Studying in the UK V2

liew_jls
post Feb 6 2009, 10:31 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Feb 5 2009, 02:41 PM)

Note that Im international student going to UK to study . Thus im totally unaware of the situation in UK.

Also I would like to know will i able to apply for the Post Study work (PSW) scheme that replaces the INternational graduate scheme upon graduation ?

Lastly, Im looking for good quality education as in the university should have good and helpful lecturers .... >.<

Another thing to note that is I come from University of nottingham malaysia campus ... but im not really into taking postgraduate in nottingham uk although I could obtain automatic scholarship for being graduate from malaysia campus ... Hmm mainly because their master uses undergraduate modules for MSc. If I were to go there, basically I have to take those subjects which I didnt take during my undergraduate.  Any comment on this ? Izzit all uk universities are the same where taught master course will use undergraduate modules ?
yes, PSW is replacing IGS, which you are allow to work in UK without any working permit. it is a 2 years visa. I think most of university is eligible for visa, you need to both check it. I suppose home office do has a link to check the university is under this scheme. if you plan to work in UK, i think the best is to take the course which has the industrial training, as nowadays company in UK hiring graduates prefer more working experience. the more working experience you have, the higher chance you will offer by the company. But of course, you choosing course and university, you must hv interest on it.

well, all university do have good and bad lectures. you can't run away from bad lecturer. it's depends on you, there's no spoon-feeding in postgraduate. Sometimes you need to figure out and try all solution when you have problem before go to the lecturer...

what i know is, usually taught master course will use the same undergraduate modules. but the way you learn is more mature and independent, which is probably cover more topic compare with undergraduate student and the way lecturer teach is different. i would say the material is the same, but the assignment and expectation from lecturer is more for postgraduate.

liew_jls
post Feb 7 2009, 09:30 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Feb 6 2009, 01:03 PM)
Informative reply .. appreaciate that ...

Im seriously considering Birmingham university as I do have interest in the course and the industrial training ... Are they good in E n E field ? ... Based on the ranking they are in top 10 university in UK for E n E field .. but i dont rely on just that .... I prefer to get feedback from student as they speak the "truth" lol ...

Any information regarding about the living cost there ? izzit high ? ... I do know that Birmingham is one of the biggest city in UK ... Im wondering does it proportional with the living cost too ? lol ...
However in nottingham malaysia campus, the assessment for postgraduate and undergradaute are the same ..I know alot of postgraduate students who are in the same class as I am ..

Furthremore any good scholarship to recommend me be it local or international scholarship? ...

Added on February 7, 2009, 9:12 pmWhy study in UK seems to be quite inactive nowadays lol >.< no 1 interested  to study in UK anymore ?
erm, to be honest, i not quite sure about university birmingham and sheffield. But i think there's some lyn members are studying in both of this university. sorry can't help much...
liew_jls
post Mar 17 2009, 04:47 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(teddys_t @ Feb 22 2009, 04:08 AM)

plan to work part time there to spend my time over there when i m not studying coz i will b there alone. is it possibe???
if the rules haven't change yet, you can work part-time job, as long the working hours is not more than 20 hours per week (during term-time). but when you have submit your dissertation for your MSc and waiting for result, you can work (if you plan to apply PSW visa) while your student visa still valid (this is only when you got ur result/finish project & exam).
liew_jls
post Mar 23 2009, 06:03 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Mar 22 2009, 03:56 AM)
i'm going over to wisma mca to show all my support documents, my friend just called and tell me that the fee (Rm 535) for applying visa must be paid in bank draft form?

Anyone can clarify?cos i can't find much info about it.
are you sure there's not information for paying the fee for student visa? scroll down the page where you are looking at the table for each visa fees. there's few ways to do that, you can either pay it via online banking, bank transfer and get the bank draft (this need to pay RM5, others should hv any surcharge).

