98 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

kae7
post Jul 11 2009, 02:14 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(walkmanlover @ Jul 11 2009, 01:54 PM)
any other gps software besides garmin xt? can we join two maps? like combining MFM and MSM together? if can, plz teach me how.. last time i use gmaptool but output file i cannot find it..maybe it was unsuccessful..?
other gps software besides garminxt..

hmm.. there are NDrive,Sygic,TomTom.. and etc...

but Sygic is better...
i like the interface.. and its very cool..
it has something that garminxt dont have... hmm.gif tongue.gif

about the map.. the MFM and MSM is maps specially for Garmin devices..
you can combine it..
rename it as gmapsupp1 and gmapsupp2 [anyway.. you can search at this thread by using keyword "combine" for more info]

This post has been edited by kae7: Jul 11 2009, 02:18 PM
csk.ken
post Jul 11 2009, 07:18 PM

Why nokia N97 canot use GARMIN ?

xyber9
post Jul 12 2009, 03:23 AM

605 posts

How do you activate the speed trap warning in mobile xt with Malaysian sites?
I am using windows mobile XT ver 5.00.20wp
csk.ken
post Jul 12 2009, 04:49 PM

Any 1 know how to install GARMIN in nokia N97 ?
Pls help me....

I have the GARMIN v5.00.5 but i dono why cant used in nokia N97
it will come out other language, why?

izzit the file i copy wrong or what ?

kae7
post Jul 12 2009, 08:23 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(csk.ken @ Jul 11 2009, 07:18 PM)

Why nokia N97 canot use GARMIN ?
QUOTE(csk.ken @ Jul 12 2009, 04:49 PM)
Any 1 know how to install GARMIN in nokia N97 ?
Pls help me....

I have the GARMIN v5.00.5 but i dono why cant used in nokia N97
it will come out other language, why?

izzit the file i copy wrong or what ?
there are guide in N97 thread >> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/863295

.. so.. just follow the step..[make sure you had bought the license]

BUT..
i advice that you buy from authorized seller...[list in the spoiler below]

then they will install the garmin for you..
the price of the license is USD 99 - so its around RM 300 - RM 350 ..[but sometimes there are discount about 30%]

This post has been edited by kae7: Jul 12 2009, 08:24 PM
rickrick
post Jul 12 2009, 11:11 PM

Perth please be good to my business !!
505 posts

hi, I have malfreemaps on my garmin mobile xt.
but if I have other country maps ( ex : australia ) I just need to use gmaptool to combine both & they are ready to go?
tarumi
post Jul 13 2009, 12:36 AM

61 posts

hi..i just install garmin xt ver. 5.00.50..

is there any rate charge when we OPEN the garmin ?

or

is there any rate charge when we START to navigate? by how much it cost ?

is it possible to open n navigate without paying anything?..it yes pls gimme guide ... rclxm9.gif

if no then it suck..hahaha
rhombus
post Jul 13 2009, 06:49 AM

24 posts

[quote=tarumi,Jul 13 2009, 12:36 AM]

or

is it possible to open n navigate without paying anything?..it yes pls gimme guide ... rclxm9.gif

[/quote
I didn't pay a single sen navigating...but have to uncheck assisted and network base in the positioning method setting.
kae7
post Jul 13 2009, 01:04 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Sep 19 2008, 05:31 PM)
Since this is a Handphone and Telecommunication section, I will be providing details related to handphone only, no detailed GPS explanation will be included. This FAQ is not fully written by me and I copy, edit and compile them for easy reference by LYN member. Tutorials are written by me. Anyone can feel free to post question and find any error made by me and I will get the FAQ updated.

GPS FAQ

What is GPS?

What do I need to use GPS?

How much do I have to pay to use GPS service?

What is A-GPS?

Will I be charged when using A-GPS?

I would like to use GPS completely FREE, can I turn off A-GPS?

If I did not follow the route during navigation by the software, what will happen?

