8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

stimix
post Nov 24 2008, 09:20 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Omnia is a window mobile so more to PDA phone rather than Smartphone (Nokia Symbian)

The advantage of GPS in PDA phone (For me-lah) is, its capable to install GPS proxy that symbian can't & I just love the tracking capability of GPS proxy which is much more accurate than anything Garmin can provide.

If u pair GPS proxy wth the older 2d version of Garmin que, u can run Garmin virtually free except this is an older version of Garmin. Garmin Mobile XT is not a free software & u need to buy the original SD card from Garmin (Not cheap also )

To learn more read the wiki section of malsingmaps from the link in my siggy
QUOTE(shakiraa @ Nov 24 2008, 12:20 AM)
Hi all sifus, i'm looking for a GPS device also, i'm thinking about getting OMNIA, i'm super noob, how should i start from there? straight away install Garmin then good to go? and the Garmin software need to buy or can d/l for free?

Very sorry for the dumb question as i'm really new to this GPS thing, thus really appreciate ur help. thanks again.

This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 27 2008, 12:23 AM
stimix
post Nov 25 2008, 03:00 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

If u hv copy the speed trap POI, u probably wanted to goto setting>Maps>Show speed limit

Also under Audio>Attention tone>Enabled

I hv deleted the stupid speed trap file so I might be wrong on the setting....Anyway why I said stupid bcos those POIs are not accurate & keep on blinking & causing me to slow down a lot!! mad.gif ..Once I ignore bcos of the irritating speed trap on every flyover location...I pulak kena speed tarp!! mad.gif

QUOTE(shahdelee @ Nov 25 2008, 02:06 PM)
i installed latest garmin mobile XT 5.00.10 to my N82.. everything is working great.
wanna ask 1 question.. how to make voice/sound alert or warning for speed trap?? i already copied the speed trap POI to my POI folder.. when i travel on that road, only the pop-up massage appear on my screen but no sound alert...

please help...

Added on November 25, 2008, 3:03 pmjust like MNP, switch over to Garmin/Mapking malsingmaps/malfreemaps instead of keep on holding to the money sucker Nokia maps biggrin.gif ...Goto both links in my siggy....

QUOTE(tyss @ Nov 25 2008, 02:15 PM)
Where to download the latest map? I tried downloading using nokia map uploader. The map is outdated.
This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 25 2008, 03:03 PM
stimix
post Nov 25 2008, 03:19 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

OK something to share for those wanted to venture into tracking or submitting tracklogs to mappers of either malsingmaps or malfreemaps.

After researching hi/lo in malsingmaps forum, I found 2 equally good softwares for the purpose of 1 second tracklogs recording which rival gps proxy/gate which is for PDA WM only.

Both software are:

1) Nokia sport trackers (NST)
2) Racechrono http://www.racechrono.com/?lang=en

From the discussion in malsingmaps, both are equally good but the problem wth NST is u cannot switch on Garmin MXT at the same time otherwise crash sad.gif

So I downloded the Racechrono, read abit of the manual...switch to data logging mode, start tracking this morning & thereafter export to gpx file format.
Open the gpx format using mapedit, convert to gdb format & edit using mapsource....& yes...tracklogs really of the gold standard as required my malsingmaps mapper.... thumbup.gif rclxms.gif

So those wanted to contribute new roads or fed-up seeing new roads but not in the maps & wanted mappers to include those maps....u can start download racechrono now....fanstastic software thumbup.gif

Added on November 25, 2008, 3:22 pmSure, just buy the original Garmin micro sd card & install garmin MXT. Thereafter the installed the latest malsingmaps or malfreemaps. Otherwise google if you are looking for drool.gif drool.gif brows.gif
QUOTE(tyss @ Nov 25 2008, 03:18 PM)
I am using n85, Can i use malsingmap with nokia GPS software?
This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 25 2008, 03:22 PM
stimix
post Nov 25 2008, 03:28 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I think it's time moderator to combine this thread to the origianl GPS thread
stimix
post Nov 25 2008, 10:04 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Here's a sample of tracklogs recording using racechrono & exporting/converting the gpx file using mapedit & thereafter editing via mapsource b4 submitting to mappers: thumbup.gif ..Atlast I can dump my ASUS P535 already rclxm9.gif ...Currently on sales:

BTW..tracking is a very additive hobby... drool.gif ..hehe for me-lah blush.gif

stimix
post Nov 26 2008, 12:01 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yes.. I only hunt for roads not in the latest maps biggrin.gif rclxms.gif ...BTW, garmin MXT does hv tracking capabiolity but the tracklogs are not "golden quality" i.e it's not 1 second recording but "most often" thus mappers's dun really likes garmin mxt tracklogs...racechrono provides 1 sec recording & thus the dotted line is very close to each others & gave a very accurate tracks rclxms.gif

BTW, the info in racechrono is more than what available via Garmin... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 25 2008, 10:54 PM)
U are recording those roads where not included in the map?

