Official Vocalist Thread!, First ever?

Gravity
post Sep 26 2008, 02:55 PM

998 posts

the most important thing about getting a vocal coach is that he/she must has a good ears and know how to tackle your problem by providing you a custom exercise...

so my question is, is the teacher there good and effective? i'm actually planining to find brett manning.. lol but the cost for a week is around 10K including fees, accomodation and air ticket ....
Gravity
post Sep 29 2008, 08:10 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 26 2008, 03:09 PM)
No idea.

In some ways, we do not need a good teacher to be a good musician. In the end, it is our effort.

For your information, every music teacher (including singing, instrumental and etc.) are all trained to have good ear and aural. So, for this part you do not have to worry. Just tell or talk with the teacher about you wanted to do and they will know what to do on you.

If Brett Manning is the greatest teacher, Hayley Williams has been already awarded a few Grammy just for vocals. Think again, in the end it is still our effort not our teacher.
yea, i understand own effort is indeed important to be a good musician. what i'm trying to say is that, there are many vocal coaches outside who thought they are good in teaching but infact they are not. a good teacher provide us the right tool to heal/train/discover our own voice. tongue.gif and keith urban is also student of brett manning ma biggrin.gif

Added on October 7, 2008, 1:15 pmis there so few vocalist in LYN??? sad.gif

This post has been edited by Gravity: Oct 7 2008, 01:15 PM
Gravity
post Oct 12 2008, 03:53 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(x_far_x @ Oct 11 2008, 01:14 AM)
This might be a weird question, but how do you know when you're singing "correctly"?  I think I'm tone deaf and not sure if I'm singing it the correct way...hehe.

-FaR
well, i believe is the release of your voice, where u feel resonance in your head, and u can basically sing from top to bottom easily and freely biggrin.gif
Gravity
post Oct 15 2008, 02:08 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Oct 12 2008, 12:42 PM)
Students have the rights to ask for a certified teacher.
so what are certified teacher? mind sharing? biggrin.gif what kind of cert or qualification must they have and where can we find them tongue.gif
Gravity
post Oct 28 2008, 04:12 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(yijzen @ Oct 24 2008, 11:06 PM)
100 ringgit a month is very cheap. I have been taking lessons in the singing shop in amcorp mall form a phillipino teacher. have to see he's very very good. well. i'm paying 200 a month . 4 lessons. not bad i would say.
issit effective? what kind of approach does your teacher uses biggrin.gif?
Gravity
post Oct 31 2008, 03:53 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(yijzen @ Oct 28 2008, 07:17 PM)
first he talks about the 5 types of sound u can produce.

1. head. (falsetto)
2. chest
3. supported with diaphragm.
4. nasal.
5. throat.

you use different cavities depending on the tune you want to reach. For example. if u would like to reach a lower tone. you should sue your chest voice as it is the most enriching sound. however if u use chest voice to sing higher notes, you will practically strain your voice. anywayz. there is too much to say. aha. go find a vocal teacher instead.
good! registers approach.. mind sharing more info about the teacher, fees and location? im interested biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Gravity: Oct 31 2008, 03:53 AM
Gravity
post May 17 2009, 02:57 PM

998 posts

junior u can youtube brett manning / singingsuccess for some tips.. i improved significantly after doing their training tongue.gif

in fact, it is possible to train head voice to sound like chest voice or real voice. i believe we switch to headvoice because of all the tension we have in our tongue, jaw and inner muscle. All these tension disrupt our vocal quality and therefore it make us sounded head.

0.0246sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:10 AM