More coming soon~
QUOTE(tarumi @ Jul 13 2009, 12:36 AM)

or

is it possible to open n navigate without paying anything?..it yes pls gimme guide ...  rclxm9.gif

lol.. have you read at first page..??
wink.gif
cute_boboi
post Jul 13 2009, 02:39 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

For more readings on A-GPS and Network-Based, read here
tarumi
post Jul 13 2009, 07:39 PM

61 posts

sorry guys..already read it..but i dun really understand a-gps n gps well yet..what i know is everytime i use garmin it charge me..when i disable the a-gps n try to navigate..it cant show my real position..if got setting pls teach me..

btw..im using nokia 6210..n i need to freely navigate using garmin xt icon_question.gif ..tq so muchhh

which one is more accurate?..garmin xt or nokia navi?

Added on July 13, 2009, 8:01 pmWhen i disable the a-gps and use the attached/build in gps it show that GPS is off...i can navigate to where i wanna go..but the the arrow wont move at all...why this happen..did i miss something here?

This post has been edited by tarumi: Jul 13 2009, 08:01 PM
kae7
post Jul 13 2009, 08:22 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(tarumi @ Jul 13 2009, 07:39 PM)

Added on vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif When i disable the a-gps and use the attached/build in gps it show that GPS is off...i can navigate to where i wanna go..but the the arrow wont move at all...why this happen..did i miss something here?
make sure that the gps signal strength shows green wink.gif ..
any way can you explain more about your problem hmm.gif
tarumi
post Jul 13 2009, 09:41 PM

61 posts

sure..btw thanks for that info too..its cool..
i got two application
1) Garmin XT
2) Nokia Navi 2.0

Which one is better?..or should i say it can be used freely...

what setting i have to do if i wanna use garmin xt free witouht any charge?

same goes to nokia navi..what i should do to use it free?

'use' mean i can navigate where ever i want to go and these two application able to show me a route and guide me to my destination accurately...

when i open either nokia navi or garmin xt..i can see that the GPS symbol is on..does it mean im been charged?...or that symbol show that my phone try to connect with gps or etc..

about 'make sure that the gps signal strength shows green'..does u mean the signal for nokia navi or garmin xt?...

i've wait so long but the signal never green..always at one bar or still waiting for gps like forever...

please fellow..let me know if ur trying to explain the use for nokia navi or garmin xt..coz im a little bit confuse which one it is...coz i have both..
kae7
post Jul 13 2009, 10:56 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(tarumi @ Jul 13 2009, 09:41 PM)
sure..btw thanks for that info too..its cool..
i got two application
1) Garmin XT
2) Nokia Navi 2.0

Which one is better?..or should i say it can be used freely...

what setting i have to do if i wanna use garmin xt free witouht any charge?

same goes to nokia navi..what i should do to use it free?

'use' mean i can navigate where ever i want to go and these two application able to show me a route and guide me to my destination accurately...

when i open either nokia navi or garmin xt..i can see that the GPS symbol is on..does it mean im been charged?...or that symbol show that my phone try to connect with gps or etc..

about 'make sure that the gps signal strength shows green'..does u mean the signal for nokia navi or garmin xt?...

i've wait so long but the signal never green..always at one bar or still waiting for gps like forever...

please fellow..let me know if ur trying to explain the use for nokia navi or garmin xt..coz im a little bit confuse which one it is...coz i have both..
gps symbol no..

if you seen that the phone is connected to 3G/3.5 G.. quickly turn it off..

anyway.. better go for garminXT because the license is cheaper than Nokia..
the GarminXT also is a very good software too..

about the map..
there are free maps available for garminXT.. and the maps is updated fortnightly

so not worry.. about the map

just follow the step at 1st page.. to navigate without using a-gps..

and then its free.. its maybe take time to "lock"

when the signal is shown green.. then you can use it...

