Bodykit, PU or Fiber

TSSeng_Kiat
post Sep 19 2008, 11:46 PM, updated 18y ago

5,580 posts

Hi guys,

let talk about bodykit here. What is different between PU and Fiber? what is the cons and pro of PU and fiber bodykit?
SUSturbonetics86
post Sep 19 2008, 11:54 PM

144 posts

Fiber is one time langar can say bb liao ! but PU is diffrent PU is Molded and when u langar is still can hit back !
the_catacombs
post Sep 19 2008, 11:54 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

PU is polyurethane
fibre is fibre

This post has been edited by the_catacombs: Sep 19 2008, 11:55 PM
squareballs
post Sep 20 2008, 12:01 AM

4,331 posts

Go for PU.. Fiber sucks
cwd8769

Scott
927 posts

which one more expensive and quality?
kazami

2,872 posts

but where can i take to hit back PU???

andyjyneo
post Sep 20 2008, 12:40 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(turbonetics86 @ Sep 19 2008, 11:54 PM)
Fiber is one time langar can say bb liao ! but PU is diffrent PU is Molded and when u langar is still can hit back !
johnkor, stop misleading. PU cannot be repaired if it's broken.
awyongcarl
post Sep 20 2008, 01:37 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Sep 20 2008, 12:40 AM)
johnkor, stop misleading. PU cannot be repaired if it's broken.
lol he reversed it, on the repairing part.
Anyway, get the best material which is PP, Polypropylene if there is such option.

This post has been edited by awyongcarl: Sep 20 2008, 01:38 AM
TSSeng_Kiat
post Sep 20 2008, 04:30 AM

5,580 posts

oo .. so it means PU is better than fiber, isn't it?
sphiroth
post Sep 20 2008, 05:37 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Sep 20 2008, 04:30 AM)
oo .. so it means PU is better than fiber, isn't it?
Fiber is cheaper and can be repaired and customized. It got many different design too. . But I would prefer PU as it 'fits' nicely and can be installed by using the existing screw hole, no need to rivet like fiber.
milito
post Sep 20 2008, 07:06 AM

115 posts

i think PU is more stronger than fiber .. but you need to find a good paint for PU else the paint will peel off easily .. not like fibre..
singchaii
post Sep 20 2008, 07:32 AM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

If you want bodykit, go for PU.. last time I use fiber bodykit.. I'm scare of it.. Always crack especially the front lips.. And now I'm using PU bodykit.. Now don't worry about the lips crack while I worry is, bumper crack...

For long lasting, go for PU.. Or else, you will keep replacing the fiber lips it if crack...
cwd8769
post Sep 20 2008, 07:46 AM

Scott
927 posts

How to recognize it's polyurethane or fiber?
singchaii
post Sep 20 2008, 07:47 AM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

QUOTE(cwd8769 @ Sep 20 2008, 07:46 AM)
How to recognize it's polyurethane or fiber?
Fiber is light while PU is heavier.. PU can be twist while fiber cannot.. The easier way is see the material. PU is look like rubber while Fiber is hard,
TSSeng_Kiat
post Sep 20 2008, 08:08 AM

5,580 posts

to color the bodykit, let say I give the color code to workshop, do they able to color bodykit exactly same as my car color?
cwd8769
post Sep 20 2008, 08:09 AM

Scott
927 posts

QUOTE(singchaii @ Sep 20 2008, 07:47 AM)
Fiber is light while PU is heavier.. PU can be twist while fiber cannot.. The easier way is see the material. PU is look like rubber while Fiber is hard,
Twist ? wao...

sphiroth
post Sep 20 2008, 08:11 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Sep 20 2008, 08:08 AM)
to color the bodykit, let say I give the color code to workshop, do they able to color bodykit exactly same as my car color?
Usually the colour shop will take one small painted part of your car body to use as a reference. Normally the take out the fuel cover. nod.gif
farique
post Sep 20 2008, 08:17 AM

8_8
2,147 posts

QUOTE(cwd8769 @ Sep 20 2008, 08:09 AM)
Twist ? wao...
not really that kind of twisting you had in mind. PU is the material used to make your OEM front bumper, rear bumper and side skirts. Where it sorta 'elastic' where you can push or bend it a little. Whilst FRP or Fiber is strong and it is impossible to bend it a little. If you bend it too hard, it'll just breaks.

jack&jill
post Sep 20 2008, 10:24 AM

144 posts

PU certain type but fiber many choice~
anybody need bodykit or more information can PM me~

andyjyneo
post Sep 20 2008, 10:31 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(milito @ Sep 20 2008, 07:06 AM)
i think PU is more stronger than fiber .. but you need to find a good paint for PU else the paint will peel off easily .. not like fibre..
The problem lies on undercoat, not paint. If they don't apply undercoat, paint will peel off no matter how good your paint is.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:42 PM