Added on March 23, 2009, 6:12 am
QUOTE(bearbear @ Mar 22 2009, 04:11 AM)
I heard warwick is famous for management, yes you can show fixed deposit as part of your financial support.

from what i know the minimum amount required is your total fee + 7200GBP/5400GBP(1 year) for living expenses depending on where your U is located.
make sure your fixed deposit is updated, coz usually FD is using automatically update. but when you are using it for financial proving, you must go to the bank and update ur FD before submission. otherwise they will reject your application. or if you have monthly bank statement for your FD, you can use it.

i tot this new requirement (living expenses proving) only will start in next 2 weeks? so if anyone is coming in next 2 months, this 2 weeks is the best time to apply your student visa.

This post has been edited by liew_jls: Mar 23 2009, 06:12 AM
liew_jls
post Mar 25 2009, 04:42 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Mar 23 2009, 03:09 AM)
Thanks for the information. Can I know what do you mean by updating it ? does it mean that transferring money into FD ?
Updating means for those FD you have been expired, so you go to the bank and give it to the bank officer to print out your latest amount money + new expiry date for your FD.

QUOTE(bearbear @ Mar 24 2009, 05:11 AM)
Nop i can't prove, that's why in the application form i stated i wanna apply for PSW after i graduate. As long as i get the visa everything will be fine. Pray hard for me biggrin.gif

if I were you, i won't state that i'll going to apply PSW after graduate(although you are planning to do apply PSW). coz now UK gov is controlling immigration. Just state you are leaving the country after graduate and you like to learn more about british culture. Just don't mention you want to work in UK. This isn't going to help your application.
liew_jls
post Mar 29 2009, 07:29 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Mar 28 2009, 10:47 PM)
with engineering, it is good to start to early. most huge engineering companies start to recruit graduate engineer during oct-apr.

so you could secured a job even before you graduated / while still doing the 3rd year.
not quite true for nowadays.. as recession has hit the engineering and financial market quite badly... there's a lot companies is cutting down budget for recruiting graduates.... to get a secure job in uk for nowadays, working experience is the key to persuade company to hire you.
liew_jls
post Apr 14 2009, 03:52 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Apr 12 2009, 09:54 AM)
According to Royal Bank of Scotland, Leeds is one of the cheapest and Nottingham is very expensive. But do note this report looks at Net Cost (i.e., taking into tuition fee, cost of living and working part time to offset the cost.). If you do not work part time, then this report is meaningless.

While those near London can be expensive, it does not mean other cities near London automatically are. You should ask those now in UK for answers to that question.

no, nottingham isn't expensive as you think. of coz living in city centre will be a little bit expensive if compare with place like beeston (where Nott Uni is). What i know is nottingham rent will be around £300 per month (including all bills) which you will have a very comfortable room... If you are going to study in Nott Uni, the living cost definitely will be cheaper.. Besides, Manchester and Leeds are big city, you can't compare manchester and leeds with nottingham..

Added on April 14, 2009, 3:58 am
QUOTE(youngkies @ Apr 1 2009, 12:17 PM)
so what are the changes?

only at least postgrad cert can apply for PSW now?
PSW remain the same, undergraduate and postgraduate cert still able to apply for PSW.. the change is Tier 1 general (known as HSMP) require at least Master qualification in order to get enough points.

This post has been edited by liew_jls: Apr 14 2009, 03:58 AM
liew_jls
post Apr 17 2009, 06:29 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Apr 16 2009, 01:23 PM)
Are you implying that it is not easy to obtain PSW ?  I believe i able to fulfill all the criteria for PSW as my course is more than 6 months and  postgraduate degree.

But I have not heard any student getting PSW currently though ... mm
well, applying PSW is not that hard as you think.. like youngkies said, as long you have fulfill all the requirements, then you will get it. if you are doing a taught programme MSc course and you have enough funding in your bank then it's alright. Those two is the major thing when you are applying PSW.

