8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Official Vocalist Thread!, First ever?

TSRyuuga
post Sep 19 2008, 09:32 PM, updated 18y ago

Guitarist Unlimited
677 posts

Ok i realised vocalist are not getting enough attention in this forum so i've decided to start a vocalist thread.
By the way, i'm NOT a vocalist, but i love to sing, really. and i believe my singing, pitching is fine. The only problem (and the first question of the thread) is, i have a good "singing voice". I'm not sure whether you guys understand my question or not, but i feel that my "timbre" isn't right. You know this because most singers, when they talk and when they sing, they have a different voice altogether. so i'm asking veteran vocalists here, how to achieve that "singing voice" is there a particular technique to do it?
also, i cant hit the notes after two octaves of the middle C.
I'm really a sucker for songs that can go really high pitched so i wish to achieve that as well to satisfy myself >.<

oh i was googling somewhat and found sumthin called headvoice.. what is that? @_@
SUSParamore
post Sep 19 2008, 09:37 PM

626 posts

Two octave after middle C is already soprano. Not all male can able to go that far.

I am an tenor/alto singer in a choir last time. I cannot tell much here as words really cannot advice. What I can tell is, use your stomach/breath/air to sing, not your throat.

Breathing in, breathing out. Other than that, you need to get a teacher. I know a singer teacher, I can introduce you if you want. He/She is provided graded singing lessons.
sarcast
post Sep 19 2008, 09:38 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

hey, nice..thread for vocals...
lets hope the pro vocalists can help... i got some info here..
Brett Manning- u can youtube him n see what happens.(and yes Zidane, thats Hayley's vocal teacher!) . u can subscribe for singing tips too..
SUSParamore
post Sep 19 2008, 09:41 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 19 2008, 09:38 PM)
hey, nice..thread for vocals...
lets hope the pro vocalists can help... i got some info here..
Brett Manning- u can youtube him n see what happens.(and yes Zidane, thats Hayley's vocal teacher!) . u can subscribe for singing tips too..
Haha, I knew that. biggrin.gif

FYI, Brett Manning provides pop singing which is not graded.
sarcast
post Sep 19 2008, 09:41 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 19 2008, 09:37 PM)
Other than that, you need to get a teacher. I know a singer teacher, I can introduce you if you want. He/She is provided graded singing lessons.
Where r the teacher(s) from? subang? sunway?... how would the fees be?

Added on September 19, 2008, 9:42 pmgrade or not graded..what important here (for me..^^) is we can sing good...tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sarcast: Sep 19 2008, 09:42 PM
SUSParamore
post Sep 19 2008, 09:49 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 19 2008, 09:41 PM)
Where r the teacher(s) from? subang? sunway?... how would the fees be?
KL. About RM100 monthly and it is been 3 years I did not get in touch with her. blink.gif
sarcast
post Sep 19 2008, 09:56 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 19 2008, 09:49 PM)
KL. About RM100 monthly and it is been 3 years I did not get in touch with her. blink.gif
aww.. rm100?..O.o , 4 lessons in a month? how long per lesson?
SUSParamore
post Sep 19 2008, 10:21 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 19 2008, 09:56 PM)
aww.. rm100?..O.o , 4 lessons in a month? how long per lesson?
Standard, 30 minutes.

Inside the class 30 minutes The teacher will introduce new technique, students will learn and the student can never get the new technique on that day (that is why a lot of people says that practice is important). Also there is theory part of singing and articulation (such as breathing). With all that in 30 minutes, it is actually a lot.

Any reasons to say that the class is so short and expensive? Think again.
TSRyuuga
post Sep 19 2008, 10:40 PM

Guitarist Unlimited
677 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 19 2008, 10:21 PM)
Standard, 30 minutes.

Inside the class 30 minutes The teacher will introduce new technique, students will learn and the student can never get the new technique on that day (that is why a lot of people says that practice is important). Also there is theory part of singing and articulation (such as breathing). With all that in 30 minutes, it is actually a lot.

haha after get flamed by me again like in the other thread xD
thanks for the info paramore. Might consider getting a professional teacher but not for graded la... sien de la graded exam all the time... i just wanna sing for funs xD after graded exams they teach you to sing classical like THIS GUY
SUSParamore
post Sep 19 2008, 10:46 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Sep 19 2008, 10:40 PM)
haha after get flamed by me again like in the other thread xD
thanks for the info paramore. Might consider getting a professional teacher but not for graded la... sien de la graded exam all the time... i just wanna sing for funs xD after graded exams they teach you to sing classical like THIS GUY
Flame? I do not take that as a flame last time.