-jlo-
post Jul 14 2009, 10:25 AM

47 posts

hi guys, im having tis minor hickup with my phone, was wondering if you guys could help me with it. im using a nokie e71 and i installed garmin for as my gps software.when ever i start garmin, my phone takes quite long to search for signal. Does anyone knows what could be the problem?i'd really appreciate the help.thanks in advance ppl!

tarumi
post Jul 14 2009, 11:52 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Jul 13 2009, 11:56 PM)
gps symbol no..

if you seen that the phone is connected to 3G/3.5 G.. quickly turn it off..

anyway.. better go for garminXT because the license is cheaper than Nokia..
the GarminXT also is a very good software too..

about the map..
there are free maps available for garminXT.. and the maps is updated fortnightly

so not worry.. about the map

just follow the step at 1st page.. to navigate without using a-gps..

and then its free.. its maybe take time to "lock"

when the signal is shown green.. then you can use it...
How cheap is it the license ? sweat.gif

is there any way we can use it FREE?...haha..

correct me if im wrong...if we use the a-gps..mean we have to pay the network provider right ??
but if we turn off the a-gps..we need to have a lisence from garmin xt to navigate using intergrated gps ??

OR

did we have to get lisence from garmin xt + we can use the a-gos oso = double pay.. sweat.gif

anyway..why cant we just use the garmin xt for free + can navigate any destination we wanna go without paying anything ??..i just try on my nokia 6210 without sim card and make phone setting to disable the a-gps & intergrated gps but use the attached/build in gps (i click done) it show that GPS is off...i can do search to where i wanna go..but the the arrow (represent my location) wont move at all even though i already making my move... rclxub.gif
kae7
post Jul 14 2009, 05:08 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(tarumi @ Jul 14 2009, 11:52 AM)
How cheap is it the license ?  sweat.gif

is there any way we can use it FREE?...haha..

correct me if im wrong...if we use the a-gps..mean we have to pay the network provider right ??
but if we turn off the a-gps..we need to have a lisence from garmin xt to navigate using intergrated gps ??
the license is needed to activate garminXT..so that you can use built in/integrated gps and a-gps..
without the license.. the only way is by using external gps receiver..which costs you RM 200

yeah.. if u use a-gps.. you need to pay for the connection charge...[few cents only.. but it depends]
a-gps.. it will use GPRS/EDGE/3G to connect the satellite faster

by disable the a-gps.. the time to connect to the satellite will be longer..[more than 1 minutes..]

the license is USD 99..buy this license only at authorized/verified seller..
dont buy at any other than shop that i listed below..
becoz.. the others may conned you.. they maybe sell illegal garmin[you can get this for free at internet]
the list of verified shop as below

the price of the license is USD 99 - so its around RM 300 - RM 350 ..[but sometimes there are discount about 30%]

QUOTE(tarumi @ Jul 14 2009, 11:52 AM)

did we have to get lisence from garmin xt + we can use the a-gos oso = double pay..  sweat.gif

anyway..why cant we just use the garmin xt for free + can navigate any destination we wanna go without paying anything ??..i just try on my nokia 6210 without sim card and make phone setting to disable the a-gps & intergrated gps but use the attached/build in gps (i click done) it show that GPS is off...i can do search to where i wanna go..but the the arrow (represent my location) wont move at all even though i already making my move... 

by disable the a-gps.. you can navigate it for free..[using integrated gps]

the disadvantage disable the a-gps..
- the 'locking' time is longer[maybe more than 1 minute]

so.. enable the a-gps.. will make your 'locking' time faster although it may charges you..

in your case...[without using a-gps]
i wanna ask you.. what the color of the signal..
red/green/no colour

no colour mean no signal receive -your integrated gps isnt activate.. so you need to enable it..you cannot start navigating

red colour mean.. have less signal..you cannot start navigate

green color mean.. you have strong signal.. you can start navigating..

by disable the a-gps.. the time to lock is longer.. so you need to wait until green signal appear,, then only you can start navigating,,,

if problem still couldnt be solved..

you can check the setting.. here >>

Go To Menu -> Settings -> General -> Positioning -> Positioning Methods -> Assisted GPS (unselect it!)