No, there's quite a lot graduates are holding PSW.. My friends and I just convert Student visa to PSW... few of us did it in UK and the rest went back to KL and apply . The thing is you need to think of you want to do it in UK or KL... then you can start from the funding... the major different between application in UK and KL is the funding part and application fees.... I would say do it in UK will be more easier as the funding only require £800 ( I suppose it has change by now?)
liew_jls
post Apr 18 2009, 05:59 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Apr 17 2009, 10:10 AM)
cool.  hows the job market in uk ? I fear even if I get PSW i couldnt get any job mm ...  we only have 2 years to convert from PSW to either TIER2 or TIER1 working visa. But I guess without proper job, I would not even survive for half year haha
Job market in UK? lol.. wat a good question... just like youngkies said, it's quite quiet nowadays... but since you just going to start your postgraduate, then by the time the market probably will better than now... well, you always can work some temporary jobs or part-time to cover your living cost... in uk, as long you willing to work (i mean legally).. it's quite impossible you can't survive...

btw, why don't you finish up your degree, then only worry about job hunting (when you are finishing your degree).. probably things might not be that worse..
liew_jls
post May 6 2009, 06:38 AM

558 posts

i came across an article on The Sun website, surfing facebook will interrupt academic grads.. heavy facebook user so boys and gals, pls make sure you don't facebook too much until forget about ur assignments and thesis.. wink.gif

i used to addicted to facebook for a quiet some times (surf every single day, even morning, afternoon and night) , until few months ago (which my fyp started) i was too busy to login to my facebook... now i realize i had wasted so much time on facebook... i agreed, it's good to keep in touch with friends and family... but it's doesn't necessary spend so much time on it.
liew_jls
post May 9 2009, 05:56 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(vanPersieXX @ May 8 2009, 01:41 PM)
is nottingham a nice place?? i heard its a very dangerous place, is tat true??
nottingham isn't that dangerous, only selected areas are dangerous. as long as you stay away from those black area, you will be fine. the reason a lot ppl said nottingham is a dangerous place, is because it's the 3rd/4th (not sure what is the ranking for this year) of city has the highest crime rate (especially gun crime) in UK. but these usually happen in those black area. you will see a lot ppl walking and shopping in city centre, and a lot students study in Nott Uni and NTU. so it's that bad.
i suppose you are going to stay in uni accommodation, then you are safe. the best is stay at home during night time, don't walk around alone (i mean night time - especially gals)... but day time is alright.....
liew_jls
post May 15 2009, 03:32 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ May 15 2009, 01:32 AM)
LOL. Letter heading making a difference between getting a visa or not getting one. What would they think of next? Didn't like the font?
never laugh on this, they are something like human robot... 'must follow this, must follow that'...

liew_jls
post May 16 2009, 06:14 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ May 15 2009, 10:19 AM)
When a significant amount of your income comes from tourist and student utilizing their education industry, do you want to kill off that source of income? In other word, do you want to kill off your goose that lay the golden egg? That is why I say that is a stupid logic.

In Malaysia, we too have such stupid mentality. I remember there was this association head complaining of too many Singaporean coming into Johore to spend their money. And in the process, making everything too expensive for Johorean. They did not realize these very Singaporean are bring money into Malaysia. Imagine, refusing people who bring money into this country.
well, it's true they are bring money into the country but they need to consider others issues such as expenses and salary for those customs officer. the more tourist come into the country, the more customs officer they need (all these are money)... everything is money, there's no free lunch in this world...

besides, they need to protect their citizens.. as recession hits uk quite badly, and there's some tourists will stay in UK and work illegally.. this is another way to prevent tourist over stay in UK. don't you notice home office has high up the barriers for student visa and psw visa? now they aren't quite bother about oversea student come over and study, as they need to save some jobs opportunity for local ppl.