I tried recording with garmin b4. Something like that, dotted line and contains info like speed, distance etc~
stimix
post Nov 26 2008, 09:51 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Not sure what u mean by getting full bars but no colour/signal....but for sure when starting, the bar will turn from red (1-2 bars) to green (3-5bars). If totally no signal it will be blank. hmm.gif

If no signal u can't navigate what..if u can navigate for sure there's signal... biggrin.gif
stimix
post Nov 26 2008, 12:01 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Oh, u mean that globe chart...Normal-lah..Even in Garmin QUe or even those mother of GPS (Like Garmin 60Csx) also like that...I will take time to acquire satelites and after the signal getting stronger, the colour change to stable.

Hypermount, hehe, H/phone esp N78 acquisition of satelites are slow, not sure why your unit so fast but normally between 3-5 or even 10min!! However tested sharkteef N79 and it's really fast..BTW, inside house mana ada satelite signal unless u using the signal based on AGPS nearest to GSM tower??
stimix
post Nov 26 2008, 12:48 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeap..u are one of luckiest one around biggrin.gif ..BTW, how fast the acquisition of signal doesn't mean the chipset is good. I still remember having a GloballocateAGPS chipset in my old HP6515 & the acquisition of satelite is much faster than my current Asus P535 PDA (SirfIII chipset). and I can tell u the quality of tracklogs using sirfIII is much better than globallocate AGPS chipset!!

On my current N78 I was actually dissapointed wth the tracklogs quality via Garmin MXT as it's dun hv 1 second recording & thus, tracklogs not so perfect wth big gaps in between..in order to get perfect tracklogs, u really hv to walk & jog rather than drive!! However since I found another tacking software (Racechrono) ...getting the perfect 1 second tracklogs, & this very slow chipset actually performed equally good compare wth SIrfIII rclxms.gif shocking.gif
QUOTE(hypermount @ Nov 26 2008, 12:37 PM)
That's weird..my phone take only 5-10 seconds! tongue.gif Later at home take video. 4-5 green healthy bar.

At details - at least about 4 blue bar - satellites link.

if 3-10 minutes -wow that's really I wouldn't get really excited about the GPS feature in my phone.
stimix
post Nov 27 2008, 04:59 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

For sure cannot-lah. Tom-tom & Garmin are 2 diff platforms & yes malsingmaps is using either Garmin or Mapking only. U will regret it if u get tom-tom

BTW, That's a Tom-tom PND nothing to do wth handphone..abit OT here..
stimix
post Nov 29 2008, 03:11 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I saw ur latest post in MSM..since u hv found the link, no need to tell u where is the link ho biggrin.gif

BTW, u cannot use the latest V2.30 from MSM bcos it's locked. in order to unlock, u need to contribute atleast 2 contributions either POI. error reporting b4 u'r entitle. Nevertheless, u can use the older version 2.15 here:
http://www.malsingmaps.com/portal/downloads.php

If u really want the latest maps without any unlocked code goto www.malfreemaps.com
http://malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=468&start=0

Just install. & goto the installed folder & copy the gmasupp.img into the garmin folder of your Nokia
QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Nov 29 2008, 01:52 PM)
where can i get malsingmaps and how to instal to my garminMXT ?
stimix
post Nov 30 2008, 04:16 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

@ Sharteef, PMed the admin of MFm on your problem..really UFO.. biggrin.gif

BTW, on which maps better, it's all depending where is your location & where u want to travel.

If u only travel around Klang Valley, Seremabn, Ipoh, Penang & East coast, go for Malfreemaps as it's more up to date. However if u wated to travel South to Melaka, Johor & Singapore, Malsingmaps still rule in these 3 areas.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Nov 30 2008, 01:38 PM)
for now, still malsing.
@stimix- wei check my post @ the projek room in mfm forums for me. under the non halal food poi. dunno why i cannot seem to submit it. instead i submit in the form of text file. thanks bro !
stimix
post Nov 30 2008, 04:39 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Personally I hv try combining both via mapsource and at the end resulted in adress search problem & therefore I abandone 1. If need to goto Melaka, copy gmapsupp from MSM & if maintained in KL, just use MFM...

U can try to copy 2 files i.e. 1st gmapsupp.img & another rename to gmapsup2.img & try..I d yet to try this.. blush.gif hmm.gif

QUOTE(bikerzfrenzy @ Nov 30 2008, 04:25 PM)
can put both map in phone simultaneously? how to name?
stimix
post Nov 30 2008, 05:03 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Try to do address search since u combine both maps & try...I think it wil screw up a bit hmm.gif not sure..just try & post your review wth the combined maps biggrin.gif
QUOTE(bikerzfrenzy @ Nov 30 2008, 04:54 PM)
ok, i have copy and rename both. so it will read both map? cannot choose to read only 1 map? so it will combine the map and have both poi?
stimix
post Dec 1 2008, 12:46 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

FYI....Malfreemaps.com V1.24 is now available for download
stimix
post Dec 2 2008, 03:38 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Not necessary Nokia. Any BT GPSr will works wth Nokia...such as

1) Garmin 10X (Recommended for easy setup but damn expensive)
2) Holux series such as M1000/m1200 & the older but much better sirf 111 model of 236 series
4) Podo, sanax, & etc....

