Official Vocalist Thread!, First ever?

SUSParamore
post Sep 26 2008, 03:09 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Gravity @ Sep 26 2008, 02:55 PM)
so my question is, is the teacher there good and effective?
No idea.

In some ways, we do not need a good teacher to be a good musician. In the end, it is our effort.

For your information, every music teacher (including singing, instrumental and etc.) are all trained to have good ear and aural. So, for this part you do not have to worry. Just tell or talk with the teacher about you wanted to do and they will know what to do on you.

If Brett Manning is the greatest teacher, Hayley Williams has been already awarded a few Grammy just for vocals. Think again, in the end it is still our effort not our teacher.
sarcast
post Sep 27 2008, 02:24 AM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(Gravity @ Sep 26 2008, 02:55 PM)
the most important thing about getting a vocal coach is that he/she must has a good ears and know how to tackle your problem by providing you a custom exercise...

so my question is, is the teacher there good and effective? i'm actually planining to find brett manning.. lol but the cost for a week is around 10K including fees, accomodation and air ticket ....
blink.gif wow were u serious? haha... well if u think it is worth it, is he easy to get?...

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 26 2008, 03:09 PM)

If Brett Manning is the greatest teacher, Hayley Williams has been already awarded a few Grammy just for vocals. Think again, in the end it is still our effort not our teacher.
It depends on our own rather than the teacher. Brett also have many other popular singer student thou
SUSParamore
post Sep 27 2008, 10:10 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 27 2008, 02:24 AM)
It depends on our own rather than the teacher. Brett also have many other popular singer student thou
Ya, Hayley. Ya. LoL! laugh.gif
Gravity
post Sep 29 2008, 08:10 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 26 2008, 03:09 PM)
No idea.

In some ways, we do not need a good teacher to be a good musician. In the end, it is our effort.

For your information, every music teacher (including singing, instrumental and etc.) are all trained to have good ear and aural. So, for this part you do not have to worry. Just tell or talk with the teacher about you wanted to do and they will know what to do on you.

yea, i understand own effort is indeed important to be a good musician. what i'm trying to say is that, there are many vocal coaches outside who thought they are good in teaching but infact they are not. a good teacher provide us the right tool to heal/train/discover our own voice. tongue.gif and keith urban is also student of brett manning ma biggrin.gif

Added on October 7, 2008, 1:15 pmis there so few vocalist in LYN??? sad.gif

This post has been edited by Gravity: Oct 7 2008, 01:15 PM
Satine
post Oct 11 2008, 12:16 AM

19 posts

Oh... can either try another vocal school which is located in Bandar Sunway.. I don't have the exact address but I do know the direction if u wanna get der... smile.gif

I love singing too and took a month class there before...
Everdying
post Oct 11 2008, 12:38 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

theres one place in ttdi...
http://learntosingcentre.com/index.php

maybe one day i go check that place out.
sarcast
post Oct 11 2008, 01:08 AM

\^w^/
612 posts

Everdying, is this rm200 per month>?..
are there any more place thats nearer to damansara? tongue.gif
x_far_x
post Oct 11 2008, 01:14 AM

370 posts

This might be a weird question, but how do you know when you're singing "correctly"? I think I'm tone deaf and not sure if I'm singing it the correct way...hehe.

-FaR
echobrainproject
post Oct 11 2008, 03:08 AM

4,765 posts

tried recording yourself?
sarcast
post Oct 11 2008, 12:03 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(x_far_x @ Oct 11 2008, 01:14 AM)
This might be a weird question, but how do you know when you're singing "correctly"?  I think I'm tone deaf and not sure if I'm singing it the correct way...hehe.

-FaR
yea, record your voice when u sing, then listen to the recording, and u might find it to be different when u hear yourself sing 'live'. I do find some mistake on myself when i hear my own voice on records, can improve next time, try it smile.gif
Gravity
post Oct 12 2008, 03:53 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(x_far_x @ Oct 11 2008, 01:14 AM)
This might be a weird question, but how do you know when you're singing "correctly"?  I think I'm tone deaf and not sure if I'm singing it the correct way...hehe.

-FaR
well, i believe is the release of your voice, where u feel resonance in your head, and u can basically sing from top to bottom easily and freely biggrin.gif
azrinarizz
post Oct 12 2008, 08:52 AM

Made in Malaysia!
2,448 posts

The only thing i can do is sing how to save a life while playign my guitar
Beyond that i am hopeless laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
SUSParamore
post Oct 12 2008, 12:42 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Gravity @ Sep 29 2008, 08:10 PM)
what i'm trying to say is that, there are many vocal coaches outside who thought they are good in teaching but infact they are not.
Students have the rights to ask for a certified teacher.
akira de aimbuster
post Oct 12 2008, 02:11 PM

しごと~
3,500 posts

so how many vocalist here actually got went for training classes?
Gravity
post Oct 15 2008, 02:08 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Oct 12 2008, 12:42 PM)
Students have the rights to ask for a certified teacher.
so what are certified teacher? mind sharing? biggrin.gif what kind of cert or qualification must they have and where can we find them tongue.gif
SUSParamore
post Oct 15 2008, 04:18 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Gravity @ Oct 15 2008, 02:08 PM)
so what are certified teacher? mind sharing? biggrin.gif what kind of cert or qualification must they have and where can we find them tongue.gif
Most of them are grade 8 or below holder yet they are not certified without a diploma but take note that grade 8 certificate is harder to get compare with diploma. So diploma holders are certified teachers. That is just about qualification.

I have met a lot of grade 8 holder teachers are better than the certified ones because the certified ones are mainly from UCSI, SEGi, LKW and etc. who are new to come out to work without a heart to teach.

Where can you find? Well, almost anywhere. If you want famous and passionate teachers, I can introduce you some of them.

Once again, knowledge is more important than qualification (in some ways).
mrjeff
post Oct 21 2008, 08:57 AM

practice everyday... and make sure start with a little warming up.. so u will not soring ur throat later... hehe...

Banzai_san
post Oct 21 2008, 02:20 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

Many recommend brett manning method.

But try have a look at Jamie Venderra's teaching.
http://www.thevoiceconnection.com/
& have a look at his book Raise Your Voice
http://www.raiseyourvoicebook.com/

His approach to vocal techniques, vocal training IMHO is very good... especially for those interested in power vocal (eg rock, metal, etc) but not confined to rock/metal/scream/shouting vocalist. Pop, country etc... can incorporate Jamie's method to improve and look after one's voice.

Elizabeth Sabine has wrote book on strenghtening the vocal, another good source/reference.
http://www.elizabethsabine.net/

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Oct 21 2008, 02:27 PM
yijzen
post Oct 24 2008, 11:06 PM

288 posts

100 ringgit a month is very cheap. I have been taking lessons in the singing shop in amcorp mall form a phillipino teacher. have to see he's very very good. well. i'm paying 200 a month . 4 lessons. not bad i would say.
sarcast
post Oct 25 2008, 12:19 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

Philipino teacher.. so u sang philipines song> ? XD

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:18 AM