This post has been edited by liew_jls: May 16 2009, 06:20 PM
liew_jls
post May 27 2009, 04:27 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ May 26 2009, 04:28 PM)
wa 2k+ for one way is kinda expensive mmm

i usually get my ticket from MSL travel... any more recommendation ?
well, if you want a really cheap ticket.. book via their own website such as MAS/SIA etc websit... otherwise you can try lastminute.com to hunt for cheap return ticket... if you book via their website, you can't get any student ticket.. just a normal ticket... but maybe cheaper but there's quite a lot restriction..
liew_jls
post Jun 26 2009, 05:19 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jun 24 2009, 11:45 AM)
no. it is very uncommon to pay such a huge amount upfront.

most take 1 month deposit.

why not go for university accommodation. hassle free!
i had the experience. I did pay 6 months upfront rent to my current landlord, but it's via a letting agency. if you are doing this (paying 6 months rent, make sure you are doing via a trustable agency and read all the document carefully)...

university accommodation? expensive mate!!

Added on June 26, 2009, 5:27 am
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 23 2009, 03:26 AM)
I don't think there is anything to stop you from opening another account solely in your name, is there?

But for a 1st timer to UK, it might be helpful to have that UK HSBC Premier account. It allows free transfer of money and you get to have UK credit card immediately. And with a UK credit card, as long as you spend more than GBP100 on it, be it part payment or full payment, the CC company is liable should there be any product dispute. Something that is not available to Debit Card or Malaysia CC.
ya, probably transferring money is the advantage. but i don't see u can't get any uk credit card from any uk bank? i did get a student UK credit card from natwest without any problem when i arrived uk as a student. in fact, they offered me the student credit card when i opened the step account.

besides, don't rely on credit card too much.. it's a hole without any end, u won't realize u spend too much until u get ur statement by the end of the month.

This post has been edited by liew_jls: Jun 26 2009, 05:27 AM
liew_jls
post Jun 26 2009, 03:16 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jun 25 2009, 11:43 PM)
well still, it is very uncommon to pay 6 months deposit.

not everyone has that amount of money, when mostly have to pay 1-2 months deposit upfront. did you get the room before you came to UK. I would assume 6 months deposit upfront is for letting while tenant is not in UK yet.

but yes like said, just have to ensure the agency is reliable.

university accommodation is not always expensive, it depends on what university, location and what you have in a private house compare to uni accommodation. university with little accommodation halls is what usually contribute to the pricey rent.
laugh.gif not really... my situation is bit different, as that time i was moving on my last semester. my landlord wanted us paying 6 months upfront because all of us are student (which already in UK) and he actually plan to rent to professional ppl. laugh.gif he was worried we couldn't pay the rent... anyway what you said is true, 6 months upfront is not normal.. usually they request for 1.5 or 2 months deposit instead of 6 months upfront. well, at least you can get back the deposit, not the upfront. gosh, that time my bank account nearly dry out when paying the 6 months upfront.. hahaha..

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 26 2009, 12:09 AM)
May I ask what's the credit limit?

Added on June 26, 2009, 7:10 am

It depends. Most university accommodation is for 38 weeks but for those in the private, it is 52 weeks. So if you go back for the long 12 weeks summer holiday, with university accommodation, you don't have to pay for your room unlike the private. The amount we are talking for the summer room are very significant. For example, if your room is GBP70 a week, you will be paying 70 x 12 =GBP 840 for the empty room that you are not using.
the credit limit was £500. i usually use it for online payment..

you are right, there's always pro and con for private and uni accommodation..

QUOTE(vincent_ng86 @ Jun 26 2009, 02:54 AM)
No, what I mean is those Universities Accommodations that are manage by other organization rather than the University themselves.

i think university accommodation means the university manage the accommodation. but u r trying to looking for those accommodation which run like university accommodation such as en-suite. but still it's consider as private accommodation.
liew_jls
post Jun 27 2009, 08:53 PM

558 posts

bearbear, besides that, i suppose u have online banking? you can just transfer your money using online banking. online banking is very useful..

Added on June 27, 2009, 8:55 pmoh btw, beware when u r using ur debit card.. make sure u have sufficient money in ur bank account. otherwise u will get a penalty fees for overdraft. and it will cost a bom for the penalty fees.