make sure only unselect Assisted GPS and Bluetooth GPS..

and make sure.. you select the Integrated GPS and Network Based
SUSbuntutman
post Jul 14 2009, 06:20 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(walkmanlover @ Jul 11 2009, 01:54 PM)
any other gps software besides garmin xt? can we join two maps? like combining MFM and MSM together? if can, plz teach me how.. last time i use gmaptool but output file i cannot find it..maybe it was unsuccessful..?
papago.
u can combine both but u'll have alot of errors. and u cant search as well , are u sure thats what u want ?

QUOTE(xyber9 @ Jul 12 2009, 03:23 AM)
How do you activate the speed trap warning in mobile xt with Malaysian sites?
I am using windows mobile XT ver 5.00.20wp
download stratman's CPOI, and enable warning tones. on mxt u will only get bongs and dings.

QUOTE(rickrick @ Jul 12 2009, 11:11 PM)
hi, I have malfreemaps on my garmin mobile xt.
but if I have other country maps ( ex : australia ) I just need to use gmaptool to combine both & they are ready to go?
better not. now microsd very cheap. buy a few 1gb microsd cards and load in one map one card one country lor.

tarumi
post Jul 15 2009, 09:16 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Jul 14 2009, 06:08 PM)
the license is needed to activate garminXT..so that you can use built in/integrated gps and a-gps..
without the license.. the only way is by using external gps receiver..which costs you RM 200

yeah.. if u use a-gps.. you need to pay for the connection charge...[few cents only.. but it depends]
a-gps.. it will use GPRS/EDGE/3G to connect the satellite faster

by disable the a-gps.. the time to connect to the satellite will be longer..[more than 1 minutes..]

the license is USD 99..buy this license only at authorized/verified seller..
dont buy at any other than shop that i listed below..
becoz.. the others may conned you.. they maybe sell illegal garmin[you can get this for free at internet]
the list of verified shop as below

by disable the a-gps.. you can navigate it for free..[using integrated gps]

the disadvantage disable the a-gps..
- the 'locking' time is longer[maybe more than 1 minute]

so.. enable the a-gps.. will make your 'locking' time faster although it may charges you..
in your case...[without using a-gps]
i wanna ask you.. what the color of the signal..
red/green/no colour

no colour mean no signal receive -your integrated gps isnt activate.. so you need to enable it..you cannot start navigating

red colour mean.. have less signal..you cannot start navigate

green color mean.. you have strong signal.. you can start navigating..

by disable the a-gps.. the time to lock is longer.. so you need to wait until green signal appear,, then only you can start navigating,,,

if problem still couldnt be solved..

you can check the setting.. here >>

Go To Menu -> Settings -> General -> Positioning -> Positioning Methods -> Assisted GPS (unselect it!)

make sure only unselect Assisted GPS and Bluetooth GPS..

and make sure.. you select the Integrated GPS and Network Based
As ur explain all this...i can understand it clearly and merely already done what have u told...my signal is red only after disable a-gps/bluetooth and put a tick on integrated gps n network based..dunno why this happen..is nokia 6210 got a bad gps receiver ? cry.gif ..after 1minute..the signal still red...or should i say..after 5 minutes oso nothing happen to da signal...lol..did i miss something ??
cute_boboi
post Jul 15 2009, 12:33 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tarumi @ Jul 15 2009, 09:16 AM)
As ur explain all this...i can understand it clearly and merely already done what have u told...my signal is red only after disable a-gps/bluetooth and put a tick on integrated gps n network based..dunno why this happen..is nokia 6210 got a bad gps receiver ?  cry.gif ..after 1minute..the signal still red...or should i say..after 5 minutes oso nothing happen to da signal...lol..did i miss something ??
Did you try it outside in open field/area without trees, shelter or tall buildings near by ? i.e. facing clear sky ?

I hope you are not doing it inside building/home.

98 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:31 PM