If u intend to get Garmin MXT navigation, I suggest u to stick to Garmin10X. Others BT GPSr u need to seperately buy the SD card which will be another cost to you

Added on December 2, 2008, 3:41 pmPretty normal my N78 took almost 5 min also esp if u stop in location A & restart at another location b which is far apart. but if u stop at the spot u restart it will be fast...<1min
QUOTE(bikerzfrenzy @ Dec 2 2008, 02:17 PM)
is it normal to search for satellite for about 5 min in car? i'm using n95
This post has been edited by stimix: Dec 2 2008, 03:41 PM
stimix
post Dec 2 2008, 09:40 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I hv not try this option i.e hook up to the PC. Normally u need gps proxy & Nroute programme to track...hehe..u can try this...opsss...hv to sleep now..early flight to macau 2moro biggrin.gif

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Dec 2 2008, 09:27 PM)
@stimix - i installed gmxt10 for winmo on my friends palm pro treo dunno what what else model number.

works fantastic. his signal lock even faster than mine. under 5 secs.
accuracy - off the grid. wayyyyyy off the grid.

funny thing is, when u install gmxt onto a winmo pda, i didnt know u can use it as a gmpc. remember the selection of use inbuilt or bluetooth connection in the system settings ? well i na pda u have additional 1 which is split into another 4. com4 com6 irda port and 1 other which i forgot. meaning i cna use the pda as a receiver only while hooked onto the pc and track direct using mapsos ?
stimix
post Dec 10 2008, 10:08 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Actually N79 is better. I tested both N78 & N79 side by side and was shock on how fast N79 acquire the signal. The only thing I dun like N79 is the keypad & the navi wheel...very difficult to press & control.

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Dec 9 2008, 01:41 PM)
Out of many Nokia N series, how is the N79 GPSr perform ? N78 have the best GPSr, while N95 and N82 are worst, in terms of lock on time. sweat.gif But how N79 do compare to these ?

Added on December 10, 2008, 10:14 amCopy to the Garmin folder.

QUOTE(lawl @ Dec 9 2008, 08:49 PM)
I downloaded the malfreemap.. but i duno which folder to put in.. im using n95 1gb.. Im still very new to this gps in the phone..
This post has been edited by stimix: Dec 10 2008, 10:14 AM
stimix
post Dec 19 2008, 07:26 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Are u trying to use the locked malsingmaps V2.30 without getting the unlocked key by contributing POIs/errors/tracklogs?

If yes..no wonder-lah..If u do not want to contribute but wanted to view, use the V2.15. Or if u dun mind the lack Melaka/Johor & Sinagproe maps, try download from malfreemaps. No need contributions

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Dec 19 2008, 07:14 PM)
I have my Garmin installed into my N82 and i able to use the build in GPS
but the problem is my garmin software unable to view the map although it is in the garmin folder.
Can assist?

Added on December 19, 2008, 7:28 pmWrong thread, There is existing pinned topic in the Mobile Computing...by Baronics.. biggrin.gif ..Here is discussing about GPS in smart phone not PDA phone
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/359867

QUOTE(-Y- @ Dec 19 2008, 03:44 PM)
what bout htc's? how was their gps? got any problem?
This post has been edited by stimix: Dec 19 2008, 07:46 PM
stimix
post Feb 6 2009, 07:07 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

OK only read this moment ago. To combine other country maps (For eg the Bali maps since i know U'r going there soon biggrin.gif ), U need mapsource another software from Garmin....

Let say u hv malfreemaps & you have also installed the .exe file for Bali available in malsing. Use the mapsource & combine both malfree & the bali maps & send the combined maps (Also gmapsupp.img) to N78. The instruction is in the malsing wiki if I'm not mistaken. However this method will resulted in adress search failure

Alternatively u can create 2 seperate gmapsupp.img i.e the 1st maintained it under gmapsupp.img & the 2nd gmapsup2.img using patchimg program. thereafter copy both files to your garmin folder

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Feb 3 2009, 11:13 AM)
ok guys, need help. I owned a N78. I've got malsing maps installed in my garmin mobile, now I've recently downloaded an *.img map of another country, I want to installed that *.img file into my garmin but, whenever I copy that file over to the garmin folder in my phone, and turn on the garmin, it will always tell me to have an unlock code for that particular map.

So, guys, how do I get the unlock code for it? or rather how to I actually load it into the garmin properly? cuz, it might be that I've loaded the file incorrectly?

anyone can help?

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0410sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:57 PM