This post has been edited by liew_jls: Jun 27 2009, 08:55 PM
liew_jls
post Jun 27 2009, 10:49 PM

558 posts

yeah, youngkies is right. alternatively you can straight away deposit your money into step account in future.
liew_jls
post Jun 30 2009, 04:46 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(lilko @ Jun 29 2009, 03:52 PM)
Wanted to ask about the duvet..
How much does it normally cost over there in UK?
Was it ok if I only bring a thick cotton blanket over instead of buying duvet there?
my goodness, you should save ur space and weight on others stuff like milo, herbs or anythings which can't get/very expensive.. duvet you can easily get at tesco/wikinson.. it's only cost 4-10 quids(depends on quality)... besides you can't survive with your thick blanket during winter time, you will freeze to dead if you are using thick blanket. especially Newcastle is lots more cold compare to london ...

Added on June 30, 2009, 4:49 am
QUOTE(Raining @ Jun 29 2009, 03:00 PM)
I just checked the price of the toilet roll in Aldi (a germany brand supermarket here), the price vary from GBP 0.22 each to GBP 0.47 and will be more expensive if you want those with nice looking pattern and perfume. but you could easily cheaper deal if you buy the 6 ~ 12 roll pack.
sometimes asda will have some promotional, 3 for 2 for those branded toilet roll.. just get few packs and keep it for later. that's is what we do... coz stuff like toilet roll can be save..

Added on June 30, 2009, 5:14 am
QUOTE(vincent_ng86 @ Jun 29 2009, 02:25 PM)
Ok, thanks for the information.

For my travel on 16th of August, my consultant says, the High Commission might not grant me a Student Visa, as I am going quite early, so if that happens, I will need to reenter UK. What country is the most affordable to travel to, and reenter UK after that?
don't count on your consultant. always check with the officer from vfs... although sometimes they will give you some shit response but at least you will get some rough idea...

This post has been edited by liew_jls: Jun 30 2009, 05:14 AM
liew_jls
post Jul 1 2009, 04:19 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(lilko @ Jun 30 2009, 04:52 AM)
Hehe~ blush.gif Thanks..  biggrin.gif
liew_jls.. You study in Newcastle?
You are flying with emirates are you not?
Cuz i'd read bout some rape cases on an email..
Got a tad bit worry cuz i may not have friends flying with me.. GOsh~~  shocking.gif 
Wow.. blink.gif I thought they are fast.. But it seems that its not likely..  doh.gif
haha... i'm not longer studying, i have graduated last year... nope, i'm not in newcastle... but don't worry, there's quite a lot malaysian based in newcastle. in fact, there's quite a lot chinese (no matter from china, hong kong or singapore)

emirates? nope, i never fly with this airline before.. well, should be alright.. you just need to be careful when you are traveling alone.. make sure you go to those place have a lot ppl walking around and always stay alert. try go to toilet before the plane land... when someone is coming to ask you something, he is look suspicious, just tell him you don't know and leave immediately..

well. depends on what is your problem.. but if you get cold or fever (small matter), don't bother go to gp.. they will give you the same advice; sleep more and drink more water..

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 30 2009, 10:34 AM)
GBP 7.20 per item? i thought it's GBP7.20 total, no matter how much u take.

i went to the GP last in march, he prescribed 2 drugs, and i only paid GBP7.20. my wife complained kenapa tak mintak banyak2 ubat coz it'll still cost the same.

then again, go welsh. it's FREE.
hahah.. if you want to minta banyak banyak pun tak boleh ni... those doctor wouldn't allow you to get more... they usually put each item into 1 prescription, then you need to pay each prescription for £7.20. last year, my hayfever was pretty bad and my GP gave me 2 prescription, one is the tablet and another is nasal spray.. was told kena bayar £14++ for my prescription.. luckily this year i don't need to go to gp for the hayfever.. hahah...

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0590sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:36 AM