You can go for graded classes without taking exam. There is two types of singing, the proper ones are grading and the "sing-for-fun" is the pop singing lesson. I am saying and advising, I am not controlling.

After all, I am a classical musician and it does not mean I play classical always. Just like guitarist, you cannot play rock forever, at least a little bit of this and a little bit of that.

And that video, what a show. sweat.gif
Virgle
post Sep 20 2008, 11:31 AM

►死神 Shinigami◄
683 posts

That video was good. Funny.

Not much to talk about vocalist tough, all you do is practice by do re mi fa so la ti do.
TSRyuuga
post Sep 20 2008, 11:42 AM

Guitarist Unlimited
677 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 19 2008, 10:46 PM)
Flame? I do not take that as a flame last time.

You can go for graded classes without taking exam. There is two types of singing, the proper ones are grading and the "sing-for-fun" is the pop singing lesson. I am saying and advising, I am not controlling.

After all, I am a classical musician and it does not mean I play classical always. Just like guitarist, you cannot play rock forever, at least a little bit of this and a little bit of that.

And that video, what a show. sweat.gif
lol i didnt flame you also... besides, i didn't wanna spoil my mood arguing shyt =/
maybe i'll jus take the pop singing lesson lol know anyone from subang/sunway? its much easier for me that way >.<
BelowAverage
post Sep 20 2008, 06:31 PM

1,274 posts

lol, i can hit highest note is G5 >..<

problem is eventhou i can hit until G5, my voice is not so plesent to hear T_T

some ppl no need to hit high note also sound good cause their vvoice naturally sounds good=.="
sarcast
post Sep 20 2008, 07:24 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 19 2008, 10:21 PM)
Standard, 30 minutes.

i never said anything about it, even starting piano class n guitar are 30 minutes each lesson

SUSParamore
post Sep 21 2008, 12:03 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Sep 20 2008, 11:42 AM)
lol i didnt flame you also... besides, i didn't wanna spoil my mood arguing shyt =/
maybe i'll jus take the pop singing lesson lol know anyone from subang/sunway? its much easier for me that way >.<
I did not even know is that a flame or not.

I know a music school at Old Klang Road that provides pop singing classes. For Subang area, no idea.

QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Sep 20 2008, 06:31 PM)
some ppl no need to hit high note also sound good cause their vvoice naturally sounds good=.="
Because they breath in and out properly and also they use their stomach.
Nitrous
post Sep 25 2008, 04:06 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 21 2008, 12:03 AM)
I know a music school at Old Klang Road that provides pop singing classes. For Subang area, no idea.
Because they breath in and out properly and also they use their stomach.
Would you be able to let me know where this music school is? I would be interested, as I only plan to sing for fun, not for any competition etc. Need to start from the basics... malu leh... sad.gif

Thank you...
SUSParamore
post Sep 26 2008, 02:13 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(Nitrous @ Sep 25 2008, 04:06 PM)
Would you be able to let me know where this music school is? I would be interested, as I only plan to sing for fun, not for any competition etc. Need to start from the basics... malu leh... sad.gif

Thank you...
Good Sound Music Studio
81M, Jalan Mega Mendung,
Bandar Kompleks,
Jalan Kelang Lama,
85200 Kuala Lumpur.

Tel: 03-7982 4905

Enquiry the class, get yourself registered and let the teacher know that you wanted to sing for fun. Then the teacher will know what to do and you are welcome.
sarcast
post Sep 26 2008, 12:00 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

are you one of the teacher there too? and Kelang lama...=.=, thats far
SUSParamore
post Sep 26 2008, 12:02 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 26 2008, 12:00 PM)
are you one of the teacher there too? and Kelang lama...=.=, thats far
No. Maybe next time I will go for an interview. This music school is quite famous.
Gravity
post Sep 26 2008, 02:55 PM

998 posts

the most important thing about getting a vocal coach is that he/she must has a good ears and know how to tackle your problem by providing you a custom exercise...

so my question is, is the teacher there good and effective? i'm actually planining to find brett manning.. lol but the cost for a week is around 10K including fees, accomodation and air ticket ....

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:41 AM