your atm or something. The chance of guessing the correct tac code is very small leh.. 1/99999. QUOTE(Clareen @ Oct 12 2008, 04:06 AM) I think should be related to the staff in Public bank. Because it's not easy to hack in one account, some more need TAC, that fellow able to get the TAC no as well. We suspected the PBB staff too. All the while my PBB don't have much money. PBB is mainly for PTPTN loan to bank in to me for me to pay college fees. Few days after PTPTN loan banked in to me, the money 'spoof' from my account already. QUOTE(socratesman @ Oct 12 2008, 05:03 AM) I join others here who don't understand how the hacker got the TAC. But I didn't log in to PBE on that day.Two ways I can think of:- 1) Hacker intercepts SMS sent to victim's mobile phone. 2) Hacker uses keylogger to obtain user/pass/PAC and use it while victim is still logged in to e-banking. For item #2, here's a quote from PBB website. QUOTE(DotA 5.84C -AR @ Oct 12 2008, 01:03 PM) felicious: I am curious on how my money can be transferred, but my main concern is still to get back my money.it has been few weeks already but you still haven't get back your money. i think you should put your concern now on how to get back your money rather than how the hacker hack your money. the excuse from pbb refuse to return your money is because they claim that the transaction is made by yourself. things you should do is: 1. you have to ask them for prove, what evidence can shows that the transaction is done by yourself? for example: the TAC should be tie to your phone number, not other ppl's phone number. find out the prove can shows that the transaction is not made by yourself. remember everything done in black and white, don't communicate with them by oral only. 2. if at the end pbb refuse to settle for u, give them some pressure. find their big boss, let them know you are not easily to compromise and going to publish this case on news paper. brand name is very important for a company, if they ignore you then just go ahead. i got some fren working in news paper company 3. seek for help from your fren or relative see anyone got know anybody is lawyer, ask advise from lawyer see is there anyway claim back your money trough law I asked a friend from DiGi customer service and he said that I can't check the transaction on my own. DiGi only deals with police to know my incoming call / SMS. I meet up their manager of the branch regarding this matter. They don't want to give me the contact of the HQ. The manager just said that he will contact me. We already insist that we want our money back no matter how they investigate this case. We said we will go for hard way if they still don't want to refund. Sadly, lawyer fees is more expensive than my loss of money. |
Oct 12 2008, 09:07 PM
4,457 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(wodenus @ Oct 12 2008, 05:08 AM) How about this : i thought only can change the hp number from atm machine ? like maybank(1) Get the name and password (2) Change the HP number from the website (3) send the TAC (4) Profit ? means some one need to get the owner's card and pin, then only can change the hp number .... |
Oct 12 2008, 09:22 PM
274 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Kappa |
QUOTE(socratesman @ Oct 12 2008, 05:03 AM) I join others here who don't understand how the hacker got the TAC. No. 2 is out, because it's been awhile since she used the e-banking, that's what she said. About no. 1 I don't know.Two ways I can think of:- 1) Hacker intercepts SMS sent to victim's mobile phone. 2) Hacker uses keylogger to obtain user/pass/PAC and use it while victim is still logged in to e-banking. For item #2, here's a quote from PBB website. |
| Change to: | 0.0240sec
5 queries
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